Rating:
5.0
Judas Priest - British Steel
19 April 1980


01. Rapid Fire
02. Metal Gods
03. Breaking The Law
04. Grinder
05. United
06. You Don't Have To Be Old To Be Wise
07. Living After Midnight
08. The Rage
09. Steeler
10. Red, White & Blue [Recorded during the 1985 Turbo sessions] [2001 re-release bonus]
11. Grinder [Live at Long Beach Arena, Long Beach, California in 5 May 1984] [2001 re-release bonus]


Obviously not the best start into the 80's is this Judas Priest album, although it contains some of the bands classics such as 'Metal Gods', 'Breaking The Law' and 'Living After Midnight', but even these songs have seen better times especially as on stage performances.

Nearly all songs on 'British Steel' fail to bring up the metal feeling that the 70's stuff did. The faster the songs the poorer they are, maybe Priest were still tired of their world tour when they recorded this album saying: hey let's make something slower.You can consider it better looking at it as a rock album (with slight american influences regarding the style, which is really irony of fate when you look at the title) than as a metal album. As a rock album it is fun listening, but not at all times, you should at least be in the mood!
Certainly the band has produced better albums, but if you want to collect all the Judas Priest albums you get at least some classics. The 70's sound has not changed yet, but it will in the following years. At this point let me just mention 'Screaming For Vengeance' from 1982 which is kind of a milestone in metal history. The two bonus tracks do not count for rating this album up, because one of them is a live version of the original material and the other is a very cheesy hymn really bad, no it's awful.

I don't know because back in 1980 I was just one year old, but if this album sold well, then only because it's so damn mainstream... or at least because of the band's success in the late seventies. There is no point liking it more than it deserves and it does not deserve too much.


Band profile: Judas Priest
Album: British Steel


 


written by Pierre Tombale | 16.11.2003



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 63  
Users visited: 210  
Search this topic:  


MrSubmarine - 23.11.2011 at 00:09  
5 is a bit of a harsh rating, but I do agree that this album was a huge step down from the quality of it's predecessors. My favourite 'commercial' Priest album has to be 'Killing Machine', as it's far less shamelessly pop-py, with the exception of 'Take on the World'. I would give this album a 7, or maybe 8 for it's historical significance. I may be in the minority, but I never really cared for the majority of their output from the 80s.
Troy Killjoy - 23.11.2011 at 00:12  
5 isn't harsh. :/ 5 by MS standards means "not good", and this is not a good album. The rating is totally appropriate.

Probably the shortest review of a Priest album I've ever read though. Considering how much there is to say, I'm surprised at the brevity.
Martin_metal - 20.12.2011 at 22:32  
5 is to low rating... I think it´s way better then that.. Not their best, but far away from there worst.
sentinel65 - 04.01.2012 at 03:21  
What a shitty review...this will be remembered (by many) to be Priest's classic album, and that is what it is. Most definitely not their best work, but still a very good album, a lot of anthems on this album.
Apothecary - 01.02.2012 at 01:18  
I do agree that this album is terribly overrated, and does fail to match up with their 70s stuff, but still... a 7 at most.
afu - 29.09.2012 at 00:05  
Commercial, not commercial, best or less than best, this album is awesome and who gives a shit as long as the songs are good.
Cream - 06.02.2013 at 22:21  
Mind numbling overrated trash.
Iron Nostarion - 21.05.2013 at 23:06  
The most overrated album in the history of heavy metal.
Warman - 21.05.2013 at 23:56  
Written by Iron Nostarion on 21.05.2013 at 23:06

The most overrated album in the history of heavy metal.

At least one of them. I've never understood what's good about it.
Iron Nostarion - 22.05.2013 at 00:15  
Written by Warman on 21.05.2013 at 23:56

Written by Iron Nostarion on 21.05.2013 at 23:06

The most overrated album in the history of heavy metal.

At least one of them. I've never understood what's good about it.


It's got some catchiness and coverable songs but its simplistic attitude kills me. The production is pure shit, too. It bores me out of my head by track three. Was really an effort to listen to it after a recommendation, and considering albums like STAINED CLASS earlier in the discography, there's not even an excuse for them to be this simple in a 'retro Sabbath/Zeppelin' way.
Pennywise - 04.11.2013 at 22:54  
5 rating is still to high for the most overrated shitty album in rock history. Havent listened anything more boring and generic than this pile of..
Lord_Regnier - 07.11.2013 at 01:03  
Written by Pennywise on 04.11.2013 at 22:54

5 rating is still to high for the most overrated shitty album in rock history. Havent listened anything more boring and generic than this pile of..


I can hardly imagine more generic than that.
deadone - 16.07.2014 at 03:14  
Yup I agree with this review. British Steel sounds uninspired, gutless and tepid compared to the NWOBHM or German stuff coming out at the time or compared to prior Priest efforts.

And bare in mind Sabbath's excellent Heaven And Hell came out at the this time, showing us old dogs can learn new tricks.

On the upside it's not Turbo.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Judas Priest - Painkiller 9 19.09.2006 by
Reviews Judas Priest - Unleashed In The East 9 03.10.2006 by Spyroid
Reviews Judas Priest - Screaming For Vengeance 9 21.11.2006 by ThunderAxe1989
Reviews Judas Priest - Killing Machine [Hell Bent For Leather] 9 25.06.2008 by IronBlackZepp
Albums Judas Priest - British Steel 7.5 07.03.2012 by yanivush147



Hits total: 6760 | This month: 83