System Of A Down - Toxicity review



Reviewer:
6.0

839 users:
8.58
Band: System Of A Down
Album: Toxicity
Release date: September 2001


01. Prison Song
02. Needles
03. Deer Dance
04. Jet Pilot
05. X
06. Chop Suey!
07. Bounce
08. Forest
09. ATWA
10. Science
11. Shimmy
12. Toxicity
13. Psycho
14. Aerials


System of a Down created a huge hype for the nu-metal scene back in 2001 with an album called "Toxicity"; to this day the mentioned album is still a best seller in many stores and we can hear many people talking about the greatness of this album. I bought this album a while ago, I heard it a lot of times I liked it the first few listens, but after a while it bored me big time and then I even sold it to a weird kid with an emoish hairdo.

This is not a bad album at first sight, the first listens you'll find good guitar structures, catchy songwriting and even a lot of funny lyrics which, for example, talk about a guy who has a pogo stick and every single person wants to play with it but can't because there is just one pogo stick at the party with so many friends ("Bounce"). So as you might know, this kind of things are cool the first 3 times you read it, but when you hear it the fifth time or the sixth time it becomes really boring and idiotic.

The album fails in continuity, and this is the epitome of good albums you know? Most albums MUST have good schemes for you to hear it 50 times without a problem, SOAD was not able to achieve this task. Then the riffs are not powerful at all, the backing vocals are just hideous and really fucking annoying (f.e. "Needles") the drumming is monotonous, there's no strength whatsoever in the whole album and it becomes a "nerd"/idiotic/ridiculous release.

This album is not as good as many people think, there are good moments with schizoid riffs and crazy paces ("Psycho") but that's it, most features "good" decompose badly after a week or so. Not even "Chop Suey!", which was one of the most praised tracks in nu-metal history, manages to create a constant interest for the audience, just imagine the rest of the songs.

So this is an average nu-metal release, certainly I've heard better albums and also I've heard worse ones. Is it really that good? Not at all, it's totally disposable; I just keep thinking "why in the fuck didn't I download it first". This is exactly the kind of album which makes metal-heads hate nu-metal, it gets a lot of hype and everyone talks about how great it is, but in the end it's just a plain, average, middling and nerdy release, nothing more nothing less.

Written by Herzebeth | 30.04.2006


 


Comments page 3 / 3

Comments: 70   Visited by: 433 users
25.05.2012 - 19:44
Illog1cal
Account deleted
When you listen to Death metal most of the time like me, the guitar riffs in albums such as this lose their impact and the songs can get very repetitive. However you have to realise that there a lot of saving graces on this album. Some songs definitely do get tiresome, such as 'Bounce', 'X', 'Forest', 'Atwa', however others are ingenious. The reason why they are ingenious is that the lyrical content is unparalleled, the first time I listened to Chop Suey I honestly had no idea it was about suicide. When you listen to the songs you at first think they are simple, but then you realise there is a much deeper meaning to some of them as the layers fall away. The same cannot be said for many bands unfortunately. Oh and btw this is not nu metal...
Loading...
25.05.2012 - 20:13
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Written by Guest on 25.05.2012 at 19:44

they are simple, but then you realise there is a much deeper meaning to some of them as the layers fall away. The same cannot be said for many bands unfortunately. Oh and btw this is not nu metal...


They are insane band.

Lyrically, they attack politicians, corrupt bureaucrats, crash down the whole corrupted political system, drugs and more importantly sexual intercourse( Violent Pornography!).
"Fuck the System" was their first track that i started listening to and honestly in 2003 it sounds great. I thought they will have a great career and gonna outstrip "LP" "Korn" "P.O.D." and many other Nu-Metal acts which the then ruling the charts.

This band has always favored for their controversial lyrical themes rather than music. You know...." Armenian Genocide of 1915 " and then "War" "Terrorism" and I was reading somewhere that now they will cover some "Afghan war" "Nato shit" and whatever. If i getta time I still give a couple of spins to their back catalog and enjoy the most.
----
Loading...
10.11.2014 - 06:23
Andro Maximus
Account deleted
Good review for a painfully mediocre album. No amount of time will disguise the fact that the songwriting is weak. I don't hear much effort or inspiration on this album. A classic to some perhaps, but a waste of time for me.
Loading...
27.11.2014 - 07:59
AtLast
I personally don't agree that this album is their "classic" album, but I also don't agree with the review. Sure, you have a sort-of polarized album between good songs, and bad songs, but to be fair, the good outweighs the bad with this release. IMO, I see it like this:

Good:

Prison Song
Needles
Deer Dance
Chop Suey!
Atwa
Science
Tocivity
Aerials

Bad:

Jet Pilot
X
Bounce
Forest
Shimmy
Psycho

Overall, I guess it's just personal preference. I've been jamming to SoaD my entire life, so maybe they've just stuck on me more than others.
Loading...
23.06.2015 - 07:05
Guib
Thrash Talker
Lol that review aged poorly.

Viva Toxicity
This album is pure genius.

@Jericho: How are Forest, X and Psycho bad songs lol w/e preferences like you said
----
- I love my technical, melodic, my thrash, agressive and fast paced, my sludge, well thought, my heavy, heavier and my metal, ever-growing -
Loading...
07.07.2015 - 21:00
ADIresiduos
Obviously Herzebeth, you are not a SOAD fan.
Maybe Toxicity is not awesome, but it's a good album. I've been listening to their music since then; yes, it's different and weird at times, but still a fun listen; I guess it was not meant to be taken seriously, it's just for fun. Although it has its fare share of heavy riffs and catchy melodies.
Loading...
08.07.2015 - 16:58
Belegûr
Arise In Might!
Written by ADIresiduos on 07.07.2015 at 21:00

Obviously Herzebeth, you are not a SOAD fan.
Maybe Toxicity is not awesome, but it's a good album. I've been listening to their music since then; yes, it's different and weird at times, but still a fun listen; I guess it was not meant to be taken seriously, it's just for fun. Although it has its fare share of heavy riffs and catchy melodies.


Should albums only be reviewed by fans of the band? The website would just be full of 8-10 ratings for every album in that case.
Loading...
15.07.2015 - 23:40
ADIresiduos
Written by Belegûr on 08.07.2015 at 16:58

Written by ADIresiduos on 07.07.2015 at 21:00

Obviously Herzebeth, you are not a SOAD fan.
Maybe Toxicity is not awesome, but it's a good album. I've been listening to their music since then; yes, it's different and weird at times, but still a fun listen; I guess it was not meant to be taken seriously, it's just for fun. Although it has its fare share of heavy riffs and catchy melodies.


Should albums only be reviewed by fans of the band? The website would just be full of 8-10 ratings for every album in that case.


Gotta admit that you have a point there; but even so, I guess reviews are just a hint of what to expect from an album; I myself have learned that many times the reviews are misleading, because at times I end up liking an album which had a bad review or the the other way around.
Loading...
15.07.2015 - 23:48
Belegûr
Arise In Might!
Written by ADIresiduos on 15.07.2015 at 23:40

Written by Belegûr on 08.07.2015 at 16:58

Written by ADIresiduos on 07.07.2015 at 21:00

Obviously Herzebeth, you are not a SOAD fan.
Maybe Toxicity is not awesome, but it's a good album. I've been listening to their music since then; yes, it's different and weird at times, but still a fun listen; I guess it was not meant to be taken seriously, it's just for fun. Although it has its fare share of heavy riffs and catchy melodies.


Should albums only be reviewed by fans of the band? The website would just be full of 8-10 ratings for every album in that case.


Gotta admit that you have a point there; but even so, I guess reviews are just a hint of what to expect from an album; I myself have learned that many times the reviews are misleading, because at times I end up liking an album which had a bad review or the the other way around.


Many albums I like have bad reviews and many I loathe have good reviews. It's just like any form of media. I wouldn't really let a review put me off if I really wanted to check something out. I do like reviews and reading others opinions, but I would always want to judge for myself
Loading...
23.03.2016 - 05:49
BloodFireDeath
I always felt that this was a party album that wasn't meant to be taken seriously.
----
Goodspeed on the Devils Thunder
Loading...

Hits total: 9179 | This month: 67