Rating:
9.0
Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse
21 February 1994


01. Into The Infinity Of Thoughts
02. The Burning Shadows Of Silence
03. Cosmic Keys To My Creations & Times
04. Beyond The Great Vast Forest
05. Towards The Pantheon
06. The Majesty Of The Night Sky
07. I Am The Black Wizards
08. Inno A Satana
09. A Fine Day To Die [Bathory cover] [bonus]
10. Gypsy [Mercyful Fate cover] [bonus]


Emperor released their first full length album "In The Nightside Eclipse" in 1994. At the time, Emperor's line-up consisted of Ihsahn on lead guitars, vocals and keyboards, Samoth on guitars, Tchort on bass and Faust on drums. This album is indeed a masterpiece album in the Black Metal genre. It consists of ten tracks including the bonus tracks "A Fine Day To Die" (Bathory cover) and "Gypsy" (Merciful Fate cover). Alver (bass), Trym (drums) and Charmand Grimloch (keyboards) make appearances on the two cover songs.

I regard this album to be one of the best Emperor albums. The songs focus more on raw guitars, timely blast beats and "chilling" tone of keyboards which suit very well. There are less clean vocals, which is unlike the band's style on most of their other albums. I find Ihsahn's vocals to be more powerful and aggressive on than on any other Emperor album. In The Nightside Eclipse will certainly not fail in any aspect to please a raw Black Metal fan, and maybe even an Extreme Metal fan, for not only the music, but even the lyrics have been written in an equally artistic and effective manner. The lyrics of the songs focus mainly in describing the characters of an imaginary ancient world. Its scenery and inhabitants belong to the theme of emperors, kings, wizards, and wolves. The song "Inno A Satana" however, can be considered to be homage to Satan. The music of the songs and lyrics together seem to succeed in taking the listener deep into the imagery of this ancient world.

In a single sentence, this album can be described as an excellent Black Metal album comprising of a fusion of rawness, speed and "chilling" melody. The bands praiseworthy work on music composition, performance as well as song writing makes the album deserve an award of the respectful rating '10'. Hence, I would like to make a strong recommendation to Extreme Metal fans to add this album to their collection, for a metal (especially Black Metal) collection would be incomplete without it.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 7


Band profile: Emperor
Album: In The Nightside Eclipse


 


written by Paganblood | 29.12.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Smurfophagist

Rating:
9.8
Behold the greatest symphonic black metal release ever! "In The Nightside Eclipse" is one of the most important albums in the 90's Norwegian black metal scene. Consisting of 8 tracks plus two covers (Bathory - "A Fine Day To Die" and King Diamond's "Gypsy") this album has managed to show the listeners that black metal can be raw and extremely melodic at the same time.

Read more ››
published 11.05.2009 | Comments (10)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 126  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 29.12.2006 at 19:31  
One of the most beautiful black metal album without any doubt!
Everything here is special, every song a little masterpiece and also the artwork is great! I agree with you and yours is a very good review!
Talvi - 30.12.2006 at 00:43  
I guess that anybody that wants a perfect black metal album can't rate the production xD
Basso - 30.12.2006 at 00:56  
Written by Talvi on 30.12.2006 at 00:43

I guess that anybody that wants a perfect black metal album can't rate the production xD


Ofcourse not, the "shitty" production is part of the perfection

One of the best albums ever \m/
Sunioj - 07.01.2007 at 18:37  
I didnt even notice the production, I swear!
-MeTaLlIc-OwL- - 10.02.2007 at 21:42  
haha, i didnt notice either, i frickin love this album. Black Metal as it should be
Paganblood - 26.03.2007 at 09:37  
Ratings re-adjusted.
|Angela| - 29.03.2007 at 17:28  
Really good album and good review. I agree completely . My favorite album by Emperor although I would rank Anthems quite high as well.

The track listing doesn't have Gypsy and A Fine Day to Die which are two of my favorite tracks. Specially Gypsy.
villain - 13.06.2007 at 10:03  
I think the word "Majestic" pretty much describes the album.
Warman - 18.06.2007 at 13:30  
An Extreme Metal fan can't dislike this album, fact!
Uirapuru - 14.05.2009 at 07:48  
THE best album! Simply one of the best in metal history. The rawness is perfectly adjusted, leaving the heavy atmosphere more pleasant to the ears. Great vocals, drums, riffs, cover, theme. Almost perfect.

Just that first track would be better if it begins from the 4th minute (''Into The Infinity Of Thoughts'').
Ellrohir - 25.09.2009 at 12:31  
Probably i was expecting more, but i wasnt disppointed either
MetalHealing - 30.12.2009 at 13:15  
I agree with you, the production isn't really good but the whole album is a masterpiece!
jazar94 - 20.05.2011 at 18:05  
This is the first black metal album I ever listened to.. And I still fucking love it.
BeastOfMetal456 - 22.09.2011 at 21:14  
Great review of a masterpiece. Some tracks like: Into The Infinity Of Thoughts, I Am The Black Wizards and Towards The Pantheon never show any sign of getting old.
@gent_-_orange - 14.10.2011 at 17:49  
Written by Guest on 22.09.2011 at 21:14

Great review of a masterpiece. Some tracks like: Into The Infinity Of Thoughts, I Am The Black Wizards and Towards The Pantheon never show any sign of getting old.

I would say that about every song on here, This album is a masterpiece no doubt about it. At the risk of sounding like a fanboy I would say that everything is perfect on this record.
Frost Beast - 14.10.2011 at 23:53  
Written by @gent_-_orange on 14.10.2011 at 17:49

Written by Guest on 22.09.2011 at 21:14

Great review of a masterpiece. Some tracks like: Into The Infinity Of Thoughts, I Am The Black Wizards and Towards The Pantheon never show any sign of getting old.

I would say that about every song on here, This album is a masterpiece no doubt about it. At the risk of sounding like a fanboy I would say that everything is perfect on this record.

You're right, friend.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse 8.5 15.05.2009 by Dane Train
Albums Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse 7.5 10.01.2011 by SlaytanicGonzo
Albums Emperor - Prometheus: The Discipline Of Fire And Demise 4.5 09.06.2010 by Ziom
Reviews Abigor - Orkblut - The Retaliation 4.5 05.12.2007 by Sunioj
Reviews Rudra - The Aryan Crusade 4.5 14.12.2008 by Uirapuru



Hits total: 4665 | This month: 39