Pure Reason Revolution - The Dark Third review



Reviewer:
8.0

45 users:
8.82
Band: Pure Reason Revolution
Album: The Dark Third
Release date: April 2006


Disc I
01. Aeropause
02. Goshen Remains
03. Apprentice Of The Universe
04. The Bright Ambassadors Of The Morning
05. The Exact Colour
06. Voices In The Winter / In The Realms Of The Devine
07. Bullits Dominae
08. The Twyncyn / Trembling Willows
09. He Tried To Show Them Magic / Ambassadors Return

Disc II [Inside Out release]
01. In Aurelia
02. Borgens Vor
03. The Exact Colour
04. The Twyncyn/Trembling Willows
05. Golden Clothes


It's not so usual to have good surprises nowadays, but with a bit of luck sometime you can receive some good new albums. "The Dark Third" the first album of the British of Pure Reason Revolution is one of these good surprises. With a lovely mix of Metal, Pop and Progressive Rock a la Pink Floyd, PRR is for me one of the first great surprises of the year 2007. If you like cool Prog and nice female vocalist I simply recommend you to check this release.

If you want to understand how the music of PRR sounds, you'll have to imagine a mix of Pink Floyd (I'm talking of the atmospheric but technical moments that we can find in the music of the British monsters) with Pop Rock (a bit like with the last The Gathering) and some Metal stuff (with some cool riffs). Let's add a nice female vocalist with a really beautiful voice and now, you are able to imagine (a bit) the music of this really original band. It's soft in general, except with sometime some sounds which are not so far of Metal, but we're more into Prog Rock than anything else. It's not a problem because it's cool to listen to this peaceful music and the voice of the singer is so cool that it's a real pleasure to listen to this album.

At the end, I only regret that some songs clearly lack of inspiration. They're not bad at all, but in comparison of the best tracks of the CD it's a bit deceiving. Plus, even if PRR found the way to create its own style (and that's evidently a great thing) I must say that we can hear a bit too much the influences of Pink Floyd for example and that's a bit disturbing. However, it's just a matter of time I think, it's a first album and with experience PRR will be able to confirm all its great potential and write songs with a bit more of personality.

We're in front of something really great here, a nice surprise made in England. If you like Pop, if you like Rock, if you like Metal and of course if you like Progressive music, "The Dark Third" is for you. Fresh and lovely, the first album of PRR will give you a lot of good feelings. Something great is born this year my friends.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 9
Production: 8

Written by Jeff | 15.02.2007


 


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 83 users
15.02.2007 - 21:59
Lupas
Maximus
mmm , a bit from pink floyd, power, progressive, female voice ....... what a strange combination . I must take a look to this
----
"For what point has this life if you can't realise your dreams?" -- The Divine Comedy
Loading...
15.02.2007 - 23:22
Ivor
Staff
This is absolutely fabulous! I've been hooked on it since I first heard it. It might be just an element of surprise and it may yet wear off but for starters it's been a great discovery thanks to Jeff. Even though he mentiones that the band somewhat lacks direction on some tracks, I would like to disagree. This band has an awesome drive, it simply drags you along. If you want to know what I mean precisely, go to their MySpace site http://www.myspace.com/purereasonrevolution and check out "Voices in Winter" track. It kicks!

In addition, it's not Prog, no chance. There is something typically British in their sound though, something of Pink Floyd, something similar to The Gathering. But the combination of it all is not like these bands at all.

I.
----
No friends for playing games
No foes who scorn my name
Computerized machines of steel and rust
/---/
No friends in my house on Mars
No foes in my house on Mars
I was born in my house on Mars
I will die in my house on Mars
-- Ayreon - My House on Mars
Loading...
03.03.2007 - 02:06
Susan
Smeghead
Oh man this is great!! I was intrigued when you said "Pink Floyd meets recent The Gathering meets a little bit of metal." That sounded perfect for me and after hearing the album I am not disappointed at all. I wouldn't say it sounds like either of those bands but I can appreciate the comparison.

This music is so unobtrusive, then when you least expect it you're yanked (gently!) into their universe. I can't get enough!
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
08.03.2009 - 02:36
Talvi
I thought more of a Porcupine Tree influence, but they were influenced by Pink Floyd, so in the end it's the same.
----
My account on other musical pages:
http://www.last.fm/user/Pozito/
http://rateyourmusic.com/~Talvi
Loading...
08.03.2009 - 10:53
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Ivor on 15.02.2007 at 23:22

This is absolutely fabulous! I've been hooked on it since I first heard it. It might be just an element of surprise and it may yet wear off but for starters it's been a great discovery thanks to Jeff. Even though he mentiones that the band somewhat lacks direction on some tracks, I would like to disagree. This band has an awesome drive, it simply drags you along. If you want to know what I mean precisely, go to their MySpace site http://www.myspace.com/purereasonrevolution and check out "Voices in Winter" track. It kicks!

In addition, it's not Prog, no chance. There is something typically British in their sound though, something of Pink Floyd, something similar to The Gathering. But the combination of it all is not like these bands at all.

I.


Thank you for telling me about this album.

I really fell in love with this band after I listened to The Dark Third and then by chance I saw them live when they opened for Porcupine Tree last year.

There is something so pure in the music these guys came up with, at times I feel in a state of zen, it's like taking a pill and flying a bit.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
08.03.2009 - 13:15
Ivor
Staff
Written by BloodTears on 08.03.2009 at 10:53

Thank you for telling me about this album.

I really fell in love with this band after I listened to The Dark Third and then by chance I saw them live when they opened for Porcupine Tree last year.

There is something so pure in the music these guys came up with, at times I feel in a state of zen, it's like taking a pill and flying a bit.

I knew you'd like them. This album still keeps popping up in my playlist quite often.

I.
----
No friends for playing games
No foes who scorn my name
Computerized machines of steel and rust
/---/
No friends in my house on Mars
No foes in my house on Mars
I was born in my house on Mars
I will die in my house on Mars
-- Ayreon - My House on Mars
Loading...
25.03.2009 - 06:00
duro
Written by Talvi on 08.03.2009 at 02:36

I thought more of a Porcupine Tree influence, but they were influenced by Pink Floyd, so in the end it's the same.


I absolutely agree.
this a great album, but i can't see the metal side you're talking about. For me it's just pop, rock, progressive
Loading...
09.09.2010 - 22:14
Darkside Momo
Retired
Great album indeed. "Voices In Winter" is fantastically awesome, and "In Aurelia" too. (yeah, it's a track from the second CD...)
Written by duro on 25.03.2009 at 06:00

this a great album, but i can't see the metal side you're talking about. For me it's just pop, rock, progressive

here and there still pop some heavy riffs and crescendos...
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
09.09.2010 - 23:29
Ivor
Staff
Written by Darkside Momo on 09.09.2010 at 22:14

Great album indeed. "Voices In Winter" is fantastically awesome, and "In Aurelia" too. (yeah, it's a track from the second CD...)
Written by duro on 25.03.2009 at 06:00

this a great album, but i can't see the metal side you're talking about. For me it's just pop, rock, progressive

here and there still pop some heavy riffs and crescendos...

Hehe, you finally digested it, eh?

I.
----
No friends for playing games
No foes who scorn my name
Computerized machines of steel and rust
/---/
No friends in my house on Mars
No foes in my house on Mars
I was born in my house on Mars
I will die in my house on Mars
-- Ayreon - My House on Mars
Loading...
09.09.2010 - 23:40
Darkside Momo
Retired
Written by Ivor on 09.09.2010 at 23:29

Written by Darkside Momo on 09.09.2010 at 22:14

Great album indeed. "Voices In Winter" is fantastically awesome, and "In Aurelia" too. (yeah, it's a track from the second CD...)
Written by duro on 25.03.2009 at 06:00

this a great album, but i can't see the metal side you're talking about. For me it's just pop, rock, progressive

here and there still pop some heavy riffs and crescendos...

Hehe, you finally digested it, eh?

I.

I'm not a fan of all the songs, some are too mellow for me. But yeah, I liked it!
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
21.11.2011 - 01:20
Milena
Learning To "X"
For some reason I couldn't get into this band and I feel like I'm missing out on something.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
21.11.2011 - 10:52
Ivor
Staff
Written by Milena on 21.11.2011 at 01:20

For some reason I couldn't get into this band and I feel like I'm missing out on something.

Yes your are.

I.
----
No friends for playing games
No foes who scorn my name
Computerized machines of steel and rust
/---/
No friends in my house on Mars
No foes in my house on Mars
I was born in my house on Mars
I will die in my house on Mars
-- Ayreon - My House on Mars
Loading...
24.11.2011 - 04:48
Slinky666
Account deleted
Not my cup of tea and definitely not close to Pink Floyd genius, but I agree that we can sense the lack of focus on some tracks, are you trying to say: is it metal? Not for me happy poppy seeds.
Loading...
26.11.2011 - 03:49
jhook
The Twyncyn / Trembling Willows 3:22 is pretty metal
Loading...

Hits total: 7730 | This month: 39