Motörhead - Orgasmatron review


373 users:
Band: Motörhead
Album: Orgasmatron
Release date: August 1986

Disc I
01. Deaf Forever
02. Nothing Up My Sleeve
03. Ain't My Crime
04. Claw
05. Mean Machine
06. Built For Speed
07. Ridin' With The Driver
08. Doctor Rock
09. Orgasmatron
10. On The Road [live] [bonus]
11. Steal Your Face [live] [bonus]
12. Claw [alternate version] [bonus]

Disc II [Live From Caister, Great Yarmouth, Saturday 13th October, 1984] [Deluxe Edition bonus]
01. Stay Clean
02. Heart Of Stone
03. Nothing Up My Sleeve
04. Metropolis
05. Killed By Death
06. Ace Of Spades
07. Steal Your Face
08. (We Are) The Road Crew
09. Motörhead
10. Bomber
11. Overkill

And so it begins, what I like to think of as the second Motorhead era, all remnants of the past (besides Lemmy) have left the band; no Philthy, no Fast Eddie, and no Brian Robertson. Philthy Animal Taylor being replaced by ex-Saxon stickman Pete Gill, and Brian 'Robo' Robertson being replaced by 2 guitarists; Michael "Würzel" Burston and the current guitarist Phil Campbell (this also marks the begining of the 5 album dual-guitar era of Motorhead). This album shows for the first time that Lemmy is able to write a good album with none of the original members.

After the previous album ("Another Perfect Day") seemed to be lacking many (if any) memorable tracks, Lemmy is able to redeem himself with this powerful album. Opening up with the instant classic metal anthem "Orgasmatron" the songs seem to get better and better throughout the album, covering alot of ground and reaching a new intensity that Motorhead had never yet created. The intros throughout the album are perfectly executed producing some of the best intros in metal history, especially in "Aint My Crime" and "Mean Machine"; where the drums on the intro sound as if they were blasting cannons. They have the typical Motorhead 'live fast die a hero' mentality type songs like "Built for Speed" and "Ridin With The Driver", a battle song-"Deaf Forever", and the obligatory straight up rock 'n' roll anthem "Doctor Rock" all of which leave me highly satisfied. As I play the album through again and again I only find one track that doesnt impress me; "Nothin Up My Sleeve" which in fact is not all that bad for a filler track.

...And now to explain why this album does not deserve a 10/10. The production values on this album did not impress me very much, at times it seems almost choppy, like the producer accidently hit the 'stop' button on the recording for a split second but did not fix it, if they were capable of getting the same production values found on "Inferno' or "Kiss Of Death" this album would have been close to flawless. And as far as performance goes, the songs were catchy with amazing intros, but the solos were far from memorable, simply put.

I see this as the biggest transition ever made by Motorhead, almost like the bridge between the self titled debut and "Kiss Of Death", which proves to be a great improvement to bring them where they are today.

Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 7

Written by Doc G. | 26.02.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments: 2   Visited by: 7 users
11.02.2020 - 23:25
My favorite Motorhead album. Not one track I don't like except MAYBE "Claw".
11.02.2020 - 23:51
JoHn DoE
I haven't listened to this in a really long time. I'll give it a listen one of these days.

Hits total: 5015 | This month: 41