Rating:
N/A
Alice In Chains - The Essential Alice In Chains [Compilation]
5 September 2006


Disc I
01. We Die Young
02. Man in the Box
03. Sea of Sorrow
04. Love, Hate, Love
05. Am I Inside
06. Brother
07. Got Me Wrong
08. Right Turn
09. Rain When I Die
10. Them Bones
11. Angry Chair
12. Dam That River
13. Dirt
14. God Smack
15. Hate To Feel
16. Rooster

Disc II
01. No Excuses
02. I Stay Away
03. What the Hell Have I
04. A Little Bitter
05. Grind
06. Heaven Beside You
07. Again
08. Over Now [acoustic version]
09. Nutshell [acoustic version]
10. Get Born Again
11. Died
12. Would?


Every cult band on Earth deserves to have its "best of" right? And I hope by the way, that you will all agree with me if I say that Alice In Chains is a real cult band. Since that the band from Seattle is back in front of the scene last year with a big monumental "come back" tour, their record label Columbia Records, decided to release a new best of in September 2006 (it was first settled to be released in March 2004). Let's hope that it will be a good way for some people to discover the American Grunge combo.

"The Essential Alice In Chains" is a double album with 28 songs featured on the release. Of course the mega hits like "Grind", "Heaven Beside" or "Them Bones" are all featured on the track list but you'll be able also to find some songs a bit less famous and songs that come from their MTV Unplugged album. Don't expect anything really new or unreleased it's a classic basic best of, and if all their albums are already in your collection, no need to buy this release. On the other hand and for the others ones, it can be a good way to discover Alice In Chains…

It's a compilation ok, but even, sadly, if you'll not be able to find the lyrics of all the songs in the booklet you'll be able to read a really good biography written by Steffan Chirazi. It's simple on a side but really effective and the fans like the ones who will discover the band with the help of this album, will be able to understand the whole (tragic) story of the Alice In Chains.

With a cool best of and a nice tour in 2006, who know, maybe that Alice In Chains will be back soon with a new album. I don't know what are the plans of the band right now, and evidently without Layne Staley it will never be the same, but when I listen to this album I still enjoy their music, and when I read the comments about their last tour, I have the feeling that a lot of people should be extremely happy if the band chose to release a new album. Let's see if it will happen one day…
PS: Note finally that you can find a three discs version with a DVD featuring ("The Nona Tapes", the music videos for "Grind" and "Heaven Beside You"and an additional interview footage.)


Band profile: Alice In Chains
Album: The Essential Alice In Chains


 


written by Jeff | 05.10.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 70  
Search this topic:  


Dr Ikari - 06.10.2006 at 03:20  
Layne Staley was the man. He had a unique voice: haunting yet beautiful. The Unplugged is one of the most beautiful live albums ever recorded. If Jerry, Mike and Sean feel like recording another album maybe they should do it under Jerry Cantrell's name. Leave AIC's history just the way it is.
Southern Wind - 06.10.2006 at 07:15  
I don't support the inclussion of non-metal reviews in this site
PRIMAL FEAR - 06.10.2006 at 08:08  
Written by Guest on 06.10.2006 at 07:15

I don't support the inclussion of non-metal reviews in this site

I'll second that.
Promonex - 06.10.2006 at 09:28  
I don't support the existence of close-mindedness on this site.

Besides, according to MA AIC were pretty metallic, more metal than Rammstein for example.
iaberis - 06.10.2006 at 11:40  
I've heard the album and it's really good. I just can't understand why some ppl consider it as non-metal... It sounded pretty much metal to me... But not more metal than Rammstein
Ozman - 06.10.2006 at 12:37  
Written by Guest on 06.10.2006 at 07:15

I don't support the inclussion of non-metal reviews in this site


Sorry to burst your bubble but AIC ARE metal, especially their first album, if you deny that album being metal then you also deny that Black Sabbath is metal. And btw, a lot of grunge is metal.
Dangerboner - 07.10.2006 at 02:44  
Agreed. AIC are definitely a metal band and in a time period where record labels discouraged their bands to have guitar solos, Jerry Cantrell was still busting them out.
Gerblack - 07.10.2006 at 18:35  
This review made me feel curious about AIC, I've been a pure headbanger for a long, long time and the experience teaches us that being closedmind is a direct way to the stupidity... so I DO support reviews for all gammas of metal in this site! (of course I'll study AIC state of the art...)
dismaleuphony - 08.10.2006 at 07:01  
Alice In Chains most certainly were metal, though yes, not in all their songs. And they are one of the few bands that truly deserved all the hype they got back in the 90s on commercial radio. Nice review!
Panterica - 27.08.2009 at 18:51  
Alice in Chains are the most metallic grunge band I know, It doesn't mean they're the best in the genere (I perfer Soundgarden and It's very sad that they don't have a proper page in MS ).
Layne Staley has a very unique voice and writing style, it's such a shame he's not with us anymore. I'm sorry for the new vocalist of AIC, he has big shoes to fill.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Alice In Chains - The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here 7 02.06.2013 by Jiri
News Alice In Chains - "The Essential Alice In Chains" To Be Released In September 6.5 16.08.2006 by
Albums Alice In Chains - The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here 6 15.02.2013 by Ace Frawley
Reviews Bible Of The Devil - Freedom Metal 4.5 15.02.2009 by destroyah
News Alice In Chains - Winner Of The Contest 4.5 08.10.2006 by DIE_by_my_HAND



Hits total: 3968 | This month: 34