Rating:
6.6
Satyricon - Now, Diabolical
24 April 2006


01. Now, Diabolical
02. K.I.N.G
03. The Pentagram Burns
04. A New Enemy
05. The Rite Of Our Cross
06. That Darkness Shall Be Eternal
07. Delirium
08. To The Mountains
09. Storm (Of The Destroyer) [bonus]


Now, Diabolical is yet another album from a continuously evolving band. As far as most of Satyricon's early fans think, the band simply died after Nemesis Divinia. Despite this way of thinking, Satyricon have continued along the path they have chosen, and have gotten new fans who are more into their new brand of music. Both Satyr and Frost have said in interviews that Satyricon nowadays is a disciplined unit trying to make good songs. This discipline is achieved by them in this album, but for me personally it takes away that atmosphere and ancient sound that was typical of the band's early albums. Well this review is not going to be about how "kvlt" or otherwise Satyricon is. Instead it's going to be mainly about the album and the musicianship depicted in it.

The first thing I noticed about this album was its crystal clear production. If you feel that Black Metal needs better production, this album is just ideal for you. The mixing is actually brilliantly executed and even Satyr's vocals are clear enough to hear, which is a stark contrast to Dark Medieval Times.

In terms of the riffs, I found them quite original and creative at times and they seem to have few similarities with other bands of their genre. The tempo of individual tracks remains the same throughout but tends to vary with each other. The result is that we have a list of tracks which all move along in their own tempo. This somehow takes away the aura of the album and makes it easier on the ears. Quite a few of the songs are quite catchy and you may find yourself nodding in time with it every now and then. If you have never heard Black Metal before, this would probably be a good album to start with.

There are both good and bad things about this album and as far as I'm concerned, one of its highlights is "The Pentagram Burns". It's quite a typical name for a Black Metal song but I found it to be quite impressive. It's easily one of the best tracks on the album and is definitely the type of song that Satan would be proud to call his own.

Having said that though, it's just like the rest of the album, very precise and calculated. Precision and accuracy have never been what Black Metal has been about over the years. What this album really needs is a bit of dirt and a bit more passion. The drums are almost restrained and held back. Even the guitars seem to be too controlled and calculated. Frost's lack of destructive brilliance is painfully obvious compared to what we know he can produce.

Musically it's similar to Volcano but slightly heavier and the songs are just plain better. I understand that they want to appeal to a wider audience and with this album they probably will. This time they fully absorb and embrace their "sell-out" status and they achieve what they wanted to do with this album. If you thought their old albums were godlike and their newer material was too bad to be true, this album will not change your mind. On the other hand, if you like better production skills, control and catchy songs, this one's a keeper.

Performance: 4
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Satyricon
Album: Now, Diabolical


 


written by Himann | 29.03.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 38  
Users visited: 157  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 29.03.2007 at 14:53  
Maybe the rating is too low IMO, anyway this isn't their best album surely!
The songs are pretty catchy but it's not my problem... The real problem is that they are not so good... My rating: 7
|Angela| - 29.03.2007 at 16:51  
I definitely agree with the fact that they seem to be held back some how. Both Frost and Satyr really seem to be overly precise and slow in this one. Good review IMO.
Basso - 29.03.2007 at 17:08  
I found this album really horrible, its kinda strange since I actually enjoyed Volcano and Rebel Extravaganza. But this is just to damn boring. Its like all of the songs on this album are like Fuel For Hatred from volcano... Really lame album in my opinion.

Well anyway good review!
Sunioj - 29.03.2007 at 21:49  
lol, what happenned to the other Now diabolical album review? At least this one is accurate, too marilyn mansonish for me and the music videos make me gag.
Christ_13 - 30.03.2007 at 15:54  
for me is not that bad, i would give it a 7-7,5, but it seems that satyricon lacks of inspiration and just made a album to apeal to some mtv fans :p don´t have the right atmosphere and feeling..
Himann - 30.03.2007 at 23:38  
Thanks for the comments. Yeah I didn't just want to review albums which I liked all the time so hence my review here.

@Hellraizer, I didn't see any other Now, Diabolical review actually. And yeah the music video's have a bit left to be desired lol.

@cradle of bodom, I thought about a 7 and actually gave it a seven at first but I really thing the rating was appropriate considering everything..
Sunioj - 05.04.2007 at 20:52  
Written by Himann on 30.03.2007 at 23:38

@Hellraizer, I didn't see any other Now, Diabolical review actually. And yeah the music video's have a bit left to be desired lol.


I think the other review was deleted...there was some unpleasant comments as far as I remember
APOHAKC - 07.04.2007 at 22:35  
Nice written man, I completely agree with you about fucking everything on this one!

Now, Diabolical, now!
dismaleuphony - 09.04.2007 at 00:15  
Considering I felt this to be my black metal album of 2006, I obviously am at odds with this review. I still think it's silly when people call music like this "sell-out" music, because I can guarantee you none of my non-metal friends would stand to listen to this for a single minute. Personally, I find this music innovative, and performed very deliberately and with strength. A great drumming performance is not defined by constant aggressiveness IMO, but intelligence. I don't think any band "needs" to put more "dirt" into their music - they can do whatever they want - boundaries and requirements are mere limitations to artistic expression!
Himann - 09.04.2007 at 18:31  
@dismaleuphony, you are of course entitled to ur openion
Linak - 18.04.2007 at 07:47  
All in all I just wonder why you rated it so low if, and excuse me if I'm mistaken, you seem to be speaking rather highly about the album.
Himann - 18.04.2007 at 20:01  
Written by Linak on 18.04.2007 at 07:47

All in all I just wonder why you rated it so low if, and excuse me if I'm mistaken, you seem to be speaking rather highly about the album.


I think the last two sentences in the review would answer your question. I belong to the group of people who are in sentence A rather than sentence B. Good production doesn't make a good album in my openion. Satyricon were way too held back and restricted in this album. The album comprised of tracks of the same tempo but varying with each other which resulted in the album lacking efficient continuity..

When I wrote this review I tried to list as many facts as I could about this album rather than just flame it.. If you like those facts about it, its to your taste.. I'll excuse you for ur mistake
DigitalGrind - 23.09.2007 at 17:57  
I'know and see that many headbangers are talking about this album not so good but it's normal that bands are changing their sounds,it would be not to interesting if every album of them were like Nemesis Divina,so personally i think that this is some kick ass album and one of 2006 best albums,it's brutal with good lyrics fuckin medival sounds and with blasting vox.
gojko88 - 30.12.2007 at 02:15  
IMO, this is Satyricon's finest moment. Mother North will be Mother North, but this is the essence of black metal extracted. Just take away all the "grim", "frostbitten" and "kvlt" elements away and there you have it. Pure energy flowing all over, relying on nothing but aggressive, catchy riffs. I can't wait for next autumn and the new album.
Pétur - 31.12.2007 at 01:22  
this was such a letdown, Satyricon had never dissapionted me before I even enjoyed Vulcano. but this is just a crap album, it is basicly vulcano but stripped off all that made it good and made radio friendly. all the songs sound the same and the album is nowhere near agressive as claim to be. the catchyness is good in the beginning but the more you listen to it, the more awefull and monetone it gets and even worse the horrible songs will stick in your head the whole time. I am also shocked how any one could vote this for best black metal album of 2006! come on 2006 was a great year for black metal, so no excuse for picking this garbage.
Suite-Pee - 29.01.2008 at 19:51  
This is a good albumn for those who want to get into black metal, as it isn'[t as "necro" as some. Personazlly, I really enjoyed it, Satyr's vocals are excellent, as well as being decipherable, so we can appreciate his lyrics. My only qualm is that alot of the vocals seem to follow the same pattern.
I'd give it 7 1/2
dismaleuphony - 30.01.2008 at 15:13  
Written by Pétur on 31.12.2007 at 01:22

this was such a letdown, Satyricon had never dissapionted me before I even enjoyed Vulcano. but this is just a crap album, it is basicly vulcano but stripped off all that made it good and made radio friendly. all the songs sound the same and the album is nowhere near agressive as claim to be. the catchyness is good in the beginning but the more you listen to it, the more awefull and monetone it gets and even worse the horrible songs will stick in your head the whole time. I am also shocked how any one could vote this for best black metal album of 2006! come on 2006 was a great year for black metal, so no excuse for picking this garbage.

I proudly stand by this CD as my choice for my favorite black metal album of 2006, as it showed genuine innovation into the black metal scene.
deathovertime - 29.08.2008 at 00:11  
Personally I found this album boring, the songs and the rhythm just seem to sound the same throughout. But I do think there are better black metal albums to listen to for people who are new to the genre, I wouldn't particularly recommend this one.
Ascendant187 - 03.03.2009 at 08:37  
I think if you take into consideration Satyricon's previous works there's very little doubt you're going to be disappointed by this release. Having said that, and keeping it in mind, I don't think this is a terrible album.

As has been mentioned there's a cold precision evident throughout the album, almost to the point where it seems clinical. I don't find that to be a bad thing at all but I do agree that, if you were to listen to the album right the way through on a couple of ocassions without a break, you'd get a little annoyed. The monotony would be too much, I think. Seperate spins or just listening to a few tracks is definitely the way to go and to ultimately enjoy this album for what it is - which is, I guess, "black 'n roll" lol.
Uirapuru - 13.06.2009 at 05:51  
Pretty fair review. I kinda liked this album, but its really any big deal. ''Age of Nero'' was bad also, decadence approaching.
Slayer666 - 15.06.2009 at 00:44  
Hmm.... Is it just me, or is the reviewer a bit hypocritical? He keeps pointing out the good things about the album, says that he doesn't rate it by "kvltness", in fact, acording to the review, he seems to think very positevely of it. Yet, I see an average grade of 6.6. What the heck is that? Or perhaps he was trying to somehow use the number 666? Quite a mystery we have here.
Himann - 15.06.2009 at 12:09  
Written by Slayer666 on 15.06.2009 at 00:44

Hmm.... Is it just me, or is the reviewer a bit hypocritical? He keeps pointing out the good things about the album, says that he doesn't rate it by "kvltness", in fact, acording to the review, he seems to think very positevely of it. Yet, I see an average grade of 6.6. What the heck is that? Or perhaps he was trying to somehow use the number 666? Quite a mystery we have here.

Not that mysterious. I reviewed it the way I listened to it. I did not say that my points were positive. I listed the points without bias so that the reader can determine for themselves whether they like the album or not. They may be positive to you, but not necessarily to me hence the lower rating. If you find the points positive, then this album is worthy of a listen for you.
lord artan - 02.07.2009 at 23:50  
Why rating 6.6 this is good album
i love satyricon because best black metal after myhem and burzum
satyricon forever
Slayer666 - 19.08.2009 at 10:11  
Written by Himann on 15.06.2009 at 12:09

Written by Slayer666 on 15.06.2009 at 00:44

Hmm.... Is it just me, or is the reviewer a bit hypocritical? He keeps pointing out the good things about the album, says that he doesn't rate it by "kvltness", in fact, acording to the review, he seems to think very positevely of it. Yet, I see an average grade of 6.6. What the heck is that? Or perhaps he was trying to somehow use the number 666? Quite a mystery we have here.

Not that mysterious. I reviewed it the way I listened to it. I did not say that my points were positive. I listed the points without bias so that the reader can determine for themselves whether they like the album or not. They may be positive to you, but not necessarily to me hence the lower rating. If you find the points positive, then this album is worthy of a listen for you.

Haha, don't get me wrong, I think the album sucks some serious balls. K.I.N.G. and Pentagram Burns are catchy, but that's about all this album offers.
Motionless - 08.10.2009 at 00:42  
This album was the demise of satyricon for me. I was a fun of Satyr's work up until this release. I still remember the shity taste it left in my mouth after the first listening. From Dark medieval times, Shadothrone's atmosphere, Nemesis Divina's greatnes, Rebel Extravaganza's musical rebellion and innovation, Volcano was ok(for satyricon standards) giving hope for the future, then to this Radio friendly cathy and illustrated it is som much inferior to their previous releases. The review is nicely written but soft on the album. On the other hand I was so dissapointed from this album that I cannot say a single good word about it. Age of Nero was also bad. Lets see what's coming next
Lord_Regnier - 08.10.2009 at 00:49  
Written by Uirapuru on 13.06.2009 at 05:51

''Age of Nero'' was bad also, decadence approaching.


I think the decadence has started long ago. Imo, Satyricon's first three albums are masterpieces.
However, this band took a downward spiral since "Rebel Extravaganza".
To be honest, I think nothing they have done after "Nemesis Divina" is worth listening to.
Marcel Hubregtse - 08.10.2009 at 08:12  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 08.10.2009 at 00:49

Written by Uirapuru on 13.06.2009 at 05:51

''Age of Nero'' was bad also, decadence approaching.


I think the decadence has started long ago. Imo, Satyricon's first three albums are masterpieces.
However, this band took a downward spiral since "Rebel Extravaganza".
To be honest, I think nothing they have done after "Nemesis Divina" is worth listening to.


for me it's actually the other way around anything before Nemesis Divina is not worth listening to.
Lord_Regnier - 08.10.2009 at 13:56  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.10.2009 at 08:12

Written by Lord_Regnier on 08.10.2009 at 00:49

Written by Uirapuru on 13.06.2009 at 05:51

''Age of Nero'' was bad also, decadence approaching.


I think the decadence has started long ago. Imo, Satyricon's first three albums are masterpieces.
However, this band took a downward spiral since "Rebel Extravaganza".
To be honest, I think nothing they have done after "Nemesis Divina" is worth listening to.


for me it's actually the other way around anything before Nemesis Divina is not worth listening to.


Really? Personally, I can't stand the Rock'n'Roll feel Satyricon's recent songs have.
I don't want to be unpleasant but I would summarize it like that:

The first 3 albums are raw Black Metal classics. Black'n'Roll sucks and leads nowhere. When BM bands start to sound as if they want to imitate Hellhammer or Motorhead, I loose all interest in them because I never liked those shitty old bands.
By the way, I have no intention to talk about what I call 'the modern Shittirycon' for pages.
DoomGuard - 13.11.2009 at 20:41  
I dont think i can agree with anyone here, in fact this album is my favorite from Satyricon, the riffs are simply unmatched from their previous stuff, best songs on the album are the top 4 and #8, those songs are seriously in my top 10 Satyricon songs no joke
SatyriconChick - 14.11.2009 at 17:23  
I can't believe the average rating of this album is 6.6! This is great stuff, so I have to scratch my head with wonder. As I said in the 'Satyricon' thread, I love everything they've ever done. I think they've evolved and progressed with each album. I actually love that no two Satyricon albums sound alike. To me, it gets boring when a band puts out the same stuff year after year.
Lord_Regnier - 14.11.2009 at 21:09  
Written by SatyriconChick on 14.11.2009 at 17:23

I think they've evolved and progressed with each album. I actually love that no two Satyricon albums sound alike. To me, it gets boring when a band puts out the same stuff year after year.


Yeah, they 'evolved' from a great Black Metal band into a shitty commercial pseudo Black Metal for the masses act. Perfect example of when a band changes for the worst.
You can spare me such 'evolution'.
SatyriconChick - 14.11.2009 at 21:57  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 14.11.2009 at 21:09

Written by SatyriconChick on 14.11.2009 at 17:23

I think they've evolved and progressed with each album. I actually love that no two Satyricon albums sound alike. To me, it gets boring when a band puts out the same stuff year after year.


Yeah, they 'evolved' from a great Black Metal band into a shitty commercial pseudo Black Metal for the masses act. Perfect example of when a band changes for the worst.
You can spare me such 'evolution'.


If you don't like it, then guess what? You don't have to listen. Judging from interviews I've read, I don't think the band care. There are a lot of people who like their last two releases, so it shouldn't really be any skin off their noses.
BitterCOld - 14.11.2009 at 22:45  
Well done review, agree with the score. frankly, i just find their last couple albums fairly boring. i really liked "Volcano" - there was at least some differentiation in the songs, it seemed. with the last couple Satyricon albums the songs basically had the same feel and same tempo. if you are not paying attention, it's tough to tell when one song ended and the next began. only the chorus gives you an idea.
Lord_Regnier - 15.11.2009 at 22:32  
Written by SatyriconChick on 14.11.2009 at 21:57

Written by Lord_Regnier on 14.11.2009 at 21:09

Written by SatyriconChick on 14.11.2009 at 17:23

I think they've evolved and progressed with each album. I actually love that no two Satyricon albums sound alike. To me, it gets boring when a band puts out the same stuff year after year.


Yeah, they 'evolved' from a great Black Metal band into a shitty commercial pseudo Black Metal for the masses act. Perfect example of when a band changes for the worst.
You can spare me such 'evolution'.


Judging from interviews I've read, I don't think the band care. There are a lot of people who like their last two releases, so it shouldn't really be any skin off their noses.



So what? They can think whatever they want and I couldn't care less.
It's only music that matters to me. The opinion of musicians, I don't need and can spare.
I highly doubt the opinion of strangers who live in foreign countries and whom I will never meet in life can make even the slightest change in my life.
SatyriconChick - 16.11.2009 at 04:51  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 15.11.2009 at 22:32

Written by SatyriconChick on 14.11.2009 at 21:57

Written by Lord_Regnier on 14.11.2009 at 21:09

Written by SatyriconChick on 14.11.2009 at 17:23

I think they've evolved and progressed with each album. I actually love that no two Satyricon albums sound alike. To me, it gets boring when a band puts out the same stuff year after year.


Yeah, they 'evolved' from a great Black Metal band into a shitty commercial pseudo Black Metal for the masses act. Perfect example of when a band changes for the worst.
You can spare me such 'evolution'.


Judging from interviews I've read, I don't think the band care. There are a lot of people who like their last two releases, so it shouldn't really be any skin off their noses.



So what? They can think whatever they want and I couldn't care less.
It's only music that matters to me. The opinion of musicians, I don't need and can spare.
I highly doubt the opinion of strangers who live in foreign countries and whom I will never meet in life can make even the slightest change in my life.


Yeah, so good for you. Listen to whatever you like and I'll listen to whatever I like. But complaining about what you don't like back and forth just because you disagree with my personal opinions is seriously getting old. Move on.
Marcel Hubregtse - 16.11.2009 at 14:46  
Satyricon for me is a band that got way better with their new albums than their old ones. Way more orignal nowadays and have created a sound of their own whereas their first couple of albums were strongly influenced by the other Norwegian black metal bands of the time.
Plus they are more less the epitome of what black metal is all about... Not giving a fuck what other people think.
Also calling the music they now play commercial is ridiculous. Cause they have sold less with their newer albums than with their overrated old ones.

This is certainly a case of a band changing for the best. Emperor is another example. Whereas Dimmu Borgir is one that changed for the worse.
Pétur - 17.11.2009 at 01:55  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 16.11.2009 at 14:46


Also calling the music they now play commercial is ridiculous. Cause they have sold less with their newer albums than with their overrated old ones.


Proof?source? if it's true then good riddance service them right. For their over pretentious attempt to sell out. I actually find it hilarious when people claim that Satyricon do it to give the middle finger to kvlt black metallers and they "reinvent" with atrocious commercial albums such as this one and The Age of Zero. really there is no real change except that Now, Diabolical is vulcano but made radio rock, hell they don't even hide it and there clips of Now, Diabolical and The age of Zero and their really wannabe tough rockstar looks now days.
Lord_Regnier - 20.11.2009 at 00:52  
Written by Pétur on 17.11.2009 at 01:55

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 16.11.2009 at 14:46


Also calling the music they now play commercial is ridiculous. Cause they have sold less with their newer albums than with their overrated old ones.


Proof?source? if it's true then good riddance service them right. For their over pretentious attempt to sell out. I actually find it hilarious when people claim that Satyricon do it to give the middle finger to kvlt black metallers and they "reinvent" with atrocious commercial albums such as this one and The Age of Zero. really there is no real change except that Now, Diabolical is vulcano but made radio rock, hell they don't even hide it and there clips of Now, Diabolical and The age of Zero and their really wannabe tough rockstar looks now days.


As much as I usually agree with you, Marcel, allow me to disagree totally on this one.
So, the new albums sell less than the old ones? Perfectly normal, if you ask me. It's because the old albums are immensely superior to the worthless crap Shittirycon are doing nowadays.

The word 'commercial' is not a matter of sales but a matter of musical direction, of attitude.

I agree with you, Pétur: atrocious commercial albums.

Also, about this 'giving the middle finger to kvlt black metallers' argument some people use to defend bands like Satyricon and Darkthrone, it's no more than a lame excuse to release worthless garbage that sounds kinda like crappy old bands (Motorhead, Hellhammer, etc).
And where's the originality in trying to sound like boring outdated bands?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Satyricon - Now, Diabolical 6 15.02.2010 by elekctric
Extreme metal forum Satyricon 3 19.07.2006 by matos
News Satyricon - Frost Breaks Leg 3 30.11.2007 by Warman
News Evile - Guitarist Fractures Jaw, Band Leaves Satyricon Tour 1.5 21.11.2008 by wrathchild
Promotion and Ads The Rodeo Idiot Engine "Consequences" LP out now + free DL 1.5 04.09.2013 by Throatruiner



Hits total: 4302 | This month: 38