Rating:
8.0
Stratovarius - Destiny
5 October 1998


01. Destiny
02. S.O.S.
03. No Turning Back
04. 4000 Rainy Nights
05. Rebel
06. Years Go By
07. Playing With Fire
08. Venus In The Morning
09. Anthem Of The World
10. Cold Winter Nights [European bonus]
11. Dream With Me [Japanese bonus]
12. Blackout [Scorpions cover][American bonus]


Destiny is one of those friendly album, which every listener can enjoy immediately: just push play and let the songs carry you away. Trust me, this album will remain in your cd player for a long time. Why? What's the secret? If you loved Visions, you should know it: excellent melodies based on minor scales. In fact every song has good vocal melodies and a melodic guitar solo. What I really love about this record is Timo Kotipelto's vocals: sad, cold and surprisingly high. The songwriting, all by Timo Tolkki, is good and quite 'simple? (if we can call 'simple? a power metal song): the songs are created around one or two melodies and they are embellished with fast melodic guitar solos, choruses and unfailing Tolkki-Johansson guitar-keyboard duets [a true trademark in Stratovarius? sound].

The structure is various: a memorable 10 minutes long opening title track [which shares my top three with Dream Theater's A Change Of Seasons and Savatage's Believe], a fast 'No Turning Back', a slow 'Years Go By', a beautiful ballad called '4000 Rainy Nights' and 'Anthem Of The World', the perfect lyrical continuation of 'Paradise'. In conclusion, Destiny is not a masterpiece, but is the ideal follow-up to Visions, a good work easy to catch, although one step down his predecessor.


Band profile: Stratovarius
Album: Destiny


 


written by The Silent Man | 22.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
ErnilEnNaur

Rating:
6.2
Destiny is the album that introduced me to the Finnish power metal giants Stratovarius and in retrospect, I must say that it wasn't a very good place to start. I later went on to discover the greatness of their previous release Visions, but Desinty never grew on me and I still don't like it much even today. The reason for this is that it suffers from uninspired, unimaginative songwriting and doesn't even come close to realizing the band's true potential.

Read more ››
published 07.03.2011 | Comments (22)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 69  
Search this topic:  


Pianoman - 28.07.2006 at 05:47  
For me this is the best album of stratovarius. The first track is one of the best songs of Stratovarius and 4000 rainy nights is their ballad for me.
Stratowarrior - 30.09.2006 at 15:59  
according to piano man to me "destiny" is the best stratovarius album also with "episode" and the song destiny is the best song ever on earth i love stratovarius and hail to finland!!!!
Stratoman - 09.10.2006 at 04:31  
as an album i have to say is not their best album as it is said, but i think as visions it has a lot of their best songs, as an album i prefer episode...anyway that's my personal opinion.. farewell
Stratoman - 09.10.2006 at 04:32  
as an album i have to say is not their best album as it is said, but i think as visions it has a lot of their best songs, as an album i prefer episode...anyway that's my personal opinion.. farewell
ThunderAxe1989 - 29.10.2006 at 23:01  
I just purchased this album recently when I was in the states. It's good, they've done better albums, but this is still good, the best song on that album i think is "No Turning Back", WoW! I find that the production is not up to par in comparison to their other albums, but oh well
Arcaliz666 - 16.07.2007 at 00:55  
Destiny, good album of Stratovarius but Visions it's much more better.

Best track : Playing With Fire, 4000 Rainy Nights, Rebel
Killing Track : S.O.S
BloodTears - 07.09.2007 at 14:32  
My favourite song is "Destiny" and I agree that this is an "easy-listen" but that doesnt dimish its value. The vocals are impressive. Of course I don't need to mention the guitar work for its something so obvious and ridiculously superb

Overall, i think I would give it a 8.5.
Uirapuru - 31.03.2008 at 05:25  
the epic first track ''Destiny'' wins the album... its just one of the greatest masterpieces of song i've ever heard.. the other songs are okay too xD
Morphis - 19.12.2008 at 08:44  
For me this was another perfect album that i sometimes still ear. Episode, Visions and Destiny one word...timeless!
-Mayhem- - 19.09.2009 at 21:03  
Destiny is definately in the top three.
Actually depending on the moment Destiny is either the best or the second best album they have ever made.
Ellrohir - 19.09.2009 at 22:45  
Best album by Stratovarius
Lord_Regnier - 20.09.2009 at 01:36  
"Destiny" is a good PM album. The only thing I dislike about it is, like any other album Stratovarius released after this one, the drums are recorded way too loud. They're so much on top of everything it gets annoying very quickly if you're not in the right mood. After a while, you have the impression to hear only that fucking snare.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Metallica - S&M 6 21.10.2006 by Spyroid
Reviews Savatage - Dead Winter Dead 6 07.05.2007 by Grey_Dandelion
Reviews Evergrey - Recreation Day 6 26.05.2008 by juanopereira
Reviews Iron Maiden - Dance Of Death 6 19.12.2006 by
Reviews Dream Theater - Train Of Thought 6 25.07.2006 by Mr.Wilson



Hits total: 7175 | This month: 58