Rating:
7.0
Finntroll - Ur Jordens Djup
30 March 2007


Disc I [CD]
01. Gryning
02. Sång
03. Korpens Saga
04. Nedgång
05. Ur Djupet
06. Slagbröder
07. En Mäktig Här
08. Ormhäxan
09. Maktens Spira
10. Under Två Runor
11. Kvällning

Disc II [dualdisc digipak edition DVD]
01. Nattfödd [Live at Wachen open air]
02. Det Iskalla Trollblodet [Live at Wachen open air]


Finnish folk metallers Finntroll have really gained in popularity recently with their last two albums and have really helped put Finnish extreme folk metal on the map. After the success of the last album, expectations for this album were high.

The album kicks off with a three and a half minute introduction track that leads up to the first song on the album "Sång". Especially after the introduction leading up to it I was expecting some marvelous explosion of fast-paced extreme folk metal but the bass guitar and drums kick us into a rather dark sounding, very heavy and mid-tempo Finntroll - not what I was expecting at all. The next song comes along with rhythmic drumming and vocal introduction but there is still nothing with the bounce and fun sound as on previous albums. On first impression it would seem that the fun-loving Finntroll have turned into some kind of methodical dark machine.

Track after track passes and nothing jumps out at you like "Trollhammaren" did for example until the seventh track on the album! "En Mäktig Här" is not a high-tempo song but it includes a little more folkish sounds and although still somewhat dark sounding, the song is probably the most enjoyable on the album. The song is followed by "Ormhäxan" which seems to have a little more punch in it and really picks the album up because from these two songs onwards the album incorporates more of the bands trademark folk elements and is much more enjoyable then the relative mid-paced and gloomy first half of the album.

Either Finntroll wanted to change their sound from the bounce of the previous two albums especially or there is just plainly not as much effort put into this album as the previous releases because the first twenty-five minutes of this album (apart from maybe "Korpens Saga") is rather bland and went straight over the top of my head, the second half of the album is much more enjoyable and brought my overall opinion back to a respectable level. On the whole though, I expected much more from these bombastic pioneers of modern Finnish folk metal even though this is still a worth while album.


Band profile: Finntroll
Album: Ur Jordens Djup


 



Written on 10.04.2007 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 36  
Users visited: 140  
Search this topic:  


Jeff - 10.04.2007 at 17:57  
I agree... Ur Jordens Djup is not a bad album... but I was expecting something better really...

And I miss the "happy" spirit that we had in some songs like "Trollhammaren"...
ylside - 10.04.2007 at 18:12  
Didn't like it that much actually.
GraMortis - 10.04.2007 at 18:32  
Pretty decent release, though nothing special. I too miss songs like Trollhammaren but still quite good listen after all.
Ivor - 10.04.2007 at 20:07  
The first listen was cool actually. But when I relistened old albums and got back to this one, I found it actually quite average. I can't say I liked "Nattfödd" really back when it was released, although "Trollhammaren" is outstanding track. I still tend to like "Jaktens Tid" the most. No, I'm wrong here. Above all, I love brilliant "Visor Om Slutet" - but that doesn't really count in the sense of everyday Finntroll. "Ur Jordens Djup" is not bad but it's not much over the average. Worth checking out though.

I.
Lucas - 10.04.2007 at 20:10  
@Ivor

yes, I also think of Visor Om Slutet as their best release. The rest doesn't do it for me.
sev7en77 - 11.04.2007 at 08:27  
this album disappointed me big time
Doc Godin - 11.04.2007 at 09:04  
wow, thats disapointing, I was looking forward to this album.
Thryce - 11.04.2007 at 12:56  
Very very average album, and pretty disappointing compared to some other work. Not what I was expecting. Also this album bores me really quickly.
But then again, I've never been a huge Finntroll fan.
Destryphior - 13.04.2007 at 14:44  
I can't see what is wrong with this album, I don't think it's avarage, it's great. I don't recognize any change, it's stil the same Moomin metal to me. There are some avarage songs on the album, but mostly they are all great, not to mention En Mäktig Här, Korpens Saga and ormhäxa. There is still the bouncy happy feeling over it all. For those who still haven't found the extra bonus at the end of Kvällning, you will find it at aprox. 11.30min
Möbius - 15.04.2007 at 13:03  
Huh? Whats up with all of ya? I think it is a great album, because in my opinion Fintroll sound better when they don't play happy stuff. The atmosphere here is great. I like Trollhammaren too, but this is way better!
Trinity Blood - 15.04.2007 at 17:58  
it is definitely different...more black than folk which is not necessarily a bad thing...it takes time to get used to it
delusionist - 26.04.2007 at 18:36  
I havn't heard the whole album, but the songs I have heard sound reall good. I don't miss the trollhammaren spirit. It took me ages to get into the song, and I think Nattfödd contains a lot better songs. But I still think the older albums are better.

And vreth sounds really good.

And I like the video too.
Marcus - 26.04.2007 at 21:51  
I don't know why all of you think this album is bad just because it is slower and less "happy".
Baz Anderson - 26.04.2007 at 22:18  
Written by Marcus on 26.04.2007 at 21:51

I don't know why all of you think this album is bad just because it is slower and less "happy".


I don't think this album is 'bad' at all.. it's a great album - it is just a little bit of a change from the last album
Marcus - 28.04.2007 at 05:18  
Written by Baz Anderson on 26.04.2007 at 22:18

Written by Marcus on 26.04.2007 at 21:51

I don't know why all of you think this album is bad just because it is slower and less "happy".


I don't think this album is 'bad' at all.. it's a great album - it is just a little bit of a change from the last album


I was referring to roughly the first 7 posts. It is a change, but it is nice to see change in bands. BTW, i liked your Finntroll interview.
Baz Anderson - 28.04.2007 at 05:25  
Written by Marcus on 28.04.2007 at 05:18

I was referring to roughly the first 7 posts. It is a change, but it is nice to see change in bands. BTW, i liked your Finntroll interview.


ah, I see - well yes, still 'Trollhammaren' has become somewhat of a classic song already and so people were a little disappointed there was nothing quite so bouncy in this album
and thanks the interview was a joy to do but took a lot of effort typing up as did the Amon Amarth one
Marcus - 28.04.2007 at 06:11  
Quote:
ah, I see - well yes, still 'Trollhammaren' has become somewhat of a classic song already and so people were a little disappointed there was nothing quite so bouncy in this album
and thanks the interview was a joy to do but took a lot of effort typing up as did the Amon Amarth one


I like all the little riffs in their new album, just as intros to songs. It sounds more uniwue to me than Nattfodd did. Also, i personally preferred Grottans Barn and Vindfard/Manniskopestan over Trollhammaren any day. Maybe I'm just weird though. And, it took me upwards of 30 minutes just to read your interview, so i can't imagine how long it took to type up. It was well worth it!!!
delusionist - 28.04.2007 at 21:44  
I never realy liked Trollhammaren. I always saw it as a medium track on Nattfödd. And the album didn't really have the feeling I'm looking for in an album. Atm I have only heard two songs from the album (Korpens saga and Nedgång) and they sound amazing. Korpens saga has to be one of the best songs ever.
Sentenced Odiin - 30.05.2007 at 13:28  
One of the Best Finntroll album i think and the new singer is very GOOOOODDD!!! so keep on Finntroll!:beer::drunk::drunk::banger2::banger:
Nemesisyume - 24.06.2007 at 11:56  
I love Ur Jorden Djup
Vreth is great and i think that this is their best album! Trollhammaren is good... but all the songs on the new album are better!!! i just love it!
BlueMobius - 25.06.2007 at 17:11  
I love the new album as well. I don't agree with the first seven posts. The folk elements are still there and they aren't hidden. The album is just darker. I don't see what's wrong with that, this is metal we are listening to. Trollhammaren was an ok song, but it was very average and didn't fit in well with the album. I think all of the tracks on Ur Jordens Djup flow together and create a great dark atmosphere, and they do a great job of blending the folk elements that we love them for. Vreth's vocals rock!
fatpep - 19.07.2007 at 00:43  
Really, after Jaktens Tid i started to be less amazed by Finntroll, either Jaktens Tid a real masterpiece or the after-natfodd is just junk....i dont know but what i know is that i bought Ur Jordens Djup and i am disapointed. Looks like i gotta find another folk pearl that is actually metal...5/10 for me
Baz Anderson - 19.07.2007 at 02:55  
Written by fatpep on 19.07.2007 at 00:43

Looks like i gotta find another folk pearl that is actually metal...5/10 for me

Finntroll is very metal.. what do you mean by that?
I hope you arent going by "Visor Om Slutet" - because that is just an EP, and something a little different..
fatpep - 25.07.2007 at 05:17  
Well, i said the exact same thing then you. I do like finntroll alot especially because it is very metal in a style where I think, the good ones arent very METAL!
fatpep - 25.07.2007 at 05:17  
Well, i said the exact same thing then you. I do like finntroll alot especially because it is very metal in a style where I think, the good ones arent very METAL!
Fane - 14.09.2007 at 22:41  
Mm.. they sure changed some sound in here, but it's decent album. Mostly agree with you =P
Uirapuru - 23.03.2008 at 12:18  
En Mäktig Här is such a cool song xD... cant get tired of listen it.. so much fun, makes me want to dance around the fire heheh xD
Kinetic - 02.04.2008 at 22:08  
It's a good album overall. For anyone knowledgeable of Manegarm, is basically the same sound. Like a mix of black and glimpses of folk. I can understand that for a cheerful folk kind of fan this sounds average though...
EliytresSkogUlv - 11.01.2009 at 14:04  
Vreth made a huge change, Ur Jordens Djup actually isn't humppa influenced, is folk-black. We still miss Wilska, but i agree Mathias(Vreth) is too good and looks like a Troll God.
Valaskjalf - 29.01.2009 at 14:23  
You people are messed up.....you complain when bands stay stagnant and then you complain when they change for the better! Seriously....Finntroll needed to grow up and finally they have - theyve dwelled in the super-happy for too long and I feel this new-found darker sound fits them perfectly. Much more atmospheric and less fucking-about....now theyre making MUSIC!

3 of the best songs theyve ever made are from this album, Ormhaxan, Korpens Saga and En Maktig Har!
10+ from me!
Gopherhawk - 27.04.2009 at 04:09  
This album was pretty solid.

Slagbroder really got me jumping.
Ellrohir - 25.09.2009 at 12:59  
Korpens Saga wins it for me...but the rest of album isnt that great
Feng - 17.11.2009 at 19:38  
I really like it - the darker feel really works for me.
Baz Anderson - 17.11.2009 at 23:15  
Yeh, I love this album much more than when I wrote this two and a half years ago.
INÆRIS - 26.01.2010 at 19:03  
I want to check this out. right now Jaktens Tid is my favorite
Array - 03.05.2010 at 19:56  
I would buy only Midnattens Widunder and this album.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Finntroll - Nifelvind 7.5 25.02.2010 by Valaskjalf
Articles Finntroll, Battlelore - Nottingham, England, 25th September 2009 6.5 27.09.2009 by Ellrohir
Albums Finntroll - Ur Jordens Djup 6 13.02.2010 by Astorethein
Articles Amon Amarth, Finntroll - Nottingham, England, 14th April 2007 5 15.04.2007 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Forefather - Steadfast 4.5 29.08.2008 by Raiden



Hits total: 7745 | This month: 54