Rating:
9.5
The Haunted - One Kill Wonder
February 2003


01. Privation Of Faith Inc.
02. Godpuppet
03. Shadow World
04. Everlasting
05. D.O.A.
06. Demon Eyes
07. Urban Predator
08. Downward Spiral
09. Shithead
10. Bloodletting
11. One Kill Wonder
12. Creed [Swedish bonus]
13. Ritual [Japanese bonus]


After the phenomenal success of 2000's The Haunted Made Me Do It, Swedish thrash metal act The Haunted must have known it was going to be a hard task to equal, let alone top it. However, One Kill Wonder lives up to expectations expected from the band, and will no doubt be up for awards polls towards the end of the year! The band [Marco Aro on vocals [ex-Face Down], Jonas Bjorler [ex-At The Gates] on bass, Anders Bjorler [ex-At The Gates] and Jensen [ex-Seance, Satanic Slaughter and Witchery] on guitars and Per Moller Jensen drums [ex-Invocator and Konkhra] have returned to Studio Fredman [Gothenburg, Sweden: Where the 1998 self titled album was recorded] with producer Fredrik Nordstrom [In Flames, Arch Enemy, Dark Tranquillity, At The Gates and many others] sitting behind the desk. Even the controversial departure and subsequent return of guitarist Anders Bjorler [who left the group in September 2001 in order to concentrate on his university studies, returning some nine months later] couldn't deter his contribution to The Haunted all-important brutal third album.

The opening sound effect laden introduction of ?Privation Of Faith Inc.? moves into a slow riff grove instrumental opener, before things are blown to pieces with the very Metallica ?Fight Fire With Fire? sounding ?Godpuppet?. The Haunted are on obvious full on attack mode with everyone moving at one hundred miles an hour, yet totally in synch. ?Shadow World? is a step backwards in the pace department, and is perhaps the most melodic moment on the album, but far from the overtly melodic moments of the previous album. The thrashier 'Everlasting' and ?D.O.A.? [also the first promotional clip from the album] retain some elements of catchiness, but never loose the crunch and heaviness the band are well noted for. The epic of the album [at a while four and a half minutes!] ?Demon Eyes? is riff laden instrumental [Apart from some unintelligible spoken word moments] that brings to mind classic era Metallica instrumentals, but less on the atmospherics and more on the heavier moments.
?Urban Predator?, ?Downward Spiral? and ?Shithead? prove that there's life left in the Swedish melodic thrash metal sound, while and those Slayer influences come out in full force in ?Bloodletting?. The trade off solos between Anders and guest guitarist Mike Ammott [from Arch Enemy and Spiritual Beggars] is nothing short of awe inspiring! The title track ?One Kill Wonder? blasts out the last battering assault in horrific style.

The absence of any clean vocals on the album, the production and the efficiency at which the band run through the eleven tracks makes this album one truly memorable thrash riff-fest. Hell, it?ll have to be one hell of an album to compete for the top place this year after hearing One Kill Wonder.


Band profile: The Haunted
Album: One Kill Wonder


 


written by Justin | 24.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 43  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 23.02.2008 at 15:52  
This album is exactly what you writted... HELL.

The vocals when he scream the words "One Kill Wonder" in the last song are awesome.
A scarry album
Dangerboner - 24.02.2008 at 01:07  
I've only listened to this album once when I bought it about two years ago so I don't remember it too well, but I hated it. I like most of their albums with Peter, but Marco's vocals are too death metally for The Haunted's style. It just doesn't work.
b0000mst1ck - 24.02.2008 at 20:01  
Written by Dangerboner on 24.02.2008 at 01:07

I've only listened to this album once when I bought it about two years ago so I don't remember it too well, but I hated it. I like most of their albums with Peter, but Marco's vocals are too death metally for The Haunted's style. It just doesn't work.

i totally agree dude. i think he almost makes them sound like a hardcore crossover. kinda gay, actually.
Infurnace - 24.07.2008 at 03:08  
I'm probably one of the few people who likes their stuff with Marco more than the stuff with Peter on vocals. I know Peter is more their style, but IMO their stuff with Marco is a lot better, especially this album.
Mr. Doctor - 24.07.2008 at 03:50  
Written by Infurnace on 24.07.2008 at 03:08

I'm probably one of the few people who likes their stuff with Marco more than the stuff with Peter on vocals. I know Peter is more their style, but IMO their stuff with Marco is a lot better, especially this album.


I agree.. I also like rEVOLVEr ...
But this one just slay 'em all... Awesome stuff and the vocals are very brutal IMO
Infurnace - 24.07.2008 at 04:16  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.07.2008 at 03:50

Written by Infurnace on 24.07.2008 at 03:08

I'm probably one of the few people who likes their stuff with Marco more than the stuff with Peter on vocals. I know Peter is more their style, but IMO their stuff with Marco is a lot better, especially this album.


I agree.. I also like rEVOLVEr ...
But this one just slay 'em all... Awesome stuff and the vocals are very brutal IMO


rEVOLVEr is pretty good as well, but my favorite The Haunted album still is "One Kill Wonder". Most of the songs are really catchy, and the vocals indeed are pretty brutal.
Deadsoulman - 25.07.2008 at 13:45  
Written by Infurnace on 24.07.2008 at 03:08

I'm probably one of the few people who likes their stuff with Marco more than the stuff with Peter on vocals. I know Peter is more their style, but IMO their stuff with Marco is a lot better, especially this album.


I'm one of these people, too I thought Marco's vocals gave this album a brutal edge that is missing in the rest of their discography. The songrwiting is overall much better than on the other albums too I think. I can't find a filler song here.
I, The Quatropus - 30.11.2008 at 20:21  
I remember that I picked this up not for the reason that I knew the band (I didn't at the time), but the cover just blew me to pieces. Still is fairly creepy to me.

The album is great, and I also agree with most, I enjoy Marco's voice over Peter's, although rEVOLVEr was good.
ioannisk - 23.12.2008 at 01:18  
If you told me that at the gates made a reunion album, this is what i would expect! amazing...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums The Haunted - One Kill Wonder 9 14.09.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Albums The Haunted - The Dead Eye 4.5 28.01.2012 by Therapy?
News The Haunted - Album Release Dates 4.5 17.08.2006 by Cut-Throat
Reviews Queens Of The Stone Age - Songs For The Deaf 4.5 01.07.2007 by Syk
News The Haunted - New Video Online 4.5 27.03.2007 by White Winter Sun



Hits total: 3028 | This month: 31