Rating:
9.0
Wuthering Heights - The Shadow Cabinet
25 October 2006


Disc I
01. Demon Desire
02. Beautifool
03. The Raven
04. Faith - Apathy Divine Part 1
05. Envy
06. Snow - Apathy Divine Part 2
07. Sleep
08. I Shall Not Yield
09. Reason ... ?
10. Carpe Noctem - Seize The Night
11. Midnight Song [European bonus]
12. Shadow Of A Gipsy [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [Roaming Far From Home - Live at ProgPower USA 2004] [USA bonus]
01. Tree
02. Longing For The Woods, Pt. 1
03. Longing For The Woods, Pt. 2
04. Lost Realms
05. Bad Hobbits Die Hard
06. Hunter In The Dark
07. Highland Winds


Wuthering Heights is a special band unfortunately not so famous. But I think that the new release of these Danish guys, "The Shadow Cabinet", will probably help them to get all the recognition that they deserve (and believe me, they deserve it!). With an amazing and unconventional Metal, the Danish combo is one of the few bands of the Metal scene which is still able to give a music that you'll never be able to listen to except… on their own CDs. When I have to add too, that "The Shadow Cabinet" is without any doubt the best release of the band, I just think that you'll not have the right to miss this album…

If you don't know the music of Wuthering Heights, you must know that the band plays Power Metal with Progressive music and even folk orientations. As an example, "Demon Desire" is a real blasting Power Metal song with fast rhythm and epic symphonies. On the other hand, "Faith - Apathy Divine Part 1", with its nice melody produced by violin is clearly oriented toward Folk Metal music. "The Shadow Cabinet" is full of surprises anyway, all the songs are long in general with a lot of break and variations, it's complex but varied and the progressive side of the music always gives something more to the tracks of "The Shadow Cabinet". It's maybe not so easy of access on a side but it's never linear and the music of Wuthering Heights is really intelligent.

"The Shadow Cabinet" is the best release of the band out to date. The performance of Patrik Johansson (I say it again but this guy is one of the best singer of the Heavy Metal scene) is amazing. The performance of Martin Arendal (Manticora's guitarist and new "member" of Wuthering Heights) gives power to the music of the band and Erik Ravn (main compositor) didn't lack of inspiration to write the songs of this album. The only (little) problem maybe, comes from the fact that the music of Wuthering Heights is a bit complex and can go in a dozen of directions. It's not really problematic but sometime a bit messy and disturbing. But don't worry, you can be sure that you'll quickly understand the music of the band and after two or three listening, you'll just enjoy the music of "The Shadow Cabinet", which is by the way perfectly mixed and recorded.

Can we say that we're in front of one of the best albums of the year 2006? I think so… "The Shadow Cabinet" is something special, a real demonstration of a fantastic talent. With its "crazy" mix of Progressive Power and Folk Metal, the Danish combo proves that we can still do original album. Just amazing!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Wuthering Heights
Album: The Shadow Cabinet


 


written by Jeff | 19.11.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 135  
Search this topic:  


GT - 19.11.2006 at 13:15  
Wuhu finally a review of my favorite band. This album is a killer...even better than 'Far From A Madding Crowd'. If you haven't heard it...shame on you

EDIT: not better than, but just as good as FFAMC
Spyroid - 19.11.2006 at 14:11  
Have to check it out! There's not many danish bands out there but the few of them are really good!
Talvi - 19.11.2006 at 15:01  
This album is total killer. The best of the band, and one of the best of this year. I'd also notice neoclassical influences on Carpe Noctem.
Opium Magnet - 19.11.2006 at 22:39  
I must listen to this, especially if it isn't and annyoing as their last album, everything before their last one was awesome, damn they screwed up then...
PyRaMaZe - 20.11.2006 at 00:04  
I didn't know this band until I heard this album and loved it.
BobMoron - 22.11.2006 at 01:48  
Did anybody get to hear Shadow of a Gipsy, or Roaming Far From Home ? I'd like to know a little more about these...

P.S. : Wuthering Heights rocks. Hard.
sinister - 28.12.2006 at 01:32  
Awesome album....a perfect 10. I say the same about 'Far From The Madding Crowd'...their last album. Great band.
Spyroid - 18.04.2008 at 22:53  
Not easy to get in to, not at all for a power metal band which is not very usual But it's a great damn record! Demon Desire gets stuck in your head directly and almost the whole album is pure satisfaction. And awesome musicians/harmonies/rythms! This really is a strong 8/10
Get this album!!
Baz Anderson - 19.04.2008 at 03:12  
I really need to listen to this album again..
this album reminds me of being on a bus driving back home from Hellfest 2007 - I had it on my mp3 player and fell asleep while listening to it. hahahaha

yeh - I love this album, and the previous one.. it has been a while though
GT - 11.09.2008 at 19:29  
I so hop they will play Demon Desire and one of the Apathy Divines at ProgPower...along with all their other great songs of course
GT - 14.03.2009 at 14:26  
Written by BobMoron on 22.11.2006 at 01:48

Did anybody get to hear Shadow of a Gipsy, or Roaming Far From Home ? I'd like to know a little more about these...

P.S. : Wuthering Heights rocks. Hard.

I know it's been a while since you asked that question, but I'm finally able to answer one of them. I bought the US version of the album as well a couple of months back. The bonus disc "Roaming Far From Home" is a live recording of their show at ProgPower, but the sound quality is rather poor. The songs performed are good though and you can hear that the band have a lot of fun and the crowd as well. Can't remember the titles, but I'll get back with those
BobMoron - 14.03.2009 at 15:16  
Written by GT on 14.03.2009 at 14:26

Written by BobMoron on 22.11.2006 at 01:48

Did anybody get to hear Shadow of a Gipsy, or Roaming Far From Home ? I'd like to know a little more about these...

P.S. : Wuthering Heights rocks. Hard.

I know it's been a while since you asked that question, but I'm finally able to answer one of them. I bought the US version of the album as well a couple of months back. The bonus disc "Roaming Far From Home" is a live recording of their show at ProgPower, but the sound quality is rather poor. The songs performed are good though and you can hear that the band have a lot of fun and the crowd as well. Can't remember the titles, but I'll get back with those

Actually I managed to get my hands on the CD in the meantime, but thanks anyway ;p
GT - 14.03.2009 at 15:41  
No worries Have you heard Shadow Of A Gipsy? I haven't yet but would like to know if it's worth tracking down
Iron Priest - 03.05.2009 at 18:19  
Written by GT on 14.03.2009 at 15:41

No worries Have you heard Shadow Of A Gipsy? I haven't yet but would like to know if it's worth tracking down


Shadow of the gipsy is a lackluster song. I have the album with the live tracks from Roaming far from home tour. this is also not much to listen to. Since it wasnt intended to official WH live the quality is bad.

The best copy I recommend is with Midnight Song bonus track. Very good song.
GT - 03.05.2009 at 20:03  
Written by Iron Priest on 03.05.2009 at 18:19

Written by GT on 14.03.2009 at 15:41

No worries Have you heard Shadow Of A Gipsy? I haven't yet but would like to know if it's worth tracking down


Shadow of the gipsy is a lackluster song. I have the album with the live tracks from Roaming far from home tour. this is also not much to listen to. Since it wasnt intended to official WH live the quality is bad.

The best copy I recommend is with Midnight Song bonus track. Very good song.

Thanks for letting me know. I have the European version too so yeah I know the song and I agree about the quality
Uirapuru - 26.04.2010 at 15:59  
Nice.. the prog elements within the power metal makes their music a lot harder to get into.

Not my cup of tea, but its easy to notice that all the praise this band receives is fair.
Hrothdane - 16.06.2010 at 22:53  
What elevates this album above so many others is the amazing lyrics and ideology behind them. I Shall Not Yield and Carpe Noctem especially are two of the most powerful and inspiring songs I have ever heard because the lyrics and singing effectively show the determination of someone who will carry on no matter what the world throws at him without glossing over the difficulties.
stormfromthepast - 30.06.2010 at 00:37  
Written by Hrothdane on 16.06.2010 at 22:53

What elevates this album above so many others is the amazing lyrics and ideology behind them. I Shall Not Yield and Carpe Noctem especially are two of the most powerful and inspiring songs I have ever heard because the lyrics and singing effectively show the determination of someone who will carry on no matter what the world throws at him without glossing over the difficulties.

you are awesome ! Indeed, i kick stones, everything around me when i hear "i shall not yield " i am completely blinking in the song like i should be this heroes of demon desire "like a knight without an armor". But the first line of this song is just the best lines of all time metal song :

" i wish from the beginning of this game
i had known it was in vain
that everything was doom to fail"

after that, tears...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Wuthering Heights - Far From The Madding Crowd 6.5 20.12.2009 by GT
Reviews Whitesnake - Live... In The Shadow Of The Blues 6 05.06.2012 by The Shape 1973
Reviews Kivimetsän Druidi - The New Chapter 4.5 30.07.2007 by
Reviews Made Of Hate - End Of The Weakness 4.5 13.02.2009 by Burning Winter
Reviews Symphonity - Voice From The Silence 4.5 21.08.2008 by Collin



Hits total: 5003 | This month: 5