Sathanas - Entering The Diabolic Trinity review

Bandcamp music player

3 users:
Band: Sathanas
Album: Entering The Diabolic Trinity
Release date: October 2005

01. Intro (Carpe Noctum)
02. Entering The Diabolic Trinity
03. Demonized
04. Descent Of The Holy
05. Unleash The Wolves
06. Under A Black Spell
07. Realm Of Carnage
08. Triumph Of Darkness
09. In The Circle Of Hell
10. Into The Massacre

Sathanas is potentially a really old band, and that's actually very strange because not many people know that name, the good thing though is these musicians keep doing what they used to do 17 years ago, Old School Death metal.

What's the catch? Well, while hearing this album I came across with a couple of songwriting flaws, for example the soloing in the first track; the solo per se is complex and astonishing, but the way they added it to the song sounds random and irregular, it appears that Sathanas did a whole bunch of solos and then loaded the best ones to "X" tune; that's the main reason of the stained songwriting as you can perceive.

Then we have the musical abilities, Sathanas is great at it, the chords and the beats are incredibly well executed and really polished; music wise this album is a blend between old school Death Metal and some Black Metal bits, a little like Behemoth but with more melodies and breakdowns; we all can appreciate the musicianship in tracks like "Triumph of Darkness", which is a really catchy song actually, filled with a lot of breakdowns, awesome bass-lines (there's even a bass-line bridge there), a small solo and complex chords, you'll be moshing and head-banging along with the beat of this song believe me, at least I know I did.

The production is really raw, and that does not mean bad remember, it just has a different atmosphere that wraps the music in different kind of bizarre layers that's all. The music is actually very good and catchy; it will fit in any Death Metal collection easily. But what I think is Sathanas must realize they are competing with bands like Suffocation, Obituary etc. so they have to create music which beats the hell out of those bands, creating good solos and catchy riffs is not enough, they have to create almost faultless music and they have to polish their songwriting; otherwise they'll be another forgotten name in Death Metal books.

Final Verdict: Good album with great Drumming and solos.

Best Tracks: "Triumph of Darkness", "Descent of the Holy".

Written by Herzebeth | 10.01.2006


Hits total: 1770 | This month: 13