Rating:
9.0
Children Of Bodom - Stockholm Knockout Live [Live]
11 October 2006


Disc I
01. Living Dead Beat
02. Sixpounder
03. Silent Night, Bodom Night
04. Hate Me!
05. We're Not Gonna Fall
06. Angels Don't Kill
07. Deadbeats I
08. Bodom After Midnight / Bodom Beach Terror
09. Follow The Reaper

Disc II
01. Needled 24/7
02. Clash Of The Booze Brothers
03. In Your Face
04. Hate Crew Deathroll
05. Are You Dead Yet?
06. Latvala - Guitar Solo
07. Lake Bodom
08. Everytime I Die
09. Downfall


When listening to "Are You Dead Yet?" I used to cringe at what the hell happened to our beloved Bodom, but after listening to "Stockholm Knockout Live" it puts everything in a totally new perspective.

The "Are You Dead Yet?" material being played on this live album I imagine sounds the way Laiho and the Hate Crew probably intended for that album to sound. They add a heavy, furious, and all around more powerful sound to the originally terrible songs. Opening with "Living Dead Beat" I immediately changed my entire view on that song. Unlike many live albums, "Stockholm Knockout Live" leaves in the mid-song rants, drum solos, and incredible 7 minute keyboard versus guitar duel between Janne Warman and Alexi Laiho entitled "Clash Of The Booze Brothers."

This album is of course, being a live album, far from flawless. Performance wise there are your typical weak vocal portions and guitar solo mess-ups which appear in almost every live album; the fact that they don't appear very much in this album is very impressive. As far as production goes, this album is close to flawless, the sound quality on every instrument is perfect coming in clear as a bell and the crowd comes in clear at the right moments leaving in the live feel but not interfering in the music.

In conclusion I highly recommend this album to everyone that's already a Bodom fan but even moreso if you're one of the many people who thought "Are You Dead Yet?" was a pile of crap; you'll be pleasantly surprised at how well those songs turned out live. It's filled with an indescribable energy that is lacking in many live albums, leaving me very jealous of the people that were lucky enough to attend this show.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: -
Originality: -
Production: 9


Band profile: Children Of Bodom
Album: Stockholm Knockout Live


 


written by Doc Godin | 05.03.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 55  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 05.03.2007 at 13:07  
I usually don't like live albums but this is very good, without any doubt... Good tracklist and great Alexi, especially in the DVD version when he and Janne cooked sausages!
Doc Godin - 06.03.2007 at 06:53  
Written by Katatronik on 05.03.2007 at 13:07

I usually don't like live albums but this is very good, without any doubt... Good tracklist and great Alexi, especially in the DVD version when he and Janne cooked sausages!


yeah I havnt gotten around to seeing the dvd. its good I take it?
Katatronik - 06.03.2007 at 13:04  
Written by Doc Godin on 06.03.2007 at 06:53

Written by Katatronik on 05.03.2007 at 13:07

I usually don't like live albums but this is very good, without any doubt... Good tracklist and great Alexi, especially in the DVD version when he and Janne cooked sausages!


yeah I havnt gotten around to seeing the dvd. its good I take it?

Take it, it's amazing!
Alexi is fuckin' crazy and also the extras are very funny!
White Winter Sun - 03.04.2007 at 22:16  
Good live album, good realisation, good sound.

And the dvd is good too. Especially the bonus DVD. It's very amazing
Warman - 09.04.2007 at 10:37  
I was at that concert so I of course love both the DVD and the album!
Dan066 - 15.04.2007 at 19:59  
I would definetly recommend the DVD if you a bodom fan. The guitar solo/keybord solo is awesome. Great setlist, Bodom rules
Didu - 30.04.2007 at 22:58  
The setlist rocks: i like mostly the last 4 songs: the guitar solo from ROOPE LATVALA, the classic LAKE BODOM, the emotionally EVERYTIME I DIE and of course the perfect ending for every COB gig: DOWNFALL
RESPECT FOR BODOM:banger:
O p e t h - 03.05.2007 at 19:40  
I have to agree with the review. The last album is not a good album but at the concert is just fucking great. i will get and the dvd
+{Jonas}+ - 09.02.2008 at 04:35  
I want this DVD!!!
PrinceofSylvania - 14.05.2008 at 02:07  
The whole concert was awesome. The dvd was great. Alexi is very funny.
Doc Godin - 22.08.2008 at 00:22  
Written by Guest on 21.08.2008 at 23:59

Really can get it to this guis it seems that a lot of people like them I own few CD I saw them live iso the DVD there is no doubt they know how to play by the way they present themselves that always swear and I mean always I don't want to offense anybody by this group are for very young people and I mean very very young definitely not for me maybe somebody out there knows what I mean and please young people don't hold anything against me there is nothing wrong to be young in fact I wanted to be young but what can I do I am already 44 and it's only my opinion

Uhhh....what?
Daggon - 08.11.2008 at 22:51  
Written by Doc Godin on 22.08.2008 at 00:22

Written by Guest on 21.08.2008 at 23:59

Really can get it to this guis it seems that a lot of people like them I own few CD I saw them live iso the DVD there is no doubt they know how to play by the way they present themselves that always swear and I mean always I don't want to offense anybody by this group are for very young people and I mean very very young definitely not for me maybe somebody out there knows what I mean and please young people don't hold anything against me there is nothing wrong to be young in fact I wanted to be young but what can I do I am already 44 and it's only my opinion

Uhhh....what?


Fuck!... what? hahaha
Windrider - 02.09.2010 at 18:58  
The best DVD of any concert!!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Blooddrunk 7.5 09.03.2009 by MetalManic_Joel
Albums Children Of Bodom - Tokyo Warhearts [Live] 6 28.09.2012 by Array
Albums Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper 4.5 22.02.2010 by Deadmeat
Interviews Children Of Bodom interview 4.5 14.02.2012 by Milena
Events SWE, Stockholm - Children Of Bodom: The Ugly World Tour 2011 4.5 18.11.2010 by Warman



Hits total: 3674 | This month: 25