Rating:
3.0
The Haunted - The Haunted
June 1998


01. Hate Song
02. Chasm
03. In Vein
04. Undead
05. Chokehold
06. Three Times
07. Bullet Hole
08. Now You Know
09. Shattered
10. Soul Fracture
11. Bloodrust
12. Forensick


Back when At The Gates called it quits, there was a lot of speculation about what would its members' future be. For the Björler brothers this new project called The Haunted was the way to proceed. Together with Adrian Erlandsson, Peter Dolving and Patrik Jensen they set out to explore something new and recreate Thrash Metal to their own image. To many people their first album, this self-titled, was a success. To me, unfortunately, it doesn't work.

There aren't, in fact, that many stylistic differences between this one and the following releases with Marco Aro. The problem is that, here, everything sounds too forced: it tries to be brutal but it just lives of incoherent riffage and badly tuned guitars; it tries to sound raw, but it's just badly mixed and produced; it tries to sound like Thrash Metal, but it has too much of an Hardcore edge. There's definitely a lot of energy and rage though, all wasted in basic and forgettable songs.

Despite the technical flaws, I was hoping to, at least, find some chorus or riff that would stick in my head for days, like it happened with "Bury Your Dead", "Hollow Ground" or "Godpuppet". There's "Hate Song", "Chasm" and…well, the rest in the same formula repeated endlessly with poorer results. There's no articulation. None of the band members, despite their talent confirmed elsewhere, gives a particularly standout performance, and Dolving even manages to create some really annoying passages.

Maybe I got too used to the melodic details of the Aro era, but there's no denying that "The Haunted Made Me Do It" and "One Kill Wonder" are more varied and memorable works. Not to mention they are closer to Thrash Metal and, occasionally, the Gothenburg sound, which, by the way, has no place here. I was yet to become a metalhead when "The Haunted" was released, thankfully, or I would have been worried about these musicians inspiration at the time. Skip this album, but keep following the members of the late At The Gates, that's my advice.


Band profile: The Haunted
Album: The Haunted


 


written by Passenger | 04.12.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 74  
Search this topic:  


ioannisk - 07.10.2008 at 14:34  
this album is the cornerstone to the swedish thrash metal! i totally disagree with the review. songs like bullet hole and hate song are written once in a lifetime!!:banger:
Dangerboner - 07.10.2008 at 23:44  
This is my favorite album by The Haunted, and really only one of two albums by them that I like.
Maxx666 - 13.07.2009 at 21:01  
This review Sucks!!!:mad::mad::mad::mad:
Deadmeat - 17.11.2010 at 17:47  
I like a lot this album, this a great debut from the haunted! "hate song", "in vein", "choke hold" ans "SOUL FRACTURE" are awesome songs imo!
Angelic Storm - 18.12.2010 at 00:27  
Totally disagree with this review! lol Ive never found much to rave about where modern thrash bands are concerned, but The Haunted are definitely an exception to that. This album in particular, is one of my favourite thrash albums of all time. xD

The only thing remotely "hardcore" about the album, is Peter Dolving's vocals. His vocals have always reminded me a lot of Phil Anselmo. lol As much as I really like the albums Marco Aro did with them as well, Peter gives them a unique edge and sound that they wouldnt have with a typical thrash style vocalist. Most of the album is awesome, with "In Vein", "Shattered" and the menacing "Bullet Hole" being just some of the amazing songs on offer. And "Hate Song" is just a thrash anthem of the highest order!

Although I love most of The Haunted's stuff, (with the exception of "Versus" which I thought was very patchy) they have still never bettered the sheer manic intensity and catchiness of the debut. <3
Vitriolic Hate - 18.12.2010 at 01:07  
Written by Angelic Storm on 18.12.2010 at 00:27

Totally disagree with this review! lol Ive never found much to rave about where modern thrash bands are concerned, but The Haunted are definitely an exception to that. This album in particular, is one of my favourite thrash albums of all time. xD

The only thing remotely "hardcore" about the album, is Peter Dolving's vocals. His vocals have always reminded me a lot of Phil Anselmo. lol As much as I really like the albums Marco Aro did with them as well, Peter gives them a unique edge and sound that they wouldnt have with a typical thrash style vocalist. Most of the album is awesome, with "In Vein", "Shattered" and the menacing "Bullet Hole" being just some of the amazing songs on offer. And "Hate Song" is just a thrash anthem of the highest order!

Although I love most of The Haunted's stuff, (with the exception of "Versus" which I thought was very patchy) they have still never bettered the sheer manic intensity and catchiness of the debut. <3

Totally agreed! S/T is one of the best modern thrash releases ever. The reviewer is total ignorant of this genre.
Boxcar Willy - 01.09.2011 at 04:42  
MichaelAngeloT - 01.09.2014 at 11:35  
Fuck this shitty review!!! This Album is fuckin Good
deadone - 02.09.2014 at 03:41  
It is a pretty poor review.

I think this guy heard the Aro era first and then was expecting more of the same with the S/T. I think he's also too hung up on his own limited definition of Thrash.

There's many memorable tracks here - people have already mentioned a few but a couple of personal favourites of mine are "3 Times" and the headfuckery that is "Forensick."
Passenger - 03.09.2014 at 21:39  
Yes, because god forbid that an unfavorable review should ever be well written.
deadone - 05.09.2014 at 07:17  
Written by Passenger on 03.09.2014 at 21:39

Yes, because god forbid that an unfavorable review should ever be well written.



I'm all for negative reviews - I've written a few myself!

There has to be a degree of accuracy though - claiming The Haunted's self titled is "too hardcore" is plain wrong. And expecting the album to sound like later albums with a different singer is also rather bizarre. It'd be like saying the Di'anno albums don't sound like the Dickinson ones.

I found this comment particularly interesting given that you gave Slayer's God Hates Us All a 7:

Quote:
t tries to be brutal but it just lives of incoherent riffage and badly tuned guitars; it tries to sound raw, but it's just badly mixed and produced


Personally I'd say that GHUA is described perfectly by this sentence and much more so than The Haunted.
Passenger - 06.09.2014 at 23:12  
Why would it be inaccurate to compare it with albums from the same band? And, more importantly, why would it be inaccurate to do that but not to compare it with albums from other bands, like you just did, who not only have a different singer, but different everything? :/ If I'm going to say how an album sounds, it's as valid (if not more) to compare this with The Haunted's other albums as it to compare it with a Slayer album.
deadone - 08.09.2014 at 02:49  
Written by Passenger on 06.09.2014 at 23:12

Why would it be inaccurate to compare it with albums from the same band? And, more importantly, why would it be inaccurate to do that but not to compare it with albums from other bands, like you just did, who not only have a different singer, but different everything? :/ If I'm going to say how an album sounds, it's as valid (if not more) to compare this with The Haunted's other albums as it to compare it with a Slayer album.



Totally valid to compare it other albums from the same band though that can lead to trouble when bands have had a massive style change (e.g. comparing new In Flames to old In Flames).

As for referrence to Slayer, The Haunted was inititally compared to Slayer as the underlying music is pretty much of that vein (indeed I remember reading a review with Kerry King who stated The Haunted was one of his favourite albums due to it sounding so much like Slayer).
Passenger - 13.09.2014 at 15:36  
Written by deadone on 08.09.2014 at 02:49

Written by Passenger on 06.09.2014 at 23:12

Why would it be inaccurate to compare it with albums from the same band? And, more importantly, why would it be inaccurate to do that but not to compare it with albums from other bands, like you just did, who not only have a different singer, but different everything? :/ If I'm going to say how an album sounds, it's as valid (if not more) to compare this with The Haunted's other albums as it to compare it with a Slayer album.



Totally valid to compare it other albums from the same band though that can lead to trouble when bands have had a massive style change (e.g. comparing new In Flames to old In Flames).

As for referrence to Slayer, The Haunted was inititally compared to Slayer as the underlying music is pretty much of that vein (indeed I remember reading a review with Kerry King who stated The Haunted was one of his favourite albums due to it sounding so much like Slayer).

So it's valid but bizarre. Sounds a bit contradictory. I think comparisons never hurt. If nothing else, at least they can offer context. Even if it's just to say "remember that? This has nothing to do with it."

I never disagreed that it's close to that Slayer era.

I find this album immensely repetitive, Dolving has always been a miscast and I prefer the Aro era, yes. People have a tendency to question your knowledge when they don't agree with you. It's my review, it's my opinion. It doesn't necessarily make it "pretty poor" or "shitty" or makes me a "total ignorant".
deadone - 14.09.2014 at 15:22  
Written by Passenger on 13.09.2014 at 15:36


I find this album immensely repetitive, Dolving has always been a miscast and I prefer the Aro era, yes. People have a tendency to question your knowledge when they don't agree with you. It's my review, it's my opinion. It doesn't necessarily make it "pretty poor" or "shitty" or makes me a "total ignorant".



I can understand it's your own opinion. But you did claim hardcore links when they were in fact limited to vocals.

As for repetition, as a big fan of the first four albums I find them all quite repetitive. This isn't rocket science and they pull it off well enough for me not to care.
Passenger - 23.09.2014 at 12:54  
Written by deadone on 14.09.2014 at 15:22

Written by Passenger on 13.09.2014 at 15:36


I find this album immensely repetitive, Dolving has always been a miscast and I prefer the Aro era, yes. People have a tendency to question your knowledge when they don't agree with you. It's my review, it's my opinion. It doesn't necessarily make it "pretty poor" or "shitty" or makes me a "total ignorant".



I can understand it's your own opinion. But you did claim hardcore links when they were in fact limited to vocals.

As for repetition, as a big fan of the first four albums I find them all quite repetitive. This isn't rocket science and they pull it off well enough for me not to care.

I don't agree, but I agree to disagree

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews The Haunted - The Haunted Made Me Do It 8 17.08.2008 by ioannisk
Reviews The Haunted - Unseen 5.5 30.11.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Albums The Haunted - The Haunted Made Me Do It 4.5 13.03.2010 by Builtforsin88
News The Haunted - Entire New Album Available For Streaming 4.5 11.09.2008 by metal2000
News The Haunted - New Album On The Way 4.5 17.03.2008 by Lord TJ



Hits total: 2947 | This month: 38