Rating:
9.4
Týr - Ragnarok
22 September 2006


01. The Beginning
02. The Hammer Of Thor
03. Envy
04. Brother's Bane
05. The Burning
06. The Ride To Hel
07. Torsteins Kvæði
08. Grímur Á Miðalnesi
09. Wings Of Time
10. The Rage Of The Skullgaffer
11. The Hunt
12. Victory
13. Lord Of Lies
14. Gjallarhornið
15. Ragnarok
16. The End
17. Valkyries Flight [digipack bonus]
18. Valhalla [digipack bonus]


Týr is a viking metal band. Oops, a mistake. Even though the riffs, and the folk elements are there, the sound is more like epic heavy/doom metal. Even so, I consider them to be Progressive Viking because their style is really unique, and it gives me a viking feeling when I hear them. Notice there is no harshness on the album, nor folk instruments. This isn't your typical Viking metal album. That it's what makes it so special.

This is their third album. Their debut isn't very well known. Eric the Red has been recognized by some metal elitist as one of the best viking metal albums of all time. After finding this band, and that last album, a few weeks later this album was released. Of course I got it, since Eric the Red is a very amazing album. It still has some things that need to be polished and their style still could be mastered. So they have succeeded?

Not only that. They have gained a new level of awesomeness. Some of their songs were a bit bland, and, since I prefer albums than a group of songs, this being a concept album is really a gift from the gods.

Even though you see 16 tracks, only 8 are real songs. There is an intro, an outro, and 6 instrumental interludes. All those interludes are intros to the next song, and many of them, if not all, play riffs or ideas of the song that's played next. Like "Victory" which is the sound of horses arriving a tavern, then hearing some folk music, being this the main riff of the next song. This makes the album much more coherent and beautiful.

As I've said before, this album almost matches perfection. Each instrument is better on this album. Better guitar solos, if not check "The Hunt" or "Lord Of Lies" (this last also has a riff that looks so much like "For Whom the Bell Tolls"...), better bass, and of course, vocals and choruses. "The Hammer Of Thor" and "Brothers Bane" have the best choruses of the band. Also notice that being those the two first songs make the album much more accessible, as the average listener looks first the best choruses.

This is one of those albums I don't know if it deserves the perfect score because I feel that the band can make something better, or just fails at something very small. I could listen to this album any day, anywhere, as which any album I rate as perfect. But "The Edge" from their previous album is, maybe, better that any of these songs. This feeling makes me think that if a song so great was on this album, it could be perfect. Strange seeing how strong this album is. But remember: I'm rating an album, not a group of songs. And as an album, this is just perfect, beautiful, and astonishing. Recommended for ALL fans of viking metal, as well as fans of epic heavy metal and maybe, some doom metal fans may like this. Heck, buy this album and start changing your religion to the religion of Týr, the viking God. Hail!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Týr
Album: Ragnarok


 


written by Talvi | 27.12.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 21  
Users visited: 134  
Search this topic:  


Susan - 29.12.2006 at 07:31  
"They have gained a new level of awesomeness"

That's my favourite part of this review

This album is my first exposure to Tyr so I can't comment on how it related to their previous work. I do enjoy this album very much but I have one big complaint. The vocalist. I really enjoy the use of clean vocals since most bands making similar brands of viking metal are all doing extreme vocals. I just can't completely get used to this particular vocalist. He bugs me on several songs just enough. Just enough to prevent this from being one of my top albums this year. It's VERY enjoyable for many reasons... he's just not one of them!!
Talvi - 29.12.2006 at 13:51  
Written by Susan on 29.12.2006 at 07:31

"They have gained a new level of awesomeness"

That's my favourite part of this review

This album is my first exposure to Tyr so I can't comment on how it related to their previous work. I do enjoy this album very much but I have one big complaint. The vocalist. I really enjoy the use of clean vocals since most bands making similar brands of viking metal are all doing extreme vocals. I just can't completely get used to this particular vocalist. He bugs me on several songs just enough. Just enough to prevent this from being one of my top albums this year. It's VERY enjoyable for many reasons... he's just not one of them!!


Well, for example I can't stand anti-melodic vocalists as the one of Mayhem or Kreator. I find him an incredible vocalist. But, how he sounds, I understand that someone could hate him xD
Susan - 04.01.2007 at 01:55  
I knew this would happen! He grew on me. Okay, now I officially love this vocalist (on MOST songs). I really love especially how he recorded a really really close (sometimes dissonant) harmony with himself. This makes it really rich; why did I not appreciate this before?!?!?! What's wrong with me
Doc Godin - 29.06.2007 at 01:53  
Good album, can get kind of bland for me at some points though....unfortunately. Very nicely put together though.
Ernis - 05.07.2007 at 04:45  
I love this album....it's like the....how to say it...Speaking of "Eric the Red" we saw the top of the iceberg...it was awesome..."Ragnarök" is the rest of it....even more awesomeness.....I love this album because I sense lots of love and strength in the music...besides...the atmosphere of this album is too good....indeed...forests, mountains, freedom....it may seem like viking metal cliché to some person but speaking of Tyr it's forgivable...they manage to make everything free of clichés.....
Infurnace - 05.07.2007 at 15:04  
This is a great album. Very melodic, and fantastic vocals! It is worth a 9/9,5 for me.
Tron - 05.07.2007 at 15:55  
This album is pure garbage. Don't waste you money on this one, buy some Windir or Thyrfing instead
Talvi - 05.07.2007 at 17:28  
Written by Tron on 05.07.2007 at 15:55

This album is pure garbage. Don't waste you money on this one, buy some Windir or Thyrfing instead


Very creative comment. Next time, say at least WHY it's pure garbage.

Go flame elsewhere
Ernis - 05.07.2007 at 17:44  
Perhaps he thinks that an album's garbage if extreme vocals aren't used....but who knows....he should at least explain why Thyrfing and Windir are better....for me, Tyr is outstanding....
Tron - 24.07.2007 at 11:45  
Actually, I think the vocals are quite good...but the lyrics are not! The riffs have no imagination whatsoever...Thyrfing and Windir HAVE imagination, that's the difference.

"Say at least why it's pure garbage"...heh. I guess you tell me what is good about this then?
Ernis - 24.07.2007 at 13:02  
I think I've already stated in more than one line why this album is very good....I like it's structure...I like the lyrics...they are beautiful...I like the language and the particular tale of the deities and the events subsequently leading to the end of the world which is so nicely sung in the lyrics...
I like the musical part behind it which is thicker and more profound than on the earlier albums where it is not bad...Tyr is always great...but a bit diluted..."Ragnarök" has all the best qualities woven into each other to form a baroque fugue.....I did compare it to Bach when I first heard it....this album spellbound me at the very first time...I never needed any time to adapt to it....
BurbotsRevenge - 05.03.2008 at 08:39  
'the rage of the skullgaffer' is harmonisation at its best! sooo good!

good review too totally agree with you
adpanciera - 19.11.2008 at 11:24  
This is probably one of my favorite albums I have discovered in the last two years. If you like either Epic Folk Metal or Progressive Metal or any combination of the worlds used to describe metal above you will very likely enjoy this album, in my opinion. The kicker for me was hearing the melodies I had learned to love on a couple of the individual songs come toegther in the opening track The Beginning, which is one of the most impressive progressive folk instrumental tracks out there. Lyrics and linguistics (Faroese or Icelandic, I could not find confirmation of either) are gorgeous. Great album, I would highly recommend.
Ernis - 19.11.2008 at 17:17  
Written by adpanciera on 19.11.2008 at 11:24

Lyrics and linguistics (Faroese or Icelandic, I could not find confirmation of either) are gorgeous. Great album, I would highly recommend.

Faroese....They're from Faeroe Islands....
Of course, the entire melodic structure of this album is one big masterpiece....it's a special work...too bad, they play its songs so seldom at their gigs....
-Soulreaper- - 19.11.2008 at 18:25  
Tyr is an amazing band and this album shows the testament of that. I cant wait to see these guys again in February.
DanielViking - 19.11.2008 at 21:14  
One of the best albuns ever of viking metal... 8!
adpanciera - 20.11.2008 at 03:09  
Written by Ernis on 19.11.2008 at 17:17

Faroese....They're from Faeroe Islands....


Yeah, I knew this much, but on wikipedia (which is know isn't near the ultimate authority on validity of anything, but anyway...) it listed Heri Joensen as speaking Faroese, Icelandic, English, Danish and some German, so I wondered. Thanks for straightening me out though.
benvolent - 23.11.2008 at 01:24  
Totally agree with this review - wonderful progress of composing and can't wait to get the new album 'Land', and hear if there was some more progress possible?!

And: Enjoy them live - one of the most professional and moving (not only my neck.. ) concerts, I've been to in the last two years!
Uirapuru - 01.01.2010 at 07:30  
The term Viking Metal always looks weird to me. Why cant they be just Folk Metal with Viking thematic?

But still, great album, and the progressive elements makes this sound unique. One of the best Folk metal bands out there
Grimskallen - 25.02.2010 at 14:25  
Compared to the previous record 'Eric The Red' I always find this record to have a far more even quality throughout the whole album. I have to agree with the reviewer that 'The Edge' kicks total ass, but there are some tracks on Eric The Red that doesn't do much for me as well... On Ragnarok every track does wonders for me. I also think this album rocks as a concept album with the tracks linked together etc.
HeathenHeart - 03.07.2013 at 11:29  
A great album from Tyr. However, there is too much 'hype' and/or 'overrating' of this album. It's good, yes, but compared to the two albums that followed this it is nowhere near as good. The highlight of this album for me is Wings of Time...best intro ever!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Suidakra - Emprise To Avalon 3 19.07.2010 by Spanishkiller
News Tyr, Amon Amarth, Wintersun - European Tour 3 20.08.2006 by Eddie
Reviews Ragnarok - Malediction 2.5 04.11.2012 by Dani5050
Reviews Panzerchrist - Regiment Ragnarok 2.5 20.03.2011 by Void Eater
Events LAT, Riga - Tyr 1.5 19.04.2007 by W-Lash



Hits total: 4445 | This month: 65