Saviour Machine - Saviour Machine II review


27 users:
Band: Saviour Machine
Album: Saviour Machine II
Release date: 1994

01. Saviour Machine I
02. The Gates
03. Enter The Idol
04. The Hunger Circle
05. Child In Silence
06. Ascension Of Heroes
07. Paradox
08. The Stand
09. American Babylon
10. Ceremony
11. Overture
12. Love Never Dies
13. Saviour Machine II

Few American bands nowadays manage to find a decent label unless they are playing new metal or mainstream hard rock. Hopefully, Saviour Machine, Doom/Gothic band hailing from California, figures amongst the chosen ones. But as always, luck has nothing to do with it. Talent is the key of success, and Saviour Machine happens to possess a surplus of it. Playing a mix Gothic Metal/Doom Metal, the band was then composed by Jeff Clayton on guitars, his brother Eric Clayton on vocals, Nathan Van Hala on piano and keys, Dean Forsyth on bass and Jayson Heart on drums. This combo had a deal with Massacre Records and "Saviour Machine II" is, as suggested, their second album, following the excellent album "Saviour Machine I".

The first thing that strikes the listener's ear is the purity of Eric Clayton's voice. He has without doubt learnt how to sing as he is totally master of his instrument while singing in a very difficult register. Comparing Eric Clayton to Tarja from Nightwish, albeit in manly, is the only thing I can think of to describe his deep operatic voice. With such a singer, Saviour Machine owns already a huge advantage on most of other bands playing in the same musical style. Then, the simple beauty of the mix melodies guitar/piano is another mind-blowing feature of their music. After that, relax and enjoy the contemplation of melancholy…

Slow, melancholic, lyric, operatic, melodic… These are the first adjectives that come to my mind while listening to the whole record. On the opening track, Eric Clayton's voice takes you to consider another vision of sadness. It's a sacrilege to interrupt him so it becomes quickly difficult to stop the album before its end. Then, one after the other, the songs get stuck in your head, whether it's the progressive 'Enter The Idol', the sorrowful 'Child In Silence' or the majestic 'Love Never Dies'. 'Ascension Of Heroes' is another great song, an inspiring ballad, showcasing Nathan Van Hala's piano abilities. 'The Stand' is the longest composition on the album and it sounds oriental, which from an American band, is quite unusual! However, I already mentioned it, but the big moment on this album is the ending trio ['Overture', 'Love Never Dies' and 'Saviour Machine II'], which left the listener wondering why on earth this band is not as popular as others are.

Some would criticized the band for their "cheesy sound", I'm praising them for ignoring those who can't understand and keeping playing their own music in spite of a lack of recognition.

To sum things up, if you like any kind of Gothic Metal, even gothic rock or the likes, Saviour Machine is awaiting for you my friend. If you have no particular interest in Gothic Metal, check this album out anyway since it may turns you into a fan before you can even notice.


Written on 04.02.2004 by Bringing you reviews of quality music and interesting questions such as:

"A picture is worth a thousand words. How many words is a song worth?"

I have only got so much patience and skills, you do the math.

Hits total: 2604 | This month: 11