Rating:
9.6
Deicide - The Stench Of Redemption
22 August 2006


01. The Stench Of Redemption
02. Death To Jesus
03. Desecration
04. Crucified For The Innocence
05. Walk With The Devil In Dreams You Behold
06. Homage For Satan
07. Not Of This Earth
08. Never To Be Seen Again
09. The Lord's Sedition
10. Black Night [Deep Purple cover] [Limited Edition bonus]


The last time I enjoyed a Deicide album was back in 1992 when "Legion" broke my neck and liquefied my brain cells, then after their following releases I just honestly lost track of this band. Few years later (Present Day) the rumors about a great EP began to circulate all over the Metal scene, everyone was excited about it and they barely could wait for the new Full Length to arrive, so I followed. Finally I received this album to review, and now I'm about to describe one of the greatest Death Metal albums of the present days.

The Stench Of Redemption is one of the most intense experiences in modern metal; every single track has a life of its own due to the outstanding songwriting presented, every chord played, every tone reached and every solo completed shows a polished band to the core, Death Metal in its shocking best that's for sure.

There's a huge plus in The Stench Of redemption. This new line-up could be the dream-team of Death Metal; you have two of the most complex guitarists creating all kind of merged leads and solos for the music (written marvelously by Steve Asheim) to become utterly impressive and tinted with the shivering voice of Glen Benton. This is seriously one hell of an ensemble to say the least.

Most of the fanatics already know the tracks presented in the EP ("Homage For Satan" and "Crucified For The Innocence") this songs are amazing indeed, but once you get into the astonishing vortex that this album is, you'll see why Deicide rapidly climbed to the top this year. Those songs that manage to sound versatile yet classic, songs like "The Lord's Sedition" with its progressive connotation, "The Stench Of Redemption" showing super-catchy riffs, "Walk With The Devil In Dreams You Behold" bombarding the listener with melodies and violence at the same time, (just to name a few) are the ones that bring this album to the ultimate climax, a peak that reaches re-playable values where you'll find a better feature each time you push play.

This album is surely a masterpiece and it will surely become a classic record in the future; the only small imperfection is the production that sounds occasionally dry, but when you have a killer album like The Stench Of Redemption things like this become impassive because your attention goes directly to the remarkable music. I highly recommend this album, DO NOT miss this release.

Best Tracks: All.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Deicide
Album: The Stench Of Redemption


 


written by Herzebeth | 15.10.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 42  
Users visited: 195  
Search this topic:  


Baz Anderson - 15.10.2006 at 21:27  
yes i agree! this album is Deicide in top form
i was actually planning on listening to it again tonight or tomorrow or sometime, and i am looking forward to when i get chance to
this album blew me back when i first got it, and i am sure it will again when i listen to it later
fantastic album. recommended by me as well
Bloodshed - 15.10.2006 at 21:55  
Uh what an awesome review from the Herz-maister, I was planning to buy this album someday next week but now I can't wait the EP was a killer sampler and I still hear those songs almost everyday, if you say this one has better songs then I'm missing the hell out of this CD, today's sunday so my record shop is closed, I hope my nails get to live through the night because tomorrow I'll buy it for sure.
kackbratze - 15.10.2006 at 22:20  
"Scars of the Crucifix" was a return to form, but "The Stench of Redemption" is a giant leap forward (or backward to their early brilliance). A truly great album!
manini - 15.10.2006 at 22:36  
Man I totally agree with you, this is probably the best death metal album I've heard this year, and it will be a classic in the years to come. Great review man!
Herzebeth - 15.10.2006 at 22:45  
thanks for the comments. and yes I think it's one of the best releases this year, in fact I have 2 #1's on my top 5 Death Metal list.
#1: Deicide and Suffocation albums
#2: Vader
#3: Cannibal Corpse
#4: Unleashed
#5: haven't figured this one out but maybe Anata, Fleshless or Datura.

this year was one of the most intense years for the Death Metal scene...
Winter Death - 15.10.2006 at 23:15  
Probably my fav of the year. 10/10.
Basso - 15.10.2006 at 23:56  
I must check this one out if it is as good as everyone says.
Trifixion - 16.10.2006 at 00:05  
Completely agree, my favorite release of 2006 so far and one of my favorite DM albums of all time.
Herzebeth - 16.10.2006 at 00:40  
Written by Guest on 15.10.2006 at 23:56

I must check this one out if it is as good as everyone says.

Trust me man, once you hear those solos and those leads...there's no coming back lol. no seriously, it's a great album and I'm sure you'll enjoy it.
Dangerboner - 16.10.2006 at 00:47  
This cd is more brutal than a fluffy cat wrapped in duct tape.
-MeTaLlIc-OwL- - 16.10.2006 at 01:04  
Killer album, finally reviewed by Herz, nice!
Der Meister - 16.10.2006 at 01:32  
Gotta get it as soon as possible! This year has indeed been totally out of control for Death Metal! I love it!
Basso - 16.10.2006 at 15:38  
Written by Dangerboner on 16.10.2006 at 00:47

This cd is more brutal than a fluffy cat wrapped in duct tape.


omg lol.
Marcel Hubregtse - 16.10.2006 at 15:44  
This is actually the VERY FIRST Deicide album I enjoy.

@Herz, of course "Legion" broke your neck all the way back in 1992, you were 7 at the time. Your neck wasn't up to strength yet.
jadawal - 25.10.2006 at 19:00  
Fucking awesome release, I finally got to hear it today. It's amazing new death metal, which is very hard to come by. If anybody never heard the album yet....hurry up and get to it, it's even good for people who like fast melodic metal and not even death metal (But it's fucking heavy though!). Deicide's best I think, 10/10.
Leventry - 26.10.2006 at 18:04  
I Love This Shit dude!!! Hell Yeah DEICIDE Rocks!

I am one of the biggest fan of Deicide and i have got all the albums and releases (incl DVD), but this album totally Rocks Wondering if a new album is being planned yet?..
Herzebeth - 26.10.2006 at 18:18  
@Ozman: lol man! yeah I was like 13 or shit, no wonder why my tender neck felt all pulpified.

@Leventry: I seriously don't think so; they are touring a lot to promote this album, maybe they are writing some things and shit but meh...they surely aren't focusing in another album man..IMO
Basso - 05.12.2006 at 19:48  
I did just come home from buying this album. Now I expect NOTHING LESS THAT MY HEAD GETTING PULPIFIED BY BRUTAL AS FUCK DEATH METAL. If I dont get that, I am going to be very dissapointed!

/Cheers your loving Basso
priit - 05.12.2006 at 20:58  
I was quite sceptical at first, but when I put it on, I mean, it's fscking awesome! Deicide at it's best.
HeathenBlood - 17.12.2006 at 12:29  
This is one of the best deicide album...its one of my favourite album of this year.
Opium Magnet - 27.12.2006 at 11:06  
Same goes for me, this album really surprised me. My personal favourite is "Walk With The Devil In The Dreams You Behold".
Basso - 27.12.2006 at 13:57  
This album blew me away big time. Best death metal album of the year'?
Eight - 30.12.2006 at 11:33  
The album is really great! @Opium Magnet same favourite here
Ow and ofcourse, great review Herzbeth
Paganblood - 12.01.2007 at 15:14  
My favourite deicide album.
Great review!
Bhavok - 23.01.2007 at 23:11  
this album is just amazing, Deicide is amazing and beton sings better every year, my fav song is "Homage For Satan"
lenesu - 31.01.2007 at 11:04  
Well this album is just to good to be death. It has all, the solos, the killer riffs, the vocals. Not an average boring grindcore or brutal death act indeed.
A perfect album.
Necrovore - 05.03.2007 at 23:03  
This was some of the most pedestrian death metal of 2006. Garbage from a band that has released nothing but boring, uninspired garbage since their glory days of 'Legion.'
Passenger - 29.08.2007 at 14:47  
Although I normally hate Deicide with a passion, I have to agree that this time they actually managed to make something listenable. First time it happens since Legion, quite impressive how they survived so many years making some of the crappiest Death Metal records ever.

I'm giving this an 8/10.
DoomGuard - 20.12.2007 at 20:47  
Best track, and the one that stands out to me the most is 'Not Of This Earth'

But I would seriously give this a 9/10
Clintagram - 25.04.2008 at 00:36  
I still haven't heard the whole album together at once, but I've heard most of the individual songs and it is very good. All they need to do now to get better is kick Benton's ass out with his shitty vocals and lyrics and all will be well. I vote Steve Tucker for his replacement.
Hamird - 29.06.2008 at 22:19  
This one of the best albums that I've ever heard. nice music, nice music, nice music and nice music.
the success of the band on this album is not Glen Benton with his meaningless Satanic lyrics, that was because of two guitarist who both of them are between best guitarist of metal of all time! I really like the music of this album. Ralph Santolla and Jack Owen do their bests in this album, and I really enjoy them. and in Homage for Satan, their performance turns to a guitar-battle (which Owen wins the battle), and same for all other tracks.
If Owen and Santolla didn't came to the band, Deicide would release another bullshit like Scars of Crucifix, which has no good music and no good lyrics!
Butters49 - 16.11.2008 at 22:16  
Best song: Walk with the Devil in Dreams you Behold.

Love the leads
Uirapuru - 25.04.2009 at 20:51  
Written by Butters49 on 16.11.2008 at 22:16

Best song: Walk with the Devil in Dreams you Behold.


Written by DoomGuard on 20.12.2007 at 20:47

Best track, and the one that stands out to me the most is 'Not Of This Earth'


That's right, these are the two highlights of this album for me too.

What's with this album?!! After an horrible ''Scars of the crucifix'' Deicide appear from nothing with an exellent work. Damn the solos are perfect, in the two tracks that I quote and in the selftitled song also. The lead guitar also deserves praise. The drums are very good.

Many complained about the large number of melodic solos kinda ruining their death metal. Don't be afraid, they are not melo-death, this album perfectly heavy
AngelOfDisease - 07.05.2009 at 04:41  
Omg this album is so impresive!!!!! I sometimes had to stop what I was doing while listening to this to repeat the best parts of this....
I couldn't belive deicide could actually release something like this
Rattlehead.cz - 21.05.2009 at 12:16  
After release of "Scars of the Crucifix" I have thought Deicide can not make a better album than this one.
And after Hofman bros. had left Deicide, I was afraid, the next album could be a big disappointment.

But "The Stench of Redemption" is a fucking great album and it seems, that the leaving of Hofman bros. has made Deicide only stronger (sorry Eric and Brian, I like you, but I guess, with Hofman bros. Deicide would not release such an album like "The Stench of Redemption").

Everyone, who thinks Deicide is a shit band playing stupid death metal, should listen to this album.
Absolutely brilliant album - brutal, technical, melodic; super sound, great songs.
I really loooove it!!
Deadmeat - 27.08.2009 at 11:43  
Wowowowowowowowow!!!! i was always (the last 2-3 years) hearing good words about this album but i could never imagine what i was going to face when i'd listen to it. i don't have anything more to say except this: THIS ALBUM IS THE BEST PROOF THAT DEATH METAL IS ALIVE AND IT IS THE BEST GUIDE FOR HUNDREDS OF BANDS TO KEEP ON CREATING BRUTAL MUSIC... this album is just on the top list of all time in DM.

also, i don't think the production is bad. i find it angry, clean and generally marvelous as every other thing having to do with this MASTERPIECE!!!!
Vonpire - 08.10.2010 at 01:06  
Written by Clintagram on 25.04.2008 at 00:36

I still haven't heard the whole album together at once, but I've heard most of the individual songs and it is very good. All they need to do now to get better is kick Benton's ass out with his shitty vocals and lyrics and all will be well. I vote Steve Tucker for his replacement.


Totally Agree. Vocals sux, and for me make an album that has everything to have a 9 go with 7.
INÆRIS - 04.12.2010 at 10:36  
Homage for Satan is such a terrible song. The melodic lead part just comes out of nowhere and doesn't fit at all. Such a generic riff too.
Deadmeat - 10.02.2011 at 23:05  
Written by INÆRIS on 04.12.2010 at 10:36

Homage for Satan is such a terrible song. The melodic lead part just comes out of nowhere and doesn't fit at all. Such a generic riff too.

i think homage for satan (as the whole rest album -maybe except the 2 longer songs) is awesome and has amazing leads. many thanks to santolla....
@gent_-_orange - 15.04.2011 at 22:38  
By far Deicides best album IMO.
FrozenJoy - 05.05.2011 at 19:01  
Alright, I haven't listened to Deicide and Legion yet, but I fucking love this album... It's so melodic, dark and blah blah at the same time... Yeah, Benton's vocals may not be the best ones you could ask for, but it's no big deal... Songs like the self titled, Crucified for the Innocence, Walk with the Devil in Dreams you Behold, and The Lord's Sedition, will never get boring... Of course, the whole album is awesome! The guitar solos make it even better... One of the few Death Metal albums I really like...
Haiwaan Das - 06.02.2012 at 05:18  
Listening to True Black Metal bands made you feel like horses, thunder, satan, fire, hell, god, versus, mythical creatures and stuff but when you listening to DEATH METAL BAND such as DEICIDE, it is like JESU V/S SATAN in BOXING RING punching hell outta each other face.

EXPLOSIVELY RECOMMENDED \m/\m/:banger2:

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Deicide - The Stench Of Redemption 7.5 24.03.2011 by Heka69
Reviews Deicide - Stench Of Redemption 7 12.06.2006 by AncientOrigins
Reviews Carcass - Necroticism: Descanting The Insalubrious 4.5 17.01.2007 by Katatronik
Reviews Caliban - The Awakening 4.5 22.09.2007 by Collin
Reviews Cult Of Luna - Somewhere Along The Highway 4.5 12.07.2006 by Lokomotiv



Hits total: 7076 | This month: 90