Rating:
9.8
Rainbow - Long Live Rock 'N' Roll
9 April 1978


Disc I
01. Long Live Rock 'N' Roll
02. Lady Of The Lake
03. L.A. Connection
04. Gates Of Babylon
05. Kill The King
06. The Shed (Subtle)
07. Sensitive To Light
08. Rainbow Eyes

Disc II [Deluxe Edition]
[Rough Mixes (1977)]
01. Lady Of The Lake
02. Sensitive To Light
03. L.A. Connection
04. Kill The King
05. The Shed (Subtle)
06. Long Live Rock 'N' Roll
07. Rainbow Eyes
[Shepperton Film Studios Rehearsal (1977)]
08. Long Live Rock 'N' Roll (Take 1)
09. Kill The King
[Don Kirshner's Rock Concert (1978)]
10. Long Live Rock 'N' Roll
11. L.A. Connection
12. Gates Of Babylon
13. L.A. Connection [outtake version]
14. Gates Of Babylon [outtake version]


If anyone could cram as much variety and catchiness into 8 songs I'd sure like to hear it; this is unquestionably the dynamic combination of Ritchie Blackmore & Ronnie James Dio at its climax.

When I first picked up this album on vinyl a year or so ago my expectations, to be completely honest, were very low. I was a very big Dio fan but very little of what Deep Purple had to offer impressed me, but as a die-hard Dio fan it was a must have, and since then I've failed to see any Dio material or Deep Purple material that can beat, let alone match this album.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the band, on this album it consisted of frontman Ronnie James Dio, ex-Deep Purple axeman Ritchie Blackmore, Cozy Powell on drums (later to become a drummer for Whitesnake & Black Sabbath), on bass we have Bob Daisly (Uriah Heep, Yngwie Malmsteen), and on keyboards its David Stone, whose work on this album makes it a crime that he didn't become a hero to be compared with the likes of Jon Lord & John Paul Jones.

Now that the introductions are over I'll explain the ridiculously high score. This album offers so much variety within the confines of Rock 'N' Roll, some of which seemed to be almost before their time. Songs like "Kill The King" which shows traces of speed metal, and "Gates Of Babylon" has clearly helped pave the path for epic power metal. On the flip side to the metal pioneering this album accomplishes it also contains everything from blues-rock to something that could almost be considered funk.

Rainbow even managed to be able to fit some orchestral work into the mix, which not only seemed to fit but almost made the two tracks in which it was contained, "Gates Of Babylon" and "Rainbow Eyes."

To explain why songwriting only received a 9/10 would be entirely because of the ballad track "Rainbow Eyes" though the song itself has a lot of passion in it, the intensity of the emotion is incredible, and the orchestral parts add to the song to a great degree, but through all this greatness the song runs an almost painful 7:26 minutes without any progression at all, which I found to be a boring way to close the album.

Musical skill wise this album is flawless, the performance & composition is unbeatable, the solos and riffs are very catchy, the bass hard & funky, the keys blazing with intensity, drums spot on with all the fills & crashes in the right places, and Ronnie's vocals just as powerful as usual. With all this being said, all that is left to say is that this is possibly one of (if not thee) greatest albums of all time.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Rainbow
Album: Long Live Rock 'N' Roll


 


written by Doc Godin | 08.03.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 98  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 10.03.2007 at 22:49  
A very good album, but far from near perfect to me. Especially that boring song Long Live Rock & Roll
takes awway a lot of the pleasure for me. I knwo the song is somehow considered a classic by many, but not by me.
Rising and Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow are stronger albums.
I would rate Long Live Rock & Roll with an overall 8.5 whereas Rising score 9.5 and Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow scores a 9 for me.
But those first three studio albums are certainly their three best ones.

And now I'll go back to my dvd of Rainbow Live in Munich 1977 and then to the live cd of Rainbow Live in Köln 1976 which features the ever classic Stargazer instead of Long Live Rock & Roll. I still don't understand why they dropped Stargazer (which certainly was a crowd favourite at the time) for Long Live Rock & Roll just a year later.
Bad English - 11.03.2007 at 01:21  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.03.2007 at 22:49

A very good album, but far from near perfect to me. Especially that boring song Long Live Rock & Roll
takes awway a lot of the pleasure for me. I knwo the song is somehow considered a classic by many, but not by me.
Rising and Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow are stronger albums.
I would rate Long Live Rock & Roll with an overall 8.5 whereas Rising score 9.5 and Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow scores a 9 for me.
But those first three studio albums are certainly their three best ones.




I dont agree iMO its good song and album, I hawnt listening Rising so much, but RB Rainbow and this are my fav Rainbow albums, werry good because after Dio left Rainbow are
JohnDoe - 11.03.2007 at 09:37  
Good review; except for the fact that Bob Daisley worked with Uriah Heep in 1982 and 1983, and obviously with Malmsteen much later.

Oh, by the way, I LOVE all Rainbow albums, so you can hire know a hitman to have me killed ...

@Kariasakis 7: if you start criticising something, please have the decency to explain or bring in an argument.
Shadowcross - 14.04.2008 at 18:01  
An excellent album and I surprisingly can bear every track including Long Live Rock and Roll. I think Rainbow Eyes is a perfect song and great as the final song. To me the first three albums was the first true power metal. I didn't enjoy Rainbow's later work as much but some great tracks have came out from the post-Dio era. I suspect they stopped playing Stargazer live because the guitar sound would have been much harder to replicate perfectly live back then at some of those venues.. Only speculation.

9.5
IronBlackZepp - 20.04.2008 at 21:31  
This album contains some of Richie Blackmore's best guitar work along with some of Dio's best singing. I would consider this Rainbows best next to Rising. The keyboards fit in perfectly to every song, which is quite rare. Gates of Babylon is the best off the album, it is actually musically simular to Stargazer. Kill the King is also one of Rainbow's best songs.
DIO Is God - 21.05.2008 at 04:12  
Pretty fair review, though, I thought the songwriting was great. Still one of the greatest albums, ever.
Ereinion - 15.12.2008 at 19:52  
I am so in love with this album
W-Lash - 19.12.2008 at 13:13  
Maybe not as good as Rising but excellent anyway.
Lokomotiv - 17.01.2009 at 00:38  
This would be the übergreatest rock album of the history of our galaxy if not by that shitty title-track and that awful song called LA Connection... besides that, a 11/10 piece.

Dio era Rainbow is probably my favourite band from the 70s, but they still suffer from the filler syndrome.
IronBlackZepp - 04.02.2009 at 06:49  
One of the best albums ever? Yes! I love this album and I think that it is actually quite underrated. No filler in my opinion, every bit as good as Rising.
The Shape 1973 - 09.11.2009 at 22:02  
Gates of Babylon = epic. Brilliant song.
Check out the Yngwie Malmsteen cover, really pays tribute. Blackmore was a big influence on Yngwie in the early days before they both turned crap.
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.11.2009 at 00:33  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 09.11.2009 at 22:02

Gates of Babylon = epic. Brilliant song.
Check out the Yngwie Malmsteen cover, really pays tribute. Blackmore was a big influence on Yngwie in the early days before they both turned crap.


Totally agreed.
Btw Blackmore is one of the first people he thanks for influence on his debut album. Malmsteen at the time also wore black as tribute to Blackmore.
The Shape 1973 - 10.11.2009 at 11:38  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.11.2009 at 00:33

Written by The Shape 1973 on 09.11.2009 at 22:02

Gates of Babylon = epic. Brilliant song.
Check out the Yngwie Malmsteen cover, really pays tribute. Blackmore was a big influence on Yngwie in the early days before they both turned crap.


Totally agreed.
Btw Blackmore is one of the first people he thanks for influence on his debut album. Malmsteen at the time also wore black as tribute to Blackmore.

Marcel, agreeing with me on music, it must be the start of the end of the world,ha ha.
JÄY - 01.10.2011 at 07:52  
Rainbow Eyes is indeed a terrible way to close....thats why its track number 5, when i listen.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Rainbow - Long Live Rock 'N' Roll 9 03.01.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Chrome Division - Doomsday Rock 'N Roll 6 07.08.2009 by Paradox0
Reviews Arch Enemy - Tyrants Of The Rising Sun: Live In Japan 4.5 03.08.2009 by Paradox0
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Stockholm Knockout Live 4.5 05.03.2007 by Katatronik
News Rainbow - Release Live In Munich Double CD 4.5 20.02.2008 by



Hits total: 4099 | This month: 83