Crashdïet - Rest In Sleaze review


52 users:
Band: Crashdïet
Album: Rest In Sleaze
Release date: August 2005

01. Knokk 'Em Down
02. Riot In Everyone
03. Queen Obscene / 69 Shots
04. Breakin' The Chainz
05. Needle In Your Eye
06. Tikket
07. Out Of Line
08. It's A Miracle
09. Straight Outta Hell
10. Back On Trakk

In Loving Memory Of David Lepard

Crashdiet have to be one of the greatest glam/sleaze hard rock bands of the latest years that managed to release an album that breathes 80s, not only in sound, but also in quality, ideas and feeling/attitude! I mean, it's dirty, it's bad-ass, it's sleazy, it's upbeat with a small dose of emotion, just like it has to be, and above all it makes me think that if it was released back in the 80s it would have been one of the most legendary records of the glam scene and I am not exaggerating!

But first, let me tell you a small story. You know you're a talented young band from Sweden, and you're struggling to find a way to release your debut album to make the world know your inspired ideas. You find the way out and you release your debut album through a really good label; it receives great critics from the glam and hard rock press and your fame in the underground glam scene starts rising! Every member of the band pours his soul in the band and everything seems fabulous, the rock n' roll feeling is alive and everything seems like a beautiful dream in glitter; and then… the sad news, Dave Lepard would no longer hold his guitar in his arms, he would no longer stand behind the microphone, he would no longer… be among us. Sadly, the dream was not to live on for Crashdiet and along with Dave Lepard such a brilliant band faded… They must have disbanded, but Dave Lepard and Crashdiet will always live in our hearts and through their tunes we will always manage to remain upbeat, because this is why Dave Lepard made music, to express the upbeat rock n' roll feeling and I'm pretty damn sure he wouldn't want us the fans of Crashdiet, that respected them for their grandeur and the fact that they gave a fresh air to the scene, to be sad. The irony is that their album is titled "Rest In Sleaze", which makes you wonder how things turn out sometimes in the most unexpected yet somehow foreseen through obscure signs way.

After having written a small tribute in memory of Dave Lepard, I think I must explain now why this album is flawless, why it must remain a classic, and why fate was not fair on Crashdiet.

From the very first seconds of the album, when "Knokk 'Em Down" starts unleashing its groovy feeling, you start getting to the point of the title and the whole album as well simply because Crashdiet knokks em' all down with their true feeling and utterly rolling attitude! And the album flows and flows and you don't want it to stop and of course it won't stop since you have pressed the "repeat" button! The guitars are just awesome! One great dirty riff seems to be coming right after the other, and the whole attitude is ultra groovy and sleazy at all costs. The times the riffing ends to quality and wonderful solos are not few; on the contrary there are enough orgasmic solos in "Rest In Sleaze" that will make you wanna roll! Dave Lepard and Martin Sweet did some exceptional job on the guitar work and their playing really shines on the album! Peter London and Eric Young on the rhythm section lend the ideal pulse n' groove in the compositions of Crashdiet, sounding unerring and being vivid through the whole duration of the album! As for the vocals, Lepard was a deeply charismatic vocalist and whether he sounded more melodic or wanted to rock all the way he was sounding really awesome and deeply expressive. I guess what I'm talking about is too obvious in "Rest In Sleaze".

The whole album is enriched with an intense party and rock n' roll attitude, and the songs have many arena-like sing along passages with London, Sweet and Young doing an exceptional work on the melodic backing vocal lines that are always present through the whole duration of the album, which accompany Lepard's exceptional and rocking voice in the most appropriate way and making the compositions more affected in an utterly positive way! Don't expect me to choose highlights, the whole album is a highlight itself, a dirty diamond to be remembered from a band that faded along with its front-man too early, almost at its birth. Wherever you find it do yourself a favor and buy it, if you're into glam you won't regret it, on the contrary, you will love it for its purity of emotion and rolling feeling. It's sad to know that Crashdiet will never be "Back On Trakk" again…

Rest In Sleaze, Dave Lepard.


Written on 10.02.2006 by "It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."


Comments: 1   Visited by: 68 users
02.05.2007 - 03:34
Doc G.
Full Grown Hoser
Hell yes! great album, I dont have it yet but Ive heard all the songs and there great. And good news they got a new singer aswell, currently recording a new album with him. Olliver something....
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin

Hits total: 5055 | This month: 20