Rating:
8.7
Wraith Of The Ropes - Ada
31 October 2005


01. Chamber Of The Wraith
02. Final Reflection
03. Lake Of Decay
04. Alone
05. Death Bed
06. Snow Dragon
07. Outro


All ye who enter…
Abandon hope.
Hear the faded whispers…
Of the Wraith of the Ropes


These are the opening words recited by a hellish dehumanized voice. Cliché bragging by another vampire-wannabe band? No, fair warning for what you're about to get into. Now just imagine: you wake up from agitated sleep, naked on the cold tiled floor of a dark room in an abandoned asylum. The moonlight hardly passes through the dirty smoky windows, splashing your surroundings with surreal yellowish light. You open the door and find yourself standing in the middle of a windy corridor. The light is even dimmer there. The walls are stained with some dark fluid. You realize this is blood. Blood everywhere on the walls, on the floor, at the ceiling. Human pieces scattered everywhere. Then you hear this sound. The rats? But rats don't make the sound of an axe trailed on a cement floor… The noise is getting nearer. You want to run, but there is no exit. It's getting nearer. And nearer and nearer and nearer, it's behind you! You turn around and see……….

OK, imagine this text above written by someone who is talented enough to frighten the reader. And then imagine that I found the perfect soundtrack to this scene. The first album of the US self-named "horror metal band" Wraith Of The Ropes is the soundtrack to your worst nightmare. Every time I listen to it, I can't help but watch behind my back, to… you know, just to be sure.

That's right, the biggest achievement of this unique band is not really the music, that can be classified into the classic funeral doom category. The very unique thing in Ada is the atmosphere. Wraith Of The Ropes use all the tools they can to create creepy, terrifying, tense, horrible music. That goes from industrial noises (like some bangs you would expect hearing in a closed down factory), to the dissonant chords of a mad pianist (the piano is in my opinion the most important instrument here, it leads the terror). Even the vocals of Scarecrow Rottinghouse (love the name) are used like an instrument. Instead of being personifying, catchy and clear they are disembodied, indistinct, demonic, all but welcoming. Actually, only the instrumental Snow Dragon seems to bring a sparkle of non-darkness, but still not light or hope yet.

Everything here contributes to making your life miserable and fearful of what's hidden. This is the great achievement of this amazing band. Wraith Of The Ropes proves that you don't have to play at full speed with inverted cross-shaped guitars, growl around while fucking virgins or simply use blastbeats to be extreme. Ada is not musically violent but it is one of the most extreme albums of the year, so intense that you must not expect to be able to play the whole album twice in a row. This is too physically and morally demanding. In other words, a great release but not for all ears.

Highlights: I could say Chamber Of the Wraith, Lake Of Decay and Snow Dragon, but this album is above all working as a whole entity.


 


written by Collin | 14.12.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 25  
Search this topic:  


Lucas - 20.09.2006 at 20:11  
Wraith Of The Ropes proves that you don't have to play at full speed with inverted cross-shaped guitars, growl around while fucking virgins or simply use blastbeats to be extreme.

Dude, this sentence did it for me. It interested me that much, I went onto E-Bay and bought it.

I shall post here what I think of it, my expectations are high.
Damnated - 20.09.2006 at 23:03  
I don't want to be a bitch, but this album is just not that good. more like a 7 something. It has it's moments, but gets boring during the first listen.
Lucas - 21.09.2006 at 16:42  
Hmm, that's a shame. I feel I kinda agree with you musicwise, so let's hope this time I don't.
Damnated - 21.09.2006 at 23:26  
did you buy it? because I could send you a link to the album, but I noticed you don't like listening to stuff first
Lucas - 22.09.2006 at 22:33  
Yes, I bought it. I usually do listen before I buy, but almost never with Funeral Doom/Ambient/Atmospheric stuff.

Why not? Well, my pc-boxes are crappy. Too damn crappy. Sure, for your average chunk of Death or Black metal it is good enough, but not for some atmospheric stuff. That would ruin the first listen totally. So I decided to take a risk and buy it.

But hey, thanks anyway. It is much appreciated.
Southern Wind - 22.09.2006 at 23:57  
I love this album... it is a heavy funeral doom mastodon... for those who like it, I stronlgy recommend to check Reclusiam, a side-project of Necare that is awesome... if you go to their website you can download the whole albim for free.
Lucas - 23.09.2006 at 00:06  
I know Reclusiam too, perhaps I got it from you. Damn, I want a Reclusiam album so damn much. Have you got any place to buy it from?
Southern Wind - 23.09.2006 at 01:16  
mmm unfortunately I can't help you with that....
Lucas - 23.09.2006 at 11:21  
Ok, no problem. I shall have to keep searching then.
Damnated - 23.09.2006 at 11:50  
You can buy it from the their official site it costs 10$ I think.
Lucas - 24.09.2006 at 12:09  
Ehh, thanks. But I was actually referring to the Reclusiam album, as I already found Wraith Of The Ropes on E-Bay.
Damnated - 24.09.2006 at 20:43  
oh, didn't read the pervious posts... try to email Henry at rh@necare.net
Lucas - 25.09.2006 at 20:56  
Doesn't matter.

I have heard from various record companies that he doesn't have any copies himself anymore, but I shall give it a try nonetheless. Thanks man!
-tom- - 25.09.2006 at 22:01  
boring. someone buy my copy + their limited-to-120 cdr demo off me. boring, unengaging stuff. in vast contrast to side project, 'torture wheel'.
Lucas - 26.09.2006 at 10:15  
I might be interested. I first gotta hear them though. I'll let you know.
Lucas - 07.10.2006 at 21:30  
Had my first listen today. Wasn't really what I expected.. But then again, I should give it more than one listen.

I'll be back.
VaronoZz - 25.02.2007 at 17:28  
its really a great start fot the band this album... Its horror atmoshpere its unique.
I really like it
Syk - 04.04.2008 at 18:11  
Written by Lucas on 07.10.2006 at 21:30
Had my first listen today. Wasn't really what I expected.. But then again, I should give it more than one listen.

I'll be back.
And..? I've been humming Death Bed at 4am for the past ten minutes or so...
Lucas - 04.04.2008 at 18:32  
Written by Syk on 04.04.2008 at 18:11

Written by Lucas on 07.10.2006 at 21:30
Had my first listen today. Wasn't really what I expected.. But then again, I should give it more than one listen.

I'll be back.
And..? I've been humming Death Bed at 4am for the past ten minutes or so...


Haha, that was a long time ago. In the meanwhile I gave my copy to Marcel, cause I really didn't like it. Their ep The Red Door is better, consists of covers of various metal bands, but even that is a bit boring.
Narcosis - 28.02.2012 at 17:52  
Love it! "I don´t care what kills me as long as I die."Lol

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Extreme metal forum Wraith Of The Ropes 5 03.11.2006 by Lucas
Reviews Killswitch Engage - The End Of Heartache 4.5 02.03.2008 by Uirapuru
Reviews The Bereaved - Darkened Silhouette 4.5 06.04.2008 by Infidel
Reviews Hell Within - Asylum Of The Human Predator 4.5 27.04.2007 by Danny Thomas
Reviews Lamb Of God - Ashes Of The Wake 4.5 23.09.2007 by



Hits total: 2486 | This month: 23