Apocalyptica - Reflections
10 February 2003

Disc I [CD]
01. Prologue (Apprehension)
02. No Education
03. Far Away
04. Somewhere Around Nothing
05. Drive
06. Čohkka
07. Conclusion
08. Resurrection
09. Heat
10. Cortége
11. Pandemonium
12. Leave Me Alone [vinyl edition bonus]
13. Delution [vinyl edition bonus]
14. Toreador II
15. Epilogue (Relief)
16. Seemann [Rammstein cover] [feat. Nina Hagen] [reissue bonus]
17. Faraway Vol. 2 [extended version] [reissue bonus]
18. Delusion [reissue bonus]
19. Perdition [reissue bonus]
20. Leave Me Alone [reissue bonus]

Disc II [DVD]
01. Faraway [Live 2003]
02. Enter Sandman [Metallica cover] [Live 2003]
03. Inquisition Symphony [Live 2003]
04. Nothing Else Matters [Metallica cover] [Live 2003]
05. Somewhere Around Nothing [Live 2003]
06. Somewhere Around Nothing [promo video]
07. Faraway Vol. 2 [promo video]
08. Seemann [promo video]
09. Faraway Vol. 2 [electronic press kit]
10. Reflections [electronic press kit]
11. Seemann [electronic press kit]

The trio of Finnish cellists known as Apocalyptica reached fame by covering Metallica finest songs. Then, 2000's Cult surfaced and things were different. The world recognized the talent showcased by those guys. In 2003, yet another huge leap to success was made with Reflections.

This album is definitely more aggressive than its predecessor, notably with the addition of former Slayer drummer, Dave Lombardo, on some tracks. The rhythmic section got a huge boost with a more prominent drumming style layering more violent cello riffs.

To an untrained hear, this album is first difficult to get into. It sounds like too much is going on at the same time even though there are no vocals. But it takes a few spins to fully enjoy this masterpiece.

Aggressive pieces and relaxing ballads alternate throughout the entire album, but the quality does not lessen one single time. A track like 'Heat' was destined to become a hit, even though Lombardo is not providing power on this one. Sami Kuoppamäki is doing the job just fine on this one.

Even though the drumming adds a lot to Reflections, the driving force of the record once again comes from these pure sounding melodies, performed with spirit by our trio of cellists. The album achieves its purest moment on the closing track 'Epilogue'.

Obviously different from mainstream music, featuring no vocals and no guitars; Reflections is a remarkable experiment. Despite the fact that it is quite difficult to get into at first, this album is bound to grab you and to never let you go. It is to this day regarded as Apocalyptica finest record, and I second this opinion.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9

Band profile: Apocalyptica
Album: Reflections


Written on 20.12.2006 by
Demonic Tutor
Bringing you reviews of quality music and interesting questions such as:

"A picture is worth a thousand words. How many words is a song worth?"

I have only got so much patience and skills, you do the math.
More reviews by Demonic Tutor ››


‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 5  
Users visited: 126  
Search this topic:  

Paradox0 - 08.05.2007 at 00:37  
This was hard to gte into? I thought this was brilliant the first time I heard it. After my 1st listen it became one of my favourite albums.
velvet - 25.08.2007 at 12:46  
The highlight has to be their cover of Seemann feat. Nina Hagen. Different enough from the original to be interesting, superb arrangement and an ideal choice for vocals.
+{Jonas}+ - 28.01.2008 at 22:49  
Amazing album. Briliant and very dynamic. Cortege has to be one of teh best songs in there.
Daggon - 18.11.2008 at 02:49  
IMO without any doubt, Apocalyptica's masterpiece and one of my all time favorite albums.
Vitriolic Hate - 18.12.2008 at 01:41  
Great Album & Rewiew!!!

Advertise on Metal Storm

Login or register to post here.

Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Ava Inferi - Blood Of Bacchus 4.5 06.06.2009 by annodomini
Reviews Vanden Plas - Beyond Daylight 4.5 01.04.2010 by WorpeX
Reviews Virgin Steele - The Black Light Bacchanalia 4.5 12.12.2010 by Ellrohir
Reviews Anathema - Weather Systems 4.5 29.06.2012 by DelightfulJim
Reviews Haggard - Tales Of Ithiria 4.5 19.09.2008 by schwanderen

Hits total: 4352 | This month: 7