Angra - Temple Of Shadows review



Reviewer:
10

552 users:
8.72
Band: Angra
Album: Temple Of Shadows
Release date: September 2004


01. Deus Le Volt!
02. Spread Your Fire [feat. Sabine Edelsbacher]
03. Angels And Demons
04. Waiting Silence
05. Wishing Well
06. The Temple Of Hate [feat. Kai Hansen]
07. The Shadow Hunter
08. No Pain For The Dead [feat. Sabine Edelsbacher]
09. Winds Of Destination [feat. Hansi Kürsch]
10. Sprouts Of Time
11. Morning Star
12. Late Redemption [feat. Milton Nascimento]
13. Gate XIII


Sometimes I should eat my own words. Why do I go talking about an album being the best? Because I believed nothing could prove me wrong. When you love a song or album so much nothing can make you change. And I thought I wasn't going to change.

I did. Well, maybe I will. Because even I said Voimasta Ja Kunniasta was the best metal album, or at least the one I loved the most, now I may change my opinion. This, my friends, is the best metal album. Or maybe I just should stop talking shit and just say that any album I rate as perfect (you won't find a lot of them) can be my favorite.

Angra. A second tier power metal band. Really, why listen to these bands when you have masters like Helloween, Blind Guardian, Gamma ray, etc. Unless they have something new and fresh for the genre, you shouldn't bother. And Angra didn't have anything that just made you crazy.

No longer. This album is so new, fresh, powerful, technical and bombastic that it's unbelievable. First, this is metal. Power metal. Almost. Well, the first songs are classic power metal songs. So, you may ask? Well. "Spread Your Fire." "Angels and Demons." "Wishing Well." "The Temple of Hate." Any of these songs in any power metal album are highlights. But in this album they are the only "pure" power metal songs. Even in two of those there are a guest singer. Now, what's going wrong?

Well, if you are "only" a metal lover, forget this album. Get those songs, and don't bother buying the album. All the other songs are in some part power metal songs. Very little part. Only in a few more songs. Let's say, how would Dream Theater sound if they were Brazilian, they liked power metal and had a singer with balls? Yeah, I'm cumming too.

But before going on, the singer. Well, not the singer, but the vocal melodies. (Take a big breath). This album has the best vocal melodies ever found. That's right. But not only because of the singer who is amazing, and maybe better that Mr. Andre Matos. It's the songwriting. Each instrument is perfect where it is, and the vocals are another instrument. Fuck, even Hansi sings better than ever. Yes, "Winds Of Destination" has the best performance Hansi has ever done.

But you may wonder why I said "Brazilian" Dream Theater as a comparision? The folk elements are there. (Brazilian) Folk Progressive Power Metal? Check the flamenco intro on "The Shadow Hunter." The salsa sound of "Sprouts Of Time." Yes, almost all the second half of the album has a lot of experimentation, and they even have some good innovating ideas. Check the bass on "Waiting Silence." And the best is how coherent this album is, because usually albums that want to be conceptual, have a ton of guest singers (well, there are only 5), and making each song so different to each other it looks like another band, it's difficult. Yet they made it. The best is how the intro and the outro have melodies from "Spread your Fire" (and more songs), which make listening to the album repeated times more satisfactory.

Now, those looking for highlights: this album has none. No, you can't find any. Any song has something the other hasn't. Crunchy riff? "Morning Star." Complexity? "The Shadow Hunter." Kick ass chorus and intro? "Spread Your Fire." Best vocals and bass? "Waiting Silence." I could go on forever. Remember, not every album is a bunch of songs. If you like albums as cohsive collective of songs, get this. Now. Guess what, that's what every concept album is.

Now, what I hate is that an amazing album will be just heard by some elitists and be forgotten by society. Why couldn't this be an album that influences a genre? Power Metal needs a new make up. Kiuas is there helping too, but just two bands aren't enough. Really, Prog/Power is the way to go now. Ask Pagan's Mind and Symphony X if you want.

Well, if you are checking for new bands/albums, remember this: If listening to a flamenco acoustic intro, or some salsa, or just wanting to listen to heavy and crunchy riffs wherever, don't get this. Get some Death, or Thrash. But the others, the ones who have read the full review, those who love music, and not just metal. Those that are looking for something new and refreshing, and are sick of listening the same thing when they see a band labeled as "Power Metal", get this. Forget every other album Angra has done. You can't compare those to this masterpiece. This album is so rich, complex, but at the same time accessible, that people will se it on the future, and remember it, not as "that awesome album," but as a classic. That's what this deserves. No music collection is completed without this. What are you waiting for?


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10

Written by Talvi | 09.10.2006


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Jeff
Rating:
9.0
I'm a fan of Angra, since the beginning and I must admit that their "split" if I can use this word was a really big disappointment for me. Their first album through the new area of the band "Rebirth" wasn't a good one for me, not because of the new musicians, but it was just uncoloured in comparison of the others albums of the band. But on the other hand, I totally understand that it's not easy to release a great and amazing album just after a real turnover in the line-up of a band. Then, I was waiting a lot this new album "Temple Of Shadows", and damn that's totally different... Yeah I must say it, this time I just took a big good nice kick in my ass… "Temple Of Shadows" is just an amazing and beautiful album…

Read more ››
published 06.12.2004 | Comments (19)


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 97 users
26.03.2007 - 19:24
Crowe
Account deleted
Couldn't agree more, it's all great songs, one after another, THIS IS A MASTERPIECE! 10/10
Loading...
04.05.2007 - 22:10
Needles_Kane
Account deleted
Best Power Metal Album That I've Heard:bow:
Loading...
18.06.2007 - 20:53
Infurnace
I started to listen to this album again, lately. And once again I must say it's really a masterpiece. I haven't heard something like this before, ever. It really deserves those 10 points.
Loading...
22.08.2007 - 19:27
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Agree with you all, great review!
Loading...
07.03.2008 - 16:10
Metalhead2
Skinhead1
i agree that this metal album is the best ever ever!!!!!!! fuck wintersun, fck reign in bllood fuck painkiller fuck powerslave....
Loading...
30.03.2009 - 00:12
Mountain King
K i K o
The Temple Of Hate Rules!!! on the level of bands like Helloween and Gamma Ray
Loading...
18.12.2009 - 00:05
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Not a 10.. cmon... that would make all other Angra albuns 11.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
10.07.2010 - 19:12
farfaramir
Mmm... too overrated.
Loading...
10.07.2010 - 20:27
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Definitely a 10/10 album. I totally love this album, and its one of my faves of all time. A classic for sure. <3
Loading...
10.07.2010 - 23:17
RavenKing
Totally overrated. Typical of flowermetal fans to give anything average a 10.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
10.07.2010 - 23:34
Hrothdane
Written by RavenKing on 10.07.2010 at 23:17

Totally overrated. Typical of flowermetal fans to give anything average a 10.


Totally condescending. Typical of extreme metal fans to bitch about other peoples' music.
----
Despair is death, and I'm not interested in dying.

Member of the True Crusade against True Crusades
Loading...
10.07.2010 - 23:40
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Written by Hrothdane on 10.07.2010 at 23:34

Written by RavenKing on 10.07.2010 at 23:17

Totally overrated. Typical of flowermetal fans to give anything average a 10.


Totally condescending. Typical of extreme metal fans to bitch about other peoples' music.


I was just about to say something similar. If you hate the genre, (''flowermetal'' in this case ) then it could be the greatest album in that genre, and you'd still call it "average". Totally patronising attitude.
Loading...
11.07.2010 - 01:01
RavenKing
Written by Angelic Storm on 10.07.2010 at 23:40

I was just about to say something similar. If you hate the genre, (''flowermetal'' in this case ) then it could be the greatest album in that genre, and you'd still call it "average".


This explanation is true. The condescending tone was used on purpose, voluntarily, because the fanboyìsh attitude and the habit flowermetal fans have to believe everything that sounds remotely like cheesemetal is great pisses me off.
And, in case it was a question, yes I despise flowermetal.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
11.07.2010 - 01:13
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Written by RavenKing on 11.07.2010 at 01:01
This explanation is true. The condescending tone was used on purpose, voluntarily, because the fanboyìsh attitude and the habit flowermetal fans have to believe everything that sounds remotely like cheesemetal is great pisses me off.
And, in case it was a question, yes I despise flowermetal.


In that case, you were making a blatant assumption, and a wrong one. Although I definitely would not call Angra ''flower metal'' or "cheesemetal", you are obviously meaning the melodic power metal genre. And I have heard a lot of albums in this genre that are far from great, so the ''fanboyish'' attitude most certainly doesnt apply to me. You hate the genre, so can only give subjective views on the bands/albums of that genre, and therefore your opinion is going to be completely biased, and of no real value to anyone other than those who shares your tastes. And the fanboyish attitude exists in ALL genres of metal, so dont kid yourself its purely a ''flowermetal'' thing. In your opinion NO album of this genre of music can be considered a classic. With that said, you'd be likely to brand anyone who thought highly of any ''flowermetal'' album as a blind fanboy. Hardly a viewpoint that can be taken seriously in any way.

It wasnt a question, it was blindingly obvious.
Loading...
11.07.2010 - 01:37
Hrothdane
Written by RavenKing on 11.07.2010 at 01:01

Written by Angelic Storm on 10.07.2010 at 23:40

I was just about to say something similar. If you hate the genre, (''flowermetal'' in this case ) then it could be the greatest album in that genre, and you'd still call it "average".


This explanation is true. The condescending tone was used on purpose, voluntarily, because the fanboyìsh attitude and the habit flowermetal fans have to believe everything that sounds remotely like cheesemetal is great pisses me off.
And, in case it was a question, yes I despise flowermetal.


*yawn* Accusing people of being fanboys because they like something you don't, how uninspired. If you are going to troll power metal threads on this website, you need to step up your game. Or you could go back to 4chan, your choice.
----
Despair is death, and I'm not interested in dying.

Member of the True Crusade against True Crusades
Loading...
11.07.2010 - 02:49
RavenKing
Written by Hrothdane on 11.07.2010 at 01:37

If you are going to troll power metal threads on this website


It is not my intention. I made it clear once and for all, so people will know why I will post only about extreme metal.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
12.07.2010 - 05:47
farfaramir
Written by RavenKing on 10.07.2010 at 23:17

Totally overrated. Typical of flowermetal fans to give anything average a 10.

It's funny, I thinks it's overrrated but this is far of being a power metal album. It has three or maybe four songs that are power metal, the rest... I don't know what they are, progressive maybe? The point it's full of borings songs, even when it has some really good songs, so, do it deserves a 10? Not at all, maybe someone could explain the reason to give it a 10.
Loading...

Hits total: 4767 | This month: 20