Rating:
9.6
Edenbridge - Shine
25 October 2004


01. Shine
02. Move Along Home
03. Centennial Legend
04. Wild Chase
05. And The Road Goes On
06. What You Leave Behind
07. Elsewhere
08. October Sky
09. The Canterville Prophecy
10. The Canterville Ghost
11. On Sacred Ground [Europe limited digibook bonus]
12. Anthem [Japanese bonus]

[2013 Reissue ] (The Definitive Edition)
Disc I [The Album]
01. Shine
02. Move Along Home
03. Centennial Legend
04. Wild Chase
05. And The Road Goes On
06. What You Leave Behind
07. Elsewhere
08. October Sky
09. The Canterville Prophecy
10. The Canterville Ghost
11. On Sacred Ground
12. Anthem
13. Shine [single version]

Disc II [Instumental & Live]
01. Shine [instrumental version]
02. Move Along Home [instrumental version]
03. Centennial Legend [instrumental version]
04. Wild Chase [instrumental version]
05. And The Road Goes On [instrumental version]
06. What You Leave Behind [instrumental version]
07. Elsewhere [instrumental version]
08. October Sky [instrumental version]
09. The Canterville Prophecy [instrumental version]
10. The Canterville Ghost [instrumental version]
11. On Sacred Ground [instrumental version]
12. Wild Chase [live version]
13. Move Along Home [live version]


Edenbridge, the Austrian Symphonic Power Metal band, have up to this date released three albums since their beginning in 1998, this being their fourth.

Regarding female fronted Power Metal bands, I basically thought them as just another clone before I heard them, this was the third album i heard of the band at the time, and I think for a female fronted Symphonic Power Metal effort, this album, and the others are quite distinguished from the rest of the scene. How? They create Elegant yet Powerful music, on every album. What I mean by this is there are two ways you can listen to the band. I can phase my hearing toward the Keys/Vocals, and receive this calm, sensual natured sound, one I like to hear to go to sleep for example. The second is listening to the Guitar/Drums, the band is fucking Heavy under all that softness! (A good example is the second song off the album 'Move Along Home').It is well hidden, but if you look at most of their non ballad songs, it is the same thing.

I usually would do a song by song type of review (even though most hate them), to distingush between the good and bad songs of an album. The reason I am not going to do this, is because I find this album does not really have any blemishes that stand out too me. Every song is strong, whether it be ballad, or upbeat. Ive listened to this album over 20 times now (according to iTunes), and I still am not sick of it. Which means, it has longetivity, playing an album without getting bored of it is always a bonus.

I think the best songs off the album are Shine, Move Along Home, The Wild Chase and The Canterville Ghost, but as I described earlier, they are all brilliant, each and every song has its own unique touch in the album, I can distinguish between them all, yet relate to their similarity as album.

I think production has always been a strong point from Edenbridge, as again, the recording is spot on. The cover art is adorable, and they have intriguing song titles. I am pretty sure i would feel an orgasm coming on if I picked this cd up from the rack in a store!

To sum up, an outstanding album from a talented band, they never cease to impress me, this album recieves my two thumbs up, with a score of 9.5/10

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Edenbridge
Album: Shine


 


written by Dark Cornatus | 26.05.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Jeff

Rating:
7.5
In the world of the Female fronted Power Metal Bands, a new album of Edenbridge, that's not anything. Evidently, that's only because they are with Nightwish and After Forever on the top of the list. If Edenbridge is a young band only formed in 1998 they have already released three albums and the last one "Shine" is certainly their most accomplished. But I think that you want to know now how is this new release… We will see in this review…

Read more ››
published 01.02.2005 | Comments (2)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 35  
Search this topic:  


Bitch Boy - 11.05.2007 at 05:21  
Ha! It's funny you mentioned as "best songs" my favorite I fully agree with your review. I actually think this one is Edenbridge's best.
Dark Cornatus - 11.05.2007 at 06:21  
Written by Bitch Boy on 11.05.2007 at 05:21

Ha! It's funny you mentioned as "best songs" my favorite I fully agree with your review. I actually think this one is Edenbridge's best.

Haha, and the funny thing is a made this review a year ago, and i still listen to it alot, as well as all other Edenbridge albums. My favourite is actually Sunrise In Eden, but Shine and Arcana are right behind.
HELLilac - 15.07.2007 at 18:52  
Agree 100% with the reviewer.

Shine is such a beautiful album from start to finish.

And Edenbridge is criminally underated. They should be as popular as (the ridiculously overated) Lacuna Coil.
ErnilEnNaur - 17.08.2011 at 15:14  
My favorite Edenbridge album without question and the last album from them that I still listen to regularly. After this one, they became too predictable for me, their creativity seemed to peak on Shine, even though "What you leave behind" is a shameless rip-off of "The show must go own" and the title track is very similar to Queensrÿche's "Mission" at certain moments. Sure, My Earth Dream was a superbly produced album, but the songwriting was sort of effortless (in a bad way) and Solitaire was a down right disappointing album. A shame really, as Sabine has one of the most unique voices in all of metal. This album is good though and will always remain a classic in the genre, at least for me.
Dark Cornatus - 17.08.2011 at 18:34  
Written by Guest on 17.08.2011 at 15:14

My favorite Edenbridge album without question and the last album from them that I still listen to regularly. After this one, they became too predictable for me, their creativity seemed to peak on Shine, even though "What you leave behind" is a shameless rip-off of "The show must go own" and the title track is very similar to Queensrÿche's "Mission" at certain moments. Sure, My Earth Dream was a superbly produced album, but the songwriting was sort of effortless (in a bad way) and Solitaire was a down right disappointing album. A shame really, as Sabine has one of the most unique voices in all of metal. This album is good though and will always remain a classic in the genre, at least for me.

I agree they came a bit too predictable, considering the last 3 albums are all very alike. I think Solitaire was a huge improvement over MyEarthDream though. I still think Edenbridge were best on the first 2 albums, then the 4th which was Shine.
treptolemus - 30.06.2012 at 21:22  
Waiting for my copy to arrive. I like this band, however this release is not considered a "progressive" one. I appreciate that specific element (prog) - i think it makes them a bit special. Lanvall is responsible for this, well mostly...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Edenbridge - Shine 5.5 05.12.2007 by Bash'
Reviews Opera IX - The Black Opera Symhoniae Mysteriorum In Laudem Tenebrarum 4.5 09.06.2006 by DerRozzengarten
Reviews DragonForce - Valley Of The Damned 4.5 06.06.2006 by Hyvaarin
News Edenbridge - Announce New Bassist 3 05.03.2013 by chrisʇrenounced
Reviews Dark Tranquillity - We Are The Void 2.5 20.06.2010 by Carl Berg



Hits total: 4087 | This month: 72