Nevermore - Dead Heart In A Dead World review



Reviewer:
10

885 users:
8.97
Band: Nevermore
Album: Dead Heart In A Dead World
Release date: 2000


01. Narcosynthesis
02. We Disintegrate
03. Inside Four Walls
04. Evolution 169
05. The River Dragon Has Come
06. The Heart Collector
07. Engines Of Hate
08. The Sound Of Silence [Simon & Garfunkel cover]
09. Insignificant
10. Believe In Nothing
11. Dead Heart In A Dead World
12. Love Bites [Judas Priest cover] [bonus]
13. All The Cowards Hide [bonus]
14. Chances Three [bonus]


So, when you think of metal bands with some of the all-time great line-ups, whom do you think of? Go ahead; think for a moment. As for me, names like Bloodbath, Opeth, Cynic, and Diabolical Masquerade are a few that come to mind. Hmm, it's interesting that three of those share common members, isn's it? And oh yeah, by the way, there are several others you can add to that list, one of them being Nevermore. Let's see here, we have one of the best vocalists in not only metal, but in all of music in Warrel Dane, without a doubt one of music's best guitarists in Jeff Loomis, an incredible drummer in Van Williams, and a bass player by the name of Jim Sheppard who had no problem keeping up with all of them.

So, now that we?ve established them as incredible musicians, the question is, how do they sound as a unit. Well, the answer is: simply amazing. Dead Heart in a Dead World was one of, if not THE best album of 2000. And once again, that's not only in metal, but in all of music. No, that's not debatable. While every song on this album is an absolute masterpiece in-and-of themselves, let's look a few, shall we?

First the opening song, Narcosynthesis:
The verses have a strong, obviously Meshuggah-influenced, technical riff, while the choruses are slower and very dark sounding. Note that while I'm using the terms verse and chorus here, the song is most certainly not simplistic in structure. Indeed, it's fairly complicated. Some fantastic melodic guitar work thrown in here and there only adds to the atmosphere.

Now, the third song, Inside Four Walls:
Once again we have a super-heavy, technical thrash composition sure to get your head uncontrollably bobbing up and down. They get bonus points here for the thought provoking political commentary that is the lyrics. Actually, all the lyrics on this album are well done and thought provoking. That's a lot better than: ?I will slit your throat and drink the blood,? or ?Hail Satan! Hail Satan!? isn's it? Of course it is.

The eighth song, the Sound of Silence, is next on my list:
This song is actually a cover a song by Simon and Garfunkel. You?d never know this by listening to the song. It's a ripping thrash tune that's as fast and heavy as any on the album.

The final song to be discussed is number 10 on the track list, Believe in Nothing:
This song is a beautiful, yet melancholic depiction of a journey I'm sure everyone has taken at one point in their lives. Acoustic guitars, melodic electric guitars, and emotional vocals are the rule of thumb on this one.

Basically, it all comes down to this: If you don's already own this album, get up off your butt right now, and go buy Dead Heart In A Dead World. If you do already own it, then why the heck are you reading this review? You could be listening to the album it's praising.

Written by Rupophobic | 18.09.2003


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 319 users
19.07.2006 - 10:42
PRIMAL FEAR
Account deleted
Nevermore captured then end of a decade perfectly with this, good review here...
Loading...
29.11.2006 - 15:57
iaberis
Advice Troll
Great album... although I'm not in the Trash thing, I like this album...
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
30.11.2006 - 02:57
Dangerboner
:D
There are very few albums that deserve a 10, and I think this is one of them. Every song on this album is outstanding, but my personal favorite is The River Dragon Has Come. I like how it starts and Warrel just shines on it.
Loading...
13.07.2008 - 02:46
gabytzud
Not even a tiny thing is wrong about this album... I am by no way a Nevermore fan, but this is a masterpiece. Flawless!!!
Loading...
13.09.2008 - 23:52
Landry
That review is spot on! This album definately surpasses anything else. Best songs are Narcosynthesis, Believe In Nothing and Insignificant.:D
Loading...
12.12.2008 - 14:08
Vitriolic Hate
Chaos Reaper
My favourite metal album ever!
Loading...
23.04.2009 - 01:09
Solstafir!
This is undoubtedly nevermore's best album, with the godless endeavour slightly behind. Great album!
Loading...
17.05.2009 - 09:52
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
Great album from nevermore! it has some excellent songs!
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
10.07.2009 - 00:34
Infurnace
This is one of my all-time favorite albums. Nevermore doesn't ever bore me. I can listen to this album over and over again, to hear every sweet and heavy melody. Loomis' guitarsolo's are just outstanding, and Dane's vocal work is among the best I've heard.
Loading...
23.07.2009 - 08:16
Nicko's Nose
This Godless Endeavour is much better imo. This album is great, but it has a lot of unoriginal riffs.
Loading...
23.07.2009 - 16:54
BloodTears
ANA-thema
I would agree that This Godless Endeavour is better, but I wouldn't say much better.

Definitely one of the highlights in Nevermore's career alongside The Politics of Ecstasy. These 3 are the best Nevermore albums in my opinion. Dreaming Neon Black could be there as well.

Anyway, focusing on the album, I think "Engines of Hate" is my favourite song followed by "Dead Heart in a Dead World". All the other songs are Nevermore classics and every single one of them is excellent.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
28.12.2009 - 01:56
Dimebag CFH
An almost perfect album.
The Sound Of Silence is probably the best cover ive ever heard. Even though it sounds nothing like the original, it doesnt matter. It doesnt need to be.
Engines of Hate, Inside Four Walls and Insignifigant... all magic!
Loading...
12.01.2010 - 02:11
Rose Of Nemesis
This is a great album
Loading...
01.01.2011 - 03:55
BloodFireDeath
Great album. Truly outstanding. I also love this review. Your last sentence gave my heart a leap of joy in the truth it holds. Just go listen and enjoy. Let Warrell Dane's nihilistic cold lyrics chill your blood and send shivers up your spine.
----
Goodspeed on the Devils Thunder
Loading...
19.03.2011 - 17:35
Yasmine
Good review, my only thought when reading was the all time best lineups, very first band that comes to mind is Death.
----
"Both optimists and pessimists contribute to our society. The optimist invents the airplane and the pessimist the parachute." G B Stern
"Society is like a stew. If you don't stir it up every once in a while then a layer of scum float u
Loading...
12.04.2011 - 07:33
JCJen7
My first thought was Rust in Peace--era Megadeth
----
This is my sig, respect it. Please.

CHECK THESE OUT
Loading...
24.12.2011 - 15:52
babak-sdn
The only description i can refer to this album : FLAWLESS !
Loading...
26.01.2012 - 10:23
Haiwaan Das
Good album but I find the vocals too melodic to be Thrash Metal and its more of Progressive Heavy Metal than Thrash Metal.
----
Gr Gr Gr Gr Gr
Loading...

Hits total: 11353 | This month: 46