Suffocation - Suffocation review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.8

187 users:
8.30
Band: Suffocation
Album: Suffocation
Release date: September 2006


01. Oblivion
02. Abomination Reborn
03. Redemption
04. Bind Torture Kill
05. Inis Concieved
06. Translucent Patterns of Delirium
07. Creed of the Infidel
08. Regret
09. Entrails of You
10. The End of Ends
11. Prelude to Repulsion


Finally a good comeback by this band; I kept waiting for a blasting album by Suffocation since 1995's "Despise The Sun" ("Souls To Deny" was a half-good album). Finally, 2006 arrived, and the pioneers of Brutal Technical Death Metal crushed our brains with this self titled disc. I was seriously mad at the bastard divas from Relapse records as they didn't want to work with us, but still, I needed to hear this album so I kicked myself in the ass and went for it…I'm glad I did.

It is one of the most amazing albums this year; along with Deicide's "The Stench Of Redemption" (Great thing that I received it from Earache Records) "Suffocation" shows that Death Metal is far from being dead. Again we hear those complex guitar-solos, super-catchy riffs, neck-breaking beats and the sickest drumming you've ever heard in a Death Metal album.

This time, Suffocation, created an amazing balance between their raw and utterly violent atmosphere from their early albums and the multifaceted songwriting and execution from "Despise The Sun" and "Souls To Deny". So there you have it, it's the old Suffocation but twice as compelling and more skilled than ever; tracks like "Redemption" or "Bind Torture Kill" are the best examples for what I'm writing right now, both are packed with insanely complex structures, face-melting solos (the one at the end of "Bind Torture Kill" almost broke my eardrums), irregular drumming, shocking breakdowns (just like the old days), tight execution and the most aggressive vocalizations by the best front man in Brutal Death Metal history.

I'll keep this review quite short as the ones interested in this album already know that this is nothing less than a masterpiece of the genre. Ok, I know it's still not better than "Effigy Of The Forgotten", but they will never be the band they used to be, I don't want them to release another recycled "Pierced From Within", that would be fucking boring…they'll keep progressing and delivering newer sounds with fresher music each time. Seriously, fucking highly recommended!!

Best Tracks: All of them!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 10

Written by Herzebeth | 15.11.2006


 


Comments

Comments: 19   Visited by: 134 users
15.11.2006 - 00:25
Dangerboner
:D
This is probably the catchiest album they've ever released. I have this whole album stuck in my head. Anyways, the drumming is fucking incredible. Mike Smith sounds like a drum machine on Prelude to Repulsion when he slows the pace down, and the pulsating double bass on Redemption kicks my ass every time I listen to it on my sound system. The vocals are another thing that gets me. At first, for some reason, I thought he was losing his voice, but what he's doing is actually being articulate. You can pretty much make out the lyrics just from listening to it, and he still sounds brutal while delivering them. On certain points of pretty much every track, his voice will get suddenly deeper and it just fucking blows me away.

This album is more brutal than rearranging a blind midget's furniture. wait...has that one been used yet?
Loading...
15.11.2006 - 01:12
-MeTaLlIc-OwL-
Account deleted
Brutal
Ima listen to it again right now.
Loading...
15.11.2006 - 08:05
pante2llica
Agree with pyroleprechaun, this album is brutal and catchy as hell. Most of the songs are of Suffocation's most momorable moments.
Loading...
15.11.2006 - 21:01
Doh
Everything is said already . All songs are very good , no fillers , only killers , great vocals , great drums. Thumbs up
Loading...
15.11.2006 - 23:22
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Heard it months before it was released, and I'll say again what I said then: masterpiece, doesn't owe anything to the first 2 albums. "Redemption"=perfection, and I don't say this very often.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
13.12.2006 - 01:44
AnarChrist
amazing album,but wtf is it with user score here?
----
oh my fucking god, fucking dinosaurs
Loading...
14.12.2006 - 02:18
Dangerboner
:D
@AnarChrist- damn, you're right. A user score of 7.5 is waaaaaaaaay too low for this album. I guess people just can't handle the brutalness of
Suffocation.

This album is more brutal than braiding your pubes
Loading...
02.01.2007 - 06:43
spirit_inblack
harshhead
What? Despise the Sun is from 1998. Pierced From Within is from 1995. Other thatn that, great review Herz!
Loading...
02.01.2007 - 17:40
Herzebeth
Written by spirit_inblack on 02.01.2007 at 06:43

What? Despise the Sun is from 1998. Pierced From Within is from 1995. Other thatn that, great review Herz!

Oh my god you're right, I don't know what happened but I won't edit it as a reminder of my fuck ups.... thanks fr noticing man
----
Loading...
03.01.2007 - 18:22
Xtreme Jax
Psycroptipath
This album is perhaps my #2 or #3 pick for 2006 releases, it just blew me away. Its brutal, its catchy (most catchy from them?) and the drums are freaking amazing. I always praise Mike Smith on his ability behind the drums with his killer blasts beats and technicality.
----

Hellcunt Smurf
Loading...
15.01.2007 - 20:50
Baz Anderson
i should have got my hands on this earlier! but at least i have it now
this album is brilliant, some of the best stuff they have done
of course this isnt the same band that gave us 'Effigy Of The Forgotten' - but i think this album stands right up against it
brilliant stuff indeed
Loading...
22.07.2008 - 00:38
Visioneerie
Urban Monster
I've had this album for over a year and it still delivers the same goods as the first listen, perhaps even more. I'll never get over this album, at least not in this lifetime, and now ... i'm getting impatient for Blood Oath, oh man ... will it be as good ? or better ?
----
Any man can stand adversity, but to test his character give him power - A. Lincoln
Loading...
24.07.2008 - 19:06
theflyingmachine
I was late to get this album because I haven't been huge on Suffocation's material post-Pierced and the songs I heard on this album didn't do much for me at first. But, I bought it this past month and really enjoy it. There are a bunch of reviews on the web that say this album is not innovative, but I disagree. There is plenty of new things that they've done on this album. Don't know what kind of score I would give it, but the album is enjoyable nonetheless.
Loading...
16.06.2009 - 14:40
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Quote:
I don't want them to release another recycled "Pierced From Within", that would be fucking boring…


Good to know that, ''Pierced from within'' is still my favorite, the rest didnt' grow on me.

I will definetly check this one out soon.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
17.06.2009 - 00:13
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
Written by Uirapuru on 16.06.2009 at 14:40

Quote:
I don't want them to release another recycled "Pierced From Within", that would be fucking boring…


Good to know that, ''Pierced from within'' is still my favorite, the rest didnt' grow on me.

I will definetly check this one out soon.

pierced from within is really one of the best albums a band has ever created... notice that i didnt talk about death metal...
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
20.11.2009 - 19:29
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
So now i have to say that this one is an excellent album. it's very close to the 10. but it isn't songs like 6 or 8 are the reasons why...
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
10.08.2010 - 16:09
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Dangerboner on 14.12.2006 at 02:18

@AnarChrist- damn, you're right. A user score of 7.5 is waaaaaaaaay too low for this album. I guess people just can't handle the brutalness of
Suffocation.

This album is more brutal than braiding your pubes

yukyukyuk
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
25.01.2013 - 03:30
Illog1cal
Account deleted
Usually I am not a fan of breakdowns that some bands employ in their songs. However when Suffocation includes one it feels like an atom bomb has exploded near you.
Loading...
27.01.2013 - 08:19
Sunioj
I thought this album was great when it first came out, unfortunately I've come to only enjoy 'Abomination Reborn'.
Loading...

Hits total: 7139 | This month: 20