Mortal Decay - Cadaver Art review


6 users:
Band: Mortal Decay
Album: Cadaver Art
Release date: September 2005

01. Consumption
02. Cadaverous Sculptures Part 1 - Preparing For Display
03. Butcher Knife Phlebotomy
04. The Ravenous Addicted
05. Cadaverous Sculptures Part 2 - Morbid Fixations
06. Untitled
07. Re-Animate
08. Ripped, Chopped, Severed
09. Ruthlessly Scissored
10. Exit Mortality

Devastating and catchy guitar riffs, small and good guitar solos, fast and complex drum-beats, really low bass-lines and dual vocalizations, that's Mortal Decay overall, a Brutal Death Metal Band doing things the right way.

The main vein in this album is of course Brutal Death Metal, but the music is actually versatile in the style, you won't get the usual and boring blast-beats over and over again, fortunately Mortal Decay focuses on creating different types of beats and riffs; a great example is The Ravenous Addiction, this fourth track starts in a really crazy way (kind of melodious actually), a couple of small guitar leads appear in the background creating awesome atmospheres, then all of the sudden the beat changes to faster and then faster and then the song starts crushing your ears in the most painful way; this tune is marvelous, it has sheer brutality in a Beheaded way and catchy melodies in a Malevolent Creation style, it's really marvelous actually; The Ravenous Addiction is, in fact, the best song in this CD.

The production shown in Cadaver Art is clear as clean glass, even the Bass sounds perfect, and that's a rarity in a genre where most times the Drums tend to drown the bass sound. The layout is another plus, I love the cover of this album, it's somehow really simple but surrealistic in a twisted way, so I loved the cover actually.

The music resting in this album is one of the most interesting things Brutal Death can offer, I'm pleased by the music in this album, I hear tons of crappy bands everyday, and to see that Brutal Death Metal can still offer a great piece nowadays, that's bliss for me actually. I won't say EVERYONE will worship this album as I do, but at least you can give this CD a spin and you'll hear for yourself the awesomeness this album can give.

Final Verdict: Great album, I did not give it a 10 because I think the vocalist can do better than that actually, but the music blew me away.

Written by Herzebeth | 16.12.2005


Hits total: 1854 | This month: 8