Rating:
8.8
Rammstein - Reise, Reise
20 September 2004


01. Reise, Reise
02. Mein Teil
03. Dalai Lama
04. Keine Lust
05. Los
06. Amerika
07. Moskau [Feat. Viktoria Fersh]
08. Morgenstern
09. Stein Um Stein
10. Ohne Dich
11. Amour


Reise Reise... yeah I really was terribly unimpressed the first time I heard this release. I wasn't much of a Rammstein fan anyway, liking some of their heaviest songs but further thinking of them as a boring and average industrial metal band. Now I think differently.

After a comment by a friend of mine made me listen to Rammstein's lyrics more closely I was greatly impressed. Yes, in my opinion lyrics are the main thing that Rammstein gives us. Be it the social-critical Amerika or the cannibalistic Mein Teil or Dalai Lama, a modern remake of Goethe's world famous "erlkönig" (erlking) in which the father squeezes his son to death out of fear for his child's life, or Morgenstern which shows a lot of similarities to Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. The lyrics are simply brilliant. Like on all other albums the songs are filled with brilliant metaphors and every single song can be listened to with two or three different meanings. Like always the lyrics are about modern decadence, violence and sex. Listening to the lyrics will unfortunately be very difficult for non-native German speakers though. Because a lot of the lines are parables and idioms. For anyone who speaks very good German I greatly recommend Rammstein for the lyrics alone though.

That much for the lyrics... now the music. Once again Rammstein give us a terribly creative piece of art. Morbid as much as it is rich in variation. Choirs, lines sung in Russian, a lot of different singing styles, varied drumming and a lot more, most notably a few scattered and extremely cool keyboard effects. I just love how the music often changes from slow and soft parts to heavier riffing and harsher vocals. While some songs are rather shocking, like Mein Teil with some very weird vocals and background wails, others like Ohne Dich are very quiet and peaceful.

For me this album isn't that much a music CD, I rather view it as a piece of art.

Now I definitely don't dislike this album nearly as much as I did at the beginning, obviously. But what exactly do I think now? First I Thought this was by far the worst of Rammstein's work, mainly because it's a lot less heavy then most others. Now I still don't view it as their best, but definitely their richest in variation. It has so many different influences and elements that you'll be able to listen to it for a long time and always find something new.

This is best listened to with vast knowledge of the German language, but also enjoyable without it if you like songs that are rich in variation. If you loved other Rammstein albums because of the heavier songs then don't waste your money on this one. You won't like it very much. If you like Rammstein because of their experimental approaches and their variation and little "special effects" then this one might become your favourite Rammstein album very fast.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Rammstein
Album: Reise, Reise


 


written by Bas | 03.12.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Iconoclasta

Rating:
7.0
With nervousness and anxiety, I went out from the disc store to my house as fast as possible, almost running across a sea of people by the pedestrian streets in downtown, and then waiting with desperation for a bus to take me home quickly to check my expected new acquisition. While finally in my room, I remove with trembling hands the plastic covering the CD, open it with strength and the disc finally finds its way to my player.

Read more ››
published 31.10.2004 | Comments (6)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 62  
Search this topic:  


Talvi - 04.12.2006 at 00:36  
A bit too high rating. Beginning with this album, Rammstein just stop being a somewhat good industrial metal band. But nice review anyway
Bas - 04.12.2006 at 00:40  
well i think they deserve this rating, like i say in the review, this album is extremely creative and many-sided

however like i said too the riffing is a lot less good and much less agressive and so on, so if thats what you liked about other Rammstein albums then i agree that this is clearly their worst in that category
Katatronik - 04.12.2006 at 14:26  
A great album, a bit different from the previous ones but full of good ideas and very creative... complete IMO!
So good review!
Rupert - 20.01.2007 at 10:31  
This album is not nearly as heavy overall as their previous albums (I don't know if they'll ever be), but where they lack in heaviness they certainly make up for it in experimentation and musical creativity. I heard a lot of new sounds, more technical drumming than usual (in some songs), and even some acoustic guitars! One song actually, Los, sounded kind of like an old rock song with a dark, industrial flare. Something also worth mentioning is Till's vocal work, which is superb as usual (and apparently the lyrics too). A lot more variation on this album in comparison to the older ones. I have yet to give Rosenrot a listen.
Carrion - 10.02.2007 at 14:35  
I like this album, not maybe as good as Sehnsucht, but still enjoyable
Doc Godin - 22.02.2007 at 06:46  
the first and only Rammstein album Ive ever purchased, and I enjoyed it alot, I cant see why anyone wouldnt enjoy this album.
GT - 27.03.2007 at 13:40  
Very good review...I really enjoy this album too. Not as heavy as some of their early work, but still very good
Bitch Boy - 28.03.2007 at 07:29  
The rate is a bit high, but well, I have to admit this album has very good sound and production. I have to check some translation for the lyrics as I don't know a shit about German
Marcus - 18.05.2007 at 04:21  
I personally enjoy listening to only about half of the songs on this album, it is good, but not that good.
Dandelion - 19.06.2007 at 21:10  
Another great album from the "german psychos" !i think they re still going to the wright direction even if mutter was better-i hope their new work will be even better
ioannisk - 06.03.2008 at 11:18  
Written by Doc Godin on 22.02.2007 at 06:46

the first and only Rammstein album Ive ever purchased, and I enjoyed it alot, I cant see why anyone wouldnt enjoy this album.

especially when there are songs such as: Moscow, Reise Reise, Ohne Dich
Doc Godin - 06.03.2008 at 21:13  
Written by ioannisk on 06.03.2008 at 11:18

Written by Doc Godin on 22.02.2007 at 06:46

the first and only Rammstein album Ive ever purchased, and I enjoyed it alot, I cant see why anyone wouldnt enjoy this album.

especially when there are songs such as: Moscow, Reise Reise, Ohne Dich

Oh dear, I made this post quite some time ago, unfortunately it grew a little old for me, I guess it was still worth it for the amount of enjoyment I got out of it, but I really can't listen to it anymore, but then again, I can't really listen to any industrial anymore.
Ellrohir - 07.03.2008 at 13:48  
Written by Doc Godin on 06.03.2008 at 21:13

I can't really listen to any industrial anymore.


yes...exactly like me

but this album is good anyway
Pétur - 09.03.2008 at 15:55  
hmmm actually found this album pretty average, the overproducion is ruining mine ears.
I really like that each song has a story of it's own and I hope more band will do that.
but this album also shows how lazy Rammstein were, many songs had great potential but just ruined by the simple preformance. it could be briliant but now it is just medicore.
Mr. Doctor - 15.04.2008 at 14:33  
I'll give it just a 8,0

It's good and it has a lot of variation and the lyrics are still awesome.
But it's lacks err.. I don't know.. strenght?

Good album.. but dewfinetely the least good after rosenrot.
spoonerX - 22.03.2009 at 02:21  
Makes me miss the 3 first ones...
Solstafir! - 16.10.2009 at 14:07  
This one came as a shock to my system...a totally revamped sound with minimal keyboard work...it was like they ceased to be Industrial...
Having said that, I love Keine Lust, and Moskau is a cool song too...
And their videos made their songs more listenable than they actually were...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Rammstein - Herzeleid 6 17.06.2007 by Katatronik
Reviews Rammstein - Reise Reise 5.5 01.05.2007 by
Albums Rammstein - Reise, Reise 4.5 05.01.2010 by Passinger
Reviews Symbolyc - Engraved Flesh 3 14.12.2009 by silenius
Reviews Darkness Ablaze - Shadowreign 3 25.04.2010 by EzeKyeL



Hits total: 3607 | This month: 36