Rating:
8.0
Suidakra - Caledonia
17 November 2006


01. Highland Hills
02. A Blackened Shield
03. The Ember Deid (Part II)
04. Evoke the Demon
05. Forth-Clyde
06. Ramble (instrumental)
07. Dawning Tempest
08. The Distant Call
09. On Torrid Sand
10. The IXth Legion
11. Farewell


Let's be honest, the last album of the German Suidakra, "Command To Charge", was a big disappointment. I still don't understand why an original good band like Suidakra had to turn into the dark side of sell out Gothenburg Death Metal, it was really sad. But only stupid people don't want to recognize mistakes, and obviously Suidakra did its mea culpa and chose to return to its Folk roots with their new album, Calediona. It's good to see that you're back guys…

As you can guess with its name, "Caledonia" (aka Scotland) is inspired by Pict tribes' wars against the Roman Empire and its famous emperor Hadrian. If we must talk about Caledonia, you'll agree with me to say that we cannot avoid Pagan and Folk music right? Don't worry my friends, Suidakra, with the come back of their clean vocal singer and guitarist Marcel, is back to its Folk Death Metal music and yes, you'll be able to hear again, folk guitars or bagpipes in addition of heavy guitars. But even if Suidakra plays "Folk", it doesn't mean that the album lacks of energy. "Forth-Clyde" with its big and heavy guitar riffs is a great song of Melodic Death Metal and that the same with the other hits of the album like "Highland Hills which is however a bit more "folky".

Caledonia is not only a matter of music, we have also some real full nice ambiances on this release too. You'll be able to hear sounds of animals, storms, wages etc. Some songs, especially the ballads ("The Distant Call") or breaks like "Ramble" are really peaceful but they never are "too much", and fits perfectly to the whole story of the album. When I listen to this album I really have the feeling that I'm back into the lands of antic Scotland and I must congratulate the band which found a way, through its music, to give this fantastic feeling.

Even if "Caledonia" doesn't really give something new to the musical career of the German combo, it's really good to see that they found the way to come back to their Folk Death music. Plus, "Caledonia" is a good album anyway, with a lot of great songs and amazing ambiances. If "Command To Charge" disappointed you, you must know that you can forget it now, Suidakra is back with a really good album of Folk Metal. Folk Metal lovers, old or new fans of Suidrakra, this album is a must for you.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Suidakra
Album: Caledonia


 


written by Jeff | 23.11.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 101  
Search this topic:  


Talvi - 24.11.2006 at 01:03  
Low rated. This album is a MASTERPIECE, and the best album of 2006 so far.I'd rate it as 9.8 or even 10.
Promonex - 24.11.2006 at 01:46  
I agree with the review 100%. It was a very positive surprise that they have returned to the style they had back on "The Arcanum" and "Emprise To Avalon", but they fail to impress as much as they had done back then. Very good album nonetheless.
Opium Magnet - 25.11.2006 at 03:56  
Interesting to know they've returned back to what people liked them for. I will give it a listen at least.
Hypnos - 27.11.2006 at 22:06  
Awesome album i rate it 9.5
broken goddess - 29.11.2006 at 22:55  
I was really looking forward to this album, and I wasn't disappointed at all.
I love Suidakra's music, and this was another hit as far as I am concerned.
I think it deserves a 9-10.
Daru Jericho - 03.12.2006 at 02:09  
My friend always goes on about this band. I must check them out and by looking at this review this might be a good album to start with.
Promonex - 03.12.2006 at 19:55  
Written by Daru Jericho on 03.12.2006 at 02:09

My friend always goes on about this band. I must check them out and by looking at this review this might be a good album to start with.

I'd pick "Emprise To Avalon" over "Caledonia" anytime. "Caledonia" contains nothing what Suidakra haven't done half a decade earlier already.
Daru Jericho - 03.12.2006 at 21:17  
Ah, OK then. Thanks for that.
Opium Magnet - 08.02.2007 at 15:15  
I've heard this album and I must say it's awesome. Very clean production, all songs are near perfect, I gave it a 10 in the rating, but it's probably closer to a 9.5, not exactly flawless.
Vinnie R. - 19.06.2007 at 22:48  
Evoke the Demon, what a song!!! I love every piece of this album and is awesome to hear it at the top of volume...this guys are the best with that style.
Bob The Bastard - 24.06.2007 at 16:08  
"Let's be honest, the last album of the German Suidakra, "Command To Charge", was a big disappointment."

It was not. It's still a good album, its just different. It also shows how big an impact Marcel makes on the music.
I saw SuidAkrA yesterday, great gig. And I really think this album is worthy of a 9 or 9.5

However, Emprise To Avalon ftw anyday.
Spanishkiller - 19.07.2010 at 03:08  
SuidAkrA did definetly changed their sound with this album. Both Caledonia and Crogacht have an exceptional folk atmosphere, which makes them more interesting than their earlier albums IMO. Anyway, albums such as The Arcanum or Emprise to avalon should be rated as some of the best Melodeath albums ever. Their new album (2010-2011) will be unfortunately the worst of their career.
Assassiyoun - 15.04.2011 at 00:24  
Written by Spanishkiller on 19.07.2010 at 03:08

Their new album (2010-2011) will be unfortunately the worst of their career.


As prophet, I've seen better
Spanishkiller - 15.04.2011 at 17:09  
Written by Assassiyoun on 15.04.2011 at 00:24

Written by Spanishkiller on 19.07.2010 at 03:08

Their new album (2010-2011) will be unfortunately the worst of their career.


As prophet, I've seen better


Fortunately you're right lol... Their new album is such impressive!
Assassiyoun - 15.04.2011 at 22:05  
Written by Spanishkiller on 15.04.2011 at 17:09

Written by Assassiyoun on 15.04.2011 at 00:24

Written by Spanishkiller on 19.07.2010 at 03:08

Their new album (2010-2011) will be unfortunately the worst of their career.


As prophet, I've seen better


Fortunately you're right lol... Their new album is such impressive!


Ja, A good album, not their best but far to be their worst either. I guess you are happy that Suidakra proved you wrong .

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Suidakra - Caledonia 4.5 17.12.2010 by Vikingr
Reviews Sacrist - The Substance Of Illusion 3 14.01.2008 by Bad English
Reviews Kreator - Enemy Of God 3 07.07.2006 by florin
Reviews Destinity - The Inside 3 13.02.2008 by Dane Train
Reviews Hanoi Rocks - Street Poetry 3 10.12.2007 by



Hits total: 3332 | This month: 3