Rating:
9.0
Mayhem - Live In Leipzig [Live]
1993


01. Deathcrush
02. Necrolust
03. Funeral Fog
04. The Freezing Moon
05. Carnage
06. Buried By Time And Dust
07. Pagan Fears
08. Chainsaw Gutsfuck
09. Pure Fucking Armageddon


Any black metal fan knows that live album! So making the review for Metal Storm was logic. Mayhem released one of these evil seeds with Dead [in my opinion, the best singer that the band has had] and Euronymous, the guitar player and founder of this cult band.

This live album puts the emphasis on the unholy and oppressive side of Mayhem's music, the four Norwegians play as they have to, there's nothing to say about that. The track list is well done [there's always someone who would disagree but oh well?], which includes the best songs from the band and among them, the beautiful ?Freezing Moon? that is tremendous due to the tortured voice of Dead.

Everything is perfect on that live album but the hazardous recording sound. However, these imperfections strengthen the unholy dimension of Mayhem's music. Live In Leipzig is a witness of the whole intensity that only a black metal gig can produce. If you still don's have it get that album quickly and if you don's like it, well, that means that you don's like pure black metal music.


Band profile: Mayhem
Album: Live In Leipzig


 


written by N K Monarch | 21.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 92  
Search this topic:  


Stuart39 - 01.11.2006 at 08:01  
I agree. This cd should be in evrey metal heads collection. Its the darkside, and its amazin'.
Lucas - 01.11.2006 at 17:50  
One of the best live albums released, IMO.
Basso - 01.11.2006 at 19:32  
This album is so cool. I cant really say I love this album, but the vocals on this album will forever haunt me. R.I.P Dead
HellRaiz0r - 08.01.2007 at 01:37  
Great album, but to hear Deads voice i prefer Out from the dark, its a pretty rare vinyl so good luck finding it
Baz Anderson - 08.01.2007 at 15:18  
black metal has never been my biggest genré, but i have this album - and.. well its black metal isnt it. haha
the sound is great unlike some other live albums and the whole live atmosphere really makes it feel more oppressing and haunting

it isnt the stuff i listen to every day, but this album is rather enjoyable
Doc Godin - 17.01.2007 at 02:39  
for me its an overrated album, I believe its overrated mostly because of Dead, it being his only official recording before he off'd himself people find that kind of cool, but standing on its own I think its a pretty weak album.
BreadGod - 17.01.2007 at 02:55  
I've been searching for this on DC++ for quite a while now, but I still haven't had any luck. I'll put it on the list of the stuff I'll search for on DC++ on the weekend.
Lokomotiv - 17.01.2007 at 04:57  
This is just the best black metal release ever!... cliché at this will sound, this albums captures the pure true essence of evil
LSD-25 - 23.03.2008 at 18:16  
And we have euronymous in this piece as well, this is a "cult" of norwegian black metal from early 90's
Martin_metal - 28.03.2008 at 07:31  
This album was better then I thougt. I think dead was the best vocalist in Mayhem..
Ether - 28.03.2008 at 08:33  
Written by Martin_metal on 28.03.2008 at 07:31

This album was better then I thougt. I think dead was the best vocalist in Mayhem..


I would agree. As a black metal fan, I of course was aware of the apparent importance of this Live album. But it was only apparent. If I download, I'll download something new or currently relevant, normally a studio album, so Live in Leipzig never occurred to me. Having managed to pick up the re-issue recently, I'm really impressed with the humility of Dead's voice - naked, no knob-twiddling tricks. It's powerful. Humble but powerful. Just as bm vocals should be. It's rare to come across vocal stylings that truly aren't arrogant and cheesy in bm, while still retaining the unique sound of that version of screeching. This recording, by the way, is also the grungiest black metal record I've heard. Some of that poor-sound-technician stuff and outbursts of feedback, coupled with the sufficiently fuzzy crunch of the now classically recognized Mayhem distortion could have come straight out of a Nirvana gig - fvckin' loving it.

Martin_metal - 28.03.2008 at 16:22  
The version I bought was the re-issue =)
WinteRob - 12.07.2008 at 23:37  
In my opinion this album is better than "De Mysteriis"
Uirapuru - 22.06.2009 at 17:06  
Deathcrush to the rawest level Live.

Great album. Great review.
Array - 07.07.2009 at 23:24  
Well i got this leipzig live, mediolanum capta est and live in marseille 2000 dvd. Live in leipzig is the worst of those.
HATHOR - 30.08.2009 at 17:55  
Great album (I could almost see Dead cut himself on stage)

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Mayhem - Dawn Of The Black Hearts [Live] 4.5 08.01.2014 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Mayhem - Esoteric Warfare 4 17.06.2014 by ManiacBlasphemer
Reviews Exodus - Shovel Headed Tour Machine (Live At Wacken And Other Assorted Atrocities) 2.5 05.01.2010 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Iron Maiden - A Real Live Dead One 2.5 25.09.2009 by Ellrohir
Reviews Angra - Holy Live 2.5 22.06.2009 by Uirapuru



Hits total: 4085 | This month: 79