Rating:
9.0
Into Eternity - The Scattering Of Ashes
3 October 2006


01. Novus Inceptum (Intro)
02. Severe Emotional Distress
03. Nothing
04. Timeless Winter
05. Out
06. A Past Beyond Memory
07. Surrounded By Night
08. Eternal
09. Pain Through Breathing
10. Suspension Of Disbelief
11. Paralyzed


Into Eternity previous album, "Buried Into Oblivion" shocked listeners throughout the world for its originality, being a real patchwork of Progressive, Melodic Death, Power, and what not. This insanely talented Canadian band is back in full force with "The Scattering Of Ashes".

With the same inconceivable recipe that ends up working perfectly, Into Eternity's new effort is a real gift to a too-easily labeled musical scene. Vocally, the band stuck with their style, which is basically that there is no style! Everything from shrieks to clean vocals, from Judas Priest to Dimmu Borgir, those vocals are simply too layered to start describing them. What is amazing is that it actually works.

'Severe Emotional Distress' and 'Nothing' are very representative of what Into Eternity is all about, which one can qualify as aggressive progressive. But do not overlook a song like 'Surrounded By Night' with its insane structure and beautiful vocals.

Catchy choruses, alternative sounding guitar riffs, Melodeath guitar solos and fast-paced drumming encapsulated into extreme progressive songwriting are once again characteristics of their music. And at the end of the day, "The Scattering Of Ashes" is a very interesting listen that has potential to do very big things in both European and North American markets. Give it a try, it won't be easy to get into their stuff, but it's definitely one of the most original albums I have heard in a while.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Into Eternity
Album: The Scattering Of Ashes


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 19.11.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 126  
Search this topic:  


Spyroid - 19.11.2006 at 16:17  
I love this band! Have to get this album now now now! My favourite death band, if they can be called death ^^
Joop - 19.11.2006 at 17:28  
Yeah this album is great!!

They chose to do the clean vocals in less voices than on their previous album.
That because it would be possible to do the vocals all Live.

Too bad, because I really like the vocal arrangement of Buried in Oblivion.
Asat0r - 19.11.2006 at 17:58  
Amazing album from an amazing band. Great review
Arian Totalis - 19.11.2006 at 18:26  
Funny, I just submitted review for this album, as to wether it will be allowed or not.....well I don't know. But as for this review, yeah it's pretty good, and I pretty much am on par with it.
Opium Magnet - 19.11.2006 at 22:37  
Both Power and Death frequently appear, so I'd say they are Power Death Metal, which just sounds plain weird, but I also love this album, it is my favourite and I like both types of vocals evenly.
Dangerboner - 20.11.2006 at 05:19  
This album definitely exceeded my expectations. The new vocalist is significantly better and they packed plenty of aggression in this album. The only thing I can complain about is the whored-out triggers, but other than that this album is pretty much flawless.
Locke - 20.11.2006 at 08:44  
Totally agree. This album is one of the best I've heard all year.
The kick drum sound is a bit off, and some of the vocals rub me the wrong way, but all in all these are very trivial details that don't prevent me from loving this record.
Pequod - 20.11.2006 at 22:02  
speed is the word...:banger:
northerfreak - 23.11.2006 at 05:52  
Go buy this record. Oh my god this is an amazing piece of metal every song is a killer especially ''timeless winter'' and nothing'' this is great this is a band to watch in the future and now.
broken goddess - 30.11.2006 at 19:50  
wow- i think i am alone when i say i MUCH prefered their last release. i didn't find the vocals on this album what i was expecting. there's still a few good tracks, but i wasn't blown away.
Rupert - 23.12.2006 at 05:22  
I have to agree with you, broken goddess. I don't know what it is, but The Scattering of Ashes just lacks something Burried in Oblivian has a lot of. This one's still quite good, though, maybe it's a bit too power/speed for me compared to the other albums. I find you can't hear the complexity of the song when it's too fast, so it's kind of like turning up the speed's a way to hide a lack of songwriting talent. Maybe, maybe not.
XStraightxEdgerX - 23.12.2006 at 06:25  
Wow - I doubt I am alone when i say Rupert is MUCH teh gay. Speeding up music was obviously a way for this band to further challenge themselves technically. It doesn't necessarily mean they've sacrificed thoughtful composition for an increased tempo just because you don't give the record enough listens to let it express it's subtleties.
Rupert - 02.01.2007 at 03:44  
At least I listen to all the music I have LAWL. And by the way, I've listened to this album twice so far, both times thinking the same thing. You're right that it may grow on me later on, but it doesn't seem likely at this point.
Passenger - 04.01.2007 at 00:13  
Good album, but I also liked "Buried In Oblivion" best. "Severe Emotional Distress" and "Nothing" are perfect though, and there are many other good songs too. 8.5/10
Samuel - 21.01.2007 at 05:05  
I like how some people are ripping on the vocals... uhm they all sound pretty fucking similar. I mean im not saying that different but if you told me it was the same guy on every album id believe it. on that Timeless winter song someone liked so much... the vocals sound like Tim Owens or w/e its pretty gay its probably my least favorite song on the cd b/c it just reminds me when I liked Iced Earth and When they were fucking sick...
-MeTaLlIc-OwL- - 23.07.2007 at 20:00  
Yes!, this is a helluva album, they came, and i missed them i was off-town dammit, Ill see them in a couple months, i'm sure they'll rule.
Infurnace - 28.08.2007 at 23:34  
Wow, this album really impressed me. I usually don't really like the Heavy-metalish vocals, but the singer pulls them off really well. They are a great band, and this album is pretty progressive, and I really like that.
Fat & Sassy! - 03.07.2008 at 09:57  
This is the first album I've heard from these guys... can't say that I like it too much. The vocals kinda reminds me of a lot of mainstream metal bands I hear here in the states. These guys sure are talented, but just as I begin to dig the progressive elements of a song... it ends. The songs are WAY TOO SHORT.
Abattoir - 03.07.2008 at 10:52  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 03.07.2008 at 09:57

These guys sure are talented, but just as I begin to dig the progressive elements of a song... it ends. The songs are WAY TOO SHORT.


I think that progressive elements are more in background and they are not so frequent by this band. Their staff is generally based more on melodic death metal than progressive. So the lenghts of these songs are just normal...

By the way this album is very cool for me.
Fat & Sassy! - 03.07.2008 at 22:41  
Written by Abattoir on 03.07.2008 at 10:52

I think that progressive elements are more in background and they are not so frequent by this band. Their staff is generally based more on melodic death metal than progressive. So the lenghts of these songs are just normal...


Really? I think that the arrangements of most of these songs are pretty darn proggy. I guess I'm just used to the arguably "pretentious" long prog songs...
BloodTears - 04.07.2008 at 22:26  
Good review. It certainly is original and fresh, those are some of the reasons that keep this band interesting. Besides, they make great songs and great records. This one is a hard listen, even if you know the band as well as I do, even if you listened to everything else.

After a few listens you start to understand what this is and then you can fully enjoy Into Eternity's genius songs. Personally, I quite like the vocal styles they use as well as their approach to riffs.

Oh and "timeless winter" is my favourite song.
Vitriolic Hate - 25.12.2008 at 16:20  
Awesome album & review!!!
MétalNoir - 28.08.2010 at 19:53  
One of the best metal albums ever. It has it all: originality, brutality, catchiness, beauty and that "fuck you all bitches, we're just having fun" attitude that's so metal. 10/10
BlindToNegotiate - 31.03.2012 at 17:42  
Stu's perfect blend of screams and growls to high Halford-esque vocals give me chills. Freakin' awesome album. I'm content the review does justice.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News Into Eternity - "The Scattering Of Ashes" Tracklisting Revealed 9 19.08.2006 by Arian Totalis
Reviews Echoes Of Eternity - The Forgotten Goddess 7.5 23.07.2007 by Lupas
Reviews Luna Mortis - The Absence 6 24.03.2010 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Novembers Doom - The Novella Reservoir 6 01.03.2007 by blackthor
Reviews Dream Theater - Falling Into Infinity 6 19.01.2008 by BurbotsRevenge



Hits total: 4149 | This month: 55