Rating:
9.6
Helloween - Walls Of Jericho
1985


01. Walls of Jericho
02. Ride The Sky
03. Reptile
04. Guardians
05. Phantoms Of Death
06. Metal Invaders
07. Gorgar
08. Heavy Metal (Is The Law)
09. How Many Tears

[disc I: 2006 Expanded Edition]
01. Starlight [1987 reissue bonus]
02. Murderer [1987 reissue bonus]
03. Warrior [1987 reissue bonus]
04. Victim Of Fate [1987 reissue bonus]
05. Cry For Freedom [1987 reissue bonus]
06. Walls of Jericho
07. Ride The Sky
08. Reptile
09. Guardians
10. Phantoms Of Death
11. Metal Invaders
12. Gorgar
13. Heavy Metal (Is The Law)
14. How Many Tears
15. Judas [1987 reissue bonus]

[disc II: 2006 Expanded Edition]
16. Murderer [remix]
17. Ride The Sky [remix]
18. Intro / Ride The Sky [live]
19. Guardians [live]
20. Oernst Of Life
21. Metal Invaders
22. Surprise Track


The Helloween debut. An album overshadowed by their classics, the Keepers duo. So when you ask people, what were the first and classic metal albums, few recognize this little gem. Even it take me some time to discover it because of that. The other problem is that the production isn't very good. But if you get the remastered album, the problem is fixed. Then, people see Helloween as a power metal band with high pitched vocals. And Kai Hansen nasal vocals are probably not too tolerable. It took me some listens to love his voice. And it's overall much faster than any other Helloween album.

But enough comparisons. Walls Of Jericho is simply the best classic Helloween album. It's also the best speed metal album. Most people say Painkiller, but this is faster, catchier and ages better. I loved Painkiller, but later I was just tired of the riffs or the vocals. But this album, even if it's simple, you can never be tired of it. After a couple of listens, you will have in your mind every melody and every solo.

So well, this is speed proto-power metal, fast, catchy, and, with the remaster, it even sounds good. It ages well, which is, to me, the main problem of many speed metal albums. So what about the songs? Since I'm reviewing the remastered edition, which has the Helloween EP, the Walls Of Jericho album, and Judas. This also has some bonus tracks as well that don't deserve my time. As a Helloween fan, they may be nice, but let's stick to the core of the album.

There are no bad songs. Some things keep this album from being perfect. Those are: Victim of Fate; Cry for Freedom; Reptile; Gorgar. Now, maybe without these tracks the album would be worse. Anyway, the problem is, that the first two just are half fucking killer, probably they are the most vicious moments on the album, but come on, the middle part of Victim of Fate is just silly. As the beginning of Cry for Freedom. Not that I like acoustic intros or interludes, but those two are unnecessary. The others two are classic Helloween silly tracks. They aren't as fast as the rest of the album, which probably make it more tolerable, but they are still a bit mediocre compared with the total killing spree that the other tracks offer. Oh, and the Gorgar solo just rules.

Highlight are probably everything but my personal favorite is Judas. The main riff it's just totally killer. Oh, and even Guardians is a very good song, with fantasy power metal lyrics, but Rhapsody will later make a cover of it. Strange, how can a mediocre band make a better performance from the master of the genre? But even though many bands may sound better, or have better voices, it was the amazing songwriting what made them the legends they are now. So, if you like metal, get this album now. Remember: Heavy metal is the law!

PS: As a minor note, I don't worship Kai Hansen, since I love modern Helloween as much as classic Helloween. But anyway, he's still a metal god.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Helloween
Album: Walls Of Jericho


 


written by Talvi | 15.12.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
iaberis

Rating:
9.6
If you go back in time, to the year 1985, you will see a music world where the word "Power Metal" was absent from any metal definition lexicon. It was something unknown. At that time a band called Helloween tried to make its first steps into the music industry.

"Walls Of Jericho" is the first full length album of the band. With its speedy sound, catchy rhythm and Kai Hansen's powerful screams, it is considered to be one of the first albums that gave the spark to light this new eruptive genre of metal, called "Power Metal." Many well known bands of today are still inspired by this album.

Read more ››
published 27.07.2006 | Comments (34)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 44  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 15.12.2006 at 14:43  
Maybe 8 in production... For the rest I agree with you, a jewel of speed power!so very good review!
Talvi - 15.12.2006 at 15:54  
Written by Katatronik on 15.12.2006 at 14:43

Maybe 8 in production... For the rest I agree with you, a jewel of speed power!so very good review!


I don't know if I said it, but I've reviewed the remastered edition. Substract 2-3 points in production if it's the original. But I have the remastered only, so that's what the review is for.
Baz Anderson - 27.01.2007 at 23:03  
does the remastered version really sound that much better? worthy of a ten?
i only have the original - and it is the production that lets it down more then anything else.
Talvi - 28.01.2007 at 05:56  
Written by Baz Anderson on 27.01.2007 at 23:03

does the remastered version really sound that much better? worthy of a ten?
i only have the original - and it is the production that lets it down more then anything else.


I've listened to the original too, and I couldn't finish it because of the production. With the remastered one, everything sounds amazing, even Kai's sucky vocals xD
Baz Anderson - 28.01.2007 at 06:14  
haha, yeh - they are probably his worst. it was his first big album though
i might have to see if i can get hold of this remastered one then - it will be interesting
Stalker - 20.10.2007 at 00:05  
OK, I have the old version, and I was so annoyed with the (lack of) quality, that I couldnt actually listen to it. But I was amazed with the quality of music it self, so eventually I got used to it, and now its without any doubt my favorite Helloween album.
Concerning the vocal abilities of Mr Hansen, well, I must be insane, since I am the only person that actually LOVES his voice, and I must say, my favorite tracks he sung are on this album.
Anyway, this album is unique in history of Heavy Metal, and it deserves a solid 10 if you consider the year of release, and that it was actually their first album.
Speed, power, amazing solos, angry lyrics in Kai's screaming vocals - thats what this album is. One and only. RIP Helloween.
Dowi - 14.12.2007 at 03:22  
Walls of Jericho is way better than the "Keepers". I just listened to it for first time some days ago, I wasn't too atracted to it 'cause everybody says that Hansen vocals suck, but they're all damn wrong, Hansen's voice is amazing. I couldn't say it's their best album, but it's much better than the keepers, sorry.:P
Snockis - 16.12.2007 at 19:19  
Written by Talvi on 28.01.2007 at 05:56

With the remastered one, everything sounds amazing, even Kai's sucky vocals xD


Dude, Kai's vocals doesn't suck, he has a unique voice and a good one also, I didn't like his voice at the beginning, but later I realized that he has one of a kind voice, damn its so unique in every way, know that he sings in a different way now, then what he did during his career as singer for Helloween.
You can rally hear the difference, that's a bit fun:P But it's same with Kürsch and Kiske.
Talvi - 17.12.2007 at 01:02  
Written by Snockis on 16.12.2007 at 19:19

Written by Talvi on 28.01.2007 at 05:56

With the remastered one, everything sounds amazing, even Kai's sucky vocals xD


Dude, Kai's vocals doesn't suck, he has a unique voice and a good one also, I didn't like his voice at the beginning, but later I realized that he has one of a kind voice, damn its so unique in every way, know that he sings in a different way now, then what he did during his career as singer for Helloween.
You can rally hear the difference, that's a bit fun:P But it's same with Kürsch and Kiske.



At that time, and when the album was released (note: BAD production), his vocals just were ugly. Now with Gamma Ray he sings very well, but not on Walls of Jericho. Even if it fits the music.
Snockis - 17.12.2007 at 01:09  
Written by Talvi on 17.12.2007 at 01:02

Written by Snockis on 16.12.2007 at 19:19

Written by Talvi on 28.01.2007 at 05:56

With the remastered one, everything sounds amazing, even Kai's sucky vocals xD


Dude, Kai's vocals doesn't suck, he has a unique voice and a good one also, I didn't like his voice at the beginning, but later I realized that he has one of a kind voice, damn its so unique in every way, know that he sings in a different way now, then what he did during his career as singer for Helloween.
You can rally hear the difference, that's a bit fun:P But it's same with Kürsch and Kiske.



At that time, and when the album was released (note: BAD production), his vocals just were ugly. Now with Gamma Ray he sings very well, but not on Walls of Jericho. Even if it fits the music.


Ok, I don't have so much to compare with, only heard Warrior from that album (their original album):( was long time ago i heard it, but as I could rememer it sounded quite well.
Talvi - 17.12.2007 at 07:47  
Written by Snockis on 17.12.2007 at 01:09

Written by Talvi on 17.12.2007 at 01:02

Written by Snockis on 16.12.2007 at 19:19

Written by Talvi on 28.01.2007 at 05:56

With the remastered one, everything sounds amazing, even Kai's sucky vocals xD


Dude, Kai's vocals doesn't suck, he has a unique voice and a good one also, I didn't like his voice at the beginning, but later I realized that he has one of a kind voice, damn its so unique in every way, know that he sings in a different way now, then what he did during his career as singer for Helloween.
You can rally hear the difference, that's a bit fun:P But it's same with Kürsch and Kiske.



At that time, and when the album was released (note: BAD production), his vocals just were ugly. Now with Gamma Ray he sings very well, but not on Walls of Jericho. Even if it fits the music.


Ok, I don't have so much to compare with, only heard Warrior from that album was long time ago i heard it, but as I could rememer it sounded quite well.


Remastered version or original?

One point I'd like to say: I first heard this album as it was released, and couldn't stand it. Then I gived it a second chance with the remastered version, and I love it. Also, Rhapsody's cover of Guardian from this album it's much better than the original, and let's remember their singer isn't so awesome.
ImDirtyDan - 20.04.2013 at 16:32  
Am I the only one here who tolerates the production of the origional version?
Marcel Hubregtse - 21.04.2013 at 17:55  
Written by ImDirtyDan on 20.04.2013 at 16:32

Am I the only one here who tolerates the production of the origional version?



nope the original production is good. The remastered one actually sucks quite a bit because it is way too clean.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Helloween - Walls Of Jericho 7 24.08.2006 by Baz Anderson
Albums Helloween - Walls Of Jericho 6 29.11.2010 by JÄY
Reviews Helloween - Keeper Of The Seven Keys Part II 4 09.11.2007 by Dowi
Reviews Helloween - 7 Sinners 4 29.12.2010 by Fat & Sassy!
Reviews Helloween - The Time Of The Oath 4 09.11.2006 by Talvi



Hits total: 3594 | This month: 51