Rating:
N/A
Type O Negative - Dead Again
13 March 2007


Disc I
01. Dead Again
02. Tripping A Blind Man
03. The Profits Of Doom
04. September Sun
05. Halloween In Heaven [feat. Tara Vanflower]
06. These Three Things
07. She Burned Me Down
08. Some Stupid Tomorrow
09. An Ode To Locksmiths
10. Hail And Farewell To Britain

Disc II [Live At Wacken 2007] [2008 re-release DVD bonus]
01. Anesthesia
02. Christian Woman
03. Love You To Death
04. Kill You Tonight
+ The Profits Of Doom [video]
+ September Sun [video]
+ Interview


Could this be Type O Negative's best album thus far?

Can anyone believe that it has already been 4 years since the Drab Four have last released an album full of original material? Maybe Life Is Killing Me being a somewhat lackluster release (at least compared to the band's previous masterpieces) is to blame for time seeming to pass so quickly? Luckily for all of us fans of the Brooklyn miscreants, Dead Again is probably the best collection of songs that this band has ever recorded. Yes! This album is even better than Bloody Kisses, and although I doubt it'll propel Type O Negative to mainstream attention again, it is bound to become a classic amongst fans of gothic metal in its own right.

What makes this album so special? Basically, the band has selected all of the best elements from their previous albums and fused them together into a cohesive and exciting whole. It's all here - the long vampiric odes of Bloody Kisses, the Beatlesesque soundscapes of October Rust and World Coming Down, the uplifting and catchy melodies from Life Is Killing Me and even the growls and hardcore grooves from Slow Deep And Hard (and Carnivore). Innovation is therefore obviously not the calling card of this particular release but who cares when the songwriting is so damn good? TON are masters of their craft and they are able to seamlessly go from aggressive hardcore to melancholic goth metal. The band shows just as much finesse with their sludgy, Sabbath-inspired riffs and melodic choruses. Naturally, they has been doing this sort of thing for years but on Dead Again the songwriting is noticeably more inspired and appealing. Just check out the faux-power ballad "September Sun" with its IMMENSE refrain or the spiritually uplifting "Halloween In Hell" with excellent guest vocals by Lycia's own Tara Vanflower (and lyrics suggesting that rock gods such as Bon Scott and John Bonham all jam in heaven - a truly beautiful notion, no?). Songs like "Some Stupid Tomorrow" and "The Profit Of Doom" contrast clearly with these beautiful moments by offering heavy riffs, fast hardcore drumming and aggressive growls from Lord Peterus (something he hasn't done in years).

What else can I say? Musically speaking this is probably Type O Negative's finest moment. "Return to form" is such a cliché that is being thrown around by everybody but it really applies here. Lets hope these guys die again…. and again…. and again…


Band profile: Type O Negative
Album: Dead Again


 



Written on 15.03.2007 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 152  
Search this topic:  


Baz Anderson - 15.03.2007 at 03:07  
oooooo
this band are quite possibly the only gothic-y sort of band that I have the slightest bit of intrest in (sorry gothic fans)
I really enjoyed their last album but maybe I just enjoyed the parts that the already existing fans of the band didnt like..
oh well - lets give this one a go then!!
Firewalker - 15.03.2007 at 03:57  
Well, the last album was a real crap, I hope you'll be ok 'cause I'm gonna buy the new album...

P.D Why did you put any "qualification" about the album?
(sorry for he bad english)

J.Nava (Mexico)
Opium - 15.03.2007 at 04:37  
Written by Baz Anderson on 15.03.2007 at 03:07

oooooo
this band are quite possibly the only gothic-y sort of band that I have the slightest bit of intrest in (sorry gothic fans)
I really enjoyed their last album but maybe I just enjoyed the parts that the already existing fans of the band didnt like..
oh well - lets give this one a go then!!

What? No love for Moonspell all of a sudden?

I think I'll give it a spin, I sure hope it's worth its wait.
Richard - 15.03.2007 at 05:35  
Are any of the lyrics about Rasputin, as there's a picture of him on the cover?
Susan - 15.03.2007 at 09:19  
I gotta be honest, when the tempo picked up and the vocals came in on the first track I felt like I was listening to the Ramones for a second.

Good album overall though, and nice review
SETHULHU - 15.03.2007 at 11:19  
whern i first heard the album i was in a state of shock and disbelief, for two reasons.

this is either their best album they ever made, or the worst. i need to listen more and more to better judge. (but knowing me i will love it )

TON are finally back.
Bad English - 15.03.2007 at 12:31  
Written by Richard on 15.03.2007 at 05:35

Are any of the lyrics about Rasputin, as there's a picture of him on the cover?

Hmm where are the lyrics I cant find them

Hmm i dunno who are that guy, but album ist about Russia in 19th century till comunists start rulle 1918 its for shure, thay even use kyrlic there
Buta lbum are about that time
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Russia#Imperial_Russia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Russia#Imperial_Russia_since_the_Decembrist_Revolt_.281825.E2.80.931917.29]here

Well yes its Rasputin in cover
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rasputin

Hope those articls help you understand album. even that part are one of fcukest and hardest and part of history , so boring that I didnt choose it in my uni
Thryce - 15.03.2007 at 14:02  
Written by Bad English on 15.03.2007 at 12:31

Hmm i dunno who are that guy, but album ist about Russia in 19th century till comunists start rulle 1918 its for shure, thay even use kyrlic there

Well yes its Rasputin in cover
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rasputin

Instead of reading long pages of Russian history, be more productive and go to this Wikipedia page

"The cover photo is a portrayal of Russian mystic Grigori Rasputin, and likewise the lettering is faux-Cyrillic font."

Bad English - 15.03.2007 at 14:17  
Written by Thryce on 15.03.2007 at 14:02

Written by Bad English on 15.03.2007 at 12:31

Hmm i dunno who are that guy, but album ist about Russia in 19th century till comunists start rulle 1918 its for shure, thay even use kyrlic there

Well yes its Rasputin in cover
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rasputin

Instead of reading long pages of Russian history, be more productive and go to this Wikipedia page

"The cover photo is a portrayal of Russian mystic Grigori Rasputin, and likewise the lettering is faux-Cyrillic font."




Well Russian history are long and complicated, full whit mistaced
About cyrlic think it invite ortodox monks when preach cristianity in some slavic countries, so thay take something from greek caracters and made kyrlic, nowdays it use Russia, Belarrusia, Ukraina, Bulgaria, Serbia, Bosnia and Macedonia.
Opium - 16.03.2007 at 15:40  
I heard the whole album minutes ago, very happy with the sound and I can most definitely say that "Dead Again" is a return to form for this band, mind you, I did like a few tracks on "Life Is Killing Me". I'd personally give this album an 8.5/10, not the best, although it is worth a good listen!
Nickwillnotbe - 17.03.2007 at 02:45  
Hmmm so far, I think I like the album. Not as much as October Rust, but that album will never be topped for me. I much prefer it to Life is Killing me though. Nice mix of World Coming Down, October Rust, and even The Origin of Feces and Slow, Deep, Hard. Not bad. 8/10
Adalmetal - 04.04.2007 at 00:25  
first time i heard this album, i thought that it was similar to life is killing me, wich i like but is not the best thing TON has made, but when i listened it a couples of times i realize that is better than life is killing me. And it really is a good album, though it may not be the best these guys have made, but still has good cuality. i'll give it a 8/10. A great album but not like World coming down, Bloddy kisses or October rust. Worth to listen...
Danny Thomas - 11.04.2007 at 21:59  
Written by SETHULHU on 15.03.2007 at 11:19

whern i first heard the album i was in a state of shock and disbelief, for two reasons.

this is either their best album they ever made, or the worst. i need to listen more and more to better judge. (but knowing me i will love it )

TON are finally back.


i agree, im listening to it a second time through right now, and i think its already growing on me. there is a very good variety of songs on this album, and a few of them suprise me about halfway through.
satanic_chick - 09.05.2007 at 17:05  
uhh this album is good. bein waiting ages (more like years) for it to come out! Love all the tracks on the album, it kinda reminds me of Bloody Kisses album. Love the femals vocals in it, personally I would rate is a good 8/10!!
Got to say love Gothic metal
White Winter Sun - 23.05.2007 at 13:21  
A video for "Profit of Doom" is available on Youtube.
Bad English - 13.07.2007 at 10:32  
Finaly I hear it hehhe good album

Awsome album seems band put ewery music elements what thay had used into past albums, I hear here elements of ewery past song, ewery song lil' coppy hhehehhe also lyrics are good, but somehow i feel thay write them because thay need not because of lonly insiprations and lonlyness inspirated how into past
Uirapuru - 13.04.2010 at 20:11  
Somewhat different and a good comeback after two mediocre albums. But I would''nt say that this one is better than Bloody Kisses or October Rust.

Average/good album only.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Type O Negative - Dead Again 7.5 27.09.2011 by musicalkaratekid
News Type O Negative - Peter Steele Dead At 48? 6 15.04.2010 by DayFly
Reviews Type O Negative - Bloody Kisses 5.5 03.10.2007 by dismaleuphony
News Type O Negative - US Tour Dates 5 16.09.2009 by Baz Anderson
Albums Type O Negative - Christian Woman [Single] 4.5 24.12.2011 by Grimskallen



Hits total: 6963 | This month: 43