Rating:
8.6
Blind Guardian - A Twist In The Myth
5 September 2006


01. This Will Never End
02. Otherland
03. Turn The Page
04. Fly
05. Carry The Blessed Home
06. Another Stranger Me
07. Straight Through The Mirror
08. Lionheart
09. Skalds And Shadows
10. The Edge
11. The New Order
12. All The King's Horses [Japanese bonus]
13. Dead Sound Of Misery [Japanese bonus]


After a couple of surprising moves - signing to label Nuclear Blast and quasi-unexplained firing of long time drummer Thomen Stauch - Blind Guardian is back with a new album entitled 'A Twist In The Myth'. Despite claims that this is a totally different direction for the band, the overall impression is very close to their previous opus, 'A Night At The Opera'. It is however more progressive and even a little more easy of access at times. The band also developped a brought up-to-date sound , which is obvious on songs like 'The Edge', 'Otherland' and 'Fly'.

This time, the lyric passages have been brought forth and it is obvious straight from the opener 'This Will Never End'. Listening to this track, it appears that the amazing vocal work that Hansi showcased with Demons & Wizards has now been transposed to Blind Guardian. But the first real thrill from this album is undeniably 'Otherland'. This one is halfway between their sound of 'Imaginations From The Other Side' era and their newest sound. It is sure to become one of their classics as it almost immediately reminded me of 'Born In A Mourning Hall'. With 'Turn The Page', we are back into the troubadour spirit that made Blind Guardian famous. However, it is also a testimony of a will to carry on their values and transpose them to a more current approach of their music as the song includes some unusual passages.

The single 'Fly', was already exposed to the critic and it got mostly positive reviews. It is a one of the kind composition for Blind Guardian. That's ironically why they actually have two songs made out of this: 'Fly' and a darker version named 'Dead Sound Of Misery' featuring a different set of lyrics. Which all things considered, is actually a smart way of closing this album. The mandatory ballad is called 'Carry The Blessed Home' and it has an unusual atmosphere for a band like Blind Guardian. It almost sounds like it could be a Dream Theater ballad. Overall, it is a fresh breeze for this album and it is a more complex song that it first appears.

The heart of 'A Twist In The Myth' is filled with splendid songs. 'Another Stranger Me' is the equivalent of what 'The Soulforged' was for their previous album, while 'Lionheart' and 'The Edge' are the most interesting tracks on the whole album in my opinion. 'The New Order' confirms once more that Hansi vocal abilities have soared in the past years. This is another strong hook of the album.

At the end of the day, Blind Guardian came up with a very interesting album, definitely worth your money. I have a very hard time picking out one song as my favorite track, which is usually a good sign. Just check it out, there is at least a little something for everybody.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Blind Guardian
Album: A Twist In The Myth


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 04.11.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 60  
Users visited: 209  
Search this topic:  


Der Meister - 04.11.2006 at 15:45  
I love this album. It's actually turning out to become my favourite BG album! Otherland is my favourite song, the chorus is soooo powerful!
Talvi - 04.11.2006 at 16:18  
Yet another great Blind Guardian Album. You can really buy a new BG album, they never fail
TheWarlord - 04.11.2006 at 16:54  
Fucking awesome
Revenant - 04.11.2006 at 18:21  
The lyrics to this album are fucking terrible, really, especialy after what Hansi wrote for Crimson King.

The song's aren't really cathcy except for Otherland, comapre tihs to previous Blin dguaridan albums, espeicaly Imaginations and Nightfall, all those songs got stuck in your head.

Apart from Carry the Blessed Home there is next to no emotion in the album at all, Blind guardian have done so many songs that move me to tears but there is ntohing on this album

The songs are all under 5 minute verse-chorus structure

The epic medieval atmosphere Blind Guardian were famous for is now gone almost completely, only left in Skalds and Shadows

The riffs and solos are awesome as ever, and Frederick is a good replacement for Thomen, sadly the songs they're put to have little depth or meaning behind them,

Vocals are good but I really miss the furious rough cries of the previous albums


I do not get why everyone loves this album...
Spyroid - 04.11.2006 at 18:55  
Okay album... 8-9/10 but still the worst Blind Guardian release ^^
quasi-unexplained... nice word
And how come staff members can do song by song reviews and I can not?
Götter - 04.11.2006 at 19:11  
Okay, this album is not horrible, maybe not even bad. But it is definitely not great, and not even good. In other words, it's a grave disappointment, which was partially to be expected (Thomen's departure). "Opera" ruled. This one suc... does not.

No catchiness, no power, nothing. For good old BG, listen to Savage Circus instead.
Freezer - 04.11.2006 at 20:13  
i like this review, the disc is still a good work, even if not comparable to Imaginations, Nightfall or Somewhere far Beyond. Well, it's one of the best power releases in 2006
ThunderAxe1989 - 04.11.2006 at 21:02  
It's a good disc, it's kind of on the '70's psychodelic side......Hmmm I still like "A Night At The Opera" better though.
Susan - 04.11.2006 at 21:36  
This album is fucking AMAZING and most definitely one of the best pieces of music I have heard in several years.

Dream_Taster, I really enjoy this review since you recognized many of the positive aspects of this album. I'm tired of people not liking it just because they already love the older BG work. Thanks

A Twist in the Myth is my album of the year and leaves all others in the dust!
-MeTaLlIc-OwL- - 04.11.2006 at 22:01  
I like this one
nb - 04.11.2006 at 22:41  
This album is great, my favorite trakc is straight to the mirror. I will see them in towo weeks live!!!!!!!!!
insanity.peppers - 05.11.2006 at 00:05  
It's definitely not great. Probably their worst. They started losing the plot with ANATO but at least they had some incredibly catchy tunes then. The only songs that I think are worth remembering here are Skalds... and Turn the Page. What I wanna know is why Hansi doesnt push his vocals anymore, he just keeps that same soft melodic tone (which can get annoying after a while). I mean, remember how he used to scream in I'm Alive?? What happened to that???

And I thought the drummer quit.
Jason W. - 05.11.2006 at 01:03  
I can't say I agree much with this review, for I find this to be one of BG's worst albums. I don't recall why Thomas left the band or if he was kicked out, but the Savage Circus debut is hugely enjoyable, whereas this CD has a couple of catchy tracks and not much else. There is something about the sound and feel to this disc I don't like. I can't figure out the right words to describe it, but the guitar sound is certainly part of it. Sure, I'll be seeing them this December (first time), but it's not for anything on this disc...
Dark Cornatus - 05.11.2006 at 02:27  
I had mixed emotions about the album, it is for me one of the lower ones, i rate it 7.5/10. There are still some amazing tracks though like Carry The Blessed Home, Skalds And Shadows and Straight Through The Mirror. I like the ballads better on this album that the heavy stuff. I think Otherland is quite overrated too. Fly has a stupid background noise that pisses me off. Its a change for BG, overall a decent album, but its going to be no ones favourite release of the year for sure.
Dark Blood - 05.11.2006 at 03:01  
Very nice review Dream_Taster! I think this year was a little poor on good albums..maybe 2 or 3 were REALLY good.. but this album is so damn great!! I can't pick up a favorite song.. they're all good and with unique tunes. In my opinion, definitely the best of the year!
Opium Magnet - 05.11.2006 at 03:03  
This album was a good listen, although not their best, but definitely NOT one of their worst.

I'll admit that some of the songs here do become boring, but it was all experimentation, really (If anyone heard the interview on the leaked copy).
Götter - 05.11.2006 at 03:24  
Definitely their worst. Okay, "Skalds and Shadows" is a good song, but that's it - their second worst, "Battalions of Fear" also has a good song, "Majesty".

This album is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING compared to ANATO. Well, unless you're a proghead or something like that. Which I'm not, only an old (ex-)Blind Guardian fan.


"And Then There Was Silence", hello?
Hyvaarin - 05.11.2006 at 10:07  
Great review .

Like pretty much everyone else, I really like the album, but I don't think it's BG's best.
Umbertoo - 05.11.2006 at 10:57  
I'm very dissapointed with this release, I was expecting something much much better. 6/10
Unholy_Emperor - 05.11.2006 at 13:16  
Good album, still lacks a little bit of the feeling of previous releases: it's not as epic as I would like it to be (epic in the Blind Guardian's way of course).

Anyway is a good album, specially for those who like progressive stuff.
Baz Anderson - 05.11.2006 at 19:00  
i wasnt so impressed with this album, but i still thought it was worth my money
its a good album, but it just didnt excite me the way that 'A Night At The Opera' did
i dont know - maybe it was released in a patch when i wasnt to into Blind Guardian - so i didnt get as good of a first impression of it as i might if i listened to it when i was really into them..

over all id say 7.5 or 8 out of 10 or something along them lines
ThunderAxe1989 - 06.11.2006 at 02:55  
....as of today, I'd say that this album's starting to grow on me.....The strength in "....Opera" was the Vocals but this album has a great strength to, that being The Guitars, wow some great melodies are pulled off on this record. I'd say it is an aquired taste!

tulkas - 06.11.2006 at 04:11  
I think it's not bad, some songs still have that sound that made BG great, but most of the album lacks it. It's good, but just that, nothing great to highlight about it
_Requiem_ - 08.11.2006 at 14:26  
Not a bad album but definitly not the one I was expecting from Bling Guardian.
Southern Wind - 15.11.2006 at 03:15  
This is the best album ever by BG... enough said... not catchy??? couldn't care less, "Twist In The Myth" is brilliant
ThunderAxe1989 - 16.11.2006 at 02:11  
Written by Götter on 05.11.2006 at 03:24

Definitely their worst. Okay, "Skalds and Shadows" is a good song, but that's it - their second worst, "Battalions of Fear" also has a good song, "Majesty".



didn't you make a review for "Battalians Of Fear" which was a positive one
Götter - 16.11.2006 at 08:47  
Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 16.11.2006 at 02:11

Written by Götter on 05.11.2006 at 03:24

Definitely their worst. Okay, "Skalds and Shadows" is a good song, but that's it - their second worst, "Battalions of Fear" also has a good song, "Majesty".



didn't you make a review for "Battalians Of Fear" which was a positive one


Yeah, and I like "Battalions", but it's still their second worst.
And kindly disregard my reviews, they're old and mostly crap.
ThunderAxe1989 - 16.11.2006 at 14:43  
ohhhhh......okay then. But I wouldn't go so far as to say it's their 'second worst', it might not have the production and melody as the newer albums, but it has so much attitude and such a great old school vibe! When you compare 'A Twist In The Myth' to 'Battalians Of Fear' , it hardly sounds like the same band
Ytse Jam - 12.01.2007 at 18:24  
When a friend of mine lent me his copy of this disk, i thought i would be listening to a typical power metal album. But to my surprise, "A Twist in the Myth" offers a lot more! I admit, this is the first time that I heard BG's sound. And all i can say is this one kicks ass! Not a typical power metal, a lot of variation in music, more complex, some progressive elements are present, but still their technical expertise are no doubt evident all throughout the album. I think there is nothing wrong if the band is changing their sound to be a bit more progressive coz they're awesome.:banger:
iaberis - 24.01.2007 at 01:45  
I knew from the first time that there would be some fucking whiners that wouldn't like this. I also knew that many would think it must be their worst... It's becoming a rule to dislike a great band's newest release... Come on posers! What's your problem? It's the usual Blind Guardian sound, just a bit evolved. A band can't make the same release every time. You can't have the same masterpiece every time. Go and worship a less famous band then, with the same shitty sound every time...
Personally, I'm kinda bored of the same sound. I do like this album thought and I believe it's far better than some older of them...
Grow up losers!
Amsanc - 03.03.2007 at 15:15  
Well, after several listenings I realize that this is definetly not their best album. Fly is a magical song and THE song of this record (a great adaptation from the Finding Neverland movie), This will never end and The Edge are great songs, Otherland, Straight..., Another Stranger Me, The New order, Carry the blessed home are good ones, Skalds is avarege (doesn't match their previous ballads). Lionheart and Turn the Page are the worst songs I heard from them, cmon these songs make Tommyknockers a classic BG song.
FrOsTmOuRnE 0_o - 24.03.2007 at 03:09  
Blind Guardian - A Twist In The Myth

01. This Will Never End
02. Otherland
03. Turn The Page
04. Fly
05. Carry The Blessed Home
06. Another Stranger Me
07. Straight Through The Mirror
08. Lionheart
09. Skalds And Shadows
10. The Edge
11. The New Order
12. Dead Sound Of
13. All Kings Horses
= Teh awsome ness Cd
pantera666 - 30.04.2007 at 21:57  
i love this album, the bagpipes are really a nice touch.
Grey_Dandelion - 28.05.2007 at 21:49  
its just a good album nothing really special-there s something missing goddamnit-i hope the future will be better for blind guardian...i still cannot understand why thomen left the band-i wish him good luck
Arcaliz666 - 29.06.2007 at 21:23  
Awesome work,

Can this band do no wrong ?
Arcaliz666 - 29.06.2007 at 21:28  
Written by Unholy_Emperor on 05.11.2006 at 13:16

Good album, still lacks a little bit of the feeling of previous releases: it's not as epic as I would like it to be (epic in the Blind Guardian's way of course).

Anyway is a good album, specially for those who like progressive stuff.


Yes, great album, songs like "This Will Never End" and "Straight Through The Mirror" are the killing tracks. It's a work with many Progressive 'passages'.
king of fools - 09.07.2007 at 14:03  
The new blind guardian album is brilliant.
My favourite song is turn the page
But imaginations from the other side and nightfall in middle earth
were awesome releases.
BlueMobius - 26.10.2007 at 19:08  
I finally got a copy of this! I saw them last year when they toured the U.S. and I really wanted to get the album then but I was hard on cash. I found this album in the used section at the record store! Can you believe it, someone sold this back?! What a shame, atleast its in good hands now.
Rhapsodyhabs - 07.02.2008 at 23:10  
I was very disappointed with the "new" Blind Guardian song... In my opinion, Nightfall in middle earth is the best album ever created, and I was really looking forward into another epic journey.

Blind Guardian was my favourite band for years, but I have to admit that this is the worst album they have ever made, and by far.

When you look at what they have done in the past, you just can't say this is better, at least for me, it is not at all.
IconMaiden - 01.04.2008 at 04:41  
8.1/10, its no Nightfall or Imaginations, but its still Guardian and its still worth listening to. I love Another Stranger Me, Skalds and Otherland. Lionheart isn't bad either.
Nicko's Nose - 23.06.2008 at 21:28  
I really don't get why some people consider it to be just ok or weak or bad... Its a GREAT album, maybe even awesome.
Hrothdane - 26.07.2008 at 19:49  
Written by Nicko's Nose on 23.06.2008 at 21:28

I really don't get why some people consider it to be just ok or weak or bad... Its a GREAT album, maybe even awesome.


I agree, this was actually the first blind guardian album I ever heard and it motivated me to get all the others! I even have turn the page as my ring tone
Toast - 21.10.2008 at 02:30  
Definetly the worst Blind Guardian album imo, but it's still not bad. I'd give it a solid 7 because it's good but it doesn't entertain me like Tales from the Twilight World or Imaginations do.
Giok99 - 20.12.2008 at 23:15  
This album is great. It's not the best of BG but close one. Less complicated than ANATO (witch is my favorite BG Album), it's easier to listen to this one. Still all the songs are very well design and executed.

This Will Never End, Otherland and Turn The Page are my favorites songs.

A solid 9
Uirapuru - 16.04.2009 at 15:13  
What's with the tribal drums in ''Fly'', ''Another Stranger Me'' and ''Dead Sound Of Misery''??!! Just exellent, new elements into BG albums.

Best work from Blind Guardian by far
Lord_Regnier - 16.04.2009 at 16:37  
I don't like this album at all. Not enough Power and too much Prog.
Also, production sounds too modern for my tastes.

And Hansi Kursch is barely recognizable at times.

Very boring album. Anyway, I don't really like anything Blind Guardian have done after "Imaginations From The Other Side", so there's no surprise.
Ellrohir - 30.08.2009 at 22:41  
There are some great songs too - Otherland, Fly and especially wonderful Skalds and Shadows...definitely not letdown
Hermann Langke - 17.10.2009 at 18:31  
My best BG album along with nightfall in middle-earth
Lord_Regnier - 18.10.2009 at 15:19  
Written by Hermann Langke on 17.10.2009 at 18:31

My best BG album along with nightfall in middle-earth


Their two worst albums, imo.
NIME is the most overrated PM album in history and ATITM just sucks.
Hermann Langke - 18.10.2009 at 15:21  
And which is your best????

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Blind Guardian - At The Edge Of Time 10.5 21.09.2010 by WorpeX
News Blind Guardian: "A Twist In The Myth" Details Announced 9 17.05.2006 by
Reviews Blind Guardian - Live! 9 07.02.2008 by
Articles Blind Guardian "A Twist In The Myth" European Tour 2006 9 10.10.2006 by Thryce
Albums Blind Guardian - A Twist In The Myth 9 04.02.2010 by Ellrohir



Hits total: 6967 | This month: 75