Rating:
8.8
Melechesh - Emissaries
28 October 2006


01. Rebirth Of The Nemesis (Enuma Elish Rewritten)
02. Ladders To Sumeria
03. Deluge Of Delusional Dreams:
    1 - Act I: Cast Tempest From The East
    2 - Act II: Enlil's Retaliation
04. Touching The Spheres Of Sephiroth
05. Gyroscope [The Tea Party cover]
06. Double Helixed Sceptre
07. The Scribes Of Kur
08. Leper Jerusalem
09. Sand Grain Universe
10. Emissaries And The Mysterium Magnum


Back into Sumeria with the latest Melechesh! For those unfamiliar with the band, they play Melodic Black Metal with a special tribal flavour, including traditional folkloric instruments. Their peculiar sound has often been labeled "Mesopotamian" or "Sumerian".

Proud successor to 2003's "Sphynx", "Emissaries" seems to continue the primordial saga of the ancient lands. Musically, the emphasis has been shifted solely to the guitar parts compared to their previous album, which was more focused on the duo traditional instruments and guitars. This makes "Emissaries" a lot thrashier than any previous Melechesh album.

The band lost long-time drummer Proscriptor, who is now replaced by Xul while the rest of the line-up remains unchanged with Ashmedi (vocals, guitars, bass, keys), Moloch (guitars) and Al'hazred (bass, vocals, keys).

The overall feel of the album is a notch more accessible than "Sphynx", which was a darker album. But do not panic, Melechesh is not targeting teenage skateboarders yet. While more accessible, their sound remains rather esoteric and frankly strangely appealing to one's occult subconscious. "Emissaries" is also punchier than its predecessor; it is packed with power-filled tunes such as 'Ladders To Sumeria'.

A few surprises are there, with a purely instrumental track that lasts more than 6 minutes ('The Scribes of Kur') and a track that sounds closer to enhanced Cradle Of Filth ('Gyroscope') than to trademark Melechesh. But at the end of the day, what they do best is sticking to what they are famous for with a song like 'Leper Jerusalem', which sums up their fourth full-length album quite nicely.

Once again well inspired, Melechesh is bringing you one of the most original sounds in Metal today. Their unique take on Melodic extreme music is sure to grab your attention, highly recommended to all of you who aren't afraid of the dark side of themselves. Definitely Melechesh most achieved effort to date; "Emissaries" will probably remain as one of 2006's best releases.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Melechesh
Album: Emissaries


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 16.11.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 26  
Users visited: 196  
Search this topic:  


Götter - 16.11.2006 at 19:24  
This album r0xx0rz! Best of Melechesh so far! And more black metal than the two previous ones which earns them bonus poins in my book too... they just sound better this way.
tulkas - 17.11.2006 at 03:48  
this band is great. I've heard some songs and their sound is quite unique and very creative. I think they have nothing to envy from any other BM band
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.11.2006 at 07:35  
Ahum, Gyroscope is actually a cover of The Tea Party and therefore doesn't sound as a typical Melechesh song.
velvet_d@rkness - 17.11.2006 at 11:38  
pretty good album...worths checking it at least
Black_Handed - 17.11.2006 at 14:34  
well....im new melechesh album is in my winamps queue for a month already...hadnt time to get to it. but i love sphynx....so i hope they are going to beat to
Lokomotiv - 17.11.2006 at 15:09  
I have to buy this album... I'm totally in love with "Sphynx", and I had read wonderful comments about this...
Sanctimonius - 18.11.2006 at 17:15  
humm, I've already listen to this album and it is great.. the only thing that i don't agree with Dream taster is the rating. this is one of the few albuns in metalstorm that is underrated, i will give it a 9,3..
Rupert - 27.11.2006 at 03:27  
I was going to comment on that Gyroscope song, but Marcel Ozman beat me to it. I'm listening to the album as I'm writing this though, and so far it's very good. I need to find Sphynx now
Styx_Fan26 - 06.12.2006 at 05:56  
You guys are too right! This album is off the chain! If it were any better I'd swear it was a new Styx album! Lol!
Sunioj - 07.01.2007 at 18:32  
Finally completed my collection with this album, and it slaughtered me. Rebirth of Nemesis, Sand Grain Universe and the whole album is awesome and melodic.
Krankheit - 04.02.2007 at 14:51  
Great album from a great band. This album is catchy as hell!
dismaleuphony - 06.02.2007 at 11:51  
I highly enjoyed the review It reflects my thoughts on the album exactly... and it's my favorite disc from these guys, and I bought as soon as it was released here in the US!
Stigmatized - 24.03.2007 at 04:56  
When I first head this album, it did nothing for me. Now, listening to it again, I'm blown away. Damn good album.
Dangerboner - 24.03.2007 at 06:20  
I think I might like this more than their previous albums. It's melodic and atmospheric, but they still maintain their aggression.
Infurnace - 23.08.2007 at 14:13  
This is a really good album. I've listened to it over and over again. I wasn't so sure about the release at first, but I definitely changed my mind.
Sonic MrSumo - 24.12.2007 at 13:57  
This album is tremendous...I just can't stop listening to it.

I took an instant likeness to it. The chants really do help it.
wvsabbath - 16.10.2008 at 01:53  
This is one of the best extreme metal albums ive ever heard. Every aspect musically is superb. One of the most underrated bands out there today
Visioneerie - 04.11.2008 at 05:24  
I've had this album for quite some time now and since i'm in a middle eastern music mood, i just checked out this review. Really good album indeed. I'm tempted to check into their older stuff as well as other bands with this tribal influence.
tuerda - 04.03.2009 at 22:47  
OK, So I really have never seen the folk part of Melechesh. I also haven't seen the melodic black part either. As far as I can tell they play mostly a really thrashy sort of black metal, similar to the US based band Absu. This particular album is a bit thrashier than the others, and has some very catchy riffs. I think it is probably their second best after the debut "as jerusalem burns". It also is their only album to date which has cover art that does not make you want to tear your eyes out. (man those other covers are ugly!) In general these guys are one of my favourite modern BM acts. Highly recommended!
Mr. Doctor - 06.03.2009 at 17:19  
Written by tuerda on 04.03.2009 at 22:47

OK, So I really have never seen the folk part of Melechesh.


Melechesh - The Scribes Of Kur
That song is as folk as it gets...
Slayer666 - 23.10.2009 at 17:10  
I gave this album a chance, but something there just isn't right for me. Gun to my head I can't tell what it is, but I just can't enjoy this one properly.
MétalNoir - 19.04.2010 at 17:30  
The oriental drumming is great, as well as the fucked-up riffs. Am I the only one who wants to dance baladi on Rebirth of the Nemesis?
Oriax - 18.07.2011 at 16:50  
I am really into Mesopotamian / Sumerian and in fact the whole middle east History. Which is what led me to this album.
But this album is horrible to listen to! I fucking hate this band's singer! His voice is the worst black metal vocalist I have ever heard.
The only song I can listen to is the Instrumental one, otherwise this album deserves a solid 5 in my book
RavenKing - 29.07.2011 at 03:00  
Written by tuerda on 04.03.2009 at 22:47

OK, So I really have never seen the folk part of Melechesh. I also haven't seen the melodic black part either. As far as I can tell they play mostly a really thrashy sort of black metal, similar to the US based band Absu. This particular album is a bit thrashier than the others, and has some very catchy riffs. I think it is probably their second best after the debut "as jerusalem burns". It also is their only album to date which has cover art that does not make you want to tear your eyes out. (man those other covers are ugly!) In general these guys are one of my favourite modern BM acts. Highly recommended!


Melechesh are often compared to Absu and I can see why but, as much as I love Absu, I've never been able to get into Melechesh. I believe it's mostly a matter of vocals, as I don't like vocals in Melechesh at all.
@gent_-_orange - 04.01.2012 at 03:24  
Written by RavenKing on 29.07.2011 at 03:00

Written by tuerda on 04.03.2009 at 22:47

OK, So I really have never seen the folk part of Melechesh. I also haven't seen the melodic black part either. As far as I can tell they play mostly a really thrashy sort of black metal, similar to the US based band Absu. This particular album is a bit thrashier than the others, and has some very catchy riffs. I think it is probably their second best after the debut "as jerusalem burns". It also is their only album to date which has cover art that does not make you want to tear your eyes out. (man those other covers are ugly!) In general these guys are one of my favourite modern BM acts. Highly recommended!


Melechesh are often compared to Absu and I can see why but, as much as I love Absu, I've never been able to get into Melechesh. I believe it's mostly a matter of vocals, as I don't like vocals in Melechesh at all.


I know this comment is quite old, But have you tried Melechesh's first album? It is a lot more black metal sounding then their later stuff, Maybe you will find it more to your liking.
RavenKing - 04.01.2012 at 03:26  
Written by @gent_-_orange on 04.01.2012 at 03:24

Written by RavenKing on 29.07.2011 at 03:00

Written by tuerda on 04.03.2009 at 22:47

OK, So I really have never seen the folk part of Melechesh. I also haven't seen the melodic black part either. As far as I can tell they play mostly a really thrashy sort of black metal, similar to the US based band Absu. This particular album is a bit thrashier than the others, and has some very catchy riffs. I think it is probably their second best after the debut "as jerusalem burns". It also is their only album to date which has cover art that does not make you want to tear your eyes out. (man those other covers are ugly!) In general these guys are one of my favourite modern BM acts. Highly recommended!


Melechesh are often compared to Absu and I can see why but, as much as I love Absu, I've never been able to get into Melechesh. I believe it's mostly a matter of vocals, as I don't like vocals in Melechesh at all.


I know this comment is quite old, But have you tried Melechesh's first album? It is a lot more black metal sounding then their later stuff, Maybe you will find it more to your liking.


I don't remember if I checked it or not.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Melechesh - Sphynx 7.5 19.06.2010 by MétalNoir
Reviews Symphony X - Twilight In Olympus 4.5 04.06.2007 by Bitch Boy
Reviews Symphony X - The Damnation Game 4.5 15.07.2007 by BlankFile
Reviews James LaBrie - Elements Of Persuasion 4.5 09.10.2007 by Dane Train
Reviews Borknagar - Origin 4.5 20.12.2006 by Damned-In-Black



Hits total: 7127 | This month: 51