Rating:
3.5
Unearth - The Oncoming Storm
29 June 2004


01. The Great Dividers
02. Failure
03. This Lying World
04. Black Hearts Now Reign
05. Zombie Autopilot
06. Bloodlust Of The Human Condition
07. Lie To Purify
08. Endless
09. Aries
10. Predetermined Sky
11. False Idols


I can't understand why people worship this type of bands that much; Unearth is one of those mediocre bands with awful music, hideous guitar riffs, bad drumming, and weird musical style. The music actually sounds like the worst weed trip you've ever had, I mean, I can actually picture those Sea Turtles in "Finding Nemo" listening to this crap and going like this..."Dude…Unearth is so like…not crappy music and stuff…" and the baby Sea Turtle responding "yeah…this band is cool…man, cool things are so cool and… something", then both turtles at the same time saying "…Totally…"

I told myself a year ago (after hearing "The Black Dahlia Murder" album that is) "I will not try a Metalcore band again in my whole life", then, one year later here I am breaking my promise, I won't bore you with the "why did I listened to this crap again" story, I'll better start doing the review. First of all, Unearth is not an innovative band at all; it's just another rip-off band with a lot of riffs similar to "Slaughter Of The Soul" or "Whoracle", plus really bad vocals by the way.

Metalcore became a "new" trend since the appearance of bands such as Zao and Caliban, this particular genre mixes a lot of Melodic Death Metal elements, with a lot of crappy Alternative music, and this album is no exception. The riffing is repetitive as fuck, and this band actually added some clean vocals to the songs (this feature is not innovative, it is just stupid believe me). The songs are insanely similar to each other, there are some cool breakdowns here and there but that's it, this band uses the pentatonic scale over and over and over again, and when they try to change the line, they use the same scale but in a different fret, so as you might notice, this is mediocre songwriting.

The songs have catchy riffs, which are good once in a while actually, yes it's extremely easy to create a catchy riff, but those riffs are the only "cool" things Unearth achieved in their songwriting, the rest of the music is just boring and plane.

This experience was actually worse than my other Metalcore experiences; I won't say more, please do not support crappy metal.


Band profile: Unearth
Album: The Oncoming Storm


 


written by Herzebeth | 13.08.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 77  
Search this topic:  


JÄY - 21.07.2009 at 23:57  
3.5 seriously?

I like this album...truth be told I'm only half way through it...but, good lord, man!

just my opinion

I wouldn't even consider this metalcore...it's just as much thrash and melodeath as it is metalcore

just my opinion
Rexhungus - 06.12.2009 at 21:51  
I just saw these guys live they were one of the opening bands I waded through before Cannibal Corpse went onstage. I listened to the first 3 songs before leaving to go outside and wait for the set to get over with. Boring crap; with the shitty upbeat tempo drums I so hate that makes you want to hop up and down. Dumbass gimmick of guitarist drinking half a beer bong then spraying the crowd, sorry still doesn't makeup for your crappy sound. As soon as Corpse was done Hate Breed came on next and I went home. American Hardcore or Metalcore just doesn't do it for me.
SBGMetal - 26.10.2010 at 01:42  
Eh well at least zombie autopilot is a cool song... and as for the little segment on finding nemo? c'mon now...
Boxcar Willy - 21.01.2012 at 22:03  
Herz, really had a thing about metalcore
Mr. Doctor - 21.01.2012 at 22:23  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.01.2012 at 22:03

Herz, really had a thing about metalcore


Maybe... but this band sucks so in this case It's ok.
But not really... while he wasn't the greatest Metalcore fan he did praise a lot of stuff that could be considered "trendy" and/or with the core tag in it and I'm not talking about grindcore.... Case in point: The Ocean, Nahemah, some Mastodon, Deftones, Korn, Mudvayne, Cave in.... I agree that the overuse of the word gay is bad but I don't see him as close-minded as anyone else seems to protrait him.
Boxcar Willy - 21.01.2012 at 22:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.01.2012 at 22:23

Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.01.2012 at 22:03

Herz, really had a thing about metalcore


Maybe... but this band sucks so in this case It's ok.
But not really... while he wasn't the greatest Metalcore fan he did praise a lot of stuff that could be considered "trendy" and/or with the core tag in it and I'm not talking about grindcore.... Case in point: The Ocean, Nahemah, some Mastodon, Deftones, Korn, Mudvayne, Cave in.... I agree that the overuse of the word gay is bad but I don't see him as close-minded as anyone else seems to protrait him.

I think this is one of the better metalcore bands.

just look at his coalchamber review.
Boxcar Willy - 21.01.2012 at 22:35  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.01.2012 at 22:34

Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.01.2012 at 22:25

I think this is one of the better metalcore bands.
just look at his coalchamber review.


I'm well aware of his reviews, I happen to agree with most of them when it comes to metalcore, to me bands like this one and coalchamber are nothing compared to what the genre can achieve.

I agree I'm not a fan of CC.

I also enjoy most of his reviews, but some are just odd...
Mr. Doctor - 21.01.2012 at 22:41  
Quote:
Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.01.2012 at 22:35

I'm well aware of his reviews, I happen to agree with most of them when it comes to metalcore, to me bands like this one and coalchamber are nothing compared to what the genre can achieve.

I agree I'm not a fan of CC.

I also enjoy most of his reviews, but some are just odd...


Lols I was going to edit my post and deleted it to post it again... xD I don't really mind his opinion of metalcore... I mean, is it so different from other people bashing on any other genre? No, not really.
Boxcar Willy - 21.01.2012 at 22:45  
Quote:
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.01.2012 at 22:41

Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.01.2012 at 22:35

I'm well aware of his reviews, I happen to agree with most of them when it comes to metalcore, to me bands like this one and coalchamber are nothing compared to what the genre can achieve.

I agree I'm not a fan of CC.

I also enjoy most of his reviews, but some are just odd...


Lols I was going to edit my post and deleted it to post it again... xD I don't really mind his opinion of metalcore... I mean, is it so different from other people bashing on any other genre? No, not really.

No, but he often bashes bands just for being metalcore, Which is wrong, he also doesnt like metalcore, yet he reviews it a lot?

Mr. Doctor - 21.01.2012 at 22:46  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.01.2012 at 22:45

No, but he often bashes bands just for being metalcore, Which is wrong, he also doesnt like metalcore, yet he reviews it a lot?



Ehhmmm, that was the point of my first post. He does review a lot and gets good and bad stuff out of it, same with Nu metal. I think it's wrong to assume he hates it just for the tag. Same with me and power metal or deathcore, hate most of it, enjoy a couple of bands... and I have no problems in stating why I hate them.

You are also ignoring the chances that he actually just got the albums to review like many other staffers/elites do all the time.
Boxcar Willy - 21.01.2012 at 22:49  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.01.2012 at 22:46

Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.01.2012 at 22:45

No, but he often bashes bands just for being metalcore, Which is wrong, he also doesnt like metalcore, yet he reviews it a lot?



Ehhmmm, that was the point of my first post. He does review a lot and gets good and bad stuff out of it, same with Nu metal. You are also ignoring the chances that he actually just got the albums to review like many other staffers/elites.

DERP, sorry

I forgot that staff get albums sent to them.

That must be nice? free music
Mr. Doctor - 21.01.2012 at 22:51  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.01.2012 at 22:49
That must be nice? free music


It's awful when you get meh music... Notice that I didn't say awful. The easiest reviews imo are always the extremely bad ones... then comes the extremely good ones... The worst ones are the meh ones, those you don't give a shit about and aren't good enough to praise it and aren't awful enough to make good jokes.
Boxcar Willy - 21.01.2012 at 22:55  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.01.2012 at 22:51

Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.01.2012 at 22:49
That must be nice? free music


It's awful when you get meh music... Notice that I didn't say awful. The easiest reviews imo are always the extremely bad ones... then comes the extremely good ones... The worst ones are the meh ones, those you don't give a shit about and aren't good enough to praise it and aren't awful enough to make good jokes.

True, my Emmure review was way easier than my ENT one.

but ill take any free music.


Except for Lulu.
Mr. Doctor - 21.01.2012 at 22:57  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.01.2012 at 22:55
Except for Lulu.


I'm surprised Daniell didn't get money for listening to it.
RottingDeathHead - 11.03.2012 at 05:19  
Bullshit review this band kicks ass!
Shadowcross - 25.02.2014 at 03:03  
"weed trip" ? Who trips on weed? There aren't that many good metalcore bands, so if you don't like this band or BDM, you clearly don't like metalcore/hardcore/deathcore period..
Troy Killjoy - 25.02.2014 at 15:29  
Written by Shadowcross on 25.02.2014 at 03:03
There aren't that many good metalcore bands, so if you don't like this band or BDM, you clearly don't like metalcore/hardcore/deathcore period..

That's interesting. These days I've been listening to a lot of this kind of music but you'd never catch me listening to Unearth. Terrible band.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Unearth - The Oncoming Storm 7.5 07.08.2010 by Coolingsrock
Reviews Defeated Sanity - Prelude To The Tragedy 4.5 18.11.2010 by Maxx666
Reviews The Berzerker - Dissimulate 4.5 30.09.2006 by Bas
Reviews The County Medical Examiners - Olidous Operettas 4.5 13.04.2007 by Dangerboner
Reviews Nahemah - The Second Philosophy 4 19.02.2007 by Deadsoulman



Hits total: 3972 | This month: 39