Rating:
7.8
Aborted - Slaughter & Apparatus: A Methodical Overture
20 February 2007


01. The Chondrin Enigma
02. A Methodical Overture
03. Avenious
04. The Spaying Séance
05. And Carnage Basked In Its Ebullience
06. The Foul Nucleus Of Resurrection
07. Archetype
08. Ingenuity In Genocide
09. Odious Emanation
10. Prolific Murder Contrivance
11. Underneath Rorulent Soil
12. Surprise! You're Dead! [Faith No More cover] [bonus]


Aborted have become a somewhat controversial band by the direction they have seemingly taken. It was clear to everyone on the bands last attempt "The Archaic Abattoir" that the band had swung even more so towards a melodic death metal field which understandably did not please too many of their already existing fans, but also gained the band access to a new audience of fans.

This album is the bands fifth studio album and is again a little different from the previous and this time seem to have taken a few steps forward by taking a few steps back if you see what I mean. The album has taken a few little steps back towards their older days of more aggressive and unrelenting death metal, however this album does at times seem somewhat sporadic and confused. By that I mean at times the album is very fast, very brutal and so very enjoyable - just as one would wish a death metal album to be, but there can still be a number of comparisons made with the direction and bad sides of their last album that just do not seem to fit in here.

An example of this confusion is "Avenious", a track that sounds more melodic death metal and even comparisons to metalcore could possibly be made. The vocals in the first minute of the track are more annoying then anything else as they sound like they would fit perfectly in an In Flames song.
But then in contrast the drum opening of the next track "The Spaying Séance" and parts of the next track "And Carnage Basked In Its Ebullience" are much more aggressive and very enjoyable to listen to, the fine production of the album also greatly enhances these parts. It almost sounds like there could be a brutal death metal band still in there trapped in this death metal/melodic death metal hybrid somewhere but just cannot push hard enough to unleash itself, which seems a big shame to me.

The band has had a considerable amount of line-up changes but I would question if they know themselves which direction they want the band to move. Maybe one way of interpreting this album is they are trying to please too many sets of fans (especially with the shooting of a promo video), but from the viewpoint of someone who prefers more brutal death metal, the melodic death side really does drag the album down.

This album has however left a better impression on me then "The Archaic Abattoir" and is worth taking the time to listen to, just there is no need to make it your absolute top priority.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Aborted
Album: Slaughter & Apparatus: A Methodical Overture


 



Written on 01.03.2007 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 66  
Search this topic:  


Herzebeth - 01.03.2007 at 20:39  
YES YES YES!!! I couldn't agree more with this review... I was really hesitant of this album to tell you the truth, after hearing "The Archaic Abattoir" for me Aborted went from a decent Carcass-Worship band to an In Flames wannabe...the word sellout never left my head for 2 years straight...

Now Slaughter & Apparatus made me go...huh? some of the tracks (actually the ones mentioned by Baz) increased the brutality in such levels that made me forgot the melodeath crap found in their past album...sadly there are a lot of In Flame-ish tunes again, they suck and I don't even want to talk about them....

anyway...in fewer words they improved, but not that much...

Great review again dude
Dangerboner - 02.03.2007 at 00:31  
Pretty much how I exactly feel about this album.
..HumanError.. - 02.03.2007 at 03:25  
Well well, ive read the review, and its well written as always . Even made me want to listen to it, even if i wanted to try the other albums first. The few ive listen to sounds good, really nice, so far. But i cant compare with the rest of their work, as i dont know much about them. Ill need some time to get a good opinion about them .

Thank you my dear Barry for arousing my curiosity *bows*
Thryce - 02.03.2007 at 22:41  
Indeed, great review Barry!
Too bad "Slaughter & Apparatus: A Methodical Overture" isn't that great at all.

Overall, you come close in perfectly describing my feelings about this album too. But honestly, I feel plain disappointed. So far, already my letdown of 2007. I was expecting much more of this album, and they leave me behind with a huge hunger for more, but at the same time also a hunger possibly followed by an indigestion. Get the contradictive picture?

Especially the word "confusion" was pretty well chosen I found. "Confusion" would indeed also be one of the few words that could describe this album in its totality.
Few songs are interesting and relatively good, but most other songs are just annoying and irritatingly bad. Also the lack of Brutality is very striking and actually disturbing.

Aborted have turned in a very awkward way, and I'm not sure (yet) if I like it. But then again, each album by them is quite different, and that's what makes Aborted so interesting (right?).

Seems like this confusing album is leaving behind its listeners pretty confused too.
Sepulchral Oath - 03.03.2007 at 17:53  
I actually really like this album. When the band first released the opening track "The Chondrin Enigma," I was beyond disappointed. The production sounded awkwardly muddy, and that lame "dun dun dun dun" breakdown in the song completely ruined it for me. When I finally listened to the whole album, I still wasn't really sure what to think of it. I heard elements of both "Goremageddon" and "The Archaic Abattoir" scattered throughout the album in little areas, and I really couldn't formulate any significant opinions about it. However, after giving it a couple more spins, it really started to grow on me. I still don't really like the album opener though.
Stigmatized - 08.03.2007 at 01:33  
How come Metal Storm shows this cover but everywhere else I look has a different one?
Dangerboner - 08.03.2007 at 02:06  
Well, the slipcase is black and gold-ish, but the actual cover of the case is the one showed here.
Marcel Hubregtse - 19.03.2007 at 11:12  
Good review, only minor gripes I have is that there is no mention of the guest appearances by...

Jeff Walker, and Jacob Bredahl & Henrik Jacobson

and the fact that the drums were played by David Haley (Psycroptic) on this album.
Sekhmet - 05.07.2007 at 16:36  
I haven't listened to the album yet, I was kinda reluctant after "Archaic Abattoir", but I should get it this weekend from a friend so I came and read your review. Now my expectations aren't as low as they were, I hope I won't be too disappointed.
Baz Anderson - 05.07.2007 at 16:51  
Written by Sekhmet on 05.07.2007 at 16:36

I haven't listened to the album yet, I was kinda reluctant after "Archaic Abattoir", but I should get it this weekend from a friend so I came and read your review. Now my expectations aren't as low as they were, I hope I won't be too disappointed.

no, you shouldn't be..
it's quite a coincidence really.. I just listened to this album again yesterday.. and it was still rather enjoyable indeed
Sekhmet - 16.07.2007 at 15:42  
Written by Baz Anderson on 05.07.2007 at 16:51

Written by Sekhmet on 05.07.2007 at 16:36

I haven't listened to the album yet, I was kinda reluctant after "Archaic Abattoir", but I should get it this weekend from a friend so I came and read your review. Now my expectations aren't as low as they were, I hope I won't be too disappointed.

no, you shouldn't be..
it's quite a coincidence really.. I just listened to this album again yesterday.. and it was still rather enjoyable indeed

You were right. This album won't become my favourite of all times (or even of the year), but it's not bad at all IMO
Infurnace - 18.07.2007 at 18:26  
It just turned out as I expected. Really good album! Pretty brutal. The video clip for "The Chondrin Enigma" is good as well.
BoxCar Willy - 09.02.2010 at 18:08  
Looks like a good album!
toXic_waLtz - 13.05.2011 at 02:28  
I completely agree with this review. I do enjoy the musicality of it. It's an enjoying death metal album. It's no egineering the dead. But still a listenable album indeed

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Aborted - Slaughter & Apparatus: A Methodical Overture 9 28.04.2012 by musicalkaratekid
Reviews Aborted - Global Flatline 7.5 26.01.2012 by Metal_Buff
Reviews Inimical - Lambs To The Slaughter 6 31.08.2007 by
Articles Decapitated, Aborted - Nottingham, England, 1st March 2012 5 03.03.2012 by TrollandDie
Reviews Pitbull Terrorist - C.I.A. 4.5 07.11.2009 by Metal Maiden



Hits total: 5651 | This month: 41