Rating:
9.2
Diablo Swing Orchestra - The Butcher's Ballroom
2006


Act #1
01. Balrog Boogie
02. Heroines
03. Poetic Pitbull Revolutions
04. Rag Doll Physics
05. D'Angelo
06. Velvet Embracer

Act #2
07. Gunpowder Chant
08. Infralove
09. Wedding March For A Bullet
10. Qualms Of Conscience
11. Zodiac Virtues
12. Porcelain Judas
13. Pink Noise Waltz


Music like this doesn't come out that often; nowadays, in the metal scene, everyone seems to be doing what bands from the 80's and early 90's already shaped, most metal music kept recycling itself over and over again until we sadly got used to that fact without minding much. When a band like D:S:O suddenly appears and breaks the whole metal scheme with such an original sound and renewed vibe, I just can't help to be utterly impressed as I am right now.

D:S:O successfully combines a rich and meticulous preference for diverse connotations such as Swing, Flamenco, Jazz, Gothic Metal, Progressive Metal, Symphonic Metal and Orchestral undertones in the whole album (who knows which genres I'm missing here); and in the end we have one of the most interesting albums this year. "The Butchers Ballroom" is an overwhelming experience that generates all kind of feelings from the beginning to the very end, making you want to replay the piece over an over again until your ears feel anesthetized.

I can't even explain how worthwhile this album is; from the overture you'll understand this is like nothing you've ever heard before. Songs like "Heroines", "Pink Noise Waltz", or "Wedding March For A Bullet" are blatant explosions showing the strength and power that D:S:O dwells, but cuts like "D'angelo", "Balrog Boogie" or "Zodiac Virtues" manage to show an astonishing ensemble that perfects the ability of music as a complex art. Musically, "The Butcher's Ballroom" is so complex and intricate that it could take a whole article to analyze the depths of every single track wrapping it; the instrumentation is skilled, the vocals are both beautiful and dominant, the atmospheres are dark in Act#1 but strong in Act#2, so as you can see this album has everything a music fan could wish for.

Production-wise the album is really clean, the layout is very suggestive and the lyrical content is outstanding, to find out more you'll have to buy this album. To sum things up, D:S:O is the most promising band this year; if their debut had such an impact in the audience I can't even imagine how their next albums will sound like.

Highly Recommended!!!

Best Tracks: "Balrog Boogie", "Pink Noise Waltz", "Heroines".

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 8


Band profile: Diablo Swing Orchestra
Album: The Butcher's Ballroom


 


written by Herzebeth | 12.12.2006



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 64  
Users visited: 330  
Search this topic:  


MétalNoir - 22.12.2008 at 04:24  
Written by Tod_Engel on 24.09.2007 at 20:09

Written by Doc Godin on 20.09.2007 at 08:56

Ive been listening to the songs on there myspace constantly lately, I love it and definitly will be getting a hold of this album some how. I just dont like the vocals all that much. Can anyone reccommend me anything like this but with harsh vocals? because that would be a complete 10/10 for me.


I'd say it's really hard to find anything similar to DSO. You might, but it wouldn't be the same. At the moment I can't help you..


The only thing I think of is Unexpect, though they are much more extreme... They actually sound like the twisted child of D:S:O and ChthoniC...
Mr. Doctor - 22.12.2008 at 16:55  
Written by MétalNoir on 22.12.2008 at 04:24

The only thing I think of is Unexpect, though they are much more extreme... They actually sound like the twisted child of D:S:O and ChthoniC...


I agree... Unexpect [AWESOME BAND] is the only band that I can think of... But like you said, way more extreme. But pretty much in the same vein.
Tod_Engel - 23.12.2008 at 14:48  
Written by MétalNoir on 22.12.2008 at 04:24

Written by Tod_Engel on 24.09.2007 at 20:09

Written by Doc Godin on 20.09.2007 at 08:56

Ive been listening to the songs on there myspace constantly lately, I love it and definitly will be getting a hold of this album some how. I just dont like the vocals all that much. Can anyone reccommend me anything like this but with harsh vocals? because that would be a complete 10/10 for me.


I'd say it's really hard to find anything similar to DSO. You might, but it wouldn't be the same. At the moment I can't help you..


The only thing I think of is Unexpect, though they are much more extreme... They actually sound like the twisted child of D:S:O and ChthoniC...


Have to agree with you.
Paradox0 - 13.07.2009 at 19:56  
Written by Doc Godin on 20.09.2007 at 08:56

Ive been listening to the songs on there myspace constantly lately, I love it and definitly will be getting a hold of this album some how. I just dont like the vocals all that much. Can anyone reccommend me anything like this but with harsh vocals? because that would be a complete 10/10 for me.


I agree with you there on the vocals. Sure there done well but they just sometimes dont seem to fit with the music, not to mention the overdubbing tends to also ru9in it. Aside from that though, very nice and creative album. 9/10
rpsgc - 12.09.2009 at 00:27  
Just to let you guys know that this album is now on Jamendo for free (yes, it's legal).

http://www.jamendo.com/en/album/49216
tgee - 30.11.2009 at 01:35  
Written by Doc Godin on 20.09.2007 at 08:56

Ive been listening to the songs on there myspace constantly lately, I love it and definitly will be getting a hold of this album some how. I just dont like the vocals all that much. Can anyone reccommend me anything like this but with harsh vocals? because that would be a complete 10/10 for me.


maybe give a try to ephel duath, the painter's palette
mismoree - 31.08.2010 at 01:21  
This album is so much different from what I usually hear, maybe thats why I like it so much. They try a completely different approach to metal and manage to pull it of spectacularly. 'Pink Noise Waltz' and 'Balrog Boogie' are my favorites.
SMAX - 09.02.2012 at 05:36  
This doesn't belong on metalstorm.
K†ulu - 09.02.2012 at 10:25  
Written by SMAX on 09.02.2012 at 05:36

This doesn't belong on metalstorm.

And why is that? This is quite metal.
3rdWorld - 09.03.2013 at 13:34  
I agree with SMAX, this sounds like lame ass symphonic rock. How the fuck is this even Avantgarde?
Rhiannon - 30.03.2013 at 17:21  
Written by 3rdWorld on 09.03.2013 at 13:34

I agree with SMAX, this sounds like lame ass symphonic rock. How the fuck is this even Avantgarde?


WTF? You clearly haven't heard this album...
3rdWorld - 02.04.2013 at 20:41  
Written by Rhiannon on 30.03.2013 at 17:21

Written by 3rdWorld on 09.03.2013 at 13:34

I agree with SMAX, this sounds like lame ass symphonic rock. How the fuck is this even Avantgarde?


WTF? You clearly haven't heard this album...


Make it lame ass melodic/symphonic rock played like a cheap imitation of various swing, jazz styles. I stand by what i said, this isn't even close to avantgarde.
Rhiannon - 02.04.2013 at 21:32  
Quote:
Make it lame ass melodic/symphonic rock played like a cheap imitation of various swing, jazz styles. I stand by what i said, this isn't even close to avantgarde.


i really wish lame ass melodic/symphonic rock would sound like this, and not like Avantasia/Bon Jovi. I really wish...
Oriax - 10.08.2013 at 14:04  
Played this albums in my brothers video shop.. And this girl of prob. 10 years old started dancing to it.. In South Africa! Was awsome!! Hahaha!

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Diablo Swing Orchestra - The Butcher's Ballroom 10.5 31.03.2012 by BlindToNegotiate
Reviews Diablo Swing Orchestra - Sing-Along Songs For The Damned & Delirious 8.5 06.02.2010 by MétalNoir
Albums Diablo Swing Orchestra - Sing-Along Songs For The Damned & Delirious 7.5 07.02.2010 by Daggon
News Diablo Swing Orchestra - Session Musicians Officially Join The Band 7.5 26.01.2011 by Asunder
Reviews Diablo Swing Orchestra - Pandora's Piñata 7 10.11.2012 by PocketMetal



Hits total: 18623 | This month: 106