Rating:
8.0
Cannibal Corpse - Kill
21 March 2006


Disc I
01. The Time To Kill Is Now
02. Make Them Suffer
03. Murder Worship
04. Necrosadistic Warning
05. Five Nails Through The Neck
06. Purification By Fire
07. Death Walking Terror
08. Barbaric Bludgeonings
09. The Discipline Of Revenge
10. Brain Removal Device
11. Maniacal
12. Submerged In Boiling Flesh
13. Infinite Misery

Disc II [Hammer Smashed Laiterie - limited edition DVD: Live In Strasbourg 2004]
01. Opening
02. Shredded Humans
03. Puncture Wound Massacre
04. Fucked With A Knife
05. Stripped, Raped And Strangled
06. Decency Defied
07. Vomit The Soul
08. Unleashing The Bloodthirsty
09. Pounded Into Dust
10. The Cryptic Stench
11. They Deserve To Die
12. Dormant Bodies Bursting
13. Gallery Of Suicide
14. Pit Of Zombies
15. The Wretched Spawn
16. Devoured By Vermin
17. A Skull Full Of Maggots
18. Hammer Smashed Face


Before I write anything about this album I have to explain some things; I used to be a huge CC fanatic, "Tomb Of The Mutilated" and "The Bleeding" were both albums that I used to play daily and all. Then Corpsegrinder arrived and I said "fuck this is boring", I never found myself digging neither Fisher's voice, nor the material that CC released after "Vile" as for me they were just recycling their riffs and their music.

"Kill" arrived this year; my enthusiasm for hearing this album was totally bland, at the time I thought "meh, I prefer being kicked in the nuts than hearing a CC album again". But for peripheral circumstances I found myself hearing "Kill" and actually liking it, it was odd indeed, so I gave the album a shot and my thoughts about this band changed a little bit.

This album it's not as good as "The Bleeding" at all, it doesn't even get near to their early works. "Kill" it's just a useful item for the metal-heads to say "ok, we're listening", now it's time for CC to exploit what they accomplished and give us an outstanding return in the future. I could write a huge review about the music and about the songs played in this album, but it would be useless as even the guys who hear Slipknot and Nightwish know how this band sounds believe me.

So I'll just say that "Kill" is a fairly good album, I'll still be waiting for the "The Bleeding" follow-up though, at least this one it's the nearest attempt at being as great as they used to be. Don't be so picky now, give this album a try and enjoy what these guys made for us, maybe this is not what everyone expected, but it's surely better than "The Wretched Spawn" and all those sucky post-barnes discs they released.

Best Tracks: "The Time to Kill is Now", "Barbaric Bludgeonings", "Infinite Misery"

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Cannibal Corpse
Album: Kill


 


written by Herzebeth | 06.11.2006



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 62  
Users visited: 265  
Search this topic:  


Doc Godin - 15.04.2007 at 07:43  
Written by Guest on 15.04.2007 at 05:52

Written by Doc Godin on 14.04.2007 at 08:41

Written by Guest on 04.02.2007 at 17:11

shitty review, wretched spawn is much better than kill

Agreed....well the part about 'The Wretched Spawn' being better. altogether not a terrible review.


The album deserves a better review and im sure u should've heard Kill with a different perspective, just because you hate Corpsegrinder's vocals doesnt mean u should have made a notion for everything they'll ever release, I absolutely love his vocals and i think he's probably the best vocalist around now and their music in my opinion has also matured and song writing's improved majorly ( Make Them Suffer \\m// )

I never said I didnt like Corpsegrinder...I like him better than Barnes, and he was the vocalist on Wretched spawn
SheWarlock - 04.10.2007 at 20:26  
That album renews my power with "Make Them Suffer"
It's just bad ass
CrimsonSoaked - 07.12.2007 at 19:54  
An average death metal album, recognizable Cannibal Corpse.
Still nothing revolutionary . . .
Nyxgrinder - 08.01.2008 at 07:18  
Written by Guest on 07.12.2007 at 19:54

An average death metal album, recognizable Cannibal Corpse.
Still nothing revolutionary . .

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Cannibal Corpse is a band who isn't trendy or trying to get emo fans, if they would have wanted to be revolutionary they should have made St kill, Load kill, or re kill ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
if you recall 'em is cause the yhave STYLE kid:banger:
CrimsonSoaked - 08.01.2008 at 15:00  
Written by Nyxgrinder on 08.01.2008 at 07:18

Written by Guest on 07.12.2007 at 19:54

An average death metal album, recognizable Cannibal Corpse.
Still nothing revolutionary . .

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Cannibal Corpse is a band who isn't trendy or trying to get emo fans, if they would have wanted to be revolutionary they should have made St kill, Load kill, or re kill ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
if you recall 'em is cause the yhave STYLE kid:banger:


Yes, they got style alright and their credibilty is sky high. I don't mean to insult here any fans or the band itself, but I think atleast today their music isn't "nothing special", thanks to all clones of CC. I haven't never got into the brand of death metal that Cannibal Corpse, Suffocation and other bands started in the beginning of the 90's, atleast yet. Only few of this brand's current members have some original elements and don't get repetitive.
Insects Of Death - 13.09.2008 at 03:21  

im not the biggest CC fan but kill is to me there best album i love almost all the tracks expecially make them suffer.
LeChron James - 12.11.2008 at 12:31  
Written by Doc Godin on 14.04.2007 at 08:41

Written by Guest on 04.02.2007 at 17:11

shitty review, wretched spawn is much better than kill

Agreed....well the part about 'The Wretched Spawn' being better. altogether not a terrible review.

yeah i cant find anything redeeming about it. even when i consider it's a Cannibal Corpse album.
fleshclad - 17.11.2008 at 07:40  
KILL is a terrible album. and i'm a huge CC fan.

if mr. heartbreaker is judging CC by KILL, then i can understand largely why he is mystified to their popularity. altho it sounds like much of Mr. Heartbreaker's feelings are mixed up into the irrelevence of lyrical content. go read some books if you're looking for literary content. don't expect it from MUSICIANS.
heartbreaker, if there is any hope for you to recognize CC's talent listen to the song Centuries Of Torment.
i suspect you would hate them no matter how talented they are because you like a shitty band like Norther (CoB has some good parts/songs at least), and are too caught up in lyrics (meanwhile your favorite bands probably have laughable lyrics, as i know for a fact CoB does)

i should point out that there are PLENTY of things that are hugely popular and largely talentless. since some people here don't seem to know that.

pretty much every CC album has had a song or 3 that is too simple and repetitious, but that's almost every song on KILL. probably their worsst album. Vile being the 2nd worst album, but at least VILE had 2 or 3 decent songs on it.

Wretched Spawn and almost every other album totally destroys KILL,

anyone who is not a CC fan, but thinks KILL is a listenable improvement just shows that they couldn't appreciate the CC's musical artistry, and want SIMPLETON music
cez123 - 01.02.2009 at 16:45  
I have to say that i like more the old CC with barnes and corpse grinder had to do a lot to take over barnes work . and i must say he didn't do a great job neither a bad one , mediocre. And Kill is a letdown but i'm optimistic that in the future they will make an album not with just a few good songs but a whole album
Uirapuru - 18.04.2009 at 15:53  
Great review, said everything.
Cuca Beludo - 19.09.2011 at 16:59  
Make them suffer... The best Cannibal corpse song and the only good Cannibal Corpse song, in my opinion. I think death metal isn't music for me...
Mr. Doctor - 20.09.2011 at 16:44  
Written by Guest on 19.09.2011 at 16:59

I think death metal isn't music for me...


Lolwut

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Cannibal Corpse - Evisceration Plague 7.5 21.02.2009 by sq_xeper
Reviews Cannibal Corpse - Tomb Of The Mutilated 7.5 23.05.2007 by Breed-Dreader
Albums Cannibal Corpse - Kill 6 17.04.2012 by Boxcar Willy
News Cannibal Corpse - N. American Tour Announced 4.5 28.01.2009 by -DC-002-
Extreme metal forum Cannibal Corpse 4.5 17.05.2006 by



Hits total: 8041 | This month: 61