Rating:
9.4
Celtic Frost - Monotheist
30 May 2006


01. Progeny
02. Ground
03. Dying God Coming Into Human Flesh
04. Drown In Ashes
05. Os Abysmi Vel Daath
06. Obscured
07. Domain Of Decay
08. Ain Elohim
09. Totengott
10. Synagoga Satanae
11. Winter: Requiem/Chapter Three: Finale


The Emperor HAS Returned

It would probably not be too much of an over-generalization to say that Celtic Frost fans are divided into two groups. The first group is made up of extreme metal fans who see the Swiss band's seminal records like Morbid Tales and To Mega Therion as the major influence and inspiration on the black, death and doom metal genres that they definitely and unquestionably are. The second group consists of the people who love Celtic Frost for their fearless avant-garde attitude that manifested itself on Into The Pandemonium, when the band incorporated gothic, operatic and even industrial elements into their abrasive metal style.

Monotheist, Celtic Frost's comeback album after 16 years of absence, will definitely appeal much more to the afore-mentioned second group. Although the band still knows how to make ultra-heavy extreme metal, the emphasis this time around is not on dynamic metal riffing but rather on creating a very dark and oppressive ambience. Thus, I interpret Monotheist as being a take onto the currently blossoming ambient metal scene and it makes Celtic Frost part of the 'front-line' again - they're not just old-timers rehashing ideas. Seen in this light, Monotheist is a very impressive achievement indeed. The band either smashes the senses with music as heavy as To Mega Therion ("Ain Eliohim", "Progeny", "Os Abysmi Vel Daath") or soothes them with somber and beautiful pieces ("Obscured", "Drown In Ashes", "Incantation Against You"). Finally, they conjure up "Synagoga Satanae", some of the most menacing 14 minutes I have ever heard. Everything here is droning, dark and absolutely overwhelming - a real experience to behold.

With all this said, I am not sure how the first group of fans that I described in the beginning will like this album. If you are expecting unadulterated and underproduced rage, you won't find it here. This album is very heavy but it is a very deliberate and carefully designed kind of heaviness. My advice to those who do not see the greatness of this album at first is to listen to it more and try to appreciate it on its own terms. It's well worth the effort.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 10


Band profile: Celtic Frost
Album: Monotheist


 



Written on 29.05.2006 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 34  
Users visited: 331  
Search this topic:  


Antisocial - 01.06.2006 at 01:50  
Sounds like an awsome album. I have been waiting TOO long for this, its about time they released it,
GraMortis - 02.06.2006 at 00:38  
Absolutely brilliant album. Very-very heavy and yet so progressive and innovative. This is in my opinion their greatest release ever. Hail the Swiss metal kings!
GODlike - 22.06.2006 at 17:23  
An album total blast. A masterpiece. I'm still recovering

Celtic Frost
Megadeth88 - 27.06.2006 at 21:17  
This album kicks soo much ass. I'm glad these came back after a long hiatus.
BitterCOld - 27.06.2006 at 21:40  
'Finally, they conjure up "Synagoga Satanae", some of the most menacing 14 minutes I have ever heard.'

No kidding - that track is creepy enough to almost be worth the price of the CD in and of itself. I pity the neighborhood kids out after dark and brave enough to approach my door next halloween... I'll have that track on repeat all night long.

I thought it was a strong album that touched on their roots, but also showed their menacing artistic side. I'd give it a 8.5.
Mordack - 28.07.2006 at 04:47  
Monotheist blows me away. Fucking amazing.
Marcel Hubregtse - 28.07.2006 at 21:00  
One of the biggest disappointments for me this year, nothing new, nothing spectacular, just didn't do a thing to me. But it is better than what I think is the most overrated album ever, INto The Pandemonium.
Passenger - 16.08.2006 at 17:08  
I'm divided. It's a different album, it's not every day that we get something like this, and you can hear that it has a lot of depth and interesting concepts and ideas, but it only works for me occasionally. I'm giving it a 7.
Valar - 18.08.2006 at 08:32  
After about 5 listens I can say this album is just outstanding.....
Progeny is a Killer Opener and then tracks like Obsured give a doomer ende to this album.....
Killer Stuff really enjoyed all tracks....!

THE EMPEROR HAS RETURNED !!!!
Stoemp - 18.08.2006 at 16:37  
Great album. I don't know the earlier work from Celtic Frost, but this album kicks ass! Great dark music.
Mordack - 06.09.2006 at 23:42  
Oh god, why have you forsaken me?


Killer album.
Marcel Hubregtse - 26.11.2006 at 12:39  
SInce I first heard this album in July I have listened to it over and over again and have finally come to the conclusion that Monotheist is singlehandedly THE MOST OVERRATED album of the year (maybe of the current century even) it is even more overrated than the new Iron Maiden.

Sorry, that I say this but I think it is about time people woke up to reality.
jupitreas - 26.11.2006 at 14:37  
Could you explain why you think so Marcel? I still believe Monotheist is absolutely one of the best albums of the year. I gave my reasons in the review, now lets hear yours
Dangerboner - 27.11.2006 at 03:22  
I didn't like this album at first, but it's slowly growing on me. I felt that it was too slow, but the slower paced songs are actually quite chilling and interesting. Progeny is my favorite song on this album because it's faster, catchier and more thrashy than the other tracks.
Warman - 06.12.2006 at 20:52  
You all have no idea how much I want this album! Since it's christmas soon, I hope to get it from my parents. If not, I promise that I'll go out and buy the album the next day after!
Rupert - 14.01.2007 at 02:21  
I think Marcel got a bit intimidated by your challenge, Jupitreas!
Paganblood - 06.03.2007 at 06:07  
good review! I'll listen to this album properly once again...
Mental_Orgasm - 01.04.2007 at 10:00  
I loved this cd, easily one of their best in my opinion
Krankheit - 15.04.2007 at 20:10  
Holy fuck! I´ve only listen to some songs from this album on their myspace, and what i have heard is just amazing.
BloodTears - 15.04.2007 at 23:43  
hail to Monotheist this is one hell of an album.
Yumos Muraticus - 31.05.2007 at 03:07  
As a fan of early Celtic Frost more than 'Into the Pandemonium' I can say the heavy material on this album is more than worthy of the price, while the less heavy stuff grows on you with time.
DigitalGrind - 23.09.2007 at 15:21  
These Switzerland guys sure can kick some ass,definetly fits in top 5 albums in 2006.
Infurnace - 23.09.2007 at 17:31  
I must say that this album turned out to be great. It's a bit heavier than I thought it would be, but that's positive, and the softer stuff is also very good, like "Dying God Coming Into Human Flesh".
Marcel Hubregtse - 19.03.2008 at 22:31  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 26.11.2006 at 12:39

SInce I first heard this album in July I have listened to it over and over again and have finally come to the conclusion that Monotheist is singlehandedly THE MOST OVERRATED album of the year (maybe of the current century even) it is even more overrated than the new Iron Maiden.

Sorry, that I say this but I think it is about time people woke up to reality.


Quoting myself nearly 1.5 years later I'll have to admit that I was totally wrong at the time. This album has grown so immensely on me that I find it actually a very good enjoyable album and certainly the best in Celtic Frost's entire repertoire (okay, that isn't too difficult for me, but still...) I would even dare to say that nowadays this album is underrated (yes, you read it right, kid, underrated and NOT overrated like I stated earlier) Maybe when I listened to it in 2006 all those times I just wasn't in the right frame of mind for something like this.

Concerning your rating of 9.4, well, I still believe that is too high, ut I would rate it a 8.8 now.
Paradox0 - 19.08.2008 at 05:03  
Pretty good album. I can't help but feel it gets off on the wrong leg though with the opening track. From track 4-9 is what makes this album (this includes the bonus track temple opf depression, honestly my favourite track off the album for now), which consists of outright dark and cold music (which is JUST what I've been looking for these days). Synogague Satanica just feels too indirect for my taste (as well as maybe even a little too straightforward in message in a cliche kind of way) and the last track is just a lil' too atmospheric (although I can definetly place myself in some abysmal winter wasteland listening too it) Overal a pretty good album which was in my zone of interest at the time. 8/10
Yuma Murata - 03.09.2008 at 01:16  
I would give it a 7. If this was ten songs like 'Ain Elohim', 'Progeny' and 'Domain of Decay' I would rate it higher, but Celtic Frost's quieter stuff has never done it for me and that goes for this album too.
Warman - 03.09.2008 at 01:39  
It's probably one of my all time favourites! BTW Marcel, I've said it before but I'm saying it again: I'm gonna murder you! "Into the Pandemonium" is some of the most artistic music I've heard... oh, and it rules!
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.09.2008 at 10:43  
Written by Warman on 03.09.2008 at 01:39

"Into the Pandemonium" is some of the most artistic music I've heard...


Damn, then you haven't heard much music
Warman - 03.09.2008 at 13:53  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.09.2008 at 10:43

Written by Warman on 03.09.2008 at 01:39

"Into the Pandemonium" is some of the most artistic music I've heard...


Damn, then you haven't heard much music

Dieeee Marcel!!!
Deadmeat - 20.10.2008 at 15:57  
This album is great. To me a bit better than any other Celtic Frost release. Although I don't listen to that style I realy enjoyed this album. I like the feeling it creates. Fear...
taha_69 - 13.02.2009 at 16:17  
Best album since "To Mega Therion"
AngelOfDisease - 17.02.2009 at 02:13  
I'm so in love with this album
Their best... too bad they split up. Hope Warrior Fischer creates something like this with his new band.
Uirapuru - 20.04.2009 at 20:22  
Wow... I have listened to this one right after Vanity/Nemesis and... the difference in the production quality is almost scary.

This album is good, not 9.4 good to me. An 8 is enough. Best songs are the heavy ''Progeny'', the atmospheric ''Obscure'' and the catchy ''Domain Of Decay''.
strade - 30.12.2011 at 01:55  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 28.07.2006 at 21:00

One of the biggest disappointments for me this year, nothing new, nothing spectacular, just didn't do a thing to me. But it is better than what I think is the most overrated album ever, INto The Pandemonium.

I think it's kind of a stretch to say that Into the Pandemonium is the most overrated album of all time. Many discredit the album and say that it's the first in a career decline, and I rarely see it rated that highly anywhere (81% on M_A and an 8 on MS--sad to say, but those are pretty much 'average' ratings for the two prime metal sites, especially the latter). It's not considered anywhere near the level of To Mega Therion by most, for example.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Celtic Frost - Monotheist 6 30.03.2010 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Celtic Frost - Morbid Tales 5.5 21.04.2010 by Richard
News Celtic Frost - Tom Gabriel Fischer Leaves The Band 4.5 09.04.2008 by
Albums Celtic Frost - Emperor's Return 4.5 29.06.2012 by
News Celtic Frost Announce Support For Forthcoming North American Tour 4.5 08.07.2006 by Daru Jericho



Hits total: 10188 | This month: 71