Rating:
8.8
Beautiful Sin - The Unexpected
19 May 2006


01. Lost
02. This Is Not The Original Dream
03. Take Me Home
04. I'm Real
05. The Spark Of Ignition
06. Colser To My Heart
07. Give Up Once For All
08. Brace For Impact
09. Pechvogel
10. Metalwaves
11. The Beautiful Sin
12. Le Rêve Originel [Europe Ltd Ed bonus]
13. She Is Made Of Rain [Japan Ltd Ed bonus]
14. Hidden Track [Europe Ltd Ed bonus]


Actually, I know the existence of "The Unexpected" and the project Beautiful Sin since a lot of time… Well to enlighten you, I discovered Magali Luyten and Samuel Arkan (who also worked with Uli and Mag on "The Unexpected") some years ago with their ex-band (Over Us Eden, (they're now in Virus 4 by the way). Since that I strongly believe in their musical qualities I follow carefully their career and I keep contact with them. You can understand that I was extremely proud to see that Magali was chosen to be the singer of the new excellent project of Mr Uli Kusch. Now that I had the luck to listen to the album, I know that it was a good choice and let me tell you that it is just great!

"The Unexpected" is an album of Melodic Power Heavy Metal but it's also a bit progressive. You know, when you have in your line up some guys of Masterplan with in addition, Jorn Viggo of Pangan's Mind, it's not really surprising. Well, the music of Beautiful Sin is not so far away of Masterplan on a side, but the big difference is that it is a lot more direct and evidently… we have a female singer here. I'm sure that you'll quickly understand that Beautiful Sin is a "rock" band, I mean that their music is powerful as hell and extremely catchy. Some songs like "Lost" or "Pechvogel" are simply Heavy Metal hits and their structures have this little touch of aggressively that a lot of Metalheads enjoy. It's "sharpy" like a razor and let's be honest, the amazing voice of Magali helps a lot on this point. But well, there are also some cool progressive songs that will remind you the sound of Pagan's Mind and Masterplan. "Metalwaves' with its important Keyboards background is probably the best proof of the progressive side of Beautiful Sin. "The Unexpected" is not linear, this is a varied album.

The cover is great, the production (like with 99% of the bands that come from Germany) is perfect but I cannot talk about this album if I didn't talk about Magali Luyten. I know that the Symphonic Metal female singers bore some of you but I really hope that you're not doing any amalgam with Magali. She is a Heavy Metal singer! She has a really nice hoarse voice (a bit like Skin of Skunk Anansie) and believe me, it's good to listen to this kind of singer nowadays. First because it's new and uncommon and second because it proves that female singers into Metal can do others stuff than Gothic or Symphonic music. Magali doesn't suffer of any comparison with the others guys who sing in the same category, at the opposite she gives a lot of others things and possibilities to the music through her original voice and that's classy.

If you like Uli Kusch and Masterplan, if you like Heavy Metal and want to discover an amazing singer, I really recommend you all to have a look on this album. "The Unexpected" is an excellent surprise and I really hope that Uli and his mates will release a lot of others albums. Highly recommend.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 10


Band profile: Beautiful Sin
Album: The Unexpected


 


written by Jeff | 22.05.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 72  
Search this topic:  


pleasure.seeker - 24.05.2006 at 22:48  
"...and extremely catchy"
true, true..

Nice review but one think, 9 for originality? What about first song - "Lost". I can hear "Sun is going down" from "Helloween" in it (If I see "brilliant originality" I expect something really originally)

Please take me easy,
peace.
Ihmemies - 18.07.2006 at 22:35  
Album_gain -11,20dB. The whole album sounds extremely flat, like background buzz. The music isn't involved at all.
Olddoggie - 08.08.2006 at 17:12  
Realy realy great album. I discovered it by accident while surfing some 'female metal ladies' site and read about Magali Luyten (just like me a Belgian) and her new project (and Uli Kush's of course). I bougth it, listend to it and love it...I'm real is phenomenal, Le rêve original is in French (sounds very good tho') and the other songs are simply great. I hope they will tour with this stuff, i would realy like to hear Magali Luyten sing live, i expect it to be fantastic, what a voice.
Baz Anderson - 08.10.2006 at 00:15  
ive not heard this album, but would like to very much
from the review this sounds like a good album, and this could possibly be where Uli puts all his attention now he isnt tied with Masterplan
Susan - 08.12.2006 at 09:11  
I'm listening to this for the first time and Jeff, I agree completely with your review! I definitely sense the comparison to Masterplan... really involved, connected, emotionally beautiful heavy metal. And the vocalist!! I didn't even realize it was a woman until I was reading this review during the first song, lol. Yeah, she's great, not just for a chick but for a singer of METAL.
The Shape 1973 - 06.05.2007 at 17:24  
Why didn't this album get any push from the record company.a classic that will be missed by everybody,i only found it by accident on an amazon list.Anyone in to power metal should get it without hesitation.
Beautiful War - 28.06.2007 at 05:03  
Written by pleasure.seeker on 24.05.2006 at 22:48

"...and extremely catchy"
true, true..

Nice review but one think, 9 for originality? What about first song - "Lost". I can hear "Sun is going down" from "Helloween" in it (If I see "brilliant originality" I expect something really originally)

Please take me easy,
peace.


Yeah, it's basically a re-write. I listened to The Dark Ride recently and was shocked to hear that the main riff as well as the "I would die for you, would you die with me?" lyric was sung in the exact same way. I think the only way they can get away with this is because Uli Kusch wrote that song when he was Helloween's drummer.
faustosouza - 02.09.2007 at 03:53  
The song called "Lost" is the original lyrics and arrange, from Uli of the music "Sun Is Going Down". The music version of Beautiful Sin is the original ideia of Uli about this song first released by Helloween with Grapow ideas include. Lost is the "director's cut" of the song.
Sentient 6 - 12.01.2008 at 02:09  
Well i recently discovered this album and i find that it pretty much rocks and sounds fresh, Magali Luyten has a very strong voice which suits this type of metal well, and of coarse Jorn Lofstad of Pagan's Mind on guitar is superb. I really look forward to their next release as i'm sure it will also be great. I can see this will probably become very well known like W.T or Epica Or Nightwish ect.
Marcelo Hissa - 18.07.2008 at 01:49  
I don´t think that they will be releasing any other album anymore... Uli now is into his new Project- band (whatever)... dont remember the name now...
Metalbound7 - 13.11.2008 at 13:56  
Amazing band, magali's voice is amazing, i hope they release a new album soon, if they carry on they have a lot of future in Metal. this album is a must have for every Power Metal fan.
Mountain King - 01.02.2011 at 15:36  
Written by Marcelo Hissa on 18.07.2008 at 01:49

I don´t think that they will be releasing any other album anymore... Uli now is into his new Project- band (whatever)... dont remember the name now...

Symfonia? with Timo Tolkki and Andre Matos...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Beautiful Sin - The Unexpected 7.5 06.10.2013 by diamondblack
Reviews Sear - Begin The Celebrations Of Sin 6 13.07.2006 by KryptoN
Reviews Hirax - The New Age Of Terror 4.5 05.01.2007 by
Reviews Remembrance - Silencing The Moments 4.5 20.08.2008 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews Kemet - The Rules Of Equilibrium 4.5 01.11.2006 by



Hits total: 9224 | This month: 2