Rating:
9.0
I - Between Two Worlds
3 November 2006


01. The Storm I Ride
02. Warriors
03. Between Two Worlds
04. Battalions
05. Mountains
06. Days Of North Winds
07. Far Beyond The Quiet
08. Cursed We Are
09. Bridges Of Fire [limited edition bonus]
10. Shadowed Realms Intro [limited edition bonus]
11. Shadowed Realms [limited edition bonus]


It's been three years since Immortal front man Olve "Abbath" Eikemo decided to split during the summer of 2003, blowing the black flame out on his mighty Immortal. However, in mid-October 2005, Abbath, Demonaz, and original Immortal drummer Armagedda reunited, and along with ex-Gorgoroth bassist King Ov Hell and Enslaved guitarist Arve Isdal, they began work on a new project, dubbed I. Furthermore, with the reunion of Immortal for some European Festivals like Tuska and Wacken Open Air, it appears that their absence is nothing more than some temporary hiatus. As we wait for the next album of Immortal, you can be sure that I and their debut full length 'Between Two Worlds' will regain the lost throne of Immortal.

Seriously, what do you expect from a veritable Black Metal all-star line up? For me, it's much more than I expected. Clearly Abbath has written some of the strongest metal riffs in recent years, and that's counting impressive comebacks from masters like Slayer, Iron Maiden and Motorhead. The thundering opening of 'The Storm I Ride' is simply great and the title tracks' main riff contains some countermelodies that further awake songs in memory, the likes of which haven't been heard since Motorhead's Ace Of Spades. Just two highlights among many.

As I said, Between Two Worlds was much more than I expected, I was waiting for an album which incorporates elements in the vein of Venom and the now fallen black metal godfather of Bathory, but surprisingly enough, this album isn't an underground hatched job. Quite the contrary, you can find raw and fast blasting aggression that covers the area in a heavy black metal atmosphere. Forget your boring 'kvlt' black metal sound; here we have an amazing masterpiece of modern day black metal. Needless to mention that I is not Immortal, so you will find some rock 'n' roll elements as if it was Motorhead combinations.

The only problem in Between Two Worlds is Abbath's vocals. He kept the same vocals of Damned In Black, so quite naturally, it wouldn't be excellent, but honestly, Abbath isn't challenging Bruce Dickinson or Rob Halford. Basically, he sounds like Lemmy Kilmister, with shades of Alice Cooper.

Between Two Worlds, is a solid debut for 'I' and will easily fall in my top 20 albums for 2006. No doubt, it will please the majority of Immortal's fans as well as the hardcore fans. And as far as I'm concerned, I won't cease on calling for Immortal's quick return. Trust me, this album rocks…yes it rocks.

Watch out for the Digi/Limited Edition which features 3 bonus tracks.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: I
Album: Between Two Worlds


 


written by Mindheist | 30.03.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 163  
Search this topic:  


SiLenTShadoW - 31.03.2007 at 00:55  
Nice review of a great album. I got it just a couple days ago and I simply love it. Any fan of Immortal needs to check out this album.
Christ_13 - 31.03.2007 at 15:08  
It' s not that good! I would give it a 8.
Christ_13 - 31.03.2007 at 15:09  
And 10 in Originality.. pufff!! I don't think so.. :p
Mindheist - 01.04.2007 at 00:44  
@Christ_13: Well, I've clearly shown my opinion, I've listened to it 1 month before writing this review, so I can say that Between Two Worlds deserves to be a 9 rated review. Now about the originality, I firmly said that Abbath has written some of the strongest metal riffs in recent years in the vein of Slayer, Iron Maiden and Motorhead, so for a black metal band, yes it is, I've never seen a band turning to another style in a such almost-perfect way. If you don't agree with me, that's ok but tell me why. Saying "pufff!! I don't think so" is very unprofessional.
Himann - 01.04.2007 at 09:15  
I dislike the Motorhead sound to it. Very demeaning somehow. Way too high rating IMO. Even 8 would have been acceptable. Few tracks are ok and its quite easy to listen but after listening to Immortal for so many years now, this is really quite ordinary..! Maybe someone who likes a bit of contemporary style Black Metal would really like it. I may give it a 7 max..
Kaamos - 01.04.2007 at 10:40  
Agree with Himann here. I don't get what people see so special in this, apart from Abbath & Immortal connection. Ok, there are some good moments (in the spirit of later Immortal, the easy-listening bm we all love) but I'd give it probably 6 or 7.
|Angela| - 01.04.2007 at 12:51  
I agree with the others. The rating is just too high for this album. I liked the album to some extent but its not good enough for 9. Maybe 7.
Basso - 02.04.2007 at 12:19  
I was quite puzzled about this cd when I bought it, I mean it was really good, but at the same time, it got boring so incredibly fast. I liked your review, but I would probably rate it lower.
Judas - 02.04.2007 at 15:29  
It is a good album, but I agree that it drops lower in my ratings each listen. At first, I thought it was amazingly awesome. Now, I'd give it a 7.5, probably. It's definitely worth checking out, but at the same time it doesn't captivate the listener as much as it ought to.
Mindheist - 02.04.2007 at 23:10  
Thank you all for your comments. I think you're right, It deserves an 8. Unfortunately I can't edit my ratings. Otherwise, I advise you to listen to it more than once, as I said, I was listening to it one month before reviewing it, with each repeated listen I discovered something new that could be described as something between lines, something that we can't easily discover it with 4 or 5 times per day. So please give it another chance and listen to it, not because it's an impressive return of Abbath or because it's an album from an all-star lineup but because Between Two Worlds deserves your intentions. Thank you.
Dirt pride - 17.04.2007 at 15:58  
I think this albums great, good review, i would give it an 8 because i dont really think you can listen to it for too long without the guitar drone getting samey.
vapotrini - 05.07.2007 at 20:29  
Totally agree with your 9 rating. Terrific album, been listening to it for ages and I can't seem to tire of it.
Doc Godin - 11.09.2007 at 02:44  
Great album, decent review. Motorhead being my favorite band I naturally loved this BM influenced motorhead style heavy metal instantly. Good review.
Ehrosmedor - 11.12.2007 at 21:57  
Everyone is talking about what it sounds like, and not one of you have said that it sounds like Immortal. well, This sounds like Immortal, rocking your fucking socks off! cheesy voice and bad lyrics, PERFECT black metal party songs! I should of have given it a 5 if i wouldn't such a fan of Immortal, but just because i am, its a nice 8. But thats just my opinion, and if the reviewer thinks its a 9. He probably believes thats the appropriates rating!
Damnated - 12.12.2007 at 13:51  
this album was a good listen in the first week it came out, but it just gets boring ever since. i can't even listen to it anymore.
DrunkenFuck - 19.12.2007 at 09:54  
I totally agree with the score, I might even give a higher one. It's such a great album, I've been listening to it for a couple of months and I can't get enough of it.
pdepmcp - 21.07.2008 at 18:04  
I think it's a really weak record. mostly due to weak vocals, but even due to a rock attitude that is quite annoying and uninspired (you compare it Mothorhead, well I can agree only if you are referring to their worst records...).
it trys to recall Immortal later works with an even more easy listening approach...after the first full listening it started to get annoying and disappointing....It's a record to listen, consume and throw away in a few days.

some songs are nice though, and it deserves respect for trying another (new? uhm...not) way instead of the most secure one.

a 6 is the max I could give it.
Kasper - 15.01.2009 at 14:29  
I agree with many that it will become boring after a while.. But like I do with many other bands I get tired of, I simply put them away, and at later time I will listen to them again - for me it's like listening to them for the first time.
Ragana - 23.01.2009 at 19:56  
I think this album is awesome. Pretty many catchy songs I liked when I first listened this album.
Anyway, you can't give this album 10, because after a while it sounds boring.
Daggon - 15.03.2009 at 04:21  
Great songs, I like Immortal trademark voice and the Venom/Motorhead feeling on this album, nothing groundbreaking or fresh but still a great album to simply enjoy. This is something I can listen when I'm on my way to school.
silenius - 13.06.2009 at 02:06  
Great album, im a huge immortal fan but i dont think that thiseven should be remotly connected to thier works(thou i as everyone else se the infliction of them upon the music) because this is a totaly exluded band, i would give it a 8, great groove and a rock n roll feeling that gives me a party mood unlike any other, listened to it for some time now and it still grows on me, at the start i tought it wasnt above ordinary but it just keeps getting better.
terrorist - 17.06.2009 at 07:42  
Absolute great album.Originality,Performance everything is great!!!!This is something new in Metal music definitely.
In Bone Factory - 30.08.2009 at 14:31  
Great Album, Great Review, The Great Abbath, The Great I, The Great Immortal, The Great Lemmy, The Greatest Motorhead.
9/10 and it deserves this.
Lord_Regnier - 30.08.2009 at 15:42  
Written by pdepmcp on 21.07.2008 at 18:04

I think it's a really weak record. mostly due to weak vocals, but even due to a rock attitude that is quite annoying and uninspired


I agree. I don't see what special or even remotely interesting some people find in this album.
Even if Abbath is on the album, it doesn't sound like Immortal at all. It sounds like Motörhead, a band I always disliked.

And yes, it doesn't sound like Black Metal but like very old school metal and Rock'n'Roll. Outdated and boring.

Imo, it's a totally useless record that brings nothing new, innovative or interesting. Let's just hope Abbath won't have the bad idea to do something similar with "All Shall Fall". We'll see next month.
Yojimbo - 06.12.2010 at 08:05  
How am I just learning about this band now?
Sonic MrSumo - 18.01.2011 at 01:15  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 30.08.2009 at 15:42


And yes, it doesn't sound like Black Metal but like very old school metal and Rock'n'Roll. Outdated and boring.



I agree with the first part of this comment, but certainly not the second. I love this album! It has so many hooks in it, I can't help but to it!
Yuyu - 02.10.2011 at 03:17  
Before an Demonaz album, we're waiting for the new I album. Masters...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums I - Between Two Worlds 6 31.08.2011 by Night Sight
Extreme metal forum I - Between Two Worlds 4.5 18.09.2006 by
Reviews Obsidian Sea - Between Two Deserts 4 14.06.2012 by Edmund Fogg
Reviews Decrepit Birth - Diminishing Between Worlds 4 23.07.2008 by Dangerboner
Albums Seventh Avenue - Between The Worlds 3 01.12.2013 by mikeprado30



Hits total: 3734 | This month: 23