Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.0
Drudkh - Кров У Наших Криницях (Blood In Our Wells)
23 March 2006


01. Nav'
02. Furrows Of Gods
03. When The Flame Turns To Ashes
04. Solitude
05. Eternity
06. Ukrainian Insurgent Army


....And then there was Drudkh. A band that has recieved huge recognition the latest years because of their one incredible release after another. Consisting of members from bands such as Astrofaes and Hate Forest, Blood In Our Wells is the fourth creation from this brilliant band hailing from Ukraine and I am here to do nothing less than praise it. Why? Viddy well, little brothers. Viddy well... the reasons are below...

Drudkh plays a unique form of black metal that is slightly comparable to the form of black metal that early Alcest or early Agalloch put out, in that it combines the raw elements of black metal with beautiful melodies of nature and folklore; the result is nothing short of brilliant. The five songs (actually six - the first being an intro) provided on this release are all very well written and combine beautiful riffing with repetitive yet epic drumming and a few solos. The few solos you actually find on this release are all very well written, fit perfectly with the atmosphere, and help the emotions get brought to the listener.

There is also a small amount of bass present on this album but due to the production the bass lines only seem audible occasionally. This, however, isn't a big problem since Drukdh's music does very well without any major focus on bass. The vocal work on this release is basically the same as previous releases of Drudkh: great harsh growls which have a very longing sound to them. The longing vocals of Drukdh really help build the atmosphere that surround this album, and while listening to this album you are sure to feel the spirit of ancient Ukraine sing in your heart.

The riffing mentioned above is not only beautiful but also very well written and provides your ear with a journey through sorrow, pride, longing and to a lesser extent, even joy. The riffing blends perfectly together with the epic drumming and longing vocals but Drudkh wasn't satisfied with just this: they filtered the music through a warm yet raw production that really benefits the album and heightens the listening experience from "great" to "audio orgasm."

There is no actual down side to this album, excluding the fact that people that did not enjoy previous Drudkh releases will absolutely not enjoy this release either: it carries the spirit of Drudkh to 100% but adds a more folky touch to it since previous releases, which will indeed be enjoyed by old Drudkh fans.

To conclude this album is simple: fans of Drukdh, buy it, it's their best release since Autumn Aurora. For those that just so happen to discover Drudkh thanks to this review, don't hesitate to check them out if you are a fan black metal in general. This album is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Drudkh
Album: Кров У Наших Криницях (Blood In Our Wells)


 


written by Basso | 13.04.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 22  
Users visited: 207  
Search this topic:  


Lucas - 13.04.2007 at 10:23  
After 'Autumn Aurora' & 'Forgotten Legends' my favorite from them. Great release, great atmosphere. Indeed a bit more folkier. I only hope they will continue this style and abandon their 'Songs Of Grief And Solitude' style.
Krankheit - 13.04.2007 at 12:37  
Nice review dude. I only have Autumn Aurora, which is a fucking great album. Gonna buy Blood In Our Wells soon as possible.
Spyroid - 13.04.2007 at 12:58  
Nice review!
Basso - 13.04.2007 at 13:03  
Thanks for the comments:

@Nervel : I also hope they continue their sound in the vein of this, its really intressting.

@Kurzag: You wont be dissapointed!

@cracka : Thanks
Krankheit - 05.06.2007 at 21:37  
Fuck! Listening to it now. This is truly one of the best folkloric BM albums ever created.
Desecrator - 16.06.2007 at 12:55  
Drudkh - Blood In Our Wells
Basso - 16.06.2007 at 21:32  
Written by Desecrator on 16.06.2007 at 12:55

Drudkh - Blood In Our Wells


Mind explaining what you mean by simply stating the band and album name?
Desecrator - 17.06.2007 at 10:35  
Great album, a true masterpiece, though i'm not really sure that 'black metal' is an appropriate classification for such a unique band. I think it's pagan metal, and all facets of the band support this statement.
Basso - 17.06.2007 at 11:16  
Written by Desecrator on 17.06.2007 at 10:35

Great album, a true masterpiece, though i'm not really sure that 'black metal' is an appropriate classification for such a unique band. I think it's pagan metal, and all facets of the band support this statement.


I do agree that its a brilliant album, fact is I love it. But lets not bother with the genre, no matter what genre we place it in... It will still be equally good. I wont prevent you from calling it pagan metal or whetever though, each to his own.
Lathronniel - 11.08.2007 at 17:51  
i listened it recently i really must say it's sth above briliant!
Infurnace - 06.09.2007 at 18:35  
Really good album, absolutely. I love the style Drudkh plays! Absolutely brilliant!
VaronoZz - 03.10.2007 at 11:41  
10 of course... One of the best atmospheric albums ever..
Introspekrieg - 30.09.2008 at 08:03  
Drudkh - Blood In Our Wells
Dangerboner - 03.10.2008 at 02:01  
^^^ ?

Thanks for clearing things up lol

Edit - Oh, I see what you did there...
K†ulu - 03.10.2008 at 21:53  
Haha. Seriously wtf?

As far as the album, it's a pretty decent follower of "The Swan Road," which is my favorite by them.
Uirapuru - 04.11.2009 at 08:20  
More and more solos every album XD
Carl Berg - 26.09.2010 at 19:26  
An incredible effort by an extremely talented atmoshperic band. Great review too.
BitterCOld - 29.09.2010 at 00:17  
Blood In Our Wells - Drudkh
Ellrohir - 29.09.2010 at 10:55  
Written by BitterCOld on 29.09.2010 at 00:17

Blood In Our Wells - Drudkh

hell yeah!
Dangerboner - 30.09.2010 at 18:16  
Blood In Our Drudkh - Wells

Oaken - 08.02.2012 at 23:26  
Maybe my favorite by them. I can't decide, the first 4 Drudkh albums are equally great...
BoxCar Willy - 16.02.2012 at 02:57  
Drudkh Wells In Our - Blood

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Drudkh - Кров У Наших Кр 7.5 11.02.2013 by nille
Reviews Drudkh - The Swan Road 4 12.06.2008 by K†ulu
Albums Drudkh - Вічний Оберт Кl 3 17.11.2011 by Oaken
Reviews Ahora - All In Blood With You 2.5 11.03.2009 by Valentin B
Reviews Shadows Fall - Of One Blood 2.5 22.06.2007 by



Hits total: 5286 | This month: 59