Rating:
10
Mithras - Forever Advancing...... Legions
2002


01. Forever Advancing...... Legions
02. Trample Their Works
03. Sloping Altars
04. Arena Sands
05. Amidst The Fallen Arches
06. The Green Wanderer Returns
07. Wrath Of God
08. As The Wind Blows
09. Vae Solis
10. Dreaming In Splendour
11. Tomb Of Kings
12. What Lies Beyond


Ok, so let me tell you some things about Forever Advancing…....Legions. This is by far the best CD in the history of music. I hope this opening sentence is enough to make you buy it, if it isn't you'll miss something. Or maybe I can convince you somewhere in the course of this review.

Let's start at the very beginning. Mithras is a very unknown death metal band from the UK and this is their first studio CD. There are however a lot of young death metal bands from all over the world who aren't known by anybody, so what's special about Mithras? Let me tell you a bit about their music.

Basic death metal? No way! Point one, it's fast as fuck, not just fast, but around as fast as Morbid Angel but with three times as much variety in the drumming. Point two, the music is epic as hell and the lyrics are about the old romans; their wars, their battles and their gods. Point three, the guitar riffs are catchy enough to actually have me singing along to guitar riffs! Point four, the instrumental and ambient parts are breathtakingly beautiful. Point five, this music is amazingly brutal.

Straightforward death metal, fast and brutal, comes together with technical perfection, beauty and catchiness. For the epicness throw in some stuff like, for example, the real and cheering Colosseum Crowd on "Arena Sands." Good lyrics and an original image round it up quite nicely.

So, who are these unknown musicians that were able to impress me so?

On bass and vocals we have Rayner Coss, rather refreshing to not hear cookie monster vocals for one time on such a brutal album. On the drums and lead-/rhythm guitar and sometimes on keyboard (tracks 1, 4, 5, 6, 12) Leon Macey. And on additional lead guitars and additional keyboard (on tracks 4 and 12) Ben White. Ben does guitar solos on a few songs, together with Leon. Something I'd like to mention as well is that the drumming on this album has loads of variation and reaches a top speed of up to 340BPM! (on "Vae Solis"). While this speed is practically impossible to reach for most long-experienced and professional drummers, Leon had played the drums for only 4 years at the time this CD was recorded! The bulk of the music and lyrics were written by Leon Macey, too, Rayner having written a few of the lyrics as well though.

The production is very good, too. All guitar notes and drumbeats can be heard yet the CD has a great atmosphere throughout the whole album.

It doesn't matter if you are new or old to death metal, if you are more into catchy music, brutal music, fast music, epic music or technical music, this album is simply magnificent and you should try it, no matter what. At the time I really got to know the band I wasn't that much into death metal yet, but loved this CD anyway, so you don't even really have to enjoy death metal to be able to fall in love with Forever Advancing......Legions. Give it a try if anything I wrote in my review appealed to you, because Mithras is plain and simply the most talented band in it's field. Mithras may have been obviously influenced by Morbid Angel, but any of their songs surpass MA by far.

If you are searching for new bands to try out, search no further, except if you want to search CD-shops for Mithras - Forever Advancing......Legions.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Mithras
Album: Forever Advancing...... Legions


 


written by Bas | 15.11.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 82  
Search this topic:  


Bas - 15.11.2006 at 13:46  
my favourite cd, ever
Stigmatized - 15.11.2006 at 14:01  
Written by Bas on 15.11.2006 at 13:46

my favourite cd, ever


Obviously.

Damn good DM album. I wouldn't give it a 10, more around a 9.4, because this album isn't perfect. It's over-pouring with talent and is brutal as hell, but I don't think it's the greatest DM album of all time.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.11.2006 at 14:07  
to me this band is just a very very very average Morbid Angel rip-off lackig any substance and original ideas (a prerequisite for this kind of death metal IMO). But then again, to each his/her own.
Baz Anderson - 15.11.2006 at 15:13  
yeh, i wouldnt say this was my favorite album or favorite death metal album of all time - but i cant think of any other death metal albums that jump out at me at the moment

they do sound a lot like Morbid Angel but i dont consider them to have completley 'ripped off' Morbid Angel's sound

the album is very fast and 'brutal' and well worth listening to if you are one for death metal
Lucas - 15.11.2006 at 17:01  
Bas2, you fucked up this time my friend. I know you are a good reviewer, but don't lay your hands on Mithras. You and them are not a good combination. I think you WAY, WAAAAAAAAAAY overrate them. You know I love them, but nothing suits a ten.

Yes - this album owns
Yes - this album owns very hard
No - it is nowhere near perfection.

but well, it'll all boil down to opinion i guess. I just hope next time you be wise and give an album a maximum of a 9.9

I'd give it a 9 myself, which is very high for me and suiting for this album.
Bas - 15.11.2006 at 18:23  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.11.2006 at 14:07

to me this band is just a very very very average Morbid Angel rip-off lackig any substance and original ideas (a prerequisite for this kind of death metal IMO). But then again, to each his/her own.


well to tell the truth i'm bored to death by Morbid Angel, and if Mithras is so average then give me a band that's faster, more brutal, more epic, more catchy and has better instrumental parts, if you can find me a band that's better in all of those attributes i'll worship you



@Nervel, yeah well, you know me
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.11.2006 at 18:26  
Written by Bas on 15.11.2006 at 18:23

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.11.2006 at 14:07

to me this band is just a very very very average Morbid Angel rip-off lackig any substance and original ideas (a prerequisite for this kind of death metal IMO). But then again, to each his/her own.


well to tell the truth i'm bored to death by Morbid Angel, and if Mithras is so average then give me a band that's faster, more brutal, more epic, more catchy and has better instrumental parts, if you can find me a band that's better in all of those attributes i'll worship you




Well, Morbid Angel of course And Morbid Angels are technically superior musicians as well.
Stigmatized - 15.11.2006 at 18:50  
@Ozman- According to what Bas has told me, the guy from Mithras plays guitar and drums, with great ability. He's a damn good musician if that is true.
Bas - 15.11.2006 at 19:20  
he does the keyboard arrangements on the ambiant songs too
(Worlds Beyond The Veil, second album)
Baz Anderson - 16.11.2006 at 00:31  
i just added the original one.. no reason why
..after all, we put the original release years in
BreadGod - 16.11.2006 at 00:45  
I must agree. This albums kicks ass all over the place. Come to think of it, I'll listen to this album right now!
Sunioj - 22.01.2007 at 22:43  
Written by BV on 15.11.2006 at 23:03

Morbid Angel completely bore the hell out of me. i have never liked them, i think because i listened to Mithras before i listened to Morbid Angel, so i am capable of seeing that they are far better since i am not a die hard morbid angel fan that refuses to think that anyband could be better.


What Mithras doesnt have under its belt is about...3 classic albums?
Baz Anderson - 27.01.2007 at 22:43  
you know i just got a letter about saying my flatmates have complained about my music being too loud..
seeing this has just made me feel like putting the album on
..and loudly
Stigmatized - 12.03.2007 at 20:45  
Something tells me that album will end up being overrated as well.
Lucas - 12.03.2007 at 21:30  
Yeah, I have to agree. After some time, Forever Advancing completely bores me.

So I'm having my doubts about the new one. I hope it is more like Beyond.. which was original in some aspects. I'll be sure to give it a listen, at least once.
Bas - 12.03.2007 at 22:27  
give the track on the myspace a listen, it's amazing, much better then most songs from either album imo
Sunioj - 13.03.2007 at 17:44  
@Bloodred,
I love this album, but honestly I dont think it has the same level or nostalgic quality of altars of madness, covenant, and blessed are the...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Mithras - Forever Advancing...... Legions 7.5 08.04.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Krigavar - Krigavar 3 16.07.2009 by Lily_Lazer
Reviews Defect Designer - Wax 3 28.11.2009 by Darkside Momo
Reviews Lord Agheros - As A Sin 3 05.04.2009 by BestMetalstormer
Reviews Diphtheria - To Wait For Fire 3 10.09.2008 by



Hits total: 2889 | This month: 40