Rating:
6.2
Manowar - Warriors Of The World
4 July 2002


01. Call To Arms
02. The Fight For Freedom
03. Nessun Dorma
04. Valhalla
05. Swords In The Wind
06. An American Trilogy
07. The March
08. Warriors Of The World United
09. Hand Of Doom
10. House Of Death
11. Fight Until We Die
12. Kill With Power [live] [Japanese bonus]


Let me start by saying that I've never really liked Manowar. I've found their music quite repetitive, and they're cheesier than a marguerita pizza. But in recent years they've made a small handful of songs that are catchy to listen to as well as being as cheesy as a double stuffed crust pizza with...

As with...all Manowar albums, the lyrical themes here are about metal, steel, war, heroics and fighting for metal in general. By 2002, this is starting to get a bit boring. The cover artwork for the album is also the classic Manowarian warrior similar to that on the cover of their Kings Of Metal album.

Ok now, so onto the music... Well structurally, the metal being played here is reasonably simple. It's basic Heavy Metal that works quite well. The music isn't slow paced, but each strum and riff change is generally a smooth, spread out transition. The band has modernised itself a bit more and the guitar-work is more solid. The drumming doesn't exactly blast your head off either. It's actually often like the sort of American "going-into-battle" style of drumming which fits in with their war theme. The bass isn't generally all that prominent, but there is a nice bass intro to the song "Warriors Of The World". I wouldn't say that Eric Adams is the best vocalist ever either. His vocal performance is quite flat toned, and sounds a bit monotonous after a while. Perhaps not as bad as you'd think it to be, but really not that interesting.

As a whole, Manowar have followed the usual formula for their albums. There are the metal tracks and also the piano tracks and the ballad style songs. You could say that the varying style of songs could be interesting, but I end up just skipping through the album as it really just causes about half the album to be boring. When listening to the Heavy Metal on the album though, at times it can be catchy, strongly played, nice listening music. But at times it can still sound bland.

So if you're a Manowar fan, you'll most likely enjoy this. They've followed their usual method, so you know what to expect. For everyone else, be warned that it's repetitive, but it's even repeating stuff they've repeated before. You might like to hear the three or four not-so-bad songs on this album, but I wouldn't really bother.

Best songs: Call To Arms, Fight For Freedom, Warriors Of The World.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 7


Band profile: Manowar
Album: Warriors Of The World


 


written by Raiden | 07.02.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 124  
Search this topic:  


iaberis - 07.02.2007 at 22:51  
Quote:
they're cheesier than a marguerita pizza

LooooL! That's funny cause it's true... I usually enjoy listening to them, but after a bit I get bored of the same music... A change every now and then wouldn't be bad...
Raiden - 08.02.2007 at 04:09  
Written by iaberis on 07.02.2007 at 22:51

Quote:
they're cheesier than a marguerita pizza

LooooL! That's funny cause it's true... I usually enjoy listening to them, but after a bit I get bored of the same music... A change every now and then wouldn't be bad...

Haha yes, after 27 years, a change would actually be refreshing.
Doc Godin - 12.02.2007 at 01:39  
The album wasnt that bad. Standing on its own its actually a really good album, originality isnt good well...reasons obvious, but its got quite a few good catchy tunes. definitly not deserving of such a low score.
iaberis - 12.02.2007 at 11:33  
Written by Doc Godin on 12.02.2007 at 01:39

The album wasnt that bad. Standing on its own its actually a really good album, originality isnt good well...reasons obvious, but its got quite a few good catchy tunes. definitly not deserving of such a low score.

Dude it's something like 7 - Good. Not albums deserve a 10 you know...
Doc Godin - 13.02.2007 at 00:22  
Written by iaberis on 12.02.2007 at 11:33

Written by Doc Godin on 12.02.2007 at 01:39

The album wasnt that bad. Standing on its own its actually a really good album, originality isnt good well...reasons obvious, but its got quite a few good catchy tunes. definitly not deserving of such a low score.

Dude it's something like 7 - Good. Not albums deserve a 10 you know...


Im aware, but id give it more a 7.5.....i guess it really doesnt matter all that much, just 7 looks a hell of alot bigger than 6.8
Danny Thomas - 03.04.2007 at 04:18  
dude, you didn't even mention hand of doom which might be the best song on the cd. but anyways, i am a manowar fan myself, but even i skip about half the album, im not a fan of those slow soft piano songs.
Raiden - 03.04.2007 at 09:50  
Written by Danny Thomas on 03.04.2007 at 04:18

dude, you didn't even mention hand of doom which might be the best song on the cd. but anyways, i am a manowar fan myself, but even i skip about half the album, im not a fan of those slow soft piano songs.

Well you don't necessarily need to go into detail about every single song in an album review. I thought that song was probably fourth best on the album, but it still didn't really strike me as being that good.
Danny Thomas - 03.04.2007 at 17:32  
Written by Raiden on 03.04.2007 at 09:50

Written by Danny Thomas on 03.04.2007 at 04:18

dude, you didn't even mention hand of doom which might be the best song on the cd. but anyways, i am a manowar fan myself, but even i skip about half the album, im not a fan of those slow soft piano songs.

Well you don't necessarily need to go into detail about every single song in an album review. I thought that song was probably fourth best on the album, but it still didn't really strike me as being that good.


i thought it was a good review personally, we just have a slight difference in taste of songs.
Raiden - 04.04.2007 at 03:57  
Written by Danny Thomas on 03.04.2007 at 17:32

Written by Raiden on 03.04.2007 at 09:50

Written by Danny Thomas on 03.04.2007 at 04:18

dude, you didn't even mention hand of doom which might be the best song on the cd. but anyways, i am a manowar fan myself, but even i skip about half the album, im not a fan of those slow soft piano songs.

Well you don't necessarily need to go into detail about every single song in an album review. I thought that song was probably fourth best on the album, but it still didn't really strike me as being that good.


i thought it was a good review personally, we just have a slight difference in taste of songs.


Yes, everyone has different opinions as to which songs are good or not
APOHAKC - 04.04.2007 at 15:20  
Warriors Of the world s strange, but I liked the review
Ellrohir - 14.06.2007 at 12:35  
Swords In The Winds - this ballad rocks...i'm gonna get the full album to check the rest
Dandelion - 01.07.2007 at 20:26  
an american trilogy is by very very very far their worst song ever..a real junk!the album is ok but worse than the older ones
Ellrohir - 02.07.2007 at 13:45  
i like the "heroic-pathos" of this album...and tracks Call to Arms, Fight for Freedom and Swords in the Wind are my favourite
va5ilis - 19.12.2007 at 02:28  
I believe that 6.8 is low for this album. Of course taking into consideration that the reviewer doesn't really like Manowar you realise that for someone who like Manowar the score is a bit higher. I wouldn't say that it's the best album they have made but there are definetely some diamonds in it like Call To Arms and Warriors Of The World United as well as a really good ballad Swords In The Wind.
I enjoyed this album quite a lot. Hope you do the same. m/
Raiden - 19.12.2007 at 03:07  
Well I tried not to let my previous Manowar encounters sway my rating. On reflection I think 6.8 was pretty generous of me haha.
DayFly - 21.03.2009 at 15:00  
I never understood the point of having "An American Trilogy" on the album. The band can hail it's influences as much as they like, but they don't have to force-feed their listeners with stuff like that.
Powerslavex - 02.06.2009 at 10:58  
Call me crazy but i really liked this album, Warriors Of The World (United) is a really catchy song
GamlaSonn - 29.09.2009 at 08:34  
The second half of the album was great, the first half was meeeh

WARRIORS OF THE WORLD!
Ellrohir - 29.09.2009 at 12:38  
I like from this album (more or less):

Call To Arms
The Fight For Freedom
Nessun Dorma
Swords In The Wind
Warriors Of The World United
Hand Of Doom
GamlaSonn - 29.09.2009 at 13:05  
Mine:

Call to Arms
Warriors of the World United
Hand of Doom
House of Death
Fight Until We Die
Slayer666 - 02.10.2009 at 10:53  
Raiden's right. These guys raise the meaning of cheesy to a whole new level. Their music is basicaly:
"Oooh, yeah! Look at us, we are such a big and bad bunch of tr00 metal warriors! But we actually play some of the most commercialized metal there is! And we haven't changed our style in over 20 years! That's so tr00!"
Ellrohir - 02.10.2009 at 14:27  
This is true...but whatever?
Valentin B - 06.04.2010 at 21:07  
The first time i ever heard Warriors of the World United 4 years ago on a defunct TV station, i fell in love instantly. that song is extremely interesting, the fact is that it's basically the simplest, most to-the-point metal song i've ever heard, and it works extremely well.

Warriors isn't one of my favorite Manowar albums, but it sure kicks ass.
soadbyob - 06.04.2010 at 22:50  
My favortie Manowar album by far
Lord_Regnier - 06.04.2010 at 23:42  
Written by Slayer666 on 02.10.2009 at 10:53

These guys raise the meaning of cheesy to a whole new level. Their music is basicaly:
"Oooh, yeah! Look at us, we are such a big and bad bunch of tr00 metal warriors! But we actually play some of the most commercialized metal there is! And we haven't changed our style in over 20 years! That's so tr00!"


Totally agreed.
The perfect band for people who want to boost their ego by thinking they're more 'metal' than everyone else around them, while in fact they listen to ultra-commercial poser cheesemetal.
Lord_Regnier - 06.04.2010 at 23:45  
Written by Dandelion on 01.07.2007 at 20:26

an american trilogy is by very very very far their worst song ever..a real junk!


I agree that this trilogy is a real piece of junk. But it's not much worse than tons of other Manowar songs. Almost everything they ever done is pure junk.
INÆRIS - 18.03.2012 at 09:36  
I can't believe they did a cover of Puccini's aria Nessun Dorma. They actually did a really great job with it. He's no Pavarotti, but it's a very powerful well-done interpretation. Manowar has officially earned my respect for bringing opera into metal and not failing at it.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News Manowar - Warriors Of The World 10th Anniversary Reissue Out This Month 7.5 07.06.2013 by Danyael
Albums Manowar - Fighting The World 6 07.04.2010 by Draxsen
News Manowar - To Tour The World In 2010 6 17.10.2009 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Manowar - Sign Of The Hammer 5.5 30.03.2007 by Dandelion
Albums Manowar - The Lord Of Steel Live 4.5 18.06.2013 by Carl Berg



Hits total: 5512 | This month: 70