Sonata Arctica - Silence review



Reviewer:
9.5

713 users:
8.70
Band: Sonata Arctica
Album: Silence
Release date: July 2001


01. ...Of Silence
02. Weballergy
03. False News Travel Fast
04. The End Of This Chapter
05. Black Sheep
06. Land Of The Free
07. Last Drop Falls
08. San Sebastian [revisited version]
09. Sing In Silence
10. Revontulet
11. Tallulah
12. Wolf & Raven
13. Respect The Wilderness [Japanese bonus]
14. The Power Of One


Unlike "Ecliptica", which kicks off on the very first second, this album has an intro - well, actually even too many of them, because there's an intro for "The End Of This Chapter", for "Land Of The Free" and "The Power Of One"... Why I talk about this? Because it's the only weak point of this flawless in every other way album. Though after the first listening I was, like "What the hell? This is not half as good as Ecliptica!" now it has really grown on me. It has everything that I expect from a power metal album - powerful ultrafast tracks with kick-ass double-drumming, a couple of really nice and emotional ballads and a sign of high-quality all over it. At the same time it doesn't sound like a standard euro-power - it's much more diverse, with tons of fresh ideas and very wise lyrics [not your typical dragons, warriors and enchanted lands!]

The album also contains a "revisited" version of San Sebastian [which appeared on the "Successor" EP], but there really isn't one hell of a difference from the original. Here you will also find the first Sonata Arctica instrumental track, "Revontulet" and the longest [over 10 min] and the most impressive song [as usually they placed it in the very end, even behind the Japan bonus track], "The Power Of One", which brings up some serious topics. And there's also a stand out mid-tempo "Sing In Silence" with very unusual for Sonata Arctica sound and strange lyrics [Hell, I'm still trying to figure out what it's all about].

"Silence" is one of the best albums of this year, for sure. Must have for every melodic metal fan.

Written by Ivan | 04.01.2004


 


Comments

Comments: 16   Visited by: 159 users
26.07.2006 - 23:03
The Alchemist
Metalchemist
I agree with some things that has this album which makes it better, like the ballads, fast songs, instrumental song, one of the longest songs in Power metal and lyrical content

I think that this album has some really melancholic songs, like "Sing in Silence" or "Fast News Travel Fast", though the last one is very fast. And this album has more ballads, all of them are nice. these stuff is good, but I still think that it's not so good as Ecliptica
----


I'm not afraid to die, I'm afraid to be alive without being aware of it
Sensorium - Epica
Loading...
26.07.2006 - 23:34
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Good album, would have rated it a 7.5 though. Good songs, good sound, but not magical if you ask me.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
28.07.2006 - 02:29
Taktsekte
Your Ad Here!
An amazing album. I would not rate it as high as a 9.5 because I do not like several songs like "Sing in Silence" or "Land of the Free", but it deserves at least a good 9.0. Silence has the two best Sonata Arctica songs, i.e. San Sebastian and Wolf & Raven, and other Power Metal classics such as Black Sheep, False News Travel Fast, plus the majestic ballads Tallulah and Last Drop Falls (my favourite Sonata Arctica ballad).
Loading...
31.07.2006 - 01:42
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
I liked it a lot before, but I'm not a big fan of Sonata anymore, mostly because of Kakko's voice.
@TA: one of the longest songs in power metal? 10 minutes? that is far from the truth dude
Loading...
16.08.2006 - 11:21
The Mu-Mu Thing.
Account deleted
I think it's their best album, though it has some songs I can't stand.. False news travel fast is one of them. Haven't been listening SA for a long time now, but I think The Power Of One would still be my favourite song..
And it's true what is written in the review - "not your typical dragons, warriors and enchanted lands!" I really dislike power metal lyrics because of that, but SA's lyrics are not bad at all, though they're maybe too romantical and whimpering at the moments.. Good to listen when you're in kind of sensitive and sentimental condition
And I find the cover of the album very, very nice.
Loading...
18.12.2006 - 06:23
Dethroned
Account deleted
just picked this up at Borders and just love it !!..Sonatica Arctica !!
Loading...
17.07.2007 - 17:40
CrimsonSoaked
Account deleted
I'lld say it's the best of Sonata
Loading...
29.09.2007 - 18:47
PowerMetal
Account deleted
Definitely my favorite album of theirs.
Loading...
11.02.2008 - 23:22
+{Jonas}+
I R Serious Cat
Probably their best album, it's faster and more complex than Ecliptica. A must deffinitely. False News Travel Fast is deffinitely the best track
----
"Nobody wants to be the weird kid, you just end up being the weird kid. You don't know how you ended up getting there" - Rob Zombie

http://jonas-bs.deviantart.com My dA, mainly photography, go check it out!
Loading...
06.03.2008 - 17:41
FOOCK Nam
This one is a masterpiece. I love all songs from this album.
Loading...
02.04.2008 - 05:26
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Whoa.. very melancholyc songs. At least 5 of the songs are very very emotional, and it has a little metal too. But it turn out to be good. 8,5/10
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
27.08.2008 - 02:52
BlankFile
Silence... is a genious album, the best album of Sonata Arctica, no doubts about it. Its a complete album with lots of tecnique and glorious moments. Great riffs, solos, piano parts, environments that blow your mind. This album has it all.
With this masterpiece Sonata Arctica made a clear statment that they are here to stay and amaze us all, with their creative and beautifull music. Stay Metal people |m|
Loading...
01.07.2009 - 00:48
Mountain King
K i K o
When mentioning longest power metal songs, u can't forget Keeper Of The Seven Keys by Helloween, it's almost 14 minutes which is way more than 10 minutes!
Loading...
03.09.2009 - 16:31
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
Rhapsody - Gargoyles, Angels Of Darkness and Theocracy - Mirror Of Souls...both are way longer than Keeper

but about the album - it is another Sonata's great stuff...highlights: Tallulah and Black Sheep
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
11.01.2010 - 08:16
Wes
My favorite Sonata Arctica album. I love Ecliptica as well but if I had to have one disk with me it would be this one.
I enjoy the balads from this band more than the other songs, but I like the fast songs also. I really can't stand Reckoning Night and on though..
Loading...
19.03.2011 - 00:26
FrozenJoy
I desperately want to get this album... It's excellent, probably their best album... Personally, I enjoy the fastest songs a bit more... But Tallulah is simply beautiful... Anyway, the best one's Wolf and Raven
Loading...

Hits total: 7761 | This month: 18