Rating:
9.8
In Flames - Used And Abused... In Live We Trust [DVD]
25 July 2005


Disc I
01. Live At Sticky Fingers, Gothenburg (September 7th 2004)
    1 - F(r)iend
    2 - The Quiet Place
    3 - Dead Alone
    4 - Touch Of Red
    5 - Like You Better Dead
    6 - My Sweet Shadow
    7 - Evil In A Closet
    8 - In Search For I
    9 - Borders And Shading
    10 - Superhero Of The Computer Rage
    11 - Dial 595-Escape
    12 - Bottled
    13 - Behind Space
    14 - Artifacts Of The Black Rain
    15 - Moonshield
    16 - Food For The Gods
    17 - Jotun
    18 - Colony
    19 - Pinball Map
    20 - Only For The Weak
    21 - Trigger
    22 - Cloud Connected

02. Live At Hammersmith, London (December 27th 2004)
    1 - Pinball Map
    2 - System
    3 - Cloud Connected
    4 - In Search For I
    5 - Fucking Hostile [Pantera cover]
    6 - Behind Space
    7 - Quiet Place
    8 - Trigger
    9 - Touch Of Red
    10 - My Sweet Shadow

03. Soundtrack Tour 2004
    1 - Only For The Weak
    2 - Clayman

Disc II
01. System [Live In Madrid]
02. Dial 595-Escape [Live In Australia/Japan]
03. Dial 595-Escape [Live In London (soundcheck)]
04. Touch Of Red [Live In London (soundcheck)]
05. Promotional Videos
    1 - F(r)iend
    2 - My Sweet Shadow
    3 - Touch Of Red [extended DVD version]
    4 - The Quiet Place
06. Jester TV - Universal Access
    1 - About IN FLAMES
    2 - Interviews with band members
    3 - About The METALLICA show In Madrid
    4 - Behind The "Quiet Place" video shoot
    5 - Behind The "Touch Of Red" video shoot
    6 - Other videos: "F(r)iend", "Evil In A Closet"
    7 - About The start Of The "Soundtrack" tour 2004
    8 - Summer festival
    9 - Like You Better Dead [Live At Metaltown]
    10 - About The Japanese Tour
    11 - About The Australian Tour
    12 - L.A. - Roxy
    13 - About The Hammersmith concert
    14 - About The JUDAS PRIEST Tour
    15 - Episode 666 [Live At Scandinavium]
    16 - Backstage tour
    17 - About The Sticky Fingers concert


This DVD proves once again why we love these Swedish guys. To begin this review I would like to say that anyone who would like to have a good live DVD should buy this. Not only because of the quality, which is perfect almost in the whole DVD, but also about the lenght of this DVD.

This is a double DVD. At first we have Live At Sticky Fingers, Gothenburg (September 7th 2004) - this domestic show is half the DVD - in which they play the whole Soundtrack To Your Escape (WOW) and some other "hits" of theirs. We continue Live At Hammersmith, London (December 27th 2004) which is a great show too in which they play their greatest hits. In the first DVD it has other two songs from the Soundtrack Tour 2004 which in my opinion was the best venue and they should have more songs form that. In the Only for the Weak my hair tried to get out of my skin. What a feeling, I can't explain it. The performance of the band is like the cd, no mistakes in it, just perfect

Next we have a huge part from the Jester TV that shows In Flames in many parts. Some concerts, some interviews, some outtakes from the video clips. Most of it they say about their shows (With Metallica, Judas Priest, Australian-Japanese Tour and many other). In no way is this part boring. I found it really interesting and time flows nice without you saying "come on man get to the next subject." Espcially the In Flames fans would like it a lot. The other part of this DVD are 5 video clips from STYE (actually the one is live) and 2 from 1 from Reroute to Remain which was taken at the show with Metallica at Madrid. And there are also 2 other songs from a soundcheck which are really good and an interesting thing.

To conclude this is a must have DVD not only for every Gothenburg fan but for every one who would like to have a nice live DVD.
The sound and the quality of the live portions are almost perfect. Go and buy it you won't regret it!

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: In Flames
Album: Used And Abused... In Live We Trust


 


written by Metalforos666 | 15.07.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 35  
Search this topic:  


Darth Satanious - 15.07.2006 at 11:28  
A Live DVD is not fit for anyone who looks for a good live performance, you need to like the music the band creates in the first place but well.

I see that the track listing for that DVD focuses heavily in their "Soundtrack To Your Escape" album, must be because that was their latest album to that moment, and it is not something that takes my emotion away for I liked that album very much but we always like to have a balance in the set that gets to cover most of the albums of a band and specially with the quality of this band's earlier stuff.

In spite of this the DVD seems to showcase a lot of stuff for fans with a great length to keep you busy for a while. But what caught my attention the most in the DVD's menu would be that cover from Pantera they made; I have to get my hands on that DVD!
manini - 15.07.2006 at 11:56  
Great Review! I own this DVD and I must say it is the perfect DVD. Amazing video and sound quality, not to mention an amazing live show. It's really In Flames at their best. Any fan of metal should DEFINITELY have this in their collection.
VaronoZz - 15.07.2006 at 14:30  
Great review..!
metalforos - 16.07.2006 at 13:13  
Nice review tou got there man. You provide us a complete description about the dvd of "the great" In Flames. I think i',m gonna buy it now
Bas - 29.07.2006 at 12:23  
i saw the live stream of their graspop show, and that one was actually quite horrible..
Winds Of Horus - 26.08.2006 at 22:32  
Killer Dvd..and yes this should be in Every metal heads DVD collection.. IN FLAMES !!!
ThunderAxe1989 - 27.08.2006 at 00:29  
i have that DVD......i don't like how the first performance has a bunch ov their new songs at the start.
Unconsecrated - 22.03.2008 at 01:08  
It would be better if it didn't have so many Soundtrack To Your Escape's songs.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News In Flames - New Album Cover Art And Tracklist Revealed 4.5 13.04.2011 by MechanisT
Reviews Exodus - Shovel Headed Tour Machine (Live At Wacken And Other Assorted Atrocities) 4 05.01.2010 by Baz Anderson
News While Heaven Wept - Entire Live Album And DVD Clips Streaming 3 09.11.2010 by Enemy of Reality
Albums Cannibal Corpse - Torturing And Eviscerating Live [Live] 3 30.09.2013 by bloodwrage
News Motörhead - Double Live Album And Audio Samples 3 07.07.2007 by



Hits total: 3367 | This month: 25