Rating:
10
Metallica - Ride The Lightning
27 July 1984


01. Fight Fire With Fire
02. Ride The Lightning
03. For Whom The Bell Tolls
04. Fade To Black
05. Trapped Under Ice
06. Escape
07. Creeping Death
08. The Call Of Ktulu


With this album Metallica confirm their total control on Thrash Metal and their consolidation like an international band. In this album the band members were fully adapted to each other and make a more mature and considerably better musical album. The lyrics of this album are also better than in the last one, they do not speak now about headbanging, blood, and those things, in "Ride The Lightning" they speak about personal problems like in 'Fade To Black' [inspired by the theft of band's equipment]. Other tracks are inspired by H.P. Lovecraft and the movie 'The Ten Commandments' like 'Creeping Death'.

The CD consists of only 8 tracks, but I can say without a doubt that 6 of them are cult songs for Metal history [all tracks except 'Escape' and 'Trapped Under Ice', which anyway are incredible songs]. Above all the best track of the album and one of the best songs ever is, 'For Whom The Bell Tolls'. What can I say about it, nowadays? Nothing, just listen to it, and let the bells toll for you.
The first ballad released by Metallica appeared in this album, the song is call 'Fade To Black', also Metallica continued their tradition started in their first album of playing an instrumental song, in this case 'The Call of Ktulu'.

On balance: the CD is just incredible and nearly perfect, Metallica shows with this album that it is here to stay, an album that all headbangers should have, on the other hand, this is a good album to start listening to Metallica.


Band profile: Metallica
Album: Ride The Lightning


 


written by Iced Iñigo | 22.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
ponderer

Rating:
10
1984. Talk about a band and an album being so far ahead of their time that they would be hallmarks in the history of metal...

Ride the Lightning was nothing less than a nuclear bomb dropped in American metal laps. We'd heard Judas Priest and Sabbath, but nothing could have prepared anyone for what was coming full force out of San Francisco in '84. Since Kill 'em All had limited success in the underground, most people still hadn't heard of the Bay area thrashers who were busy forging a new metal scene stateside. With the launch of Ride the Lightning and heavy touring, Metallica were set to take stage as one of the more brutal premier metal acts.

Read more ››
published 06.07.2008 | Comments (36)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 46  
Users visited: 203  
Search this topic:  


vhaldemar - 22.07.2006 at 04:08  
INCREDIBLE ALBUM!:banger2:
dark awakening - 23.07.2006 at 11:35  
I perfectly agree with you! Great review!
Taktsekte - 28.07.2006 at 02:40  
I corpsevomitnecrofistfucking agree with each and every friggin' word of the review. Mankind has never known, and will never know a better Thrash Metal album than [... falls to his knees, bows and takes a big breath] almighty RIDE THE LIGHTNING.

The best Metal instrumental, The Call of Ktulu, is there.
The best Metallica ballad, Fade to Black, is there.
The best, most headbangable, most complex Metallica epic, Ride the Lightning, is there.
The best song EVER, For Whom the Bell Tolls, is there.

If you have not yet listened to the eighth Wonder of the World, aka RIDE THE LIGHTNING, what are you waiting for? Go for it before I shoot you.
Dangerboner - 28.07.2006 at 02:43  
This is a great album, but I don't think it's the best thrash album ever.
Pianoman - 28.07.2006 at 06:04  
The best thrash metal ever!
Fane - 30.07.2006 at 00:10  
All right! One of best albums what have come from Metallica! This album rocks! (have fighted with sister from this album sometimes ) And review was incrediable!
Xtreme Jax - 02.08.2006 at 04:15  
This is a great album, one of the best from Metalica. Im in love with 'Fade To Black' and all the other songs are just killer thrash. Id give it a big 9
Bulus - 12.08.2006 at 16:54  
Written by Taktsekte on 28.07.2006 at 02:40

I corpsevomitnecrofistfucking agree with each and every friggin' word of the review. Mankind has never known, and will never know a better Thrash Metal album than [... falls to his knees, bows and takes a big breath] almighty RIDE THE LIGHTNING.

The best Metal instrumental, The Call of Ktulu, is there.
The best Metallica ballad, Fade to Black, is there.
The best, most headbangable, most complex Metallica epic, Ride the Lightning, is there.
The best song EVER, For Whom the Bell Tolls, is there.

If you have not yet listened to the eighth Wonder of the World, aka RIDE THE LIGHTNING, what are you waiting for? Go for it before I shoot you.

totally agree with you,
BloodTears - 12.08.2006 at 19:59  
My favourite Metallica album since the first day I listen to it. I think you've said it all.
LiveWise - 13.08.2006 at 22:54  
SO GOOOD !
I love it .
Specially i like fade to black and for whom the bell tolls.
One of the best albums ever
Thrash666 - 18.08.2006 at 20:33  
The best album of 1984 and one of the best thrash albums ever!!!!!!!!
viimaneraud - 21.08.2006 at 23:50  
It is the best Metallica album ever.
Even best album ever!!
:beer2:
DLMokoma - 27.08.2006 at 17:55  
this is one of the few albums (that can be count with one arm fingers) that I can listen 24/7. this is just... amazing
matthioso - 29.08.2006 at 18:24  
The best album of Metallica and therefore the best album of all times
METALLICA KICKS ASS!!!!!
BurbotsRevenge - 17.09.2006 at 05:02  
One of the big 4 (kill em all, lightning album, MOP, and the Justice album), one of the best!

great album filled with scorching riffs, and mad solos.



great album!! 10 out of 10
KUFFAR - 17.09.2006 at 13:29  
There worst album out of there first 4 first albums...
there weakest.

For me its like this:
Master
Justice
Kill
Ride

In that order.

Tho I love the lyrics (and book) of 'For whom the bell tulls'
Talvi - 26.10.2006 at 20:54  
Trash metal indeed xD
ThrashMetal_Rulz - 14.01.2007 at 01:15  
BEST ALBUM EVER! I love every single song on there so much! especily Fade to Black;D.
Nhorf - 17.02.2007 at 17:26  
The strongest Metallica album, 1. Ride-2.Kill-3.Master-4.Justice.
Shit, this is great... I also think Fight Fire With Fire is soooo underrated =( anyway all the songs are great: 1. For Whom - 2. Fade(a great ballad) - 3. Fight - 4. Ride - 5. Creeping - 6. Call. Trapped and Escape are, for me, quite similar songs, I do not like them so so much... but they still good
Bitch Boy - 19.02.2007 at 22:47  
I totally agree with your review. The entire album is a masterpiece, even "Trapped Under Ice" and "Escape", we can't consider them to be fillers, and very few albums have no fillers. It may be not Metallica's best but is a really asskicking piece of work.
Tod_Engel - 03.03.2007 at 17:23  
How come Master of Puppets is considered better than this? I think this album is their best. So many good songs like: For Whom the Bell Tolls, Fight Fire With Fire, Creeping Death, The Call of Ktulu, Fade To Black and their absolutely best song Ride The lightning. It deserves a 10.
JohnDoe - 04.03.2007 at 16:20  
One of the best metal albums ever released. No filler songs on this album, everything works great. And BTW, Escape is one of my favourite Metallica songs. It's not as famous as the other songs on RTL, but anyway a very good song.
AlexCromlech - 27.03.2007 at 12:28  
By far their best album!
Mental_Orgasm - 05.04.2007 at 13:01  
In my opinion, this was probobly my favourite cd from Metallica, pity that they've gone so downhill
ShowNoMercy - 22.04.2007 at 18:43  
Good album definetly from Metallica, the most successful from the big four of thrash. But i really believe that Kill 'Em All was much more headbangable, but that's just my opinion. 8/10
Warman - 20.06.2007 at 14:27  
Again a very important release and yes, everybody should own this!
Noel Sonic - 01.07.2007 at 08:53  
Their last album is good, but this album is far more better than that.It can be called"masterpiece".I like Fade To Black best. I can feel the feeling from depressing to great anger.It describes the darkest time in life.The Call Of Ktulu make me miss Cliff Burton.He played a very important role in the band.Of cause,For Whom The Bell Tolls,Creeping Death,Trapped Under Ice is very impressive too.
BlueMobius - 24.07.2007 at 00:29  
This was the first metal album I ever bought and it's still one of my favorites.
Angel Of Rage - 27.12.2007 at 19:21  
I just know that Fade To Black is my fauvorite Metallica ballad. That song makes me feel 130% adrenalized. I was so disappointed when they didn't play that song in Bogota on 1999. Great album, awesome songs, excellent band.
+{Jonas}+ - 10.02.2008 at 23:41  
Written by Taktsekte on 28.07.2006 at 02:40

I corpsevomitnecrofistfucking agree with each and every friggin' word of the review. Mankind has never known, and will never know a better Thrash Metal album than [... falls to his knees, bows and takes a big breath] almighty RIDE THE LIGHTNING.

The best Metal instrumental, The Call of Ktulu, is there.
The best Metallica ballad, Fade to Black, is there.
The best, most headbangable, most complex Metallica epic, Ride the Lightning, is there.
The best song EVER, For Whom the Bell Tolls, is there.

If you have not yet listened to the eighth Wonder of the World, aka RIDE THE LIGHTNING, what are you waiting for? Go for it before I shoot you.


Amen.
IconMaiden - 01.04.2008 at 04:32  
The best intro to any metallica song was to ride the lightning. absolutely classic album, one of their best. 9.3 for me.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 18.04.2008 at 10:46  
this is my favorite album of metallica so i 10 for me. RIDE it if u didnt
metalgod5298 - 19.05.2008 at 01:30  
I agree with almost everything in that review except "Escape" is one of the best songs on the album.
Phantomlord_mk - 20.07.2008 at 13:51  
For whom the bell tools,Fade to Black,Creeping death are amazing songs,just like the whole album
Cliff 'em all - 08.04.2009 at 23:21  
It's almost unbelievable that this is only their second best effort :p!
Deadmeat - 08.04.2009 at 23:59  
After hearing this album carefully i am sure now. this is metallica's best. with difference...
HALOOOOOOOO - 28.04.2009 at 00:30  
I'm not so big on Trapped Under Ice or even more so Escape, but when the other six songs are so incredible you can only say this is one of the best albums ever.
Uirapuru - 01.06.2009 at 13:02  
Well, I hated Kill em All but loved this album and the next one also (Master of Puppets). They sound similar, but this album is simply better... not a good explanation... it's just hierarchy.. memorable songs in this piece.
Haddonfield - 01.06.2009 at 20:34  
Best album of all time, can listen to it anytime anywhere and more than once on the trot.
terrorist - 19.06.2009 at 10:42  
So melodic album,fantastic!!!!!!
bkrownd - 05.11.2009 at 01:53  
This is no less than an 11.5 out of 10. (yes, it goes past 11...in special cases like this)
Kap'N Korrupt - 05.11.2009 at 02:00  
It goes past 11 because their amps go up to 11
SatyriconChick - 11.12.2009 at 04:06  
Oh, hell yeah! I love this review just about as much as I love the album - my favorite by Metallica!
crypticmind - 27.04.2010 at 17:46  
God says let there b thrash metal..........and there is ''Ride The Lightning'':banger2:
Sepulnation - 26.03.2011 at 18:22  
10/10
Sepulnation - 26.03.2011 at 18:36  
My girlfriend was born in 26 July 1984. She's one day older than this excellent album xDDD

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Metallica - Ride The Lightning 8.5 06.07.2008 by Marcel Hubregtse
Albums Metallica - Ride The Lightning 7.5 21.12.2009 by SatanSon
Reviews Metallica - St. Anger 5.5 18.06.2006 by Spyroid
News Metallica - Live DVD's In The Works 4.5 31.05.2009 by LeChron James
News Metallica - 'Through The Never' Film Coming On DVD 4.5 22.11.2013 by Cynic Metalhead



Hits total: 14286 | This month: 185