Anacrusis - Screams And Whispers review



Reviewer:
9.4

93 users:
8.63
Band: Anacrusis
Album: Screams And Whispers
Release date: 1993


01. Sound The Alarm
02. Sense Of Will
03. Too Many Prophets
04. Release
05. Division
06. Tools Of Separation
07. Grateful
08. A Screaming Breath
09. My Soul's Affliction
10. Driven
11. Brotherhood?
12. Release [remix]


"Screams And Whispers" is the fourth and last album USA (St. Louis) based prog/thrash band Anacrusis released before their split up in 1993.

This release is much different from their early creation, the "Annihilation Complete" demo and the first full-length album "Suffering Hour." "Screams and Whispers" is most mature of all the Anacrusis albums; the raw speed and thrashiness of Suffering Hour has been replaced with really nice melodies and well thought out arrangements. There's no atmosphere to a usual thrash band, but this album has plenty of it - there's that glow around the music which brings up certain emotions to listeners. A lot of what's mentioned has been achieved with a new feature used on this album - orchestral hits (notice the huge influence of Celtic Frost's "In To the Pandemonium" album here, that has been stated by Ken Nardi himself in the band biography) and of course the unique vocals combined with brilliant twin guitar work.

There are slower songs on this album, to be more accurate songs with slower tempo outweighing parts with faster tempo. These two vary rather often in Anacrusis' works.

This album is again a step forward for this band (actually they have never stood in one place and repeated themselves). This is just one step in their progression, they are more mature on this album than ever. There is nothing more for us to do than to guess what would have been the next step for them if they hadn't split up. It's safe to say there was more where this came from, it just didn't get realized.

This album is very close to being perfect to someone who likes thrash and progressive metal combined.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9

Written by Markku | 13.06.2006


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
qlacs
Rating:
N/A
Even like 3 years after my first listening "session" with this piece, I can't really measure how much I really like it. Once I retrieve it from the magic box of mine I spend days only spinning these eleven songs, then it takes like half a year to even touch it again. I know many people have the same thing with certain music but for me it's only like 2-3 bands. What I can tell though right at the beginning of this is that it's one of the most important progressive thrash metal release ever since it hit the stores.

Read more ››
published 11.12.2012 | Comments (2)


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 82 users
13.06.2006 - 20:35
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Totally agree with this review, and I think the title of the album also sums up their sound.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
13.06.2006 - 21:07
Markku
Account deleted
I never thought of it but it's true, well sayed.
Loading...
23.06.2006 - 16:37
EvilOstrich
Account deleted
It's such a shame that an album of such high caliber like this didn't find it's place withing the metal community. But maybe that's also the joy of Anacrusis. They deserved so much more recognition, and unfortunately, it didn't come. This is an excellent review, and there isn't really anything else to be said other than the atmosphere surrounding this album make it one of the truly unique listens that someone could ever find.
Loading...
24.08.2006 - 17:02
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Underrated Thrash maspterpiece. Very creative, "Tools Of Separation" is probably my favourite track.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
05.01.2007 - 16:44
Mihkel
Account deleted
nice synth parts!!!
Loading...
06.01.2007 - 02:00
Dangerboner
:D
I prefer their first two albums, but this is still a pretty good cd. It shows matured songwriting abilities and features some surprises.
Loading...
16.02.2012 - 16:57
Vasil de Shumen
tolerant
This album is a true masterpiece !!!!!!!!

Emotionality - 10
Originality - 10
Performance - 10
Production - 9

The best album released in 1993. Absolutely !!!
Loading...
17.02.2012 - 00:53
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Ktulu recommended this to me, I said "I love Coroner" ... he said "Get this" ... I said "ok"
----
rekt
Loading...
17.02.2012 - 00:54
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Written by Vasil de Shumen on 16.02.2012 at 16:57

The best album released in 1993. Absolutely !!!


Ewww....STRONGLY disagree!

Coroner - Grin
Voivod - The Outer Limits
----
rekt
Loading...
17.02.2012 - 01:32
Vasil de Shumen
tolerant
I love Grin ... but this is better.
Loading...
17.02.2012 - 11:38
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by tea[m]ster on 17.02.2012 at 00:54

Written by Vasil de Shumen on 16.02.2012 at 16:57

The best album released in 1993. Absolutely !!!


Ewww....STRONGLY disagree!

Coroner - Grin
Voivod - The Outer Limits


Strongly disagree with you
Grin is okay but not too great imo
And Voivod I found actually weak that year
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
17.02.2012 - 20:04
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.02.2012 at 11:38

Written by tea[m]ster on 17.02.2012 at 00:54

Written by Vasil de Shumen on 16.02.2012 at 16:57

The best album released in 1993. Absolutely !!!


Ewww....STRONGLY disagree!

Coroner - Grin
Voivod - The Outer Limits


Strongly disagree with you
Grin is okay but not too great imo
And Voivod I found actually weak that year


Please tell me Marcel, on The Outer Limits , you like the mighty "Jack Luminous" ?
----
rekt
Loading...
18.02.2012 - 11:21
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by tea[m]ster on 17.02.2012 at 20:04


Please tell me Marcel, on The Outer Limits , you like the mighty "Jack Luminous" ?


I, actually, don't like a single song on The Outer Limits. Give me my Killing Technology and Dimension hatross
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
18.02.2012 - 16:19
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 18.02.2012 at 11:21

I, actually, don't like a single song on The Outer Limits. Give me my Killing Technology and Dimension hatross


I like both of those, but please give The Outer Limits one more try!
----
rekt
Loading...

Hits total: 4800 | This month: 13