Advertise on Metal Storm
Desire - Locus Horrendus - The Night Cries Of A Sullen Soul... review


62 users:
Band: Desire
Album: Locus Horrendus - The Night Cries Of A Sullen Soul...
Release date: May 2002

01. Chapter VIII: Preludium (Alpha)
02. Chapter IX: Frozen Heart… Lonely Soul…
03. Chapter X: Cries Of Despair
04. Chapter XI: The Weep Of A Mournful Dusk
05. Chapter XII: ...An Autumnal Passion (Movement I)
06. Chapter XII: ...An Autumnal Passion (Movement II)
07. Chapter XIII: Drama
08. Chapter XIV: Dark Angel Bird (A Poet Of Tragedies)
09. Chapter XV: Torn Apart
10. Chapter XVI: (Love Is) Suicide…
11. Chapter XVII: Postudium (Omega)

Desire is a band coming from Portugal and despite the fact that they have only three official releases till now; they are not new in the scene of doom/death-dark metal since they are around from the early years of the first half of the 90s. It seems that they are following their very own lonely crow-adorned path in the world of Art, music and emotions since they don't copy any other band in particular and they tend to evoke their own, very personal atmosphere.

"Locus Horrendus" is their third official release up to date and from its first second until its last surrounds the listener in tender mourning ways, drowning him in everlasting oblivion. The whole album's aesthetic is utterly dark and eerie in its own romantic/melancholic way, resembling at times to the poetic feeling of The Crow, filled with the feeling of a wintry wailing night where a storm will never cease raging and the crows will always fly above your desolate existence.

Everyone in the band is pouring their heart and soul into darkness where they dwell, composing the symphonies of the damned crawling and crying in despair for help, for an angel's hand to appear in the mist, yet eternal solitude and pain have blossomed in them. Flame and Tempest on the rhythm section evoke the ideal night pulse for Desire's compositions, creating walls of sounding slowly closing in, while Mist's slow mourning guitar riffing enshrouds the listener, opening the gateways to oblivion with the wailing crying sound of the guitars. Ashes on the keyboards and the piano evokes a serene, dreamy (yet filled with pain) atmosphere, whereas the nightmare takes its toll when intense, tormented and woeful soundscapes are about to unleash their saddened beauty in the heavy air. And last but not least, Tear on the vocals and poetry, which is a strong part of Desire's drama, giving a bitter meaning to every single word he utters. Whether he grunts in ecstasy, howls in pain or recites/whispers in agony sounds deeply expressive and utterly emotional, unfolding untouched dimensions of sorrow and despair.

The album flows definitely as one and there's no way you can listen to one single song since all 11 compositions are parts of a Drama that loses its magic when broken to pieces. Lengthy, but utterly inspired and deeply emotional, compositions of doom/death metal-dark metal with funeral passages that cast a spell on the listener from the very first time he cherishes their beauty consist of "Locus Horrendus", a journey in the dark where life has expired for ever and the light will never reach. For one more time the cover and the artwork of the booklet are deeply representative of the sullen darkness of "Locus Horrendus", pacing in perfect harmony with its bitter melodies.

If you're searching for an album composed in darkness with the melodies being the woeful chants of a lonely soul at night then "Locus Horrendus" is an album for you and you shouldn't miss it…

"Love Is Suicide…"


Written on 09.10.2005 by "It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."


Comments: 1   Visited by: 54 users
08.10.2010 - 20:39
Great review!
I feel very happy to see Desire in MS since they are almost unknown even in Portugal... :\

Hits total: 5209 | This month: 51