Children Of Bodom - Stockholm Knockout Live review



Reviewer:
9.0

193 users:
8.30
Band: Children Of Bodom
Album: Stockholm Knockout Live
Release date: October 2006


Disc I
01. Living Dead Beat
02. Sixpounder
03. Silent Night, Bodom Night
04. Hate Me!
05. We're Not Gonna Fall
06. Angels Don't Kill
07. Deadbeats I
08. Bodom After Midnight / Bodom Beach Terror
09. Follow The Reaper

Disc II
01. Needled 24/7
02. Clash Of The Booze Brothers
03. In Your Face
04. Hate Crew Deathroll
05. Are You Dead Yet?
06. Latvala - Guitar Solo
07. Lake Bodom
08. Everytime I Die
09. Downfall


When listening to "Are You Dead Yet?" I used to cringe at what the hell happened to our beloved Bodom, but after listening to "Stockholm Knockout Live" it puts everything in a totally new perspective.

The "Are You Dead Yet?" material being played on this live album I imagine sounds the way Laiho and the Hate Crew probably intended for that album to sound. They add a heavy, furious, and all around more powerful sound to the originally terrible songs. Opening with "Living Dead Beat" I immediately changed my entire view on that song. Unlike many live albums, "Stockholm Knockout Live" leaves in the mid-song rants, drum solos, and incredible 7 minute keyboard versus guitar duel between Janne Warman and Alexi Laiho entitled "Clash Of The Booze Brothers."

This album is of course, being a live album, far from flawless. Performance wise there are your typical weak vocal portions and guitar solo mess-ups which appear in almost every live album; the fact that they don't appear very much in this album is very impressive. As far as production goes, this album is close to flawless, the sound quality on every instrument is perfect coming in clear as a bell and the crowd comes in clear at the right moments leaving in the live feel but not interfering in the music.

In conclusion I highly recommend this album to everyone that's already a Bodom fan but even moreso if you're one of the many people who thought "Are You Dead Yet?" was a pile of crap; you'll be pleasantly surprised at how well those songs turned out live. It's filled with an indescribable energy that is lacking in many live albums, leaving me very jealous of the people that were lucky enough to attend this show.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: -
Originality: -
Production: 9

Written by Doc Godin | 05.03.2007


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 58 users
05.03.2007 - 13:07
Katatronik
Angel of Lust
I usually don't like live albums but this is very good, without any doubt... Good tracklist and great Alexi, especially in the DVD version when he and Janne cooked sausages!
----

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear,
and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown."
Howard Phillips Lovecraft
Loading...
06.03.2007 - 06:53
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Katatronik on 05.03.2007 at 13:07

I usually don't like live albums but this is very good, without any doubt... Good tracklist and great Alexi, especially in the DVD version when he and Janne cooked sausages!


yeah I havnt gotten around to seeing the dvd. its good I take it?
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
06.03.2007 - 13:04
Katatronik
Angel of Lust
Written by Doc Godin on 06.03.2007 at 06:53

Written by Katatronik on 05.03.2007 at 13:07

I usually don't like live albums but this is very good, without any doubt... Good tracklist and great Alexi, especially in the DVD version when he and Janne cooked sausages!


yeah I havnt gotten around to seeing the dvd. its good I take it?

Take it, it's amazing!
Alexi is fuckin' crazy and also the extras are very funny!
----

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear,
and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown."
Howard Phillips Lovecraft
Loading...
03.04.2007 - 22:16
White Winter Sun
Laboratory's Rat
Good live album, good realisation, good sound.

And the dvd is good too. Especially the bonus DVD. It's very amazing
Loading...
09.04.2007 - 10:37
Warman
Erotic Stains
I was at that concert so I of course love both the DVD and the album!
----
Loading...
15.04.2007 - 19:59
Dan066
Account deleted
I would definetly recommend the DVD if you a bodom fan. The guitar solo/keybord solo is awesome. Great setlist, Bodom rules
Loading...
30.04.2007 - 22:58
Didu
Account deleted
The setlist rocks: i like mostly the last 4 songs: the guitar solo from ROOPE LATVALA, the classic LAKE BODOM, the emotionally EVERYTIME I DIE and of course the perfect ending for every COB gig: DOWNFALL
RESPECT FOR BODOM:banger:
Loading...
03.05.2007 - 19:40
O p e t h
Account deleted
I have to agree with the review. The last album is not a good album but at the concert is just fucking great. i will get and the dvd
Loading...
09.02.2008 - 04:35
+{Jonas}+
I R Serious Cat
I want this DVD!!!
----
"Nobody wants to be the weird kid, you just end up being the weird kid. You don't know how you ended up getting there" - Rob Zombie

http://jonas-bs.deviantart.com My dA, mainly photography, go check it out!
Loading...
14.05.2008 - 02:07
PrinceofSylvania
Account deleted
The whole concert was awesome. The dvd was great. Alexi is very funny.
Loading...
22.08.2008 - 00:22
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Guest on 21.08.2008 at 23:59

Really can get it to this guis it seems that a lot of people like them I own few CD I saw them live iso the DVD there is no doubt they know how to play by the way they present themselves that always swear and I mean always I don't want to offense anybody by this group are for very young people and I mean very very young definitely not for me maybe somebody out there knows what I mean and please young people don't hold anything against me there is nothing wrong to be young in fact I wanted to be young but what can I do I am already 44 and it's only my opinion

Uhhh....what?
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
08.11.2008 - 22:51
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
Written by Doc Godin on 22.08.2008 at 00:22

Written by Guest on 21.08.2008 at 23:59

Really can get it to this guis it seems that a lot of people like them I own few CD I saw them live iso the DVD there is no doubt they know how to play by the way they present themselves that always swear and I mean always I don't want to offense anybody by this group are for very young people and I mean very very young definitely not for me maybe somebody out there knows what I mean and please young people don't hold anything against me there is nothing wrong to be young in fact I wanted to be young but what can I do I am already 44 and it's only my opinion

Uhhh....what?


Fuck!... what? hahaha
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...
02.09.2010 - 18:58
Windrider
Der Trauerweider
The best DVD of any concert!!
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 4560 | This month: 7