Rating:
5.0
Metallica - St. Anger
5 June 2003


01. Frantic
02. St. Anger
03. Some Kind Of Monster
04. Dirty Window
05. Invisible Kid
06. My World
07. Shoot Me Again
08. Sweet Amber
09. The Unnamed Feeling
10. Purify
11. All Within My Hands

[Live in the studio at Metallica HQ DVD - digipack bonus]
01. Frantic
02. St. Anger
03. Some Kind Of Monster
04. Dirty Window
05. Invisible Kid
06. My World
07. Shoot Me Again
08. Sweet Amber
09. The Unnamed Feeling
10. Purify
11. All Within My Hands


Six long years after the release of ReLoad, Metallica come back on the scene to show their 8th studio album, St. Anger. Many of you have almost lost all the respect for this band since the release of the black album, many others hate them because of Load and ReLoad and some others have now lost every interest in their music. Actually, what can you all expect from the band who left its early amazing style to get fame and glory on MTV?

They got the MTV Icon 2003 nomination [did we all see Avril Lavigne?]. They released several commercial operations such as 'I Disappear'; they have a new bass player with a terrible funky look; they have an awful new logo; better leave out this ugly cover artwork by Pushead. The Four Horsemen seem now so far from what they were the 80's...

Are we angry enough? Well, Metallica seem to be angry too! Probably, they've never been so angry before. All the patience they had, all the critics they beared, all the rage they had inside and all the anger have now exploded.

They thought: "Metallica cannot end this way, so we've got to return to our early feelings". This is right: they made a new album, returning to heavy sounds but producing it with all the experience they acquired in these last 20 years. Now it's easy to understand the album's title and the scream in the title track: "I need to set my anger free"!

The Four Horsemen want to regain the fans' trust and to reassure them. For this reason they included a bonus DVD featuring live rehearsal recordings of all eleven songs played with Rob Trujillo. So it is also a way to show us Rob's skill, since he doesn't play on the cd: we must remember that Rob joined Metallica when St. Anger was almost finished and that producer Bob Rock played all the bass lines during the recording sessions.

But what is St. Anger like? Is it "just another Metallica joke"? Is it expensive because of the DVD? Shall you buy it? Don't worry: I bought it for you, the same day as the release, DVD included, it cost me 21,75 Euros: regular Italian price.

I've been waiting for this album since I was 12, since I pushed play and heard Metallica for the first time: "Gimme fuel, gimme fire, gimme that which I desire!". Then began a strong passion that will not end until they'll record rap songs.

I've never lost my Metallifaith [maybe because ReLoad was my first Metal cd] but I must admit that I wasn't expecting all this. I could type a dozen pages about St. Anger but I'll try to describe it in a few lines.

Look at the package: awful design. Look at the tracklist: hmmm, track #2 is a title track, just as in the first albums. Interesting... Now push play!

'Frantic' is heavy fast thrash metal! Aggressive vocals, heavy riffs, terrible drums and a catchy riff coming up sometimes from all that mess! You might think: "The opening tracks are always heavy". You may be right. You may...

Let's skip to the second track. Now your tongue has frozen! You begin to understand that the whole album is pure anger. In the title track there is just a slow clean part during the chorus: it is one of the few soft parts you will find here.

In this album Lars proves that he can still play drums at full blast! I think that we can compare his work on this album to that of ...And Justice For All: ultracomplex and massive. This seems to be a natural evolution, just as St. Anger was Metallica's 6th album. It is just unbelievable: Metallica seems to have buried every trail of Load, ReLoad and maybe of the black album too! You all remember that tiring title track in ...And Justice For All and its complex structure. Now forget it: songs like 'Some Kind Of Monster' and 'All Within My Hands' are here to drive you crazy. I never heard any Metallisong so complex! Just undescribable. Go further, skip all the tracks: the more you hear the less you believe. Are these the same guys who played 'Nothing Else Matters' with an orchestra? Hard to believe. This is not Metallica.

St. Anger is a brutal Thrash metal work, without any kind of structure, totally different from what we heard before. There are no bridges, no verses, no chorus. The guitars are fat. There are no solos: where is Kirk Hammett?

The drums are simply excellent, for their raw sound and above all for the great double bassdrums parts: well done, Lars! But the drums volume is really too loud. The vocal parts are absurd: no melodic lines, too much speech and screams. Total absence of melodic parts: there isn't any heavy ballad, just brutal pieces. It's not a problem: I like Pantera.

But even the early works featured some quiet moments. All the clean guitars we heard in 'One' have disappeared! And what is the result? A chaotic mass of riffs and exuberant drums: Metallica can still shock us! But in my opinion all this mess is not the right way to regain the fans? trust. These are not The Four Horsemen. These are four mad guys.

I'd leave this review without a rating. How would you rate a Metal record that doesn't feature any guitar solo? Can you all hear me? I bet that their next album will include once again fantastic melodies: I swear it! Hehehee...

I know that while I'm typing this on June 6, 2003 [yeah, the same day as the release], thousands of people don't even imagine how they're gonna be shocked! So it is hard to foretell now, but I believe that St. Anger can potentially become an important turning point for Metallica but also for the fans who abandoned them soon after Load. This work shall prove to the world that they're not done yet: like the phoenix, Metallica seems to have risen from its ashes. At the moment, I personally don't like this record. I'd like to see some other review [even on this website].


Band profile: Metallica
Album: St. Anger


 


written by The Silent Man | 22.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Powerslave16

Rating:
7.2
Metallica's 2003 release, St. Anger, will most likely always be considered the low point of the bands discography. I'm not sure if I can completely agree with this. I personally believe Load and Reload are worse albums. Mind you, St. Anger is absolutely not a fantastic release. It rambles, has some bad tracks, and sometimes you wonder "what are they doing?" (listen to Hetfield's moans in Invisible Kid). But the album does have energy, something the band has had on about 3 tracks on the last 2 studio discs.

Read more ››
published 10.09.2007 | Comments (59)



Comments page 3 of 3

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 [3]
Comments: 145  
Users visited: 480  
Search this topic:  


BreadGod - 23.06.2007 at 23:44  
Written by Warman on 23.06.2007 at 18:28

Written by BreadGod on 22.06.2007 at 00:16

Written by Warman on 21.06.2007 at 23:20

Written by BreadGod on 21.06.2007 at 23:15

Written by Warman on 21.06.2007 at 14:47

Written by BreadGod on 20.06.2007 at 22:46

Written by Warman on 20.06.2007 at 15:32

Well I consider this to be a good album, and I also love the singles. So now everybody will quote me and say WTF... let me then explain:
I was 13 years old when this album came. I didn't even own an album, I listened to some downloaded Iron Maiden and Metallica (Enter Sandman, Sad but True)... and that's like it! I thought! I considered Enter Sandman to be one of the heaviest songs ever. Then St. Anger turned up on MTV, and it was even heavier. As a 13-year old with a Metal taste that hadn't developed a bit, I couldn't resist St. Anger. I've grown up with St. Anger as a Metalhead. And for that it will always have my respect!

If you think that "St. Crapfest Anger" is the heaviest stuff you've ever heard, then you've clearly never heard the work from any death metal, black metal, or grindcore band. However, I respect that. Within a few years, you will come to hate "St. Anger" just like the majority of metalheads here.

Huh? Yeah, I love bands such as Emperor, Morbid Angel, Mayhem, Death, Burzum, Dimmu Borgir, Celtic Frost, Satyricon, Immortal etc. and of course I think St. Anger is the heaviest I've ever heard!!! C'mon, please... read what I wrote. I was 13 (4 years ago) years old and hadn't heard that much Metal, and I thought BACK THEN that it was the heaviest stuff ever...

I know. But after a few years of listening to metal you will soon come to hate "St. Anger" just like everyone else.

No, I'm pretty sure I will not. Metallica is the most important band for me... and I LOVE many songs on the album. I know that I'll never hate it.
And BTW, you think it has to do with age or something? "After a few years of listening..."? You're younger than me, I don't know how long you've listened to Metal but I've listened since I was 11 and before that I listened to Rock my whole life.

I used to think like you. I used to think that "St. Anger" was the heaviest album ever, but after just one month of listening to it, I finally came to the conclusion "Wow! This is the worst album in existence!" It may not come today, it may not come tomorrow, but someday you will realize that "St. Anger" is the most piss poor album in metal history just like everyone else.

Well I've been listening to it A LOT for 4 years now, and still think it's good. You can't tell me what the fuck I like/dislike or will like/dislike! I respect if you think my opinion is crazy, but don't fucking think you know how I think and feel!

Calm down, man. You're using too many exclamation points. Furthermore, I can right now think of 20 albums that are far heavier and also better than "St. Anger". You listen to death metal and black metal bands who have albums that are far better than "St. Anger", so I have no idea how you can think that "St. Anger" is better than any of those albums.
Warman - 24.06.2007 at 14:02  
Written by BreadGod on 23.06.2007 at 23:44

Calm down, man. You're using too many exclamation points. Furthermore, I can right now think of 20 albums that are far heavier and also better than "St. Anger". You listen to death metal and black metal bands who have albums that are far better than "St. Anger", so I have no idea how you can think that "St. Anger" is better than any of those albums.

You seriously haven't read a thing I wrote... I can think of over 100 albums that are heavier and much better than St. Anger, I consider it to be worth 7/10!
I CONSIDERED ST. ANGER TO BE THE HEAVIEST ALBUM WHEN I WAS 13 YEARS OLD AND JUST LISTENED TO IRON MAIDEN AND METALLICA! It's a good album, nothing more or less. I never said it was one of the best and I certainly haven't considered it to be the heaviest album since 4 years ago...
BreadGod - 24.06.2007 at 14:14  
Written by Warman on 24.06.2007 at 14:02

Written by BreadGod on 23.06.2007 at 23:44

Calm down, man. You're using too many exclamation points. Furthermore, I can right now think of 20 albums that are far heavier and also better than "St. Anger". You listen to death metal and black metal bands who have albums that are far better than "St. Anger", so I have no idea how you can think that "St. Anger" is better than any of those albums.

You seriously haven't read a thing I wrote... I can think of over 100 albums that are heavier and much better than St. Anger, I consider it to be worth 7/10!
I CONSIDERED ST. ANGER TO BE THE HEAVIEST ALBUM WHEN I WAS 13 YEARS OLD AND JUST LISTENED TO IRON MAIDEN AND METALLICA! It's a good album, nothing more or less. I never said it was one of the best and I certainly haven't considered it to be the heaviest album since 4 years ago...

Of course I didn't read a word you wrote, I was too distracted by the pretty butterfly that was fluttering right next to my desk. Anyway, I'm bored and I need to go buy the moon. I will be back when I've collected enough cans to build a rocket powerful enough to escape Earth's orbit.
Warman - 24.06.2007 at 14:19  
Written by BreadGod on 24.06.2007 at 14:14

Of course I didn't read a word you wrote, I was too distracted by the pretty butterfly that was fluttering right next to my desk.

Apparently...
+{Jonas}+ - 10.02.2008 at 23:50  
Written by Warman on 24.06.2007 at 14:02

Written by BreadGod on 23.06.2007 at 23:44

Calm down, man. You're using too many exclamation points. Furthermore, I can right now think of 20 albums that are far heavier and also better than "St. Anger". You listen to death metal and black metal bands who have albums that are far better than "St. Anger", so I have no idea how you can think that "St. Anger" is better than any of those albums.

You seriously haven't read a thing I wrote... I can think of over 100 albums that are heavier and much better than St. Anger, I consider it to be worth 7/10!
I CONSIDERED ST. ANGER TO BE THE HEAVIEST ALBUM WHEN I WAS 13 YEARS OLD AND JUST LISTENED TO IRON MAIDEN AND METALLICA! It's a good album, nothing more or less. I never said it was one of the best and I certainly haven't considered it to be the heaviest album since 4 years ago...

Son, don't argue with Insineratehymn. He will only make you piss off more with annoying arrogance.
Anyway, I agree with you, it's a good album, it's enjoyable and has some cool songs. I don't hate it, nor love it. It's still Metallica, not so good, but Metallica anyway.
Harmonic - 11.02.2008 at 00:33  
When I first heard St. Anger, I realized I was listening to something a bit... different. So I tried it again. But the second time I only made it half way before losing interest.

This is Metallica undergoing some bizarre form of music therapy. Well I'm glad they expressed their feelings and sincerely hope they're all feeling better now. Honestly, though - they should have kept this to themselves, kind of like how I keep my finger-painting from preschool tucked away in storage. I'd never consider framing that crap and hanging it on the living room wall - and Metallica should have never considered releasing St. Anger to the public. I figure it was Lars' idea - he's enough of an arrogant, greedy f*ck that he'd actually put the others up to it. Poor Cliff is turning in his grave.
Iced Angel - 02.03.2008 at 04:40  
I lost my faith in Metallica !! they were my heroes ... my favorite band... but after "Black Album" ... they are producing pure shit
where is that glorious band ? what is this crap ?
st. anger is the worse rock/metal album I have ever heard
Valentin B - 03.03.2008 at 16:47  
the award for most pointless debate ever goes to Insineratehymn!! wooo!!

people have different tastes, no-one can make you like or not like something. St. Anger to me is a very poor album, but to some people(regardless of age or stuff) it might be a delight. there are so many people who hate death metal but some find it artsy and beautiful and trying to prove the other side wrong is stupid and without logic.
Evil Chip - 09.03.2008 at 22:07  
I personally like this album. I think is their best effort since the boring black album and load/reload. This album is full of feeling and anger. You can actually feel through the music and the lyrics the hard moment that Metallica was through. I give it an 8. I have faith that the next album will be more like their early days.
IconMaiden - 01.04.2008 at 04:26  
this is possibly the most disappointing album of all time. worse than both load of shit and reload of shit. pathetic.
IconMaiden - 01.04.2008 at 04:29  
This band has no morals, nor respect for their legacy and no respect for their fans. This is the main distinction between Metallica and Maiden. One knows what its about, and never deviates, just innovates. The other releases an album like this, betrays its entire fanbase and soils its legacy. Maiden will forever be remembered in a positive light, with a consistent career that stayed true to what the band stood for, while Metallica will be seen as the Judas of Metal. And such a shame, considering all that they could have been.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 18.04.2008 at 11:27  
Written by IconMaiden on 01.04.2008 at 04:29

This band has no morals, nor respect for their legacy and no respect for their fans. This is the main distinction between Metallica and Maiden. One knows what its about, and never deviates, just innovates. The other releases an album like this, betrays its entire fanbase and soils its legacy. Maiden will forever be remembered in a positive light, with a consistent career that stayed true to what the band stood for, while Metallica will be seen as the Judas of Metal. And such a shame, considering all that they could have been.

if james did somthing as bruce did at their music videos specially at "HOlY SMOKE's music video" i would never spell the name of metallica again. it so unmetal so funny so bad for a metal band. and if metallica brought girls on the stage for dancing u know what would i do ? i would hang myself for sure. and if a band like THE IRON MAIDENS was for metallica i would never BORN
IconMaiden - 30.04.2008 at 03:36  
Metallica didn't need a group like the Iron Maidens to ruin their music, they did it on their own. and i don't know if you watched the video for "the memory remains" but it was pretty sad.
IconMaiden - 30.04.2008 at 03:41  
The fact that you give load and reload 9/10s and every other metallica release 10/10 shows that you're a metallica fanboy and disqualifies you from making any judgment on this. And Iron Maiden are not at fault for The Iron Maidens.
In_tallica - 26.06.2008 at 15:41  
if there is one thing i dont understand, it is why is this considered a nu metal album?
im not saying that it's good, but it's definetly not nu metal, i'd call it thrash metal mainly
Murder - 12.09.2008 at 09:00  
mmm... this album is a whole shit... that's all that i can say, and well... Could they repair their fault with Death Magnetic? I listen a streaming single but well... the song seems me really boring but I don't know... what can you say? Should I hear the album???
iMorphball - 21.09.2008 at 16:10  
Overall, this album is the worst piece of shit to come out of Metallica's ass since the Black Album (not saying it was shit, everything between there and St. Anger has been shit). They had 2 shitty albums before St. Anger and they try to come back with this... Nice.
HALOOOOOOOO - 27.03.2009 at 19:00  
This is not Metallica's worst album, that dishonor goes to ReLoad, followed by Load, and then St. Anger. And because I feel like making a comparison to Metallica and Megadeth, 'deth's Risk album is by far worse than any Metallica album, or many albums in general to me. Cryptic Writings is worse than Load/Reload as well.
dash - 28.03.2009 at 17:31  
I feel I should comment on this as well. I liked the older Metallica stuff, back when they actually had decent music. I don't like this album. But I do with to disagree rather pointedly with one of the statements in this review. You are obviously not a drummer. The drums are not "excellent". I'm not even sure I'd say they are "good". They are pretty "meh" in my opinion. Very little creativity, hardly any cymbal work to speak of, just the same abrasive atonal banging throughout the entire album. It doesn't take any great skill/talent to do fast double kick, and most of the drumming on St. Anger is not even particularly fast.

Long story short, if this album had been released under a pseudonym or by another band, it wouldn't have sold for shit. The only reason it gets any publicity at all is because of the once-credible monkeys who stuck their name on it.
DayFly - 28.03.2009 at 18:30  
Eh, what a horrid review, it goes really nowhere.
Dominus - 31.03.2009 at 19:53  
Pure shit!!!
Lucifer123 - 31.03.2009 at 23:55  
Pure Shit!!!
Cliff 'em all - 08.04.2009 at 23:24  
It's horrible. Good they put out an acceptable good record again with DM.
brandomaster90 - 08.07.2009 at 21:31  
Pure shit!
Andresopeth - 20.07.2009 at 17:03  
Is this guy drunk at this review?????? This album has nothing good!, is bad, is shit, it sounds bad, songs are unliestenable to me, i can't stand it, i was expected something with Metallica's sound but this is so dissapointing, there's no guitar solos, James screams without meaning, drums sound like a can. For me this album is rating with 0, because i have zero tolerance to listen to it.
davidharris - 28.07.2009 at 18:47  
5???? This is a 2 at best. 1 point for St Anger (kind of good tune) and another for the effort of releaasing this
Solstafir! - 10.08.2009 at 01:05  
So here I am, facing the enemy...the album that almost made me hate metal!
arrrrggghhhh...(sighs)...whatever...
Slayer666 - 15.09.2009 at 21:40  
I don't see what the fuss is about... I don't hear THAT much difference between this and other Metallica's work. But, then again, I'm not the guy you want to ask about Metalica. In my book, they just plain suck.
Quinaitor - 18.09.2009 at 09:41  
I have to say this thing... the people is actually making me fucking tired of the "because this album is not like the old ones is pure shit" crap... not only with Metallica... but ANY "famous" band... its always the same shit with DT arguing "oh god this album is not like Images And Words"... ill say this for the last time...

IF YOU ONLY LIKE THE OLDER ALBUMS... STOP FUCKING LISTENING TO THE BANDS NEW ALBUMS!! dammit... i freaking love a band that tries to improve or seek for new stuff... it would be BORING as hell if all albums were exactly the same (see DragonForce to understand my point)... dammit... the only Godlike band that have never changed it sound so much and still kick asses is Iron Maiden... and remember im talking about the "famous" bands... so dammit... if u only like the old stuff... buy them and repeat the FUCKING ALBUM UNTIL YOUR BRAIN STOP!!!

St. Anger is obviously a feelings released album... Metallica was at that point almost disbanded... still they got through that shit and got out a decent album... i rate it as a 6/10... AWESOME lyrics... decent performance on guitars and bass... boring drums... lack of solos is a death blow... still a DECENT ALBUM... not great... not pure shit... just DECENT...

Metallica is my favorite band but im not a crazy closed mind with this... i only rated 10 out of 10 Master Of Puppets, Ride The Lighting and ...And Justice For All... TRUE MASTERPIECES... so let me tell this again and for the last time...

IF U DONT LIKE NEW ALBUMS AND WILL COMPARE EVERY FUCKING SINGLE NEW ALBUM TO THE OLD ONES... SHOOT URSELF OR GET A FUCKING TIME MACHINE... OR JUST REPEAT THE OLD ALBUMS AND DIE WITH THE LACK OF AMPLIFYING YOUR MUSIC ENCICLOPEDIA!!... FUCK IT!!
Ellrohir - 18.09.2009 at 10:52  
I think we all know why this album is rated a total crap...and it has not that much in common with your pathetic speech
vikingman369 - 21.11.2009 at 21:12  
"But after a few years of listening to metal you will soon come to hate "St. Anger" just like everyone else."

FUCK NO! Because I'm not a stupid sheep who follows the crowd and listens to whatever metal is popular (Tarja Turunen, Master of Puppets, Megadeth, Iron Maiden), I will listen to St. Anger till I die! Master-of-fucking-Puppets isn't the greatest album: it's emotionless, senseless head-banging glam-metal shit! It should really be called Zero Empathy.

And no, I'm NOT a stupid emo, and no emos DON'T listen to St. Anger. I happen to live with one, who knows other emos, and do you know what Metallica they like? Master-of-fucking-Puppets!

James was right when he said...

"St. Anger 'round my neck
He never gets respect"
Slayer666 - 22.11.2009 at 19:43  
Point a gun to my head and I still can't tell much difference from the two "sacred" albums, "Ride The Lightning" and "Master of Puppets" from this one. I just don't get, no matter how many times I listen to all three albums, trying to understand why those 2 are so "perfect" and this one so bad...
K†ulu - 22.11.2009 at 20:06  
Written by Slayer666 on 22.11.2009 at 19:43

Point a gun to my head and I still can't tell much difference from the two "sacred" albums, "Ride The Lightning" and "Master of Puppets" from this one. I just don't get, no matter how many times I listen to all three albums, trying to understand why those 2 are so "perfect" and this one so bad...


Really? Are you serious? I don't know what to say, but I am not judging you. I like St. Anger, but I do see the difference. So which one is your favorite? And which is your favorite song from each?
Slayer666 - 22.11.2009 at 20:31  
Written by K†ulu on 22.11.2009 at 20:06

Written by Slayer666 on 22.11.2009 at 19:43

Point a gun to my head and I still can't tell much difference from the two "sacred" albums, "Ride The Lightning" and "Master of Puppets" from this one. I just don't get, no matter how many times I listen to all three albums, trying to understand why those 2 are so "perfect" and this one so bad...


Really? Are you serious? I don't know what to say, but I am not judging you. I like St. Anger, but I do see the difference. So which one is your favorite? And which is your favorite song from each?

Completely serious.
Which one is my favourite? I dunno, they all suck to me...
Hard to tell what's my favourite song from each, when I don't like any, but the ones that suck the least are the tittle track from St.Anger, "Damage.Inc" from MoP and "Fight Fire With Fire".
K†ulu - 22.11.2009 at 20:36  
Written by Slayer666 on 22.11.2009 at 20:31

Written by K†ulu on 22.11.2009 at 20:06

Written by Slayer666 on 22.11.2009 at 19:43

Point a gun to my head and I still can't tell much difference from the two "sacred" albums, "Ride The Lightning" and "Master of Puppets" from this one. I just don't get, no matter how many times I listen to all three albums, trying to understand why those 2 are so "perfect" and this one so bad...


Really? Are you serious? I don't know what to say, but I am not judging you. I like St. Anger, but I do see the difference. So which one is your favorite? And which is your favorite song from each?

Completely serious.
Which one is my favourite? I dunno, they all suck to me...
Hard to tell what's my favourite song from each, when I don't like any, but the ones that suck the least are the tittle track from St.Anger, "Damage.Inc" from MoP and "Fight Fire With Fire".


Well, if you don't like them, stop listening to those albums. Maybe Thrash is not your thing; but your taste may change with years. Give MOP or RTL a try in a few months.
Slayer666 - 22.11.2009 at 20:38  
Written by K†ulu on 22.11.2009 at 20:36

Written by Slayer666 on 22.11.2009 at 20:31

Written by K†ulu on 22.11.2009 at 20:06

Written by Slayer666 on 22.11.2009 at 19:43

Point a gun to my head and I still can't tell much difference from the two "sacred" albums, "Ride The Lightning" and "Master of Puppets" from this one. I just don't get, no matter how many times I listen to all three albums, trying to understand why those 2 are so "perfect" and this one so bad...


Really? Are you serious? I don't know what to say, but I am not judging you. I like St. Anger, but I do see the difference. So which one is your favorite? And which is your favorite song from each?

Completely serious.
Which one is my favourite? I dunno, they all suck to me...
Hard to tell what's my favourite song from each, when I don't like any, but the ones that suck the least are the tittle track from St.Anger, "Damage.Inc" from MoP and "Fight Fire With Fire".


Well, if you don't like them, stop listening to those albums. Maybe Thrash is not your thing; but your taste may change with years. Give MOP or RTL a try in a few months.

Haha, Thrash is deffinatly not my thing. It's actually my 2nd least favourite genre (1st being Power Metal).
Lord_Regnier - 22.11.2009 at 20:53  
Talking of metal genres, if I make a list, ranging from what I like the most to what I enjoy the least, the result would be this:

1. Black Metal
2. Thrash
3. Death Metal
4. Powermetal
5. Classic Heavy Metal
6. Doom Metal

But it doesn't mean much, really. I listen to metal since 25 years or so and got bored of every genre throughout the years, apart from Black Metal. I never buy metal albums, other than BM records, since a few years and, if ever I grow tired of BM one day, I'll stop caring for metal music altogether.
Slayer666 - 24.11.2009 at 23:34  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 22.11.2009 at 20:53


But it doesn't mean much, really. I listen to metal since 25 years or so and got bored of every genre throughout the years, apart from Black Metal. I never buy metal albums, other than BM records, since a few years and, if ever I grow tired of BM one day, I'll stop caring for metal music altogether.

Holy shit, you musn't let that happen!
Tr00 kvlt forever!
BoxCar Willy - 26.11.2009 at 17:31  
This album sucks plain and simple
Evil Chip - 27.05.2010 at 21:24  
Written by Warman on 24.06.2007 at 14:02

Written by BreadGod on 23.06.2007 at 23:44

Calm down, man. You're using too many exclamation points. Furthermore, I can right now think of 20 albums that are far heavier and also better than "St. Anger". You listen to death metal and black metal bands who have albums that are far better than "St. Anger", so I have no idea how you can think that "St. Anger" is better than any of those albums.

You seriously haven't read a thing I wrote... I can think of over 100 albums that are heavier and much better than St. Anger, I consider it to be worth 7/10!
I CONSIDERED ST. ANGER TO BE THE HEAVIEST ALBUM WHEN I WAS 13 YEARS OLD AND JUST LISTENED TO IRON MAIDEN AND METALLICA! It's a good album, nothing more or less. I never said it was one of the best and I certainly haven't considered it to be the heaviest album since 4 years ago...

Im not ashamed to say that this is my favourite Metallica album.
INÆRIS - 23.01.2011 at 22:48  
Kirk Hammett is a terrible lead player anyway, so this record is perfect for him. I didn't have to cringe at tons of non-chord tones that just don't work when he's soloing. It seems like he doesn't even know how to stay within the key of the song when he's soloing. It's disgusting. He's always throwing in things like major 7th tones while in a minor key, and it just sounds stupid. In this album, that doesn't happen, but it's still not a good album. This record has one of the worst-sounding snare drums ever recorded. I'm curious as to why they downtuned so much from their usual E standard. It sounds very muddy. With everything that's horrible about this album, it's still much better than half of their discography.
Milena - 29.09.2011 at 14:26  
This thread is just priceless.
RavenKing - 02.10.2011 at 17:25  
This album sucks. Nothing to add.
Cuca Beludo - 15.01.2012 at 03:12  
Written by Warman on 24.06.2007 at 14:19

Written by BreadGod on 24.06.2007 at 14:14

Of course I didn't read a word you wrote, I was too distracted by the pretty butterfly that was fluttering right next to my desk.

Apparently...

...
Cuca Beludo - 15.01.2012 at 03:14  
Written by Milena on 29.09.2011 at 14:26

This thread is just priceless.

Saint as the album itself.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 [3]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Metallica - S&M 9.5 21.10.2006 by Spyroid
Reviews Metallica - Load 9 28.07.2006 by
Reviews Metallica - Reload 9 02.09.2006 by BreadGod
Reviews Threshold - Critical Mass 6 16.11.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Savatage - Edge Of Thorns 6 15.07.2007 by WorpeX



Hits total: 17201 | This month: 175