Rating:
8.0
Pure Reason Revolution - The Dark Third
10 April 2006


Disc I
01. Aeropause
02. Goshen Remains
03. Apprentice Of The Universe
04. The Bright Ambassadors Of The Morning
05. The Exact Colour
06. Voices In The Winter / In The Realms Of The Devine
07. Bullits Dominae
08. The Twyncyn / Trembling Willows
09. He Tried To Show Them Magic / Ambassadors Return

Disc II [Inside Out release]
01. In Aurelia
02. Borgens Vor
03. The Exact Colour
04. The Twyncyn/Trembling Willows
05. Golden Clothes


Progressive Pop/Rock/Metal
Label: Inside Out [Distribution in France: Replica Records]
England: 2007
Length: 64:46

Line-Up on the CD:
Vocals, bass: Chloe Alper
Vocals, guitars, programming, keyboards, bass: Jon Courtney
Guitars, vocals: Jamie Willcox
Drums: Andrew Courtney

Originally released 10th April 2006; the InsideOut edition has a second CD and was released the 16th Fefruary 2007.


It's not so usual to have good surprises nowadays, but with a bit of luck sometime you can receive some good new albums. "The Dark Third" the first album of the British of Pure Reason Revolution is one of these good surprises. With a lovely mix of Metal, Pop and Progressive Rock a la Pink Floyd, PRR is for me one of the first great surprises of the year 2007. If you like cool Prog and nice female vocalist I simply recommend you to check this release.

If you want to understand how the music of PRR sounds, you'll have to imagine a mix of Pink Floyd (I'm talking of the atmospheric but technical moments that we can find in the music of the British monsters) with Pop Rock (a bit like with the last The Gathering) and some Metal stuff (with some cool riffs). Let's add a nice female vocalist with a really beautiful voice and now, you are able to imagine (a bit) the music of this really original band. It's soft in general, except with sometime some sounds which are not so far of Metal, but we're more into Prog Rock than anything else. It's not a problem because it's cool to listen to this peaceful music and the voice of the singer is so cool that it's a real pleasure to listen to this album.

At the end, I only regret that some songs clearly lack of inspiration. They're not bad at all, but in comparison of the best tracks of the CD it's a bit deceiving. Plus, even if PRR found the way to create its own style (and that's evidently a great thing) I must say that we can hear a bit too much the influences of Pink Floyd for example and that's a bit disturbing. However, it's just a matter of time I think, it's a first album and with experience PRR will be able to confirm all its great potential and write songs with a bit more of personality.

We're in front of something really great here, a nice surprise made in England. If you like Pop, if you like Rock, if you like Metal and of course if you like Progressive music, "The Dark Third" is for you. Fresh and lovely, the first album of PRR will give you a lot of good feelings. Something great is born this year my friends.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 9
Production: 8


 


written by Jeff | 15.02.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 79  
Search this topic:  


Lupas - 15.02.2007 at 21:59  
mmm , a bit from pink floyd, power, progressive, female voice ....... what a strange combination . I must take a look to this
Ivor - 15.02.2007 at 23:22  
This is absolutely fabulous! I've been hooked on it since I first heard it. It might be just an element of surprise and it may yet wear off but for starters it's been a great discovery thanks to Jeff. Even though he mentiones that the band somewhat lacks direction on some tracks, I would like to disagree. This band has an awesome drive, it simply drags you along. If you want to know what I mean precisely, go to their MySpace site http://www.myspace.com/purereasonrevolution and check out "Voices in Winter" track. It kicks!

In addition, it's not Prog, no chance. There is something typically British in their sound though, something of Pink Floyd, something similar to The Gathering. But the combination of it all is not like these bands at all.

I.
Susan - 03.03.2007 at 02:06  
Oh man this is great!! I was intrigued when you said "Pink Floyd meets recent The Gathering meets a little bit of metal." That sounded perfect for me and after hearing the album I am not disappointed at all. I wouldn't say it sounds like either of those bands but I can appreciate the comparison.

This music is so unobtrusive, then when you least expect it you're yanked (gently!) into their universe. I can't get enough!
Talvi - 08.03.2009 at 02:36  
I thought more of a Porcupine Tree influence, but they were influenced by Pink Floyd, so in the end it's the same.
BloodTears - 08.03.2009 at 10:53  
Written by Ivor on 15.02.2007 at 23:22

This is absolutely fabulous! I've been hooked on it since I first heard it. It might be just an element of surprise and it may yet wear off but for starters it's been a great discovery thanks to Jeff. Even though he mentiones that the band somewhat lacks direction on some tracks, I would like to disagree. This band has an awesome drive, it simply drags you along. If you want to know what I mean precisely, go to their MySpace site http://www.myspace.com/purereasonrevolution and check out "Voices in Winter" track. It kicks!

In addition, it's not Prog, no chance. There is something typically British in their sound though, something of Pink Floyd, something similar to The Gathering. But the combination of it all is not like these bands at all.

I.


Thank you for telling me about this album.

I really fell in love with this band after I listened to The Dark Third and then by chance I saw them live when they opened for Porcupine Tree last year.

There is something so pure in the music these guys came up with, at times I feel in a state of zen, it's like taking a pill and flying a bit.
Ivor - 08.03.2009 at 13:15  
Written by BloodTears on 08.03.2009 at 10:53

Thank you for telling me about this album.

I really fell in love with this band after I listened to The Dark Third and then by chance I saw them live when they opened for Porcupine Tree last year.

There is something so pure in the music these guys came up with, at times I feel in a state of zen, it's like taking a pill and flying a bit.

I knew you'd like them. This album still keeps popping up in my playlist quite often.

I.
duro - 25.03.2009 at 06:00  
Written by Talvi on 08.03.2009 at 02:36

I thought more of a Porcupine Tree influence, but they were influenced by Pink Floyd, so in the end it's the same.


I absolutely agree.
this a great album, but i can't see the metal side you're talking about. For me it's just pop, rock, progressive
Darkside Momo - 09.09.2010 at 22:14  
Great album indeed. "Voices In Winter" is fantastically awesome, and "In Aurelia" too. (yeah, it's a track from the second CD...)
Written by duro on 25.03.2009 at 06:00

this a great album, but i can't see the metal side you're talking about. For me it's just pop, rock, progressive

here and there still pop some heavy riffs and crescendos...
Ivor - 09.09.2010 at 23:29  
Written by Darkside Momo on 09.09.2010 at 22:14

Great album indeed. "Voices In Winter" is fantastically awesome, and "In Aurelia" too. (yeah, it's a track from the second CD...)
Written by duro on 25.03.2009 at 06:00

this a great album, but i can't see the metal side you're talking about. For me it's just pop, rock, progressive

here and there still pop some heavy riffs and crescendos...

Hehe, you finally digested it, eh?

I.
Darkside Momo - 09.09.2010 at 23:40  
Written by Ivor on 09.09.2010 at 23:29

Written by Darkside Momo on 09.09.2010 at 22:14

Great album indeed. "Voices In Winter" is fantastically awesome, and "In Aurelia" too. (yeah, it's a track from the second CD...)
Written by duro on 25.03.2009 at 06:00

this a great album, but i can't see the metal side you're talking about. For me it's just pop, rock, progressive

here and there still pop some heavy riffs and crescendos...

Hehe, you finally digested it, eh?

I.

I'm not a fan of all the songs, some are too mellow for me. But yeah, I liked it!
Milena - 21.11.2011 at 01:20  
For some reason I couldn't get into this band and I feel like I'm missing out on something.
Ivor - 21.11.2011 at 10:52  
Written by Milena on 21.11.2011 at 01:20

For some reason I couldn't get into this band and I feel like I'm missing out on something.

Yes your are.

I.
Slinky666 - 24.11.2011 at 04:48  
Not my cup of tea and definitely not close to Pink Floyd genius, but I agree that we can sense the lack of focus on some tracks, are you trying to say: is it metal? Not for me happy poppy seeds.
jhook - 26.11.2011 at 03:49  
The Twyncyn / Trembling Willows 3:22 is pretty metal

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Pure Reason Revolution - The Dark Third 10.5 04.01.2013 by JD
Reviews Pure Reason Revolution - Amor Vincit Omnia 9 07.03.2009 by BloodTears
Reviews Frontside - Twilight Of The Gods - A First Step To The Mental Revolution 6 23.10.2006 by HardSide
Reviews Dark The Suns - In Darkness Comes Beauty 6 06.12.2007 by BestMetalstormer
Reviews Ghotmog - A Step In The Dark 6 21.02.2009 by Metal Maiden



Hits total: 6183 | This month: 46